Hartford, CT - Cox - Page 75 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 2320 Old 12-02-2011, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
In today's Hartford Courant

NOTICE
Effective January 1, 2012, Cox will be offering a video service option named Cox TV Economy. The package includes Cox TV Starter and selected cable channels for $34.99 per month. (Price includes rental fee for one standard definition digital receiver). For CableCARD customers the monthly price is $29.00 for service plus a $1.99 rental fee for the CableCARD. Please contact Cox at 800-955-9515 for more information.



Appeared in: Hartford Courant on Friday, 12/02/2011

Is this a step to all digital?
100/40 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 2320 Old 12-04-2011, 02:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you got a "live " cable at your house you could get free HD if your TV has a QAM tuner, there all the local's and several others including channel 22 FREE
Bud-man is offline  
post #2223 of 2320 Old 12-05-2011, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud-man View Post

If you got a "live " cable at your house you could get free HD if your TV has a QAM tuner, there all the local's and several others including channel 22 FREE

From where I live I do this now with my backup antenna. I get locals plus Springfield, 22,57,40. Great during power failures with my laptop with tuner.
What I'm wondering is will Cox be going to box required for all in the near future, no analog or clear QAM on the "live" cable.
100/40 is offline  
post #2224 of 2320 Old 12-05-2011, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by 100/40 View Post

What I'm wondering is will Cox be going to box required for all in the near future, no analog or clear QAM on the "live" cable.

I highly doubt Cox has any plans to eliminate Analog and ClearQAM anytime in the next year and perhaps longer. Cox is making significant investments into deploying Switched Digital Video (SDV) in many more markets, virtually eliminating any need to reclaim Analog bandwidth.
http://www.bigbandnet.com/index.php/...se_id/209.html

http://www.cedmagazine.com/news/2011...ments-with-cox

AFWIW: BigBand Networks was also recently purchased by the ARRIS Group.
http://ir.arrisi.com/phoenix.zhtml?c...cle&ID=1632435

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #2225 of 2320 Old 12-06-2011, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the info. Very interesting technology.
It will be interesting to see what channels Cox offers with this new service.
100/40 is offline  
post #2226 of 2320 Old 01-03-2012, 12:01 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I found a list of channels for Cox TV Economy for Idaho.
http://ww2.cox.com/residential/idaho...2111_lnk_ida_6

At this point I don't know what to think. Ho-hum so far.
100/40 is offline  
post #2227 of 2320 Old 01-03-2012, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
EJW_CoxNE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 100/40 View Post

I found a list of channels for Cox TV Economy for Idaho.
http://ww2.cox.com/residential/idaho...2111_lnk_ida_6

At this point I don't know what to think. Ho-hum so far.

You can just swap out 'Idaho' for 'Connecticut' in the URL and it will take you to the local version. Although they should be the same.
EJW_CoxNE is offline  
post #2228 of 2320 Old 01-04-2012, 02:28 AM
Member
 
dph1077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJW_CoxNE View Post

You can just swap out 'Idaho' for 'Connecticut' in the URL and it will take you to the local version. Although they should be the same.

I did that, then went to the pricing link on the page. Any idea why the Essential is the same $59.99 as Advanced tv if it's less channels?
dph1077 is online now  
post #2229 of 2320 Old 01-06-2012, 07:37 AM
Senior Member
 
EJW_CoxNE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dph1077 View Post

I did that, then went to the pricing link on the page. Any idea why the Essential is the same $59.99 as Advanced tv if it's less channels?

Essential is just the least expensive and robust type of Advanced TV. Advanced TV refers to TV tiers that require a set top box.
EJW_CoxNE is offline  
post #2230 of 2320 Old 01-11-2012, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm on the Meriden system in Southington, and starting sometime around 7:00 tonight, many of my channels have gone either completely dark, or are extremely pixelated and broken up. Other channels are fine. Strange thing is my Tivo shows I have a signal level in the mid to high 90s on all channels, including the ones that are coming in fine, and the ones that are dark.

Anyone else seeing this?

EDIT: And just like that, all the channels are working again. Let's hope this lasts. Still be curious to know if anyone else here caught it.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #2231 of 2320 Old 01-12-2012, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yeah..I know in Southington many had problems last night. All seems fine now.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is online now  
post #2232 of 2320 Old 01-12-2012, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

Yeah..I know in Southington many had problems last night. All seems fine now.

