Knoxville, TN - HDTV - Page 10 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 2072 Old 05-05-2006, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I love all the HD content on WMAK. Keep up the good work. I'll drop a note to Comcast to see if they'll add your station.
MRM4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 2072 Old 05-05-2006, 02:48 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Last two posts merged in.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #273 of 2072 Old 05-07-2006, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by aVOLanche View Post

This is the only way(calling) that it will get better.They ignore emails.Please....call the station!

I called 6 tonight and complained when they neglected to switch from the network feed after the basketball game. The network HD loop ran about half-way through before they switched to the news. Love that 50 hz sub test...

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #274 of 2072 Old 05-15-2006, 10:46 AM
Member
 
onslowtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed how weak WVLT has been recently? They have always performed poorly compared to other Knoxville stations. They share a common antenna with WVLT which is not tuned to Ch.30. WBIR is operating at over twice the power as WVLT on adjacent Ch. 31. Could this be the cause of WVLT's problems? WVLT engineer Doug Stallard does not seem interested in reception problems.
onslowtn is offline  
post #275 of 2072 Old 05-15-2006, 07:24 PM
Member
 
lcosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by onslowtn View Post

Has anyone noticed how weak WVLT has been recently? They have always performed poorly compared to other Knoxville stations. They share a common antenna with WVLT which is not tuned to Ch.30. WBIR is operating at over twice the power as WVLT on adjacent Ch. 31. Could this be the cause of WVLT's problems? WVLT engineer Doug Stallard does not seem interested in reception problems.

WVLT shares a common antenna site but not the same antenna. WVLT and PUBS chi 17 share the same antenna. For some reason this broad band antenna does not perform well for WVLT. The antenna is not owned by WVLT but by the tower company, Richland Tower. I know Doug Stallard and he does care about reception but it is the tower company problem.
lcosby is offline  
post #276 of 2072 Old 05-16-2006, 04:34 PM
Member
 
jeffloby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Caryville,Tennessee
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I disagree. The tower company might own the tower but they are representing WVLT. It should be WVLT's problem to make sure their product is being sent out correctly. It will reflect on WVLT not the tower company. Just my opinion.
jeffloby is offline  
post #277 of 2072 Old 05-17-2006, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Codeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree. Utlimately, WVLT is responsible for the quality of their signal. Blaming it on the tower is actually sidestepping the fact that they chose to use that tower, so really it's WVLT's choice.
Codeman is offline  
post #278 of 2072 Old 05-18-2006, 10:42 AM
Member
 
lcosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffloby View Post

I disagree. The tower company might own the tower but they are representing WVLT. It should be WVLT's problem to make sure their product is being sent out correctly. It will reflect on WVLT not the tower company. Just my opinion.

Agree, Just that WVLT does not control entirely the situation. They lease space on the tower that they also lease antenna rights. It is diffcult to pin down where the signal problem could be. Tower company could be pointing back at WVLT and WVLT points at tower company.
lcosby is offline  
post #279 of 2072 Old 05-18-2006, 11:58 AM
Member
 
PatrickT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcosby View Post

It is diffcult to pin down where the signal problem could be. Tower company could be pointing back at WVLT and WVLT points at tower company.

Fully characterizing a transmitting antenna pattern is not trivial. It generally would involve an outside engineering firm and considerable expense. Another factor is that individual trouble reports are notoriously unreliable.
PatrickT is offline  
post #280 of 2072 Old 05-18-2006, 01:44 PM
Member
 
onslowtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just checked my reception and I have WKOP DT 17 (100,000watts) at 65% signal and WVLT DT 30 (398,000watts)with 25% signal. These two station's antennas are on the same tower and at the same elevation. This has to be considered a pretty reliable comparison. It is difficult to blame the viewer when two stations are at the same precise location. Clearly, there is a problem.
onslowtn is offline  
post #281 of 2072 Old 05-18-2006, 02:31 PM
Member
 
PatrickT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't blame the viewer (or you). I think I see a lower than normal signal here from WVLT so there's at least two of us. But a single trouble report is suspect. When several people are reporting the same problem then it is likely real.
PatrickT is offline  
post #282 of 2072 Old 05-18-2006, 03:53 PM
Member
 
onslowtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have heard several reports of reception problems in areas northeast of
Knoxville like Hamblen,Greene, Claiborne and Grainger. WVLT promised someone in Morristown that they would be doing testing in Hamblen and Greene County and get back to them with the results. This apparently never happened.
onslowtn is offline  
post #283 of 2072 Old 05-18-2006, 06:26 PM
Member
 
lcosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by onslowtn View Post

I just checked my reception and I have WKOP DT 17 (100,000watts) at 65% signal and WVLT DT 30 (398,000watts)with 25% signal. These two station's antennas are on the same tower and at the same elevation. This has to be considered a pretty reliable comparison. It is difficult to blame the viewer when two stations are at the same precise location. Clearly, there is a problem.

