Hartford, CT - Cox - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 2320 Old 03-28-2008, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitaldallas View Post

For some reason I can't view the mosaic stuff on my 47" Panny HDTV, but I can on my cheap 32" HDTV.

I did notice that at least on the Sports Zone channel, it changes the output resolution of the box to 480p. Maybe that's part of your problem.
PaulieORF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 2320 Old 03-29-2008, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My PJ reports those channels as 480i, but i'm sure it's what you have your box set is the rez, either 480p/i
Bud-man is offline  
post #1083 of 2320 Old 03-31-2008, 05:40 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Paulie - what model TV do you have? My box always swichtes the output to 480i, your set might not accept 480i on the HD inputs.

Bud-Man - I am having the same issue with the Dolby Digital not sticking. in your testing have you figured out what triggers it? So far I have ruled out mosaics, but that is as far as I have gotten.
schmitter is offline  
post #1084 of 2320 Old 03-31-2008, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmitter View Post

Paulie - what model TV do you have? My box always swichtes the output to 480i, your set might not accept 480i on the HD inputs.

Bud-Man - I am having the same issue with the Dolby Digital not sticking. in your testing have you figured out what triggers it? So far I have ruled out mosaics, but that is as far as I have gotten.

I have a 42" Vizio 1080p set. I am not 100% sure that my claim of 480p is correct. When I get home from work I'll check to see whether it's 480i or 480p.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #1085 of 2320 Old 03-31-2008, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If i push Settings/up B/down B to access status menu then it loses AC3 sound, only way i can get it to hold instead of PCM is to unplug box and reboot, it holds fine as along as i dont access status menu again.
record light doesn't work either........this is with both of my DCH3416 boxes
Bud-man is offline  
post #1086 of 2320 Old 03-31-2008, 06:56 PM
Newbie
 
Randman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast added SNY today in Hartford.

Cox is now the largest cable carrier in CT that doesn't carry SNY. (I think)

Looks like we'll be without Mets games for another season. I've already sent an email to Cox today. My yearly phone call will be placed this week too.
Randman1 is offline  
post #1087 of 2320 Old 04-07-2008, 02:04 PM
Member
 
TheFlash51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey I just got another TV, cable card... yeah yeah yeah, I know.. I hate them.. but it wasn't my idea, I'm never going to watch it, honest!
But anyway, I auto programmed it and the travel channel HD showed up and I couldn't find any major channels that were missing. Does anyone else have the travel channel HD on a cable card now? Did Cox put it back on?
TheFlash51 is offline  
post #1088 of 2320 Old 04-08-2008, 06:24 AM
Member
 
esb1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have audio problems on CBS HD last night during the basketball game? The mixing was off. Not a box issue since it was also happening on clear QAM. Standard def CBS was fine.
esb1981 is offline  
post #1089 of 2320 Old 04-08-2008, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by esb1981 View Post

Anyone have audio problems on CBS HD last night during the basketball game? The mixing was off. Not a box issue since it was also happening on clear QAM. Standard def CBS was fine.

It was apparently a network problem, since my Directv local had the same problem.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #1090 of 2320 Old 04-08-2008, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's what happens when the network feed is 5.1 and the station forgets to turn it back on after commercial ... sends the 5.1 feed in 2.0 stereo. We were missing the front center channel - the channel carrying the announcers voice. Personally, it made me feel like I was there with only the crowd noise around me. I didn't miss the announcers one bit.

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #1091 of 2320 Old 04-08-2008, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by apaulct View Post

That's what happens when the network feed is 5.1 and the station forgets to turn it back on after commercial ... sends the 5.1 feed in 2.0 stereo. We were missing the front center channel - the channel carrying the announcers voice. Personally, it made me feel like I was there with only the crowd noise around me. I didn't miss the announcers one bit.

You are right, not having to listen to Billy Packer was nice, actually!

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #1092 of 2320 Old 04-08-2008, 10:22 AM
Member
 
esb1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by apaulct View Post

That's what happens when the network feed is 5.1 and the station forgets to turn it back on after commercial ... sends the 5.1 feed in 2.0 stereo. We were missing the front center channel - the channel carrying the announcers voice. Personally, it made me feel like I was there with only the crowd noise around me. I didn't miss the announcers one bit.

Yeah, I figured it was something like that. I wonder how many viewers were glad to not have to listen to Packer!
esb1981 is offline  
post #1093 of 2320 Old 04-08-2008, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by esb1981 View Post

I wonder how many viewers were glad to not have to listen to Packer!

Definitely didn't call tech support to complain Just hoping CBS wouldn't catch on and fix it.

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #1094 of 2320 Old 04-10-2008, 05:25 AM
Member
 
esb1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFlash51 View Post

Hey I just got another TV, cable card... yeah yeah yeah, I know.. I hate them.. but it wasn't my idea, I'm never going to watch it, honest!
But anyway, I auto programmed it and the travel channel HD showed up and I couldn't find any major channels that were missing. Does anyone else have the travel channel HD on a cable card now? Did Cox put it back on?