Good to know. Thanks!
PaulieORF is offline  
post #2233 of 2320 Old 01-21-2012, 06:34 AM
Member
 
esb1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Paulie - I have been noticing pixelation on recorded programs for the last week or so, only on a few channels. I have a TiVo HD. I'm in Newington. I wonder if there is something going on as I haven't had these issues in a couple years.
esb1981 is offline  
post #2234 of 2320 Old 01-21-2012, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Past few weeks been seeing alot of pixelation esp Spike channel, also at night my internet speeds go to chit, have the mid tier speed level, 20 meg
Bud-man is offline  
post #2235 of 2320 Old 01-25-2012, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm seeing another drop in signal quality over the past few days. Seems to be affecting the 800mhz range mostly. I usually see about 3.5Dbmv but now im getting around 1 and sometime close to 0. This is reminiscent of what happen a few weeks ago.

Anyone else seeing this?

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is online now  
post #2236 of 2320 Old 01-25-2012, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
In early fall I went up to digital with recorder. I was very happy with it. I got a fixed price for one year. Today I lost Sundance channel. Screen said call to get the channel. According to tech support that channel was moved to a movie tier and for $5 I could get the tier. So half way thru my year I lose a channel. Hope that's the only one. So much for recording those movies. I'm not happy and will talk to Cox tomorrow. Why sign up for a year if they can pull channels at will? Just venting.
100/40 is offline  
post #2237 of 2320 Old 01-26-2012, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A call to Cox today confirmed the Sundance channel was moved to a movie tier to gain bandwidth. I think it was to get more income. The interesting thing was IFC is also going to that movie tier, but I was grandfathered IFC for now. I asked why wasn't Sundance grandfathered, but basically was told it wasn't possible. These changes were published somewhere but I never saw it. Anyone catch that info?
100/40 is offline  
post #2238 of 2320 Old 01-30-2012, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It's tht time again. Today's Hartford Courant:

NOTICE
Cox Communications is required by law to receive permission from broadcast stations to carry their signals on our video channel lineup. Cox is currently negotiating with LIN TV Corp., owner of WTNH, MyTV9 and Cool TV, to continue carrying its signals on channels 7, 9, 812 1007, and 1009 and we are optimistic an agreement will be reached. However, should no agreement be reached, WTNH and MyTV9 signals may no longer be available on the Cox lineup after February 29, 2012. Cox is required to notify customers of these possible changes to the channel lineup. Cox is committed to reaching an agreement so that there is no disruption to our customers.
100/40 is offline  
post #2239 of 2320 Old 02-09-2012, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 100/40 View Post

It's tht time again. Today's Hartford Courant:

NOTICE
Cox Communications is required by law to receive permission from broadcast stations to carry their signals on our video channel lineup. Cox is currently negotiating with LIN TV Corp., owner of WTNH, MyTV9 and Cool TV, to continue carrying its signals on channels 7, 9, 812 1007, and 1009 and we are optimistic an agreement will be reached. However, should no agreement be reached, WTNH and MyTV9 signals may no longer be available on the Cox lineup after February 29, 2012. Cox is required to notify customers of these possible changes to the channel lineup. Cox is committed to reaching an agreement so that there is no disruption to our customers.

Ohh Nooo!, this thread started in 2005 and back then we all bitched about no ABC, I even back then went to get lengths and installed antenna's on my roof to get ABC in HD.

If it wasnt for my kids I am going back to Antenna and FREE HD!!
Bud-man is offline  
post #2240 of 2320 Old 02-09-2012, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Surprise. Today's bill said rate increase coming next month.
100/40 is offline  
post #2241 of 2320 Old 02-10-2012, 03:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 100/40 View Post

Surprise. Today's bill said rate increase coming next month.

This is getting out of control!!, offer new people great deals, screw over your existing one's, I'm tired of the MONOPOLY!!

Radio Shack here i come!!
Bud-man is offline  
post #2242 of 2320 Old 02-13-2012, 06:46 AM
Member
 
RIGuy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud-man View Post

This is getting out of control!!, offer new people great deals, screw over your existing one's, I'm tired of the MONOPOLY!!

Radio Shack here i come!!

Except that you were once that new customer and you got that great deal.

There's a different between a Monopoly and an Oligopoly. You have other options as to where to get your TV service. You also have the option to not use it at all. You can't have a Monopoly on a "luxury" service.
RIGuy29 is offline  
post #2243 of 2320 Old 02-13-2012, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RIGuy29 View Post

Except that you were once that new customer and you got that great deal.

