Hartford, CT - Cox - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2320 Old 10-16-2005, 06:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Since the Hartford thread converted to OTA and a Comcast thread spun off, I started this for us Cox users.

I've had a couple of issues with Cox cable. The price is high. The DVR doesn't always work. And the box likes to reboot a lot. I could forgive all this with a good selection of HD channels. But they haven't added any in months.

Cox's current lineup.
700 – NBC
701 – CBS
702 - ABC
703 – PBS
704 - FOX
705 - CW
706 - MyTV9
710 - DISC
711 - ESPNHD
712 - ESPN2HD
713 - MOJO
714 - TNTHD
715 - UNIHD
716 - NGeoHD
717 - A&EHD
720 - HBO
721 - SHOW
722 - Cinemax HD
723 - Starz HD
724 - YESHD
725 - NESNHD
730 - MHD

Inserted 09/25/2007 - Hopefully Cox will be adding many more HD channels in the near future. Please use the following link.
http://www.cox.com/NewEngland/DigitalCable/HD.asp

Current tuner/DVR - Motorola 6412

Does anyone know if ABC, UPN or the WB plan to sign on anytime soon?

I probably should keep a log of when these things happen.

Last edited 11-17-05 to add TNTHD to the line-up.
Last edited 02-03-06 to add UNIHD to the line-up. UNIHD was first available
02-01-06 on Cox.
Last edited 03-30-06 to add WTXXHD Which became available 03-29-06.
Last edited 04-11-06 to add NESNHD, first available this same day.
Last edited 08-10-06 to add MHD (MTV HD), first available on 07-26-06.
Last edited 11-22-06 to add NFLHD and ESPN2HD first available on 11-21-06.
Last edited 01-03-07 to remove NFLHD and INHD2. Added YESHD which was first available 01-01-07. Moved ESPN2 to 712 which was INHD. INHD moved to 713.
Last edited 03-03-07. Added ABC and MyTV9 first available 03-01-07. Changed WB to CW.
Last edited 05-02-07. Added National Geographic HD first available 05-01-07.
Last edited 05-19-07. Added A&E HD first available on 05-16-07. Changed INHD to MOJO.
Last edited 08-31-07. Added Cinemax and Starz HD first available on 8-29-07.
Crescent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2320 Old 10-16-2005, 08:16 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Can you edit the first post and put Cox's current HD offering in there (maybe also equipment brand used)?

I'll add this to the Index.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #3 of 2320 Old 10-16-2005, 11:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
God I wish COx would get off the ball and pick up ABC, UPN, and WB digital feeds. So annoying!

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #4 of 2320 Old 10-16-2005, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've been waiting for some time now for ABC. Although I can pick it up OTA, I sure would love to use my DVR to record some of my favorite ABC shows e.g LOST.

I get the standard response from Cox every time I make an inquiry:

We have received your recent e-mail, regarding ABC in High Definition.
We truly apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. At this time,
Cox is still in current contract negotiations with LIN Broadcasting. As
advised previously, they own the local affiliate of ABC in Connecticut.
Unfortunately, until an agreement can be reached, we will be unable to
broadcast this station in High Definition. Once again, we are sorry for
any inconvenience.


Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #5 of 2320 Old 10-16-2005, 05:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same reply now for what, 2 years? It really is just silly. When ws the last time we even got a new HD channel? Well over a year.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #6 of 2320 Old 10-16-2005, 07:38 PM
Member
 
LLCoach50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Called COX last night about CBS HDTV missing from the guide. They tried to say it was the box and they would send someone out Tuesday. When I explained it was multiple boxes in the neighborhood they did a reset which did not work. What else is new.

As for the lack of ABC and UPN they are still trying to work it out the LIN Broadcasting. They own both the ABC and UPN stations in Connecticut and I believe the FOX station in RI. I also saw where Cox in VA has the same problem with LIN, so may well be countrywide issue between Cox and LIN.

As luck would have it -- at least I can receive both ABC and UPN OTA with an indoor antenna.
LLCoach50 is offline  
post #7 of 2320 Old 10-17-2005, 04:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the info.

Do you know what the holdup is with the WB? Sure would like to see Smallville in HD.
Crescent is offline  
post #8 of 2320 Old 10-17-2005, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there something we can do collectively to get more channels?
Crescent is offline  
post #9 of 2320 Old 10-18-2005, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LLCoach50 View Post

Called COX last night about CBS HDTV missing from the guide. They tried to say it was the box and they would send someone out Tuesday. When I explained it was multiple boxes in the neighborhood they did a reset which did not work. What else is new.

As for the lack of ABC and UPN they are still trying to work it out the LIN Broadcasting. They own both the ABC and UPN stations in Connecticut and I believe the FOX station in RI. I also saw where Cox in VA has the same problem with LIN, so may well be countrywide issue between Cox and LIN.

As luck would have it -- at least I can receive both ABC and UPN OTA with an indoor antenna.

