Hartford, CT - Cox - Page 24 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 2346 Old 09-19-2007, 06:01 PM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please add TBS-HD by October 1st. I want to see my Yankees in HD in the playoffs! I have a feeling that they will, because there are a lot of Yankee fans around here. Plus, there are a lot of Red Sox fans as well, and the Red Sox will be in the playoffs too. If Cox don't get TBS-HD I'm sure they will be receiving a lot of complaints.

FSN-HD is great news. I'm looking forward to watching Garnett on the Celtics.

What's the difference between Discovery Theater and regular Discovery?
hdjeff724 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 2346 Old 09-19-2007, 07:33 PM
Member
 
mph86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Discovery HD is the same as what's on channel 26, HD theater is the just HD channel, this is the one we have had for a while.
mph86 is offline  
post #693 of 2346 Old 09-19-2007, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud-man View Post

Huh? always had Discovery HD fo yr's???????
Only Blank FSNHD here

No you had Discovery HD Theater. This channel is Discovery HD.
CKNA is offline  
post #694 of 2346 Old 09-20-2007, 05:33 AM
Member
 
esb1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdjeff724 View Post

Please add TBS-HD by October 1st.

There are whispers on the Comcast forums that TBS-HD will be rolled out on October 1. If Comcast can do it, there's no reason Cox can't! Fingers crossed...
esb1981 is offline  
post #695 of 2346 Old 09-21-2007, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CKNA View Post

No you have Discovery HD Theater. This channel is Discovery HD.

Actually both. HD theater is on 710 and Discovery HD is on 745.
schmitter is offline  
post #696 of 2346 Old 09-25-2007, 03:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Midnight TV and Internet were down, for awhile, i dont know how long i switched my tuner to ATSC then fell asleep, never saw both down the same time!
Maybe a upgrade?
Bud-man is offline  
post #697 of 2346 Old 09-25-2007, 07:41 AM
Member
 
ransaldi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Narragansett, RI
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While FOX is showing the entire ALCS the Division Series for both the American and National Leagues will be shown on TBS & TNT.
Full schedule is below:

Major League Baseball Postseason on TBS

Division Series:
NLDS A Game 1 - Wednesday, Oct. 3
NLDS B Game 1 - Wednesday, Oct. 3
ALDS B Game 1 - Wednesday, Oct. 3
NLDS A Game 2 - Thursday, Oct. 4
NLDS B Game 2 - Thursday, Oct. 4
ALDS A Game 1 - Thursday, Oct. 4
ALDS A Game 2 - Friday, Oct. 5
ALDS B Game 2 - Friday, Oct. 5
NLDS A Game 3 - Saturday, Oct. 6
NLDS B Game 3 - Saturday, Oct. 6
ALDS A Game 3 - Sunday, Oct. 7
ALDS B Game 3 - Sunday, Oct. 7
NLDS A Game 4 - Sunday, Oct. 7
NLDS B Game 4 - Sunday, Oct. 7
ALDS A Game 4 - Monday, Oct. 8
ALDS B Game 4 - Monday, Oct. 8
NLDS A Game 5 - Tuesday, Oct. 9
NLDS B Game 5 - Tuesday, Oct. 9
ALDS A Game 5 - Wednesday, Oct. 10
ALDS B Game 5 - Wednesday, Oct. 10


National League Championship Series:
NLCS Game 1 - Thursday, Oct. 11
NLCS Game 2 - Friday, Oct. 12
NLCS Game 3 - Sunday, Oct. 14
NLCS Game 4 - Monday, Oct. 15
NLCS Game 5 - Wednesday, Oct. 17
NLCS Game 6 - Friday, Oct. 19
NLCS Game 7 - Saturday, Oct. 20
ransaldi is offline  
post #698 of 2346 Old 09-25-2007, 09:02 AM
Member
 
gulf979cb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ct
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud-man View Post

Midnight TV and Internet were down, for awhile, i dont know how long i switched my tuner to ATSC then fell asleep, never saw both down the same time!
Maybe a upgrade?



Did you do any investigating as to whether anything changed? Firmware numbers and such?

I didn't think you were supposed to lose everything during an upgrade...but then again...i usually am never awake during that time. Usually upgrades are completed around 3 or 4 in the morning.

How has everybody's HD channels been behaving? Any drop-outs or freeze up's? Watching CBS (of course) last night...CSI Miami......there seemed to be some problems.....it was almost like it was switching back and forth from HD to Reg..and back to HD...no loss in audio....just weird picture behavior.


Oh and by the way....i didn't think this was a baseball forum.......i thought it was for chatting about programming issues and channel problems and upcoming news.

