Hartford, CT - Cox - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 2320 Old 08-28-2007, 06:46 AM
Newbie
 
Randman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a Mets fan and I call Cox all the time to complain about not having SNY. What makes it even more aggrevating is that when ESPN carries a game (non Sunday night game), it'll get blacked out in CT since the entire state is in SNY's broadcast territory. I get different answers from Cox reps each time I call them...

"What is SNY? I've never heard of it."
"You aren't in SNY territory."
"We already provide you with all the regional sports networks."
"You get all the NY baseball games already." (I replied there are 2 teams in NY) "There are?"
"It's not economically feasible to carry this channel."

It's a shame that they won't add it. I'll keep complaining to them.
Randman1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 2320 Old 08-28-2007, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does MYtv9 do ANY sports in HD? I haven't seen any.
schmitter is offline  
post #633 of 2320 Old 08-28-2007, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmitter View Post

Does MYtv9 do ANY sports in HD? I haven't seen any.

I don't think so. I think the only HD they do is the national prime time lineup.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #634 of 2320 Old 08-28-2007, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
KML-224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think any station in this market is doing local HD yet, whether by cable or over-the-air.
KML-224 is offline  
post #635 of 2320 Old 08-28-2007, 02:22 PM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulieORF View Post

My9 HD on Cox in CT is WCTX HD, the Connecticut affiliate. They only simulcast the SD version of Yankees games, with a deal through My9 WWOR in NY. So, you could only get My9 Yankees games in HD if you get WWOR HD.

As far as Mets games go, SNY is carried on numerous Comcast systems throughout western Connecticut, including New Haven, Waterbury, and Seymour, plus more. Cox has said that theydo not think there are enough Mets fans to warrant adding SNY in any of their CT cable systems.

Thanks for the answer. At least it makes sense now, however frustrating it is for me. Not only are the Yankee games on WCTX in SD, it's a very low quality SD at that. The picture is very fuzzy and blurry. So I choose to listen to John Sterling on the radio on My9 nights. It's actually kind of nice listening on the radio every once in a while.

As far as Cox's reasoning about Mets fans, I think they are wrong. I'd bet that there are more Mets fans than Celtics fans in Connecticut, as almost nobody cares about the NBA anymore. Yet, we get FSN NE in our Cox cable lineup.

The crazy part about MLB's blackout rules is that although I live only 100 miles away from Shea Stadium, I can hardly ever watch them. 4 to 5 times per month at the most if I'm lucky. However, I can watch almost every game of teams 3,000 miles away through MLB Extra Innings or MLBtv. MLB thinks that I'm willing to drive 100 miles every night to Shea Stadium to see the Mets play. Umm, no thanks.
hdjeff724 is offline  
post #636 of 2320 Old 08-28-2007, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox just added today 2 HD channels. 722 and 723. My cablecard does not show the names yet. Anybody have an idea what they are?
CKNA is online now  
post #637 of 2320 Old 08-28-2007, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CKNA View Post

Cox just added today 2 HD channels. 722 and 723. My cablecard does not show the names yet. Anybody have an idea what they are?

Cinemax HD and Starz HD:
http://www.dpuc.state.ct.us/DPUCUndocketed.nsf/6e9beec82815c42f85256a61005a47fc/85256a63004def9685257341006cb8cf/$FILE/mer%20letter.PDF
PaulieORF is offline  
post #638 of 2320 Old 08-28-2007, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulieORF View Post

Cinemax HD and Starz HD:
http://www.dpuc.state.ct.us/DPUCUndo...r%20letter.PDF


Thanks.

Took them long enough.
CKNA is online now  
post #639 of 2320 Old 08-29-2007, 05:53 AM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if Cox is going to add TBS HD in time for the baseball playoffs?
hdjeff724 is offline  
post #640 of 2320 Old 08-29-2007, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Two weeks ago I posted about a major problem with both audio and video dropouts. 10 days ago Cox came out, measures the signal strength and found it too high. They adjusted the signal down. Since then, I have had almost no problems ... a very occasional less than 1 second blip maybe 2-3 times in the last 10 days. I also see this on my set with a QAM tuner and no box so I think it's a network or cable feed issue, not the dvr box. No more complete audio drops where I had to rewind the dvr to get audio back.

If you are having problems with dropouts or tiling, it is worth a call and insist they come out and check signal strength. It must be within a specific range, like baby bear's porridge, not too low, not too high, just right.