There's a different between a Monopoly and an Oligopoly. You have other options as to where to get your TV service. You also have the option to not use it at all. You can't have a Monopoly on a "luxury" service.

Read my posts above 2236 and 2237. The great deal is one sided and Cox wins. It appears they can alter the deal whenever they want
100/40 is offline  
post #2244 of 2320 Old 02-14-2012, 02:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've never gotten a great deal, how can you when i been with cable here since it was available 1983
There fine print you have to "leave" for 2-3 month's, then come back to recieve a deal, which only last's 6-12 month,s then your hooked and screwed over again.
Best deal is going to FREE OTA
Bud-man is offline  
post #2245 of 2320 Old 02-14-2012, 05:51 AM
Member
 
RIGuy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 100/40 View Post

Read my posts above 2236 and 2237. The great deal is one sided and Cox wins. It appears they can alter the deal whenever they want

The deal isn't being altered at all. You signed up for a tier of programming and a price point and both of those are remaining steadfast.

Now if we stick with your logic however, when Cox would ADD a new channel to it's lineup, because you signed up for a contract - should you not get that station until your contract is up? Because if you're saying that you signed up for a package and don't want it to change, then it goes both ways. It doesn't sound so appealing in that case, does it?
RIGuy29 is offline  
post #2246 of 2320 Old 02-14-2012, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't see it your way at all. I signed up for a package that had the channels I wanted. They pulled a channel. I would never expect Cox to add a channel. With the box they don't ever have to allow it until the time of my deal is up and I renew.
How about I say I think I'll start paying Cox $3 less a month because I need the money. I need more walletwidth. Wonder how that would work out.
100/40 is offline  
post #2247 of 2320 Old 02-15-2012, 03:56 PM
Member
 
RIGuy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 100/40 View Post

I don't see it your way at all. I signed up for a package that had the channels I wanted. They pulled a channel. I would never expect Cox to add a channel. With the box they don't ever have to allow it until the time of my deal is up and I renew.
How about I say I think I'll start paying Cox $3 less a month because I need the money. I need more walletwidth. Wonder how that would work out.

You would never expect Cox to add a channel? Why not when that happens just as frequently as channels get removed/cease operation?

So when we add TRUTV HD in a few weeks, Cox should just only allow customers to view it if they aren't in a contract.. because they signed up for a package and they don't want it to change. Does that work?
RIGuy29 is offline  
post #2248 of 2320 Old 02-15-2012, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RIGuy29 View Post

You would never expect Cox to add a channel? Why not when that happens just as frequently as channels get removed/cease operation?

So when we add TRUTV HD in a few weeks, Cox should just only allow customers to view it if they aren't in a contract.. because they signed up for a package and they don't want it to change. Does that work?

As I said I wanted the channels I signed up for, and so far one that I know of was pulled. Cox can add what they wish and exclude me. We'll talk at renewal, if that happens.
Question, you said when we add, who is we? Are you COX? If so please let us know.
100/40 is offline  
post #2249 of 2320 Old 02-15-2012, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Not to diminish your loss, so to speak, but the Sundance Channel and IFC have always been in the Movie Pak in most Cox markets, sounds like Cox NE was just reconfiguring their channel line-up to match the rest of Cox.

That said, now that Sundance Channel and IFC are no longer a commercial free channels, technically they should be moved to Expanded cable or the Variety Pak

I have been considering dropping the Movie Pak myself, since there are now only 2 Commercial Free HD channels, EncoreHD and EpixHD.

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #2250 of 2320 Old 02-15-2012, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post

Not to diminish your loss, so to speak, but the Sundance Channel and IFC have always been in the Movie Pak in most Cox markets, sounds like Cox NE was just reconfiguring their channel line-up to match the rest of Cox.

That said, now that Sundance Channel and IFC are no longer a commercial free channels, technically they should be moved to Expanded cable or the Variety Pak

When I signed up about 6 months ago both were listed in the variety pak, and I had them. All I wanted is for them to remain until my agreement was up. As I said, they left IFC. Since I have a box that Cox controls I think it is no problem for them to keep their end of the bargain. At the end of the year I would get to make another choice. Fine with me. My complaint is they can change the package and I have no say. So why sigh up for a deal?
100/40 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off