Don't get me wrong...i like baseball......but enough with what channels it's on...That's why i have the crappy Passport Echo Guide......
I can look it up on that.
gulf979cb is offline  
post #699 of 2346 Old 09-25-2007, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody lost YES HD? I get blank screen.
CKNA is offline  
post #700 of 2346 Old 09-25-2007, 01:29 PM
Member
 
digitaldallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in East Granby and Starz was dropping-out a week or two ago, but it seems to have subsided.
digitaldallas is offline  
post #701 of 2346 Old 09-26-2007, 06:19 AM
Member
 
ransaldi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Narragansett, RI
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox did add TBS-HD last night in RI - Channel 736 - Assume it is added in CT as well?
ransaldi is offline  
post #702 of 2346 Old 09-26-2007, 06:33 AM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransaldi View Post

Cox did add TBS-HD last night in RI - Channel 736 - Assume it is added in CT as well?

Rest easy, Yanks, Sox, and Mets fans, Cox CT did add TBS-HD here too That is as far as HDTV coverage goes - Mets and Yanks are still making us sweat.

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #703 of 2346 Old 09-26-2007, 10:30 AM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes! We got TBS HD!!!

And don't worry, the Yankees and Mets will both be in the playoffs. The Yankees only need to win one game, or the Tigers have to lose one. And everybody knows that the Phillies always choke down the stretch.
hdjeff724 is offline  
post #704 of 2346 Old 09-26-2007, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Boston Red Sox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Windsor, Connecticut
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
TBS-HD also added here in South Windsor.
Boston Red Sox is offline  
post #705 of 2346 Old 09-26-2007, 06:19 PM
Member
 
btrotta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure what they were waiting for to add TBS, but at least they did it BEFORE the playoffs started. Interesting where they're adding channel. The gaps in the numbers make you wonder what they're planning to add and when.

IE. here in Enfield 718, and 719 are open, as are 724, 728-29, 731-35, and 737-44. The pattern at times is random, yet appears to have a pattern. 724 and 728-29 look like they could be reserved for sports channels since all the other sports channels are in the neighborhood. The Ocho in HD? could be. Yes!? No? Maybe? I know Animal Planet HD and a few other Discovery-owned channels are in the works. History Channel HD would go nicely next to A&E.

BTW, does anyone know when Fox Sports HD is going to go live? I'm tired of looking at their hd logo loop and the "off air" listing.
btrotta is offline  
post #706 of 2346 Old 09-26-2007, 08:33 PM
Member
 
mph86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox Sports already did, they aired a college football game the other day. It's just not always on.
mph86 is offline  
post #707 of 2346 Old 09-27-2007, 06:14 AM
Member
 
esb1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Foxsports New England was bought by Comcast, and as of 10/1 will be renamed Comcast Sports New England, or something of that sort. Maybe once the Comcast takeover is transitioned, it'll start showing all programming rather than the occasional live game.

I also find the channel gaps a little interesting. It seems as if it's partly planned, but on the other hand, some of the locations don't make sense. ESPN is 711 and ESPN2 is 712, but NESN is 725 -- you'd think the sports networks would be in the same place. Also, the premium movie networks are all in the low 720's, which is in the middle of all the other channels -- I'd think they'd put them in a different area.

I'm pleasantly surprised that we got TBS-HD before the start of the playoffs. Comcast isn't even supposed to add it until next week, and Cox getting it seemed to be out of the blue. With 4 new HD's quietly added in the last 2 weeks, plus the announced agreement to carry Animal Planet-HD and Science-HD, it seems like Cox is seriously committed to ramping up HD coverage.
esb1981 is offline  
post #708 of 2346 Old 09-27-2007, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm quite happy with the recent additions of the new HD stations. Even though most aren't HD. Maybe we can thank Direct TV for this. All I need now is a few children's networks like Disney, Nick, etc. and I'll be all set.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #709 of 2346 Old 09-27-2007, 08:04 AM
Member
 
gulf979cb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ct
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

I'm quite happy with the recent additions of the new HD stations. Even though most aren't HD. Maybe we can thank Direct TV for this. All I need now is a few children's networks like Disney, Nick, etc. and I'll be all set.


Yes....Nick in HD would be great........ Can you imagine....Spongebob Squarepants in real HD? OMG...that would be so cool.

Let's get real here folks!!!......do we want these extra channels just to say we have lots of HD channels..or are you really serious about Nick in HD?

I really don't think a little kid will be so adamant on watching Nick only in HD.
That is unless you are the one watching Spongebob CAEguy.

Animal Planet and History channel are alot more useful and realistic.

My HD channels seem to be behaving quite nicely since "the fix" was implemented.
The sluggish remote issue is still nagging me though.
Come on cox Digital Simulcast......Can't wait to get those new boxes into the system.
gulf979cb is offline  
post #710 of 2346 Old 09-27-2007, 08:39 AM
Newbie
 
CTGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox in Manchester CT adds TBS-HD!!!

