Hartford, CT - Cox - Page 79 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2341 of 2349 Old 11-10-2014, 04:13 PM
Member
 
dph1077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sadly they aren't much of surprises, the increases are getting pretty regular.
I'm not sure if I'd go with a main antenna or individual for each TV.
dph1077 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2342 of 2349 Old 11-10-2014, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Isnt it sad???

The prices keep increasing BUT THE QUALITY EITHER STAYS THE SAME OR GETS WORSE!!
Dude111 is offline  
post #2343 of 2349 Old 11-11-2014, 01:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I Like the mini box, my bedroom tv does not have a cable box, now with the mini i'll get more channel's plus a guide....win/win for me!
Bud-man is offline  
post #2344 of 2349 Old 11-29-2014, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Like buying a car

I just finished my annual, now semi annual price event with Cox. I have decided to keep my bill under a set price for TV and internet, so we go back and forth to get to that price. After some discussion, from somewhere, they find a special offer for this or that. Two years ago it cost me channels 150 and up. This time it was a deal and the loss of my recorder. I won't give up HD.
Since all of my recording was network TV and I have an antenna, I bought a usb tuner and now record on my laptop using windows media center. So that keeps me happy.
Probably internet burns me the most. About $42 for 5 MBPS. My phone company, Frontier, has a phone/internet package for $50 a month at 6 MBPS. I know Frontier has had large transition problems but I may look at them in a few months.
We may be coming to the mini box only, depending how high the channels go.
Venting yes. The Cox experience is getting tiring.

Last edited by 100/40; 12-08-2014 at 05:32 PM.
100/40 is offline  
post #2345 of 2349 Old 01-20-2015, 07:34 AM
Member
 
dph1077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Curious for those with the mini-boxes. I have 2. On the upstairs TV it works fine. But on my 42" Panasonic plasma in the living room when I turn it on the screen is purple until I unplug and replug the HDMI cable in the mini-box. I've tried different HDMI ports on the TV and get the same result. Even tried a different box from the Cox store. The ports on the TV work fine with an HTPC and a Chromecast so I know the TV is fine.

Only thing I haven't tried yet is to use one of my own HDMI cables (just thought of it).
Has this happened to anyone else?
dph1077 is offline  
post #2346 of 2349 Old 04-19-2015, 01:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dph1077 View Post
Curious for those with the mini-boxes. I have 2. On the upstairs TV it works fine. But on my 42" Panasonic plasma in the living room when I turn it on the screen is purple until I unplug and replug the HDMI cable in the mini-box. I've tried different HDMI ports on the TV and get the same result. Even tried a different box from the Cox store. The ports on the TV work fine with an HTPC and a Chromecast so I know the TV is fine.

Only thing I haven't tried yet is to use one of my own HDMI cables (just thought of it).
Has this happened to anyone else?
Sounds like a handshake issue, your plasma is older?, I have a mini in my bedroom hooked to a 7 yr old lcd Sanyo without issue's, I have a 2006ish 50" panny plasma in the basement, could test it on that.

Also I noticed we have a minibox at work in Manchester area, they recently have new channels like premium's and CMT, which we don't have here in the Enfield area
Bud-man is offline  
post #2347 of 2349 Old 05-26-2015, 07:38 PM
Member
 
Redux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cox Moved IndieHD and RetroHD?

Meriden Area: I've just noticed that Channel 1277 (RetroHD) and 1278 (IndieHD) are gone from my Tivo series3 model HD. Has Cox changed frequency (beyond the Tivo HD range) or gone to mpeg4?

The liability for Cox in changing things is it makes you take a look at what you'e getting & what you're paying rather than just continuing to pay the bill out of habit; Cox should just take the money and not rock the boat.

I would have said those were two of my favorite channels, yet as I've tried to remember how recently they disappeared, it could have been months, many months. Prior to that they were going in and out and requiring a Tuning Adapter reboot so it had become frustrating. Other than maybe two other channels, I don't watch much Cox at all any more as I get decent OTA local reception and the picture is much better than Cox's version of them. Plus some services like Netflix.

I know I'll take a little hit on my Cox Cable Internet price when I cancel the TV service but maybe I can reduce the level a notch on that.

Last edited by Redux; 05-26-2015 at 08:44 PM.
Redux is offline  
post #2348 of 2349 Old 05-26-2015, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redux View Post
Meriden Area: I've just noticed that Channel 1277 (RetroHD) and 1278 (IndiHD) are gone from my Tivo series3 model HD. Has Cox changed frequency (beyond the Tivo HD range) or gone to mpeg4?
Those two have required H.264/1GHz tuners for quite some time. They may/may not also be SDV now.
domino92024 is offline  
post #2349 of 2349 Old 05-26-2015, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redux View Post
Meriden Area: I've just noticed that Channel 1277 (RetroHD) and 1278 (IndieHD) are gone from my Tivo series3 model HD. Has Cox changed frequency (beyond the Tivo HD range) or gone to mpeg4?
It's time for that TiVo Roamio upgrade
The Upgrade will also get you Cox OnDemand (on a Premiere or Roamio) in the near future:
Cox Nears VOD Launch on Retail TiVo Boxes

RetroPlex and IndiePlex have been MPEG4/H.264 since launch in Arizona. Cox AZ has also moved all the MPEG4/H.264 to SDV and below 860MHz. Most Cox markets do follow the same, or very similar, channel formats

Below is the complete list of Contour HD channles (MPEG4/H.264) for your area. Expect most new future HD channel additions to also be MPEG4/H.264.
Here is the link to your channels line-up, every channel with a triangle following it is MPEG4/H.264.
http://media.cox.com/support/print_m...cl_meriden.pdf

1087 POP HD (formerly TVGN)

1127 ESPN Goal Line/Buzzer BeaterHD

1150 DIY Network HD
1151 Cooking Channel HD

1202 HBO Signature HD
1203 HBO (W) HD
1204 HBO2 (W) HD
1205 HBO Family HD
1206 HBO Zone HD

1222 ActionMAX HD
1223 Thriller MAX HD
1224 5 StarMAX HD
1230 Cinemax (W) HD

1242 SHOWTIME SHOWCASE HD
1243 SHOWTIME EXTREME E HD
1250 Showtime (W) HD

1262 TMC (W) HD
1277 RetroPlex HD
1278 IndiePlex HD

1279 STARZ (W) HD
1282 STARZ in Black HD
1283 STARZ Kids & Family HD
1285 STARZ Comedy HD

1286 ENCORE Classic HD
1289 ENCORE Suspense HD

1480 MLB Network StrikeZone HD
1483 NFL RedZone HD
1484 World Fishing Network HD
1485 Outside HD
1486 Universal Sports HD
1487 Outdoor HD
1488 Sportsman HD
1489 Big 10 HD
1490 PAC 12 HD
1492 Longhorn HD

1900 MC Play HD

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting

Last edited by Bryan_CoxPHX; 05-26-2015 at 09:53 PM.
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off