Knoxville, TN - HDTV - Page 58 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1711 of 2056 Old 09-15-2011, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
402, Crumcast HD, I get a header for it on my Tivo but no program. Is it active only in the evening? I can't really imagine watching it till basketball season comes and the Lady Vols are on it.

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1712 of 2056 Old 09-15-2011, 02:23 PM
Member
 
tripelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Station WWWB-LP appears in TVfool listings:

Currently licensed as an analog Channel 25 translator station.

Seems to be located between Cookeville and Crossville.

Then listed as Channel 3 digital.

FCC database indicates as a Construction Permit licensed to CommSouth Media, Inc.

Looks as if there is an application to increase power to 3kW and move the antenna/transmitter closer to the Knoxville area.

Has anyone observed this station, as RF 25, or 3?

What programming does it carry?
tripelo is online now  
post #1713 of 2056 Old 09-15-2011, 09:03 PM
Member
 
BRice16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachael Bellomy View Post

402, Crumcast HD, I get a header for it on my Tivo but no program. Is it active only in the evening? I can't really imagine watching it till basketball season comes and the Lady Vols are on it.

It's only active when CSS is showing SEC events, the same as it has for the last couple of years.
BRice16 is offline  
post #1714 of 2056 Old 09-15-2011, 09:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRice16 View Post

It's only active when CSS is showing SEC events, the same as it has for the last couple of years.

I never Knew... I've had Crumcast for 23 months and.... Thanks for telling me! I only pay for Digital Starter and have some Sports Pak that includes ESPNU, will I get it for sure? Might I have to buy more crap to get it?

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #1715 of 2056 Old 09-16-2011, 04:04 PM
Member
 
wvvolfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post


Are you using Comcast's boxes?

Yes.

------------
Signature:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wvvolfan is offline  
post #1716 of 2056 Old 09-19-2011, 12:27 PM
Member
 
BRice16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachael Bellomy View Post

I never Knew... I've had Crumcast for 23 months and.... Thanks for telling me! I only pay for Digital Starter and have some Sports Pak that includes ESPNU, will I get it for sure? Might I have to buy more crap to get it?

Yeah, 402 is part of the basic HD package.

One problem, they sometimes forget to activate it for basketball games, so you occasionally have to slum it in SD on 33.
BRice16 is offline  
post #1717 of 2056 Old 09-19-2011, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRice16 View Post

Yeah, 402 is part of the basic HD package.

One problem, they sometimes forget to activate it for basketball games, so you occasionally have to slum it in SD on 33.

I guess I never knew because it wasn't active when I did my Tivo set-up. Thanks!

I had to rerun my initial set-up for one of my Tivos to get it to recognize I was getting 408 & 402. I'm gonna do the same with the other because it won't give me schedules for 402, 408, and the Weather Channel....and maybe a few others...? I've never had to rerun initial set-up for added channels in the past. The Tivo which I repeated the set-up gets the schedule for the Weather Channel. The other just says To Be Announced for it. weird...the Weather Channel isn't even new or moved.

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #1718 of 2056 Old 09-19-2011, 01:48 PM
Member
 
wvvolfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachael Bellomy View Post

I had to rerun my initial set-up for one of my Tivos to get it to recognize I was getting 408 & 402. I'm gonna do the same with the other because it won't give me schedules for 402, 408, and the Weather Channel....and maybe a few others...? I've never had to rerun initial set-up for added channels in the past. The Tivo which I repeated the set-up gets the schedule for the Weather Channel. The other just says To Be Announced for it. weird...the Weather Channel isn't even new or moved.

Even when 402 is active it says To Be Announced cause it was active most of this past Sat. & I noticed no Guide Data then.

------------
Signature:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wvvolfan is offline  
post #1719 of 2056 Old 09-19-2011, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvvolfan View Post

Even when 402 is active it says To Be Announced cause it was active most of this past Sat. & I noticed no Guide Data then.

I have guide data for it on my upstairs Tivo that has not repeated the initial set-up that I'm looking at right now.... 1 Winning Drive is what scheduled right now although there's nothing but a gray screen showing.

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #1720 of 2056 Old 09-19-2011, 06:16 PM
Member
 
BRice16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachael Bellomy View Post

I have guide data for it on my upstairs Tivo that has not repeated the initial set-up that I'm looking at right now.... 1 Winning Drive is what scheduled right now although there's nothing but a gray screen showing.