I call Cox on Monday am to ask about TBS-HD and I was told there was not plans at this time. I then came home to and almost fell over when I noticed it was added on Monday afternoon. Cox is terrible with customer service info but I cannot say to many bad things since they got TBS-HD in time for the MLB playoffs.

Also do not get to excited Celtic Fans. Cox in Manchester has added FSN-HD. This is the national feed and does not mean that FSN- New England will have Celtics games in HD on this channel. If you want to watch Rice vs Balyor on the weekends than this FSD-HD national feed it for you. FSN- New England was recelty by Comcast so there will be some internal BS before Celtic games on Cox will be in HD.
CTGUY is offline  
post #711 of 2346 Old 09-27-2007, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTGUY View Post

Cox in Manchester CT adds TBS-HD!!!


Also do not get to excited Celtic Fans. Cox in Manchester has added FSN-HD. This is the national feed and does not mean that FSN- New England will have Celtics games in HD on this channel. If you want to watch Rice vs Balyor on the weekends than this FSD-HD national feed it for you. FSN- New England was recelty by Comcast so there will be some internal BS before Celtic games on Cox will be in HD.

That is the FSN (soon to be CSN) New England feed. Don't freak out, you'll be getting the Celtics in HD on it. The ownership of that network changed to Comcast back in June, and the contract to carry the HD channels was negotiated exclusively with Comcast. It's done, no BS, you'll have Celtics in HD when the season starts.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #712 of 2346 Old 09-27-2007, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTGUY View Post

Cox in Manchester CT adds TBS-HD!!!

I call Cox on Monday am to ask about TBS-HD and I was told there was not plans at this time. I then came home to and almost fell over when I noticed it was added on Monday afternoon.

Do not call Cox on new programming. It will only frustrate you. You will learn more here than Cox customer service will ever know.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #713 of 2346 Old 09-29-2007, 03:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mph86 View Post

Fox Sports already did, they aired a college football game the other day. It's just not always on.

2 college football games on today also.
Bud-man is offline  
post #714 of 2346 Old 09-29-2007, 06:11 AM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The next channel that I want is the Versus/Golf HD channel. Since I went to the US Open in June I've been hooked on golf, and the NHL has always been one of my favorite sports. As of right now the only HD hockey I ever get is the Boston Bruins, since we have NESN HD. I hope there are plans to add Versus/Golf HD soon.

My dad gets NHL Center Ice so that he can watch all the Ranger games, but the picture quality is so bad that it's like trying to watch TV without your glasses.
hdjeff724 is offline  
post #715 of 2346 Old 10-01-2007, 04:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Tube is gone, channel 810, was on my ATSC tuner on the bedroom lcd this morn and saw the message The Tube has ceased operations...........
Same message on Cox.
Bud-man is offline  
post #716 of 2346 Old 10-01-2007, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdjeff724 View Post

Yes! We got TBS HD!!!

And don't worry, the Yankees and Mets will both be in the playoffs. The Yankees only need to win one game, or the Tigers have to lose one. And everybody knows that the Phillies always choke down the stretch.

Are you sure?
schmitter is offline  
post #717 of 2346 Old 10-01-2007, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by btrotta View Post

Not sure what they were waiting for to add TBS, but at least they did it BEFORE the playoffs started. Interesting where they're adding channel. The gaps in the numbers make you wonder what they're planning to add and when.

IE. here in Enfield 718, and 719 are open, as are 724, 728-29, 731-35, and 737-44. The pattern at times is random, yet appears to have a pattern. 724 and 728-29 look like they could be reserved for sports channels since all the other sports channels are in the neighborhood. The Ocho in HD? could be. Yes!? No? Maybe? I know Animal Planet HD and a few other Discovery-owned channels are in the works. History Channel HD would go nicely next to A&E.

BTW, does anyone know when Fox Sports HD is going to go live? I'm tired of looking at their hd logo loop and the "off air" listing.

Channel 724 is YES HD which you guys do not get in Enfield.
CKNA is offline  
post #718 of 2346 Old 10-01-2007, 10:37 AM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmitter View Post

Are you sure?

I definitely screwed up about my Mets prediction, that's for sure. LOL.
hdjeff724 is offline  
post #719 of 2346 Old 10-01-2007, 01:03 PM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channels 707, 708, and 709 are all open. Does anybody have any idea what HD channels they might put there?
hdjeff724 is offline  
post #720 of 2346 Old 10-02-2007, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdjeff724 View Post

Channels 707, 708, and 709 are all open. Does anybody have any idea what HD channels they might put there?

C-Span HD, C-Span2 HD, Home Shopping Network...

I hope not...
schmitter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off