I just talked to a friend that works for Cox (mid-management) and this is what he
told me. As far as WTNH and WCTX in HD, (and Fox in RI), it could be a while. As LLCoach50 noted, they are all owned by LIN. Apparently, LIN wants Cox to put another of their channels on nationwide in exchange for permission to broadcast Ch 8 and 59 in HD!

Other HD offerings will likely not be available until at least the second quarter of 2006 when they upgrade to 850.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #10 of 2320 Old 10-18-2005, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the info. I wouldn't care if they picked up a different ABC affiliate. I don't watch HD to see the news.

What network is WCTX, WB?
Crescent is offline  
post #11 of 2320 Old 10-18-2005, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crescent View Post

Thanks for the info. I wouldn't care if they picked up a different ABC affiliate. I don't watch HD to see the news.

What network is WCTX, WB?

WCTX is UPN. WTXX is WB.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #12 of 2320 Old 10-19-2005, 05:50 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This whole thing brings up many issues with how the FCC handles things. Cable companies MUST carry the local stations in analog, at the same time the stations can refuse the digital feeds. Could someone please explain to me how this is fair? Mr. Powell are you listening? The stations should be required to provide the feeds to the cable companies along with the analog feeds. Of course this is my opinion and I could be wrong, but I doubt it.
schmitter is offline  
post #13 of 2320 Old 10-20-2005, 06:53 PM
Member
 
gahans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Other HD offerings will likely not be available until at least the second quarter of 2006 when they upgrade to 850.

Forgive me, but what is 850??

I've been on Cox HD since March and the lack of ABC hasn't bothered me until I found out this year's Super Bowl is on ABC... not pleased about that. But I'd still rather have Fox than ABC in HD... I wouldn't want to trade places with the folks in Rhody.

My biggest gripe with the HD content would be lack of pro hoops, no TNT HD and the Celtics are on the regular Fox New England non-hd. There is the occasional game on inHD or ESPN but I'd like more. Plus with hockey back I'm not sure if that will cut down on the NBA offerings on inHD.

On another topic I noticed a weird problem with the box tonite, all the recorded shows are showing a channel number in the 300's, and thats not the channels I'm taping. It seems like the recordings are ok, but for some reason the channel number got messed up. Also on the series recording it shows NBC HD as channel 320... very strange.
gahans is offline  
post #14 of 2320 Old 10-21-2005, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
schmitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should delete the series recording and re enter it. There was a problem with the guide server over the weekend and I had to re-enter all of my series recordings in order for them to work. I almost missed House on Tuesday becasue of this. The cable guy said that the server died and they had to put in a new one.
schmitter is offline  
post #15 of 2320 Old 10-21-2005, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gahans View Post

Forgive me, but what is 850??

I've been on Cox HD since March and the lack of ABC hasn't bothered me until I found out this year's Super Bowl is on ABC... not pleased about that. But I'd still rather have Fox than ABC in HD... I wouldn't want to trade places with the folks in Rhody.

My biggest gripe with the HD content would be lack of pro hoops, no TNT HD and the Celtics are on the regular Fox New England non-hd. There is the occasional game on inHD or ESPN but I'd like more. Plus with hockey back I'm not sure if that will cut down on the NBA offerings on inHD.

On another topic I noticed a weird problem with the box tonite, all the recorded shows are showing a channel number in the 300's, and thats not the channels I'm taping. It seems like the recordings are ok, but for some reason the channel number got messed up. Also on the series recording it shows NBC HD as channel 320... very strange.

850 is 850mhz, or generally speaking, the channel capacity.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #16 of 2320 Old 10-24-2005, 05:39 PM
Member
 
gahans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know if Cox in CT has the Phase III Moto boxes... have you upgraded?
gahans is offline  
post #17 of 2320 Old 10-31-2005, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all-

I moved down from Comcast in MA and I'm on COX now (East Windsor). Are Cox systems generally not on 850mhz? I'm just curious as I know I was on that up in MA on the comcast system.

I'd love the WB in HD, but I doubt it's a big priority at this point. TNT would also be nice, but I have to imagine if we're not on a 850mhz system, they have to be running short on bandwidth.

Chris
Schlotkins is offline  
post #18 of 2320 Old 10-31-2005, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Welcome Shlotkins..

We Smallville fans want the WB in HD. We MNF fans want ABC in HD. Actually, shouldn't all channels be in HD by now?
Crescent is offline  
post #19 of 2320 Old 10-31-2005, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlotkins View Post

Hello all-

I moved down from Comcast in MA and I'm on COX now (East Windsor). Are Cox systems generally not on 850mhz? I'm just curious as I know I was on that up in MA on the comcast system.

I'd love the WB in HD, but I doubt it's a big priority at this point. TNT would also be nice, but I have to imagine if we're not on a 850mhz system, they have to be running short on bandwidth.