You'll have incorrect guide data for it at all times. For some reason, Tivo listings have that as CSN instead of CSS, not the same listings. For those of us with the Comcast boxes, there is never any guide data for the channel. A couple of years ago when they showed Braves games, that listing used to pop up, but never anything else.
BRice16 is offline  
post #1721 of 2056 Old 09-19-2011, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a new development. Now, my downstairs Tivo is refusing to display 408. It has all the guide stuff and it worked yesterday... I may have to call Crumcast and have them reset my Cablecard. I hate to have to call them! I think I'd rather get stung by a bee....

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #1722 of 2056 Old 09-19-2011, 09:06 PM
Member
 
wvvolfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRice16 View Post


You'll have incorrect guide data for it at all times. For some reason, Tivo listings have that as CSN instead of CSS, not the same listings. For those of us with the Comcast boxes, there is never any guide data for the channel. A couple of years ago when they showed Braves games, that listing used to pop up, but never anything else.

If they get there guide data from Zap2it.com (Tribune Media) then that is probably the reason since there lineup is showing 402 as CSN Mid-Atlantic HD.

------------
Signature:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wvvolfan is offline  
post #1723 of 2056 Old 09-20-2011, 03:07 AM
Member
 
MACINTN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is Whitney Kent no longer with WVLT? Doesnt seem to be listed on their website anymore.
MACINTN is offline  
post #1724 of 2056 Old 09-20-2011, 03:15 AM
Member
 
MACINTN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Bad,I see she is listed today.Could have sworn she wasnt yesterday.lol
MACINTN is offline  
post #1725 of 2056 Old 09-20-2011, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachael Bellomy View Post

As mediocre as WVLT looks now, back when they were a 1080i station they looked even worse, IMO.

I don't know. Watching the SD-NE game on Sunday was pretty bad. No sharpness at all to the picture, colors were dull, and lots of noise all the time. I saw highlights of the game afterward on another channel and the contrast between the two was like night and day.

I know my eyesight isn't as good as it used to be. But in watching some of CBS' prime time lineup last night, I felt like I couldn't see very clearly. When I changed to another channel, I didn't feel that way.
MRM4 is offline  
post #1726 of 2056 Old 09-20-2011, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
LMUBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cumberland Gap, TN
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MACINTN View Post

My Bad,I see she is listed today.Could have sworn she wasnt yesterday.lol

Of course they also have Wes "Gone back to school at Belmont" Boling still listed there as well. He's been gone for a month.
LMUBill is offline  
post #1727 of 2056 Old 09-20-2011, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRM4 View Post

I don't know. Watching the SD-NE game on Sunday was pretty bad. No sharpness at all to the picture, colors were dull, and lots of noise all the time. I saw highlights of the game afterward on another channel and the contrast between the two was like night and day.

I know my eyesight isn't as good as it used to be. But in watching some of CBS' prime time lineup last night, I felt like I couldn't see very clearly. When I changed to another channel, I didn't feel that way.

After seeing UT and part of an NFL game on WVLT, the blocking is increased over last season. It's not as horrid as when they were a 1080i station but they've taken a turn for the worse. They'll probably never have a top flight station unless it burns down and they have to rebuild it.

Your eyes are still good enough!

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #1728 of 2056 Old 09-20-2011, 10:03 AM
Member
 
wvvolfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I know someone in Sevierville, TN that gets WJHL-TV (CBS) from Tri-Cities with a large directional antenna and the difference in picture quality from WVLT is amazing its so much better and its 1080i.

Has anyone in Knoxville been able to pick up WJHL?

------------
Signature:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wvvolfan is offline  
post #1729 of 2056 Old 09-20-2011, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A few years back, whilst visiting my brother in Dallas....who had the exact same Pioneer TV as me at the time, I saw what CBS, 1080i football really looked like. It was really sharp. None of the 1080i broadcasters here in Knockville can even touch that station. Well, maybe channel 7 did before the dark lord, RTV, eliminated any chance of good looking programing actually airing. All of our affiliates are 2nd rate for one reason or another, IMO. I can't point to an outstanding one.

It's been tough for 8 to maintain their dominance of the bottom rung but their performance of late has firmly cemented their position as a backwoods, who gives a flush, crappers. It's hard to be worst in this market but 8 has what it takes, the wrong stuff!

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #1730 of 2056 Old 09-21-2011, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvvolfan View Post

I know someone in Sevierville, TN that gets WJHL-TV (CBS) from Tri-Cities with a large directional antenna and the difference in picture quality from WVLT is amazing its so much better and its 1080i.

