Knoxville, TN - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2040 Old 02-19-2006, 06:46 AM
Member
 
lcosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickfire View Post

Has anbody had any luck getting waivers for HD channels from the local staitons.....I typed in my address and zip on D* site and it says that im eligible for the West & East coast feeds ....I want to know if anybody has been granted these waivers....I was told Ineed to call the manager of each station and talk to them in order to get them to give me the waiver...Do i have a shot?

No Shot unless reception is an issue.
lcosby is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2040 Old 02-19-2006, 10:55 AM
Member
 
aVOLanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Knoxville,TN
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still have an extra antenna,if anyone needs a great UHF. I have an extra Channel Master 4228(prefer greater Knoxville area).It is NEW, CHANNEL MASTER 4228, 8 BAY HDTV/UHF ANTENNA-CM's highest gain UHF antenna . Fred 865-693-4618 or email: gumpdoot "at"comcast.net
Will sell for $40 firm(pickup in Knoxville area only).
aVOLanche is offline  
post #183 of 2040 Old 02-19-2006, 02:29 PM
Member
 
Mwwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, is WBIRD on Comcast not broadcasting in DD 5.1 today for the race?

What's a signature?
Mwwilliams is offline  
post #184 of 2040 Old 02-21-2006, 11:15 PM
Member
 
freonchill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
aVOLanche - id love to get it, especially at that price

but i have a couple issues w/ such

1. im renting and the owner of the house i rent wont allow me to "drill holes" or access to the roof
2. my roommates would KILL me if i violated #1
3. i can get acceptable signal for all channels (as im 1-2mi from the ridge where they have their transmitters) and i get non-glitch signals on all but one (WBXX iirc, that is out to West rather than NE from where i am)

i dont know if im supposed to be able to - but i am using my roommates POS RCA branded antenna to get perfect signal for all local (except WBXX) HDTV channels

sorry...
freonchill is offline  
post #185 of 2040 Old 02-22-2006, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Codeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AFAIK, there isn't any such thing as an HDTV antenna (or a digital antenna for that matter). It's just marketing hype.

I'm several miles NE of Sharp's Ridge, with a smaller, second ridge blocking light of sight. I bought a Radio Shack's 15-1880. A 10+ year old Radio Shack Archer Color Supreme III gets pretty much the same level of reception, it's just large and uglier.
Codeman is offline  
post #186 of 2040 Old 02-22-2006, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Is anyone else getting annoyed with WATE switching their HD broadcasts temporarily just to show their call letters and the temperature, then switching back? They have to be the worst when it comes to their switching.
MRM4 is offline  
post #187 of 2040 Old 02-22-2006, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRM4 View Post

Is anyone else getting annoyed with WATE switching their HD broadcasts temporarily just to show their call letters and the temperature, then switching back? They have to be the worst when it comes to their switching.

YES! I agree on both parts of this post.


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #188 of 2040 Old 02-22-2006, 02:20 PM
Member
 
wsbeeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been pretty annoying with WBIR when they switch at 11:00 to give a message about their news being delayed. As if this is information we need everyday during the olympics!!

It would not be that bad if they did not switch to a 4:3 SD broadcast on their HD channel to do it.

About WATE, I was VERY annoyed during the superbowl when they switched to SD during the middle of a commercial to prepare for the local commercial that would show after it.
wsbeeler is offline  
post #189 of 2040 Old 02-22-2006, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 360
...so am I wrong in assuming that in 3 years when analog goes dark we won't have these ugly changes between HD and SD w/ local graphics?


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #190 of 2040 Old 02-22-2006, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

...so am I wrong in assuming that in 3 years when analog goes dark we won't have these ugly changes between HD and SD w/ local graphics?

I hope not.
MRM4 is offline  
post #191 of 2040 Old 02-22-2006, 05:37 PM
Member
 
wsbeeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

...so am I wrong in assuming that in 3 years when analog goes dark we won't have these ugly changes between HD and SD w/ local graphics?

Just because they will not be broadcasting in analog will not mean that they will be HD.
wsbeeler is offline  
post #192 of 2040 Old 02-22-2006, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsbeeler View Post

Just because they will not be broadcasting in analog will not mean that they will be HD.

I realize that, but what I'm thinking/HOPING is this: once the stations finally upgrade to all digital equipment (master control switchers, station bug inserts, character generators for weather and news crawls, etc.) there won't be a big ugly switch when they have to drop something on top an HD show or prepare for a local cut-in, newscast or whatever.

Does this sound reasonable or will we be seeing the HD switch to SD for years and years?