Chris

I don't think they are at 850mhz anywhere in CT. They should be 2nd 1/4 of 2006.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #20 of 2320 Old 11-14-2005, 09:00 PM
Newbie
 
tonymus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Suffield, CT, USA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know it's a bit early, but does anyone know if Cox Communications will offer the Windsor Locks/Suffield/Enfield area SportsNet New York next spring, either as an extended basic or add-on digital channel?

Thank you for your help in advance.
tonymus is offline  
post #21 of 2320 Old 11-16-2005, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Time to add it to the list!! Channel 714

Maybe ABC and WB will be soon

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #22 of 2320 Old 11-18-2005, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Cardiff Giant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone, just signed up here and noticed that we now have TNT HD. Is TNT true HD or do they upconvert their syndication shows? Also, I too am eagerly awaiting when if ever we'll get ABC. I was contemplating trying to find a cheap OTA HD box just for ABC but knowing my luck they'd add it the day after I bought it
On a side note, I'm now on my second motorola box, the last one just stopped repsonding to the Cox systems so my program guide showed no data had to rush to the Manchester office to do the swap and the woman gave me a snooty attitude despite the fact that the guy on the phone said he would jot something down in my account info to show that we tried to fix it over the phone.
Cardiff Giant is offline  
post #23 of 2320 Old 11-18-2005, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Crescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They give us TNTHD just to appease us. Any new editions are good. But I'm really not that interested in watching edited movies.

If Cox really cared about their customers ABC and a DVR that works would be a priority. (WB for me personally)
Crescent is offline  
post #24 of 2320 Old 11-19-2005, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I really need WB. Luckily for me, I can pick up ABC OTA very easily with my indoor antenna. WB is a tougher signal to pull in OTA until they go full power.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #25 of 2320 Old 11-21-2005, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC is coming soon, probably before Xmas, cox rep told me month ago, also about TNTHD which we already have.
Bud-man is offline  
post #26 of 2320 Old 11-21-2005, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also theres a major DVR firmware update for the 30th......posted by moyekj for Cox in Orange County, hopefully we'll get the info, somebody else said check your cox e-mail for the update...........

I've updated my Motorola DCT6412 2 tuner HDTV PVR w/ Passport Echo Information web page to reflect Passport Echo 2.5.x software. Orange County is finally scheduled for that update on 11/30. The updated information is based on information from this forum as well as information from a friend that has the software. If anyone with 2.5.x sees anything wrong or missing please let me know. A summary of differences from 1.6.x to 2.5.x:

1. Subscription Bug fixed!!
2. All bugs related to playback of still-recording shows are fixed!!
3. Top FF speed is now quite a bit faster - yeah!
4. After turning 6412 off it no longer leaves video visible on 2 sides
of the screen when tuned to a 16:9 channel.
4. Bumped shows will record if a conflicting recording is stopped/canceled
5. Quick Settings/Diagnostics menu (Menu,Down,B,Up,B) now split up into 3
separate screens which can be selected using A,B,C buttons.
A=CFS data (guide data) B=DVR recording data C=DVR Info (default)
Both tuner frequencies now displayed on page 2 of Info.
6. Automatically prompts for extended record time (30 mins by default)
when scheduling recordings for Sport or Live events
7. Can create recordings from Quick Info browser
8. Cancelled recordings now stick around in Guide and Scheduled Recordings
list (can be deleted from Scheduled Recordings)
9. Skipped channels skipped in channel up/down and identified in Program Guide
with a *.

__________________
VideoLAN VLC with ReplayTV Automatic Commercial Skip support
DCT6412 mpeg2 firewire capture and HD/SD->DVD howto
Motorola DCT6412 2 tuner HDTV PVR w/ Passport Echo Information
Bud-man is offline  
post #27 of 2320 Old 11-21-2005, 11:26 AM
Member
 
ssusca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Holy Crap!!

We're actually gonna get ABCHD before the Superbowl??

Now I don't have to buy that OTA box just to get ABC!

Does this mean that they've finally resolved their issues with LIN Broadcasting?

That's awesome!! Cox is actually listening to their customers. I don't know how many times I complained about being in the only Cox market in New Engalnd that didn't get NESN. They did nothing about it until after the Sox won the World Series!

They must have received a whole lotta complaints from life long Sox fans that they missed the entire season.

Is there any estimated date or is it just sometime before Christmas ?
ssusca is offline  
post #28 of 2320 Old 11-21-2005, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well last year R.I Cox had no CBS, they still dont today but they had it for the Superbowl, Rep's told me there were 100's of Irate Customers!!
Bud-man is offline  
post #29 of 2320 Old 11-21-2005, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yup..I'm one of them.

That would be great and looking forward to it soon.

Now on to WB

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #30 of 2320 Old 11-22-2005, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a e-mail from cox today about New England..........
Saying they hope to have upgrades by January 2006!!
Bud-man is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off