Hartford, CT - Cox - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 2320 Old 01-06-2006, 07:28 AM
Newbie
 
RusMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Took a quick trip to Radio Shack to get the $29.95 amplified Rabbit Ears. It was able to pick up 20 or so channels, half of which are digital (including 40-1!). Incredible how poor the analog channels look and how wonderful the digitals ones are - even with a weak signal.

So long, Doctor Mel!

Go Jags!
RusMann is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 2320 Old 01-06-2006, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Has this changed? I now see UCONN games on PBS-HD.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #63 of 2320 Old 01-07-2006, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well today is the day we all been dreading....No PAT's game in HD!!!, Why is COX always LAST to get or update anything?.......WHY??
Russman i think your the ONLY Jag fan in N.E.!!!, i wouldnt go around advertising that fact in any area pub.......haha
Bud-man is offline  
post #64 of 2320 Old 01-07-2006, 07:47 PM
Newbie
 
JDN, Cox-Meriden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

Has this changed? I now see UCONN games on PBS-HD.

I noticed a change a week or two ago also. It used to match CPTV's online HD listing, now it matches WEDH. Some shows still look better than SD, so I'm a little confused as to what I'm getting.
The real pain is they haven't changed the on-screen guide. Every time I want to know what is on CH-703, I have to check CH-5. To record, either select a different show at the same time or make a manual recording.

Jon

BTW. I'm new here, so Hello Everyone :-).
JDN, Cox-Meriden is offline  
post #65 of 2320 Old 01-08-2006, 07:10 AM
Newbie
 
pi1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Ansonia CT and just bought the Terk HDTVo antenna and I'm having trouble getting the Hartford stations in HD... Channel WVIT, WFSB, and WTIC come in clear analog but not DT. Am I doing something wrong or is that just the way it is?? If it is anyone having any luck picking up the NY stations..

Thank god WTNH is doing the super bowl..
pi1220 is offline  
post #66 of 2320 Old 01-08-2006, 08:05 AM
Newbie
 
RusMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, sounds like a good thing I made the attempt to watch Jacksonville last night because it really was my only opportunity. I tried 2 set-top antennas; the RadioShack $29.95 amplified antenna and the $49.95 RadioShack with remote directional control. Suprisingly, the $29.95 was the better of the two - significantly. It pulled in 28 stations analog and digital.

Here's what we got in S Windsor from Rabbit Ears
3 - WFSB Analog, 3.1 - WFSB Digital, 3.2 - CBS Springfield (!),
8 - Weak analog, 8.1 - Weak digital, 8.2 - WTNH weather,
18 & 18.1, 19 WCDC ABC Weak, 20,
22 WWLP, 22.1 (strong), 22.1 Weather radar, 24,
30, 30.1, and 30.2 Continuous weather ,
40 (strong) and 40.1 (steady signal all game long),
57, 57-1, -2, -3, -4, -5
59, 61, and 61-1.

Surprisingly, 40-1 had a beautiful signal (I was used to watching ABC analog, OK). They are carrying a different schedule than 40 analog this morning. 40 is showing a Lasik infomercial while 40.1 is carrying the GMA HiDef network feed; PSA's only with NO local commercials. Very nice! Also it was surprising that 3.2 comes through with a different channel than WFSB.

I was correct that 40.1 OTA has a much stronger signal than Channel 8.1. Sorry, LIN, I'm not a hostage to your agreement any more.
RusMann is offline  
post #67 of 2320 Old 01-08-2006, 08:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks RusMann!

What are you using as a receiver? How much did it cost? Is your setup in the basement? Unfortunately mine is and I live in a condo. Cable may be my only alternative. Tried a silver sensor once with an analog TV for an experiment. Only pulled in a couple of stations with snow.
Crescent is offline  
post #68 of 2320 Old 01-09-2006, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont like the new PBS, it doesnt show full screen on my plasma, a weird size ive never seen compared to 4:3, more like a 6:3 size, get 2" side bars instead of 4" normal 4:3 size.
Is it all the shows are now wedh or just certain times?, PBS HD had some awesome PQ shows,my kids liked watching Tracks Ahead.
This is def a downturn.
Bud-man is offline  
post #69 of 2320 Old 01-09-2006, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The previous feed was the National PBS HD feed. It looks like it changed to the WEDH feed which is what I assume that I'll get OTA if they ever fire it up. On the plus side the basket ball games look like they might be in HD or a very good quality upscale of SD. I also don't quite get what the "strech" setting is. I know that last time I checked, last year sometime, WGBY's OTA feed also had the PBS kids on it and it was a standard 4:3 with the full side bars, I will have to spin the antenna in the attic and check it again.
schmitter is offline  
post #70 of 2320 Old 01-09-2006, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've yet to see HD on the new PBS station.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #71 of 2320 Old 01-09-2006, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I called Cox regarding the new WEDH-HD programming. I mentioned that the Guide does not correlate to what is actually showing. Also, no HD. They said that WEDH was having equipment problems and that it should be resolved by the end of the week.

Of course it took 2 calls to get that answer. The first person was clueless.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #72 of 2320 Old 01-10-2006, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i ordered a LG 3510 HDTV/DVD player off e-bay just in case ABC HD doesnt come thru, plus i want HD in my bedroom.
Thanks caeguy on the wedh heads up
Bud-man is offline  
post #73 of 2320 Old 01-11-2006, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone with a QAM tuner post the channel numbers for the HD channels?