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #193 of 2040 Old 02-23-2006, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Codeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didn't the cable industry start off by claiming fewer commercials? I suspect the HD/SD switch will continue as long as SD broadcasts are allowed, at least as long as HD broadcast equipment costs more. I'd love to be proved wrong, though.

While I don't like the SD/HD switch for commercials, I can handle them. I really dislike them doing it in the middle of a broadcast for weather notices and such. I guess they'd have to spend more money for HD insert/scrolling. The thing that REALLY ticks me off, though, is when they forget to switch back to HD. Arrggggggggggggggggggghhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! How hard is it to flip a switch?
Codeman is offline  
post #194 of 2040 Old 02-24-2006, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 1,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codeman View Post

The thing that REALLY ticks me off, though, is when they forget to switch back to HD. Arrggggggggggggggggggghhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! How hard is it to flip a switch?

Exactly. And WATE is the worst at doing that. I never see anywhere near the number of times they do it on the other stations. They need to get their act together.
MRM4 is offline  
post #195 of 2040 Old 02-24-2006, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 360
I will give WATE props for at being one of two stations in Knoxville that does Dolby Digital.

...but yea, I wish they wouldn't mess around with our HD feed.


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #196 of 2040 Old 02-27-2006, 09:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
thejunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all!

We are moving to Knoxville in the next few weeks, and wanted to know what the current status of HD OTA in Knoxville was. Primarily using the network names, not the local call letters, can someone spell out what is/what is not working right now?

I have read through the thread, and there is a lot of talk about audio/video issues with various channels, but what is the latest status?

I have a 47" RPTV (16:9) (1080i) and a CM4228 antenna that has been working flawlessly for us here in Denver from 30 miles out @ 20 feet above ground level. Am I going to run into multipath issues from this strong of an antenna in Knoxville? We will likely be living in Halls, somewhere along Emory Rd. between I-75 and 441 (Broadway?)

Thanks for your help
thejunker is offline  
post #197 of 2040 Old 02-27-2006, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Hi Junker... and welcome-in-advance to Knoxville.

First thing you'll need some ugly orange clothing and learn to love the song "Rocky Top". I kid, I kid.

In Halls you should be in good shape - you will be probably within 5 miles of Sharps Ridge, which has most of the transmitters here. If you know the zip code you will wind up at, head here to see the direction and miles from the local stations transmitter. The only odd pointing you'll have to take note of is WBXX, which is the WB station. It might be hit or miss... I don't get it in Fountain City which is near Halls. UPN isn't digital yet... but once the UPN and WB merge into the CW Network (next year maybe?), this might change. Also, we have an independent HD station WMAK that I sometimes get and sometimes don't, but it doesn't have any programming I'm interested in (sorry Lewis!) and very little of it is in HD.

But you shouldn't have any problem with ABC, CBS, NBC, PBS and FOX.

If you have any specific questions, feel free to post here!


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #198 of 2040 Old 02-27-2006, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Codeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't UPN being transmitted, at least part-time, on a secondary channel of one of the big 3? I can't remember if it's ABC, NBC, or CBS, but I sure thought I saw it recently.

I'm east of Halls, but still just off of Emory. Even with a secondary ridge between me and Sharp's Ridge, I get all the stations DaverJ mentioned at 85% or better. WBXX can be a bit flaky, but I can move my internal antenna and pick it up pretty well. Assuming you're using the CM4228 outdoors, you should receive everything pretty well - unless you are behind a close proximity hill. There's a lot of bedrock around Halls, so if you end up behind a hill, you may need some additional height.

You may also pick up some of the stations east/west of us, but they will mostly duplicate those broadcast from Sharp's Ridge.
Codeman is offline  
post #199 of 2040 Old 02-28-2006, 08:33 AM
Member
 
freonchill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey thejunker, welcome

live SW of the 640/75 junction (2mi), west of 275

and using a POS directional analog tv antenna i can get most of the channels w/ it about 4ft off the ground. though i have a pretty much line-of-sight to the main transmitter towers other than powerlines.

6.1 - ABC
6.2 - ABC weather (24/7 weather channel)
7.1 - WMAK-HD (never watched the channel - mostly reruns of shows)
7.2 - 7.1 in 4:3
8.1 - CBS
8.2 - UPN
10.1 - NBC
10.2 - NBC weather (24/7 weather channel)
17.1 - PBS - HD
17.2 - PBS standard def
43.1 - FOX
43.2 - thetube (24/7 music videos in 4:3)

i know knoxville gets WB also, but its out towards Oakridge (NW of me) so i dont get it... and any others my receiver scanner doesnt pick-up.

most are in 720p, except NBC & CBS which are in 1080i
the only channel i have ever gotten 5.1 in was ABC

best of luck
freonchill is offline  
post #200 of 2040 Old 02-28-2006, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by freonchill View Post

the only channel i have ever gotten 5.1 in was ABC

Knoxville's FOX is also 5.1... American Idol and 24 sound GREAT.