Has anyone in Knoxville been able to pick up WJHL?

I wish I could get that station.
MRM4 is offline  
post #1731 of 2056 Old 09-22-2011, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
LMUBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cumberland Gap, TN
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvvolfan View Post

I know someone in Sevierville, TN that gets WJHL-TV (CBS) from Tri-Cities with a large directional antenna and the difference in picture quality from WVLT is amazing its so much better and its 1080i.

Has anyone in Knoxville been able to pick up WJHL?

I'm not in Knoxville, but I can get it. Their picture IS better than WVLT, but have fun trying to watch it in a storm. They were hell-bent on staying on 11 after the transition (same goes for WCYB on channel 5) and it is almost comical now how desperate they are to get off of VHF.

They currently run a weather subchannel and I remember reading somewhere that they are wanting to add another subchannel this fall.

WYMT out of Hazard has the best HD on a CBS station I've seen around here.... but they stretch non-HD content and have a master control who apparently takes long breaks so it can be hit or miss going back to HD after local breaks.
LMUBill is offline  
post #1732 of 2056 Old 09-26-2011, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Anyone have any recommendations for a good, but not overly expensive, antenna a person in Powell could use to get stations out of Chattanooga or the Tri-Cities? I'm tired of watching WVLT's piss-poor PQ programming and am also tired of one of those areas getting different NFL games than we get.
MRM4 is offline  
post #1733 of 2056 Old 10-02-2011, 12:11 PM
Member
 
BRice16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvvolfan View Post

[*]I am keeping the new HD channels for Comcast as "Announced" for now since I still don't have them so not all areas have them yet, I still do not have a definite reason as to why yet either...[*]Any questions, comments, suggestions and corrections are always welcome.[/list]

Have you called about this? The Knoxville rollout of these new HDs has supposedly been complete since mid-September.
BRice16 is offline  
post #1734 of 2056 Old 10-02-2011, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,666
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRice16 View Post

Have you called about this? The Knoxville rollout of these new HDs has supposedly been complete since mid-September.

My Comcast channel lineup matches wvvolfan's. I don't have the announced channels yet.

Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DaverJ is offline  
post #1735 of 2056 Old 10-03-2011, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I rescanned for channels on my TV for Comcast's signal through my tuner and I was surprised to get CSS HD for the UT game (I have the limited package). They've blocked most of the HD channels before except for the locals. Not only was I suprised to get it, I was also suprised how great the picture quality was.
MRM4 is offline  
post #1736 of 2056 Old 10-06-2011, 09:02 PM
Member
 
wvvolfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRice16 View Post

Have you called about this? The Knoxville rollout of these new HDs has supposedly been complete since mid-September.

I called last night and they had me name off every channel name/number from the lineup and they had no record that those channels even exist for my area, and they said they showed no information regarding any new HD channels to be added this month for my area. They also said that different nodes can get different channels then other areas??? I'm not sure if this info is correct or not...

------------
Signature:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wvvolfan is offline  
post #1737 of 2056 Old 10-09-2011, 07:45 PM
Member
 
BRice16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvvolfan View Post

I called last night and they had me name off every channel name/number from the lineup and they had no record that those channels even exist for my area, and they said they showed no information regarding any new HD channels to be added this month for my area. They also said that different nodes can get different channels then other areas??? I'm not sure if this info is correct or not...

The people at the Knoxville locations might be able to help you or give you a timeline. The new service place in Downtown West shopping center is rarely crowded. If anything, they might be able to help you on your price since you're paying for the upgrade that you haven't received.

The people on the 800# are clueless. The only way to get somebody on the phone is to call during the day so the call gets sent to the Knoxville call center.
BRice16 is offline  
post #1738 of 2056 Old 10-12-2011, 03:34 AM
Member
 
MACINTN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has Allison Kropf left WVLT? Havent seen her doing the 4 0'clock news lately.
MACINTN is offline  
post #1739 of 2056 Old 10-13-2011, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
LMUBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cumberland Gap, TN
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MACINTN View Post

Has Allison Kropf left WVLT? Havent seen her doing the 4 0'clock news lately.

She started working at WTSP in Tampa this week.
LMUBill is offline  
post #1740 of 2056 Old 10-13-2011, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
LMUBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cumberland Gap, TN
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So someone from WATE tweeted that they are going HD next week and posted photos of some of the anchors trying out the HD makeup.

Going to be interesting to see how it goes. Looks like they are tweaking the logo as well, if the billboards for "Anderson" are anything to go by.....
LMUBill is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off