Thanks,
Chris
Schlotkins is offline  
post #74 of 2320 Old 01-11-2006, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Please see post #1.
Crescent is offline  
post #75 of 2320 Old 01-12-2006, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should have been more specific - I'm looking for the actual frequency channel numbers - ie. 88-2 or whatever. I assume locals are unencrypted, although that could be a poor assumption.

Chris
Schlotkins is offline  
post #76 of 2320 Old 01-12-2006, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlotkins View Post

I should have been more specific - I'm looking for the actual frequency channel numbers - ie. 88-2 or whatever. I assume locals are unencrypted, although that could be a poor assumption.

Chris

107-1 PBS
107-2 CBS
111-2 FOX
111-3 NBC

I think thats right. I'm going by memory right now. If you do a scan, you will see that you can pick up all the digital music and a few other "digital tier" stations.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #77 of 2320 Old 01-12-2006, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

107-1 PBS
107-2 CBS
111-2 FOX
111-3 NBC

I think thats right. I'm going by memory right now. If you do a scan, you will see that you can pick up all the digital music and a few other "digital tier" stations.

With my Mits 55511 it shows:
WEDH 107.01
WFSB 107.02
WTIC 111.02
WVIT 111.03

Nothing else comes up unscrambled, no music channels or anything else.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #78 of 2320 Old 01-14-2006, 02:20 PM
Newbie
 
JDN, Cox-Meriden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

I called Cox regarding the new WEDH-HD programming. I mentioned that the Guide does not correlate to what is actually showing. Also, no HD. They said that WEDH was having equipment problems and that it should be resolved by the end of the week.

Of course it took 2 calls to get that answer. The first person was clueless.


Thanks for the info. Now all they have to do is add This Old House to the HDTV lineup and I'll be happy :-).
JDN, Cox-Meriden is offline  
post #79 of 2320 Old 01-15-2006, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info... on my Fusion III I don't seem to be getting any signal on 107 or 111. I wonder if perhaps it's different in East Windsor...? Does anyone know if Cox puts signal blockers on? I don't have the digital tier, but on Comcast you could still get the local's.

Chris
Schlotkins is offline  
post #80 of 2320 Old 01-15-2006, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlotkins View Post

Thanks for the info... on my Fusion III I don't seem to be getting any signal on 107 or 111. I wonder if perhaps it's different in East Windsor...? Does anyone know if Cox puts signal blockers on? I don't have the digital tier, but on Comcast you could still get the local's.

Chris

Not sure on the blockers other than ESPN, Discovery, INHD1, INHD2, and other premium channels. I know that my TV will not tune those stations in until I do a scan. Did you try that?

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #81 of 2320 Old 01-16-2006, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have limited and expanded basic, you should have no trap on the line, thus you should be getting the signal. Make sure any splitters you have will pass frequencies in the 700Mhz range. If you have an old 300 or 500Mhz splitter it will block the channels.
schmitter is offline  
post #82 of 2320 Old 01-16-2006, 01:00 PM
Newbie
 
JJMJGNX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any new word on whether COX will give us ABC-HD for the big game?
JJMJGNX is offline  
post #83 of 2320 Old 01-22-2006, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today i see PBSHD is backon, i like it alot better, if you wanna see WEDH then watch the SD channel as there HD sucked.
Nice learning programs on again!!
Hope it stays!, maybe they got alot of complaints of there bogus weird letterboxed HD crap.
Bud-man is offline  
post #84 of 2320 Old 01-22-2006, 05:55 PM
Member
 
gahans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud-man View Post

Today i see PBSHD is backon, i like it alot better, if you wanna see WEDH then watch the SD channel as there HD sucked.
Nice learning programs on again!!
Hope it stays!, maybe they got alot of complaints of there bogus weird letterboxed HD crap.

Agreed... and hopefully the change will stick. I wrote to them last week and complained others must've done the same. This was the reply I got from them

"Thank you for your inquiry. Cox is committed to providing the best
customer service possible.

We have received your recent E-mail regarding our HD channel 703 and
apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please be
advised, we did forward your request to the appropriate department, for
review. We appreciate your feedback and want to provide our customers
with the programming of choice."
gahans is offline  
post #85 of 2320 Old 01-23-2006, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The basketball games were better than analog though. I don't know if it was true HD or not, but they did look pretty darn good.
schmitter is offline  
post #86 of 2320 Old 01-23-2006, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the long delay, but it was the splitter causing the problem and the channels came in noooo problem.

Now, if only ABC where on.........................
Schlotkins is offline  
post #87 of 2320 Old 01-24-2006, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a firmware upgrade to 12.27 yahoo!!!
HDMI DD 5:1 sound problem is now FIXED!!!!, This is better than the Superbowl!!
Been waiting many months for this!
Bud-man is offline  
post #88 of 2320 Old 01-25-2006, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the latest information I have on WTHN HD on Cox.
Cox out of Atlanta is still negotiating with LIN to get WTNH HD in CT. I have no new info on that. Cox of NE is trying to get a one day carriage deal to get WTNH HD on for the Super Bowl.
That's all for now.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #89 of 2320 Old 01-25-2006, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sure they'll get it for one day, like they did for R.I. with CBS last year.
A Cox tech in our shop told me that LIN wants Cox to get multiple channels, not just ABC, thats what the negotiations are all about.
My dealership works on Cox vehicles.
Bud-man is offline  
post #90 of 2320 Old 01-25-2006, 02:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud-man View Post

I'm sure they'll get it for one day, like they did for R.I. with CBS last year.
A Cox tech in our shop told me that LIN wants Cox to get multiple channels, not just ABC, thats what the negotiations are all about.
My dealership works on Cox vehicles.

That's what I posted in post #9 of this thread.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off