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #201 of 2040 Old 03-01-2006, 02:16 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
thejunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info and welcome everyone. I will post back in a few weeks with an update, but now its time to pack pack pack
thejunker is offline  
post #202 of 2040 Old 03-01-2006, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Anyone else having problems with WVLT-DT (CBS) Tuesday and Wednesday?

I tried recording the premier of Amazing Race last night from my antenna and my DirecTivo reported that it didn't record it because it could not find the channel from the antenna. I tried tuning in the Vols game tonight and couldn't tune in 8.1 or 8.2, yet all the other Digital channels show up fine. Analog channel 8 is fine over DirecTV.

Anyone have any info?


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #203 of 2040 Old 03-01-2006, 06:08 PM
Member
 
jeffloby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Caryville,Tennessee
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
8.1 & 8.2 are off for me. Every other channel pops in great.
jeffloby is offline  
post #204 of 2040 Old 03-02-2006, 04:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
rhcorolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: KnoxVegas, TN
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also am not receiving 8.1 & 8.2 on Tues. or Wed.. I have run autoscan several times to try & correct the problem w/ no luck.

Edit: 8.1 & 8.2 working Thurs. 3/3
rhcorolla is offline  
post #205 of 2040 Old 03-02-2006, 07:12 AM
Newbie
 
killyoko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last night (Wednesday) my Fox, CBS, and NBC were either completely out or were severely pixilated for most of the night. ABC was moderately pixilated during Lost. And those were coming from Charter cable! In fact, ALL of the HD channels from Charter were crapping out last night to the point of being unwatchable. I did flip over to the antenna to check OTA reception and got ABC and Fox just fine, but no CBS.
I wonderhas anyone else had problems with Charter's reception over the last week or so? Surely Charter has some sort of swanky ultra fine antenna set-up (or something better) to receive their network signals in order to pass them along to the customers.

killyoko is offline  
post #206 of 2040 Old 03-02-2006, 10:30 AM
Member
 
freonchill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
killyoko - did you try calling charter and seeing if they know thats going on on their end?

i couldnt get CBS (8.1/8.2) OTA last night during the game either...
completely black, no signal

though my roommates wanted to watch lost in HD, and it was a good signal, even plugged the optical for 5.1
freonchill is offline  
post #207 of 2040 Old 03-03-2006, 06:24 AM
Newbie
 
killyoko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


killyoko - did you try calling charter and seeing if they know thats going on on their end?

Yeah, last night NBC and Fox were both completely out, and all other HD channels were very very pixelated. And a friend who lives nearby, also on Charter, confirmed this morning that his NBC and Fox were kaput as well.

So last night I called Charter and the rep claimed that she sent out some sort of magical signal burst to my unit; but it had no effect. She then checked to see if there were reports of outtages in my area, and apparently there is some sort of "node" that is out--but the repair was supposed to have been completed yesterday!

I now have a service call scheduled for 8a to 12 on Wednesday to see if they can get to the bottom of this.

BTW, I didn't have a chance to check OTA signal last night. BUT we switched over to analog NBC (on cable, with the hope of watching The Office) and it looked absolutely horrible--like watching through gauze.
killyoko is offline  
post #208 of 2040 Old 03-03-2006, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by killyoko View Post

I didn't have a chance to check OTA signal last night....

Killyoko: I watched American Idol on Fox last night (Thursday) OTA and it looked fine, FWIW.

OT: I didn't think Sway should have gone...


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #209 of 2040 Old 03-03-2006, 11:06 AM
Member
 
pong1092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been lurking for awhile now. Did anyone else notice the channels # changing on comcast last since yesterday? why change them if you dont add anything. Now I have to reprogram my remote to change to 202 everytime it starts instead what ever TVone is
pong1092 is offline  
post #210 of 2040 Old 03-03-2006, 12:43 PM
Member
 
wsbeeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pong1092 View Post

Been lurking for awhile now. Did anyone else notice the channels # changing on comcast last since yesterday? why change them if you dont add anything. Now I have to reprogram my remote to change to 202 everytime it starts instead what ever TVone is

In the January or Feburary bill, comcast included their new lineup. All the HD channels will be moving to the 200's. they moved all the PPV channels up to the 500's to clear up the space. It gives more room for expansion. They also left a space open for ESPN2HD, but who knows when they will get it.
wsbeeler is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off