It is the same tower and the same antenna. It is broadband antenna made to handle 4 or 5 different UHF signals. In adddition to WKOP and WVLT, a low power analog station on channel 24 is being carried on tha same antenna. I have the same signal issues in West Knoxville. WVLT signal is significantly lower than WKOP. The problem is with the antenna.
lcosby is offline  
post #284 of 2072 Old 05-19-2006, 05:30 AM
Member
 
PatrickT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcosby View Post

It is broadband antenna made to handle 4 or 5 different UHF signals. In adddition to WKOP and WVLT, a low power analog station on channel 24 is being carried on tha same antenna.

Well, if it's so obviously bad, it should make it easier to diagnose and repair. At least engineering and management should agree on a course of action whether Richland does or not.

For what it's worth, ch30 was slightly higher strength than ch17 at home. Channels 7, 26, 31 were full scale with ch34 near full scale. This was from an older "color ready" antenna ;-)
PatrickT is offline  
post #285 of 2072 Old 05-30-2006, 06:24 AM
Member
 
lcosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
where is everybody?
lcosby is offline  
post #286 of 2072 Old 05-30-2006, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,083
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 1334
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcosby View Post

where is everybody?

Lewis... do you mean location? I'm in Fountain City, with a view of Sharp's Ridge. I get all channels good with a basement antenna except channel 20 and *cough* WMAK.
DaverJ is offline  
post #287 of 2072 Old 06-02-2006, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Is anyone with Comcast noticing a problem with a "skipping" picture on the TNT HD channel? I've had that problem for a couple of weeks, at least during the NBA games. I don't know if it's the box, Comcast's signal, or something else. None of the other channels do that.
MRM4 is offline  
post #288 of 2072 Old 06-08-2006, 11:35 PM
Member
 
pong1092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Many have complained after seeing the World Cup TV schedule that a significant number of the games are on ESPN2, which does broadcast in HD but most companies don't carry. Comcast has announced they will add ESPN2-HD in "several markets" tomorrow...but they didn't say which ones. So for all the soccer futbol fans out there, you might be in luck...or you might not. If anyone can get ahold of the list of cities or areas where ESPN2-HD will be available or if other carriers will add the channel as well, please let us know in the comments

http://www.hdbeat.com/2006/06/08/com...the-world-cup/

Of course its not in knoxville yet atleast, i just did a channel scan and didnt see it. I am assuming it will be channel 203 maybe by the time I wake up it will be there
pong1092 is offline  
post #289 of 2072 Old 06-14-2006, 04:00 PM
Member
 
pong1092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like it is here ESPN2HD channel 203 the guide hasnt been updated but the channel still works.
pong1092 is offline  
post #290 of 2072 Old 06-14-2006, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
hotshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pong1092 View Post

Looks like it is here ESPN2HD channel 203 the guide hasnt been updated but the channel still works.

Guess Charter is behind, but at least we have Moxi. ;-)
hotshot is offline  
post #291 of 2072 Old 06-14-2006, 05:47 PM
Member
 
wsbeeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pong1092 View Post

Looks like it is here ESPN2HD channel 203 the guide hasnt been updated but the channel still works.

It looks like they removed the braves HD channel on 201 to add ESPN2HD. Probably because they are horrible this year.
wsbeeler is offline  
post #292 of 2072 Old 06-14-2006, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
hotshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsbeeler View Post

It looks like they removed the braves HD channel on 201 to add ESPN2HD. Probably because they are horrible this year.

Who Comcast, or The Braves? ;-)
hotshot is offline  
post #293 of 2072 Old 06-15-2006, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsbeeler View Post

It looks like they removed the braves HD channel on 201 to add ESPN2HD. Probably because they are horrible this year.

