Philadelphia, PA - OTA - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 3855 Old 10-23-2006, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
eatenhogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've recently lost PBS on ch 12. Is it just my rig or is this another hardware problem at the antenna? I went from a really good signal last week to nothing now. All other channels seem fine.
eatenhogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 3855 Old 10-23-2006, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
BrentHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New London, PA USA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eatenhogg View Post

I've recently lost PBS on ch 12. Is it just my rig or is this another hardware problem at the antenna? I went from a really good signal last week to nothing now. All other channels seem fine.

I assume you mean WHYY-DT. I got an e-mail that they will be off the air for awhile. They are on Comcast Digital. I don't remember the details but I believe they are moving frequencies and there was some kind of technical problem or missing parts that kept them from going back up.

"Sweet Cracker Sandwich!"--Satchel Pooch
BrentHD is offline  
post #273 of 3855 Old 10-23-2006, 05:32 PM
Newbie
 
eatenhogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrentHD View Post

I assume you mean WHYY-DT. I got an e-mail that they will be off the air for awhile. They are on Comcast Digital. I don't remember the details but I believe they are moving frequencies and there was some kind of technical problem or missing parts that kept them from going back up.

Thanks,
That's what I meant. This is still the OTA forum right?
I don't have cable, so I don't get Comcast Digital. I'm still fighting the evil empire(compression and all).
Thanks for the info. I guess I'll just have to get my dry English comedies from disk for now.
eatenhogg is offline  
post #274 of 3855 Old 10-24-2006, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
newsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pearland
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WHYY-DT should be back up on Thursday from what I read.
newsman is offline  
post #275 of 3855 Old 10-25-2006, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by newsman View Post

WHYY-DT should be back up on Thursday from what I read.

That's great. Is anyone having any signal issues with WCAU-DT ?? Not able to lock their signal on my HR10-250. Was fine a few days ago.
whsbuss is offline  
post #276 of 3855 Old 10-25-2006, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jones07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phila Pa.
Posts: 4,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrentHD View Post

I assume you mean WHYY-DT. I got an e-mail that they will be off the air for awhile. They are on Comcast Digital. I don't remember the details but I believe they are moving frequencies and there was some kind of technical problem or missing parts that kept them from going back up.

I love this forum. I was just getting ready to head up to my 3rd story roof to re-tune my antenna in hopes of getting WHYY-DT 1,2 and 3 again. After all it was windy the past few days. Happy I came here first, you saved my fat butt a climb

WeÂre doomed. It will never work
jones07 is offline  
post #277 of 3855 Old 10-25-2006, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
newsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pearland
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whsbuss View Post

That's great. Is anyone having any signal issues with WCAU-DT ?? Not able to lock their signal on my HR10-250. Was fine a few days ago.

WCAU-TV is doing just fine at my place.
newsman is offline  
post #278 of 3855 Old 10-25-2006, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jones07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phila Pa.
Posts: 4,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WCAU-TV is a little weak on my end, but 95% my TV locks in

WeÂre doomed. It will never work
jones07 is offline  
post #279 of 3855 Old 10-26-2006, 04:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jones07 View Post

WCAU-TV is a little weak on my end, but 95% my TV locks in

Thanks guys. Guess I'll have to re-tune the antenna again.
whsbuss is offline  
post #280 of 3855 Old 10-27-2006, 03:01 PM
Member
 
kurtlingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jones07 View Post

I love this forum. I was just getting ready to head up to my 3rd story roof to re-tune my antenna in hopes of getting WHYY-DT 1,2 and 3 again. After all it was windy the past few days. Happy I came here first, you saved my fat butt a climb

I just love this forum too! I've been wondering where 12.1 was! Have been meaning to check this thread to see if anyone else lost it!