Also, ask for a Cox employee, don't accept a contractor. I had a contractor the first visit and he refused to check signal strength even though that's what the person at tech support told me they wanted. All he wanted to do is change the box and get out. If he did what he was told, it would have eliminated 3 box exchanges, a second tech visit, and a weeks worth of frustration on my part.

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #641 of 2320 Old 08-29-2007, 07:21 PM
Member
 
esb1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks. I'm a new HDTV owner and was looking for some advice. My TV is a Samsung 32-inch from Circuit City. I don't have digital cable, just standard through Cox. The TV has a QAM tuner, which is sweet since I can get the locals in HD for free. The problem is... the analog stations look pretty weak. Some are better than others, and some shows are better than others. Watching baseball in analog is almost impossible. What have other people experience with analog tv through Cox on HDTV's? Could my TV be the problem? I've played with the settings ad nauseum. I had a Cox technician out last weekend and he claims the picture is fine. I'm wondering if Cox is just poor or what.

Also, I live in Suffield. Anyone know if Cox is planning to start digital simulcast here? With the QAM tuner I can get a couple SD digitial stations that look just fine, so I feel like if everything were digital I would be in great shape. Any advice or info would be appreciated. Thanks!

-Eric
esb1981 is offline  
post #642 of 2320 Old 08-31-2007, 03:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
esb, once you have a HD Tv anything other than HD channels will look like crap, it's normal, try watching SD on a 50" plasma, or even worse my 92" Projector in the basement.....nasty!!
Bud-man is offline  
post #643 of 2320 Old 08-31-2007, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Coming September 5th on channel 726 per a Cox newsletter.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #644 of 2320 Old 08-31-2007, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know how CH 59 (your TV 9) gets the Yankee games? It's like watching VHS on the slow speed. I don't think it's COX since the 10 PM news is fine. Is 59 getting CH 9 NY off air with a coat hanger? Perhaps there is someone in the know out there. Just curious.
100/40 is offline  
post #645 of 2320 Old 09-02-2007, 06:33 AM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

Coming September 5th on channel 726 per a Cox newsletter.

That's good news, but I'm more concerned about getting TBS HD. I fear that I will be forced to watch the Division Series and NLCS in standard definition.
hdjeff724 is offline  
post #646 of 2320 Old 09-02-2007, 07:21 PM
Member
 
esb1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spoke to a Cox customer service rep, who said Cox is aiming to have digital simulcast in all of CT and RI by "early 2008." I asked specifically about Suffield (where I live), and they don't have an ETA there yet. Not having to watch analog channels on an HDTV anymore will be great.
esb1981 is offline  
post #647 of 2320 Old 09-03-2007, 05:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

Coming September 5th on channel 726 per a Cox newsletter.

Dont really know why, no live games on NFLNet till Nov, i guess you can watch repeats till then.
Bud-man is offline  
post #648 of 2320 Old 09-03-2007, 02:11 PM
Member
 
Boston Red Sox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Windsor, Connecticut
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud-man View Post

Dont really know why, no live games on NFLNet till Nov, i guess you can watch repeats till then.

There may not be live games yet, but they show some games in HD from Sunday during the week that may not be shown live in your particular market.
Boston Red Sox is offline  
post #649 of 2320 Old 09-09-2007, 08:06 AM
Member
 
esb1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all. Another question... I finally upgraded to digital with the HD DVR. Cox gave me the 6416 III. Interestingly, when I first went in, they gave me the wrong box - I'm not sure the exact model, but it was the HD box without DVR. When I hooked the wrong box up, I was absolutely psyched, not just because of the HD and digital channels, but because the SD digital channels looked really clear, and even my analog channels looked a lot better than they did when I had the cable connected directly to the TV. Then when I figured out that it was the wrong box, I went back in and swapped it for the right one. But now with the 6416 hooked up, it seems like the PQ is not as good as the non-DVR box was. The digital channels don't seem to be as clean (some pixilation, maybe even some color bleeding), and the analog channels actually look worse than they did with the cable straight to the TV (instead of better, like I expected based on the first box). So my question is... am I dreaming??? Or does the 6416 degrade PQ a bit, particularly on analog channels? Could there be something wrong with my box? What have other people experienced?
esb1981 is offline  
post #650 of 2320 Old 09-09-2007, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by esb1981 View Post

Or does the 6416 degrade PQ a bit, particularly on analog channels? Could there be something wrong with my box? What have other people experienced?