I hardly follow baseball any more. But when flipping through channels since baseball season started, I have only seen the Braves on in HD two times.

I hope the addition of ESPN2 HD is permanent. I have bugging them to add it since it came on the air. There have been a lot of good college football and basketball games missed in HD because Comcast has not added. Drop them a line and tell them thanks in hopes they'll keep it.
MRM4 is offline  
post #294 of 2072 Old 06-15-2006, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Back to my earlier question: is anyone experiencing video problems on some of the Comcast HD channels, specifically a picture that appears jittery? Several channels are like that on mine and a co-worker said he's seen the same thing, but on different channels where I see it.
MRM4 is offline  
post #295 of 2072 Old 06-15-2006, 02:45 PM
Newbie
 
nealf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone, I'm new here and new to the HDTV scene! Just got a tv a couple of weeks ago and am trying out the OTA stations from west Knoxville with an indoor antenna. So far I've had pretty good luck picking up WVLT (8.1), WTNZ (43.1), WBIR (10.1), and WMAK (7.1). I have not been able to get WKOP (17.1) very much at all. When I first set it up, the first station I picked up and probably the strongest one was WATE (6.1), but now I am not getting a single thing from them. I guess I noticed that I wasn't getting anything from them early last week, and no matter where I put or point the antenna the TV gives me a "Low signal quality." With the other stations I can usually at least get intermittent sound and blocky pictures even if I'm moving it around. The other weird thing is that according to the TV, the signal strength on WATE is very good with usually 80-90%. Has anybody else been having problems with them? I really wanted to see a world cup game or two not to mention the NBA Finals!
nealf is offline  
post #296 of 2072 Old 06-15-2006, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,083
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 1334
Hey nealf...

Welcome to the forum!

I don't have any suggestions for your WATE problem, except to maybe have your TV do a channel scan all over again. WATE shouldn't be a problem to get.
DaverJ is offline  
post #297 of 2072 Old 06-16-2006, 06:29 AM
Newbie
 
nealf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks DaverJ! I had tried doing a manual remove and addition of the channel, but I guess I needed to do an automatic scan because that seemed to work!
nealf is offline  
post #298 of 2072 Old 06-16-2006, 08:31 AM
Member
 
Idjit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nealf View Post

Hey everyone, I'm new here and new to the HDTV scene! Just got a tv a couple of weeks ago and am trying out the OTA stations from west Knoxville with an indoor antenna. So far I've had pretty good luck picking up WVLT (8.1), WTNZ (43.1), WBIR (10.1), and WMAK (7.1). I have not been able to get WKOP (17.1) very much at all. When I first set it up, the first station I picked up and probably the strongest one was WATE (6.1), but now I am not getting a single thing from them. I guess I noticed that I wasn't getting anything from them early last week, and no matter where I put or point the antenna the TV gives me a "Low signal quality." With the other stations I can usually at least get intermittent sound and blocky pictures even if I'm moving it around. The other weird thing is that according to the TV, the signal strength on WATE is very good with usually 80-90%. Has anybody else been having problems with them? I really wanted to see a world cup game or two not to mention the NBA Finals!

Hey nealf,
What type of indoor antenna are you using? I'm new to HDTV too and I'm also interested in the OTA stations, and I'm trying to avoid using an external ant. But I'm not having much luck at all. I have intermittently been able to pick up WMAK and WATE (found in a scan, but never got a picture). So I'm just curious what you're using. BTW, I'm in Louisville, close to the Blount/Knox Co line.

Thanks.
Idjit is offline  
post #299 of 2072 Old 06-16-2006, 08:36 AM
Member
 
aVOLanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Knoxville,TN
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of the best indoor antennas is the Silver Sensor.Sears is closing them out for about $13(orig. about $30).West Town had one left last week.
aVOLanche is offline  
post #300 of 2072 Old 06-16-2006, 12:06 PM
Newbie
 
nealf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idjit View Post

What type of indoor antenna are you using?

Hey Idjit, I just picked up a Terk HDTVa locally to try it out. It works, but I haven't been all that impressed, so it might be difficult to pick everything up well since you are a little farther out. I'm actually planning on returning this one because I am getting ready to move down to Mississippi where I'm definitely going to need something bigger. That's all I can speak to since it's the only one I've tried...I'd listen to any suggestions the veterans here have.
nealf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off