Hartford, CT - Cox - Page 78 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2311 of 2326 Old 12-07-2013, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud-man View Post

Got a $100 off on my last bill, thanks Cox!!

Reason?
domino92024 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2312 of 2326 Old 12-30-2013, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went up $30 this past month's bill, time to go to antenna Tv
Bud-man is offline  
post #2313 of 2326 Old 12-30-2013, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
terryfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
One of the annoying bits of not having a centralized Hartford, CT thread is the necessity of cross-posting. Anyway, the folks on the Comcast thread have noticed an audio problem with WFSB that I'm also hearing with DirecTV. There's a distinctive tick/static in the rear speakers during scripted prime-time shows. Not all the way through the program, but frequently enough to be annoying. I'd be surprised if this wasn't also an issue for Cox viewers with 5.1+ systems. Anyone else notice this? I hope to test this soon directly from the source now that I have an antenna that can pick up WFSB.

My posts are my own opinions and suggestions and do not represent those of my employer or other staff members.
terryfoster is offline  
post #2314 of 2326 Old 12-30-2013, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, have same issue over Cox. It is annoying during low volume passages, I never notice it at normal volume.

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #2315 of 2326 Old 12-30-2013, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Strange I also noticed some similar audio issues with Cox in Phoenix, AZ, also on the Meredith owned CBS affiliate, KPHO. These were during primetime shows prior to Christmas.

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #2316 of 2326 Old 01-04-2014, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wonder If OTA suffer's the same noise problems?
Bud-man is offline  
post #2317 of 2326 Old 01-06-2014, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
terryfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm also experiencing this problem when viewing the OTA broadcast, so it seems to be a problem at the source.

My posts are my own opinions and suggestions and do not represent those of my employer or other staff members.
terryfoster is offline  
post #2318 of 2326 Old 01-09-2014, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
terryfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, I've checked my Person of Interest recording from Tuesday night and didn't notice the audio problem. I also checked the Hostages recording from Monday and found a Hyundai commercial in common with the Person of Interest recording. The commercial during the Hostages recording exhibited the issue while the one during Person of Interest did not. So, I'm cautiously optimistic that they've finally addressed the problem. I'm reserving judgement until after the shows tonight.

UPDATE: After watching Big Bang and checking Elementary last night, I believe the audio issue has been resolved.

My posts are my own opinions and suggestions and do not represent those of my employer or other staff members.
terryfoster is offline  
post #2319 of 2326 Old 02-23-2014, 02:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does cox offer any wireless receiver's?
Bud-man is offline  
post #2320 of 2326 Old 02-23-2014, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud-man View Post

Does cox offer any wireless receiver's?

No.
domino92024 is offline  
post #2321 of 2326 Old 09-18-2014, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Issues with Contour guide:

I "upgraded" to a Cisco 2 tuner dvr with the Contour guide this summer because of it's larger harddrive. I'm trying to setup my fall series recording schedule. With my old DCR6416, when three or more series were scheduled for the same time the dvr would schedule 2 and tell me, in the program guide and scheduled recordings screens, which ones were not being recorded. This allows me to manually change the priorities and schedule the 2 I wanted. Now, with the Contour guide, I don't get any indication of what isn't scheduled. It shows the 2 scheduled recordings but nothing about the ones it can't schedule. A call to Cox support told me they would show up in "missed recordings" but only after the fact, I've already missed it, what good is that????? Anyone know a workaround? Is there a way to run to old guide on the Cisco dvr? Looks to me like a step backwards ... another time where a feature I used was taken away via a so call "update".

Maybe I'm doing something wrong but the recommendations function of the Contour guide are useless. I don't speak Spanish, never watch Spanish programming, but the guide recommends Spanish language programming for me. Most other recommendations are far from my interests too. Is there anything you have to do to get recommendations more meaningful??

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #2322 of 2326 Old 09-18-2014, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by apaulct View Post
Issues with Contour guide:

I "upgraded" to a Cisco 2 tuner dvr with the Contour guide this summer because of it's larger harddrive. I'm trying to setup my fall series recording schedule. With my old DCR6416, when three or more series were scheduled for the same time the dvr would schedule 2 and tell me, in the program guide and scheduled recordings screens, which ones were not being recorded. This allows me to manually change the priorities and schedule the 2 I wanted. Now, with the Contour guide, I don't get any indication of what isn't scheduled. It shows the 2 scheduled recordings but nothing about the ones it can't schedule. A call to Cox support told me they would show up in "missed recordings" but only after the fact, I've already missed it, what good is that????? Anyone know a workaround? Is there a way to run to old guide on the Cisco dvr? Looks to me like a step backwards ... another time where a feature I used was taken away via a so call "update".

Maybe I'm doing something wrong but the recommendations function of the Contour guide are useless. I don't speak Spanish, never watch Spanish programming, but the guide recommends Spanish language programming for me. Most other recommendations are far from my interests too. Is there anything you have to do to get recommendations more meaningful??
Does it learn your tendencies and make recommendations from that? If so, it should get better with time.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #2323 of 2326 Old 09-18-2014, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by raoul5788 View Post
Does it learn your tendencies and make recommendations from that? If so, it should get better with time.
I've had it for over 3 months and it hasn't learned anything. Still recommending shows I would never consider watching.
raoul5788 likes this.

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #2324 of 2326 Old 09-27-2014, 04:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a message from cox using IE, told me to go in and replace my modem, now seeing faster speeds downloading, my modem was 6 years old.
One thing that has pissed me off is they changed the guide slightly over a year ago, when you do a keyword search the show you are currently watching isn't listed, it used to be, then you have to manually type the show you want to find.....
Bud-man is offline  
post #2325 of 2326 Old 09-27-2014, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud-man View Post
Got a message from cox using IE, told me to go in and replace my modem, now seeing faster speeds downloading, my modem was 6 years old.
If you went from a DOCSYS 2 to 3 modem you will see a speed increase. Cox announced a network speed increase for this fall ... Preferred up to 50MB/sec and Premier to 100MB/sec. FWIR, it's not scheduled until mid-October in the RI/CT market.

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #2326 of 2326 Old 09-27-2014, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Yes but its funny how these companies LIE TO PEOPLE saying they need a NEW MODEM when in fact YOU DO NOT!!!!

If the speed you get using a DOCSIS 1.0 modem IS GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU,you dont need anything newer!!
Dude111 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off