Could be a number of problems. I know the 6416 is very sensitive to signal strength - it must be within a range - not too high or low. I was having a dropout problem with my box - Cox came out and measured the signal strength and found it too high - the reduced it somewhat and solved most of my problems. Also, I was getting pixelation on my Tosh 62" DLP set via the built in QAM tuner. That also went away when they reduced the signal.

We only watch the HD channels on the Toshiba and I would say the PQ is about the same both via the 6416 through hdmi and directly off the cable through the built in QAM tuner. The analog channels look horrible both via the 6416 and direct connect on the 62" TV - they don't scale up that well - tried to watch some of the UConn football last night - yuch - getting spoiled by all the great HD programming We do have a 32" Sharp LCD set in the bedroom connected directly to the cable - the analog channels are watchable on the smaller set and the HD channels are fantastic.

First thing I would do in your case is have Cox check signal strength and go from there.

-Allen

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #651 of 2320 Old 09-09-2007, 04:33 PM
Member
 
esb1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Allen. I think what threw me is that even the analog channels looked surprisingly sharp with the non-DVR box that Cox accidently gave me. With the cable directly into the QAM tuner analogs look OK, but I honestly think they looked better with the non-DVR box. The HD's look great either way. So I'll call Cox and see what they say about the 6416 and see if I can get them to come out and test the signal. My TV is 32," so thank goodness I don't have to watch analog on a 60"! If only we can get TBS in HD and digital simulcast in Suffield area...
esb1981 is offline  
post #652 of 2320 Old 09-09-2007, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I get in to see the signal stength on my 6416? I thought it was off and then the select button but that's not working. I've had a lot of drop outs lately and think it may be a signal issue.

Thanks,
Chris
Schlotkins is offline  
post #653 of 2320 Old 09-09-2007, 06:32 PM
Member
 
meotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i scanned through the latest 5 or 6 pages, but didn't see anything in regards to PBS OTA antenna in hartford. is it up yet? if so, what channel? i'm in glastonbury and get all the other local broadcasts, but really want the PBS one! if it's not live yet, is there a anticipated date?

TIA!
meotter is offline  
post #654 of 2320 Old 09-09-2007, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by meotter View Post

i scanned through the latest 5 or 6 pages, but didn't see anything in regards to PBS OTA antenna in hartford. is it up yet? if so, what channel? i'm in glastonbury and get all the other local broadcasts, but really want the PBS one! if it's not live yet, is there a anticipated date?

TIA!

No, it's not live, yet. Since this is the Cox forum, don't you get it by cable?

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #655 of 2320 Old 09-10-2007, 06:12 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlotkins View Post

How do I get in to see the signal stength on my 6416? I thought it was off and then the select button but that's not working. I've had a lot of drop outs lately and think it may be a signal issue.

Thanks,
Chris

Power off then "Select" twice.
schmitter is offline  
post #656 of 2320 Old 09-10-2007, 02:55 PM
Member
 
meotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by raoul5788 View Post

No, it's not live, yet. Since this is the Cox forum, don't you get it by cable?

oops.... i thought this was the OTA forum :P no wonder i couldn't find older posts of mine haha...

i don't have cable.

thanks, i'll repost my question in the correct forum...
meotter is offline  
post #657 of 2320 Old 09-10-2007, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody lost A&E HD and YESHD? They've been out for the whole day. These people suck at Cox. What an unprofessional bunch of losers. How can they have two channels out for the whole day!
CKNA is online now  
post #658 of 2320 Old 09-10-2007, 03:51 PM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NFL Network HD has also been out all day. And if you call tech support, the only people there are a bunch of morons who don't know what the heck is going on. Since there's no Yankee game scheduled tonight, I won't be needing YES HD. But it sure as hell better be working tomorrow. Also ESPN HD was out for a little while, but now it's back on. Good thing, because there's two NFL games on that channel tonight.

And if we don't have TBS HD for the baseball playoffs, I'm going to be very upset.
hdjeff724 is offline  
post #659 of 2320 Old 09-10-2007, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A&E HD, History HD, NFL HD and YES HD are all down, for all providers, in every state in the country. A fire at Ascent Media Group is the reason. All over the internet there are people like you guys bashing their cable company or satellite provider, calling them losers and morons. The channels are not likely to be back up for another day or so. Read about it here: http://www.multichannel.com/blog/350...720014272.html.

As much as I'm sure you guys would like to think so, there's nothing Cox can do to get these channels back up for you.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #660 of 2320 Old 09-10-2007, 07:17 PM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, maybe if the tech support over at Cox would tell me that, I wouldn't be so angry. It's frustrating to not be able to get information.
hdjeff724 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off