Kurt

Better is one day in your courts, better is one day in your house, better is one day in your courts, than thousands elsewhere....
kurtlingle is offline  
post #281 of 3855 Old 10-27-2006, 03:04 PM
Member
 
kurtlingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had anyone had problems with FOX (29.1) during the Eagles game say 3-4 weeks ago? Maybe the Giants or was it the Cowboys game (vs Eagles).

We actually had to change to 29 (analog) for the last 1/4 of the game. Did anyone else have serious problems during that game?

Thanks. Kurt

Better is one day in your courts, better is one day in your house, better is one day in your courts, than thousands elsewhere....
kurtlingle is offline  
post #282 of 3855 Old 10-29-2006, 08:20 AM
Member
 
Philly Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Center City Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, everyone --

I haven't posted here for a long time. How is everyone doing?

I saw the announcement from the WHYY-DT representative explaining that their digital OTA transmitter was going to be back up on Thursday. Apparently the work was not completed yet (no wonder, with all the wind lately!!!).

Has anyone heard any updates from some other source about the new projected date for WHYY-DT to be back on the air? As I understand it, the channel will move to UHF 50, so we will also need to rescan once they are broadcasting again.

Thanks!

--Philly Tim
Philly Tim is offline  
post #283 of 3855 Old 10-29-2006, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
newsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pearland
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know what's going on with WHYY-DT. I thought they were supposed to be on the air this past Thursday. I don't know why they are not back on the air. Maybe they're waiting for donations from WHYY members.
newsman is offline  
post #284 of 3855 Old 10-30-2006, 05:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
newsposter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can i assume the lack of any signal at all for 3-1 is the squirrels using my antenna as a merry go round again? 57-1 and 17-1 are also out. wahhh.

amazing though how all 3 UHF 60s are super strong with 85 readings and even fox is solid 65-71ish. Heck even uhf 34 (or 35) is very strong.

57 inch Hitachi 57F710S
Tivo Premiere w/DB8 antenna which gets in VHF 6
Sony T60 2-160 drives unsubbed
Panasonic E80 Dvd recorder
newsposter is offline  
post #285 of 3855 Old 11-01-2006, 12:02 PM
Newbie
 
mr.spook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=newsman]I don't know what's going on with WHYY-DT. I thought they were supposed to be on the air this past Thursday. I don't know why they are not back on the air. Maybe they're waiting for donations from WHYY members.[/QUOte

Channel 12 WHYY is Back on the air as of 230 PM
There are not at Channel 50 like they said but at 12.1 12.2 12.3
So far i have Seen only DIGITAL and NO HD Broadcasts
Signal is Weaker and has Moved
It is not farther East Like where I get Channel 23
LOOK FOR IT

I am located near Honeybrook , PA
mr.spook is offline  
post #286 of 3855 Old 11-01-2006, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
newsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pearland
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.spook View Post

Channel 12 WHYY is Back on the air as of 230 PM
There are not at Channel 50 like they said but at 12.1 12.2 12.3
So far i have Seen only DIGITAL and NO HD Broadcasts
Signal is Weaker and has Moved
It is not farther East Like where I get Channel 23
LOOK FOR IT

I am located near Honeybrook , PA

Thanks. I did find it on Channel 50. Channel 50 is their UHF channel which your receiver shows as 12.1, 12.2, and 12.3. Just like Fox 29.1 is actually UHF channel 42. PBS only shows HD broadcasts at night and on the weekends. I get a low to mid 80s here in Philly with their new channel, a slight loss of signal. It isn't enough to warrant consternation from me.
newsman is offline  
post #287 of 3855 Old 11-01-2006, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
mr.spook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the update on 12. I expected the TV to tell me that it was on 50 instead of 12. i am very sorry if I caused a problem. I really don't understand my tv. I am new to it and it seems to do it's own thing. I used to get Channel 3 as 3-1 and now channel 3 is 26-1 channel 6 was 6-1 6-2 6-3 and now it is 64-1 64-2 64-3
Strange Critter but when you watch the new broadcasts it's worth the troubles.
hope you have a GREAT Night. I know that I really missed 12 in the mid afternoons

now all they have to do is come out with some more decent programs
mr.spook is offline  
post #288 of 3855 Old 11-01-2006, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
newsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pearland
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.spook View Post