I do have Travel Channel HD on my cable cards now. Thanks for pointing this out. I wonder if Cox corporate changed their mind about giving new HD channels to cable card customers. Or at least maybe Cox CT has decided this one is not slated for a future Switched Digital Video slot.
esb1981 is offline  
post #1095 of 2320 Old 04-11-2008, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Received a letter informing me of a rate increase in my expanded basic to $48.99. Has there been an increase in the digital/HD rates ? I was going to move up in a couple of months but this could change things for me.
100/40 is offline  
post #1096 of 2320 Old 04-11-2008, 01:49 PM
Member
 
_JW_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
digital rates did go up too.

one pack (either sports & info or variety) went up from 9.95 to 11.99

both packs went from 12.95 to 14.99

And as far as Cox allowing CableCard users to get Travel (and other HD channels), I've heard that it was a corporate decision because they were facing heavy pressure from people complaining that what they were doing wasn't legal.
_JW_ is offline  
post #1097 of 2320 Old 04-12-2008, 04:37 PM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching the Bruins-Canadiens game on NESNHD-725, but then switched it over to VERSUSHD-729, and the PQ was a little bit clearer on Versus. That's suprising to me, because NESN has always had terrific PQ.

Also, I'm wondering why there is no blackout on Versus. Because if it was baseball, and the Red Sox were on both NESN and ESPN, the national station would be blacked out.
hdjeff724 is offline  
post #1098 of 2320 Old 04-14-2008, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdjeff724 View Post

I was watching the Bruins-Canadiens game on NESNHD-725, but then switched it over to VERSUSHD-729, and the PQ was a little bit clearer on Versus. That's suprising to me, because NESN has always had terrific PQ.

Also, I'm wondering why there is no blackout on Versus. Because if it was baseball, and the Red Sox were on both NESN and ESPN, the national station would be blacked out.

I think the NHL does not enforce blackout restrictions on national playoff broadcasts of local teams, even when they are also carried on the local RSN (NESN). I think the same applies to NBA playoffs as well.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #1099 of 2320 Old 04-18-2008, 05:03 PM
Member
 
hdjeff724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why are the Yankees on WTXXHD (Ch. 705) tonight? Aren't they supposed to be on My9HD (Ch. 706)? I'm shocked that the broadcast is actually in high definition tonight, and pleasantly surprised.
hdjeff724 is offline  
post #1100 of 2320 Old 04-19-2008, 07:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdjeff724 View Post

Why are the Yankees on WTXXHD (Ch. 705) tonight? Aren't they supposed to be on My9HD (Ch. 706)? I'm shocked that the broadcast is actually in high definition tonight, and pleasantly surprised.

I am guessing since WTIC picked up the WWOR games that WTXX is showing some of, maybe all of them. Check the WTIC website for more info.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #1101 of 2320 Old 04-25-2008, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox will be adding Lifetiem HD at channel 719 on May 28th in CT systems.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #1102 of 2320 Old 04-25-2008, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Any idea when we may see some of these channels coming our way?

http://www.cox.com/oklahoma/hdtv/hdchannels.asp

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #1103 of 2320 Old 04-25-2008, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

Any idea when we may see some of these channels coming our way?

http://www.cox.com/oklahoma/hdtv/hdchannels.asp

In their filing this morning, Cox only mentioend Lifetime HD. This makes me think that they don't have plans for a launch date for any of those channels yet, and probably won't happen until sometime after Lifetime HD is added.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #1104 of 2320 Old 05-01-2008, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Last night both CBS and ABC HD were gone from the unscrambled QAM locals. Tonight all HD channels are gone here in Cheshire. I found most of them up in the 120.xx range. Anyone know whats up?

Allen

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #1105 of 2320 Old 05-01-2008, 03:13 PM
Member
 
TheFlash51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More than likely another QAM move. i still have them all here just in different locations.
TheFlash51 is offline  
post #1106 of 2320 Old 05-02-2008, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
QAM move.
schmitter is offline  
post #1107 of 2320 Old 05-10-2008, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone post the new QAM Channel spots? I just scanned with my Fusion III QAM card and I couldn't find any of them again...

Thanks,
Chris
Schlotkins is offline  
post #1108 of 2320 Old 05-14-2008, 02:56 PM
Member
 
_JW_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Coming 6/25:

CNBC HD 733
USA HD 734
SCI FI HD 755
Bravo HD 763
AMC HD 738 * pending final approval
_JW_ is offline  
post #1109 of 2320 Old 05-14-2008, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by _JW_ View Post

Coming 6/25:

CNBC HD 733
USA HD 734
SCI FI HD 755
Bravo HD 763
AMC HD 738 * pending final approval

Great news! How did you hear about these?
PaulieORF is offline  
post #1110 of 2320 Old 05-14-2008, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by _JW_ View Post

Coming 6/25:

CNBC HD 733
USA HD 734
SCI FI HD 755
Bravo HD 763
AMC HD 738 * pending final approval

Weather Channel??

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off