Thanks for the update on 12. I expected the TV to tell me that it was on 50 instead of 12. i am very sorry if I caused a problem. I really don't understand my tv. I am new to it and it seems to do it's own thing. I used to get Channel 3 as 3-1 and now channel 3 is 26-1 channel 6 was 6-1 6-2 6-3 and now it is 64-1 64-2 64-3
Strange Critter but when you watch the new broadcasts it's worth the troubles.
hope you have a GREAT Night. I know that I really missed 12 in the mid afternoons

now all they have to do is come out with some more decent programs

No, thank you. Letting us know that 12.1 was back on the air. You didn't cause any problems. As your receiver/TV shows, you are seeing channel 3's and 6's UHF channels. Channel 10, I believe, is on UHF channel 67. I understand that channel 6 will be moving to VHF channel 6, eventually. And channel 10 will be moving to UHF channel 34 eventually.
newsman is offline  
post #289 of 3855 Old 11-02-2006, 05:37 AM
Newbie
 
mr.spook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now They're HERE - Now They're GONE . What kind of Game are they playing ? They were on the Air Yesterday afternoon and now They are an EMPTY HOLE AGAIN.
If any other company was run like someone is running WHYY , HEADS WOULD ROLL !
At the least they owe their veiwers a good complete Accurate Discription of " WHAT IS GOING ON "

Just remember, " YOUR VOTE COUNTS " and the way you vote on this Topic is with your POCKETBOOK ! When they ask for Money , REMEMBER ALL THE TIMES you went to 12-1 12-2 12-3 and got A DONUT HOLE.
mr.spook is offline  
post #290 of 3855 Old 11-02-2006, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
newsposter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by newsman View Post

. I understand that channel 6 will be moving to VHF channel 6, eventually.

Thanks for reminding me my db8 will be partially useless. Any chance of getting that 2009 date pushed back? I'm gonna hate trying to figure out where to put another antenna and jointenna.

for the record 3= 26; 6=64; 10= 67; 12=50; 17=54; 29=42; 57=32

and for the really anal folks here are the heights/powers of each

http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?state...&slon2=&size=9

57 inch Hitachi 57F710S
Tivo Premiere w/DB8 antenna which gets in VHF 6
Sony T60 2-160 drives unsubbed
Panasonic E80 Dvd recorder
newsposter is offline  
post #291 of 3855 Old 11-02-2006, 06:47 AM
Member
 
gauras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Folks,
Just talked to a whyy engineer. The new antenna for uhf 50 has a different
antenna pattern. I used to be able to receive whyy from central jersey. Now with the
change to uhf 50 I get nothing.

The engineer said they moved to uhf 50 because the fcc wanted them to test a pilot program for set top boxes.

So I guess we folks in central jersey who used to enjoy the HD programming are now
screwed.

Also they have lowered their power from 87kw at uhf 55 to 50Kw at uhf 50.

fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?list=0&facid=165726

The WNET PBS channel out of newark has barely 3 Kw of power, any one know if they have increased their power, so I can try to use it an an alternative to whyy?
gauras is offline  
post #292 of 3855 Old 11-02-2006, 06:33 PM
Member
 
thinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Philly PA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad I checked this forum- couldn't figure out why I couldn't get WHYY till now...

Dumb question tho: How do you all get signal strength numbers? I just have a rooftop antenna and would be grateful to find signal strength. Thanks!
thinman is offline  
post #293 of 3855 Old 11-03-2006, 03:59 AM
Member
 
toandfro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Deptford, NJ
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All major channels used to come in at 85%. Now 6.1,2,3 are hovering at 60% and wavering, 29.1 seems to come in clear except when I want to watch football (odd how that happens) and of course 12.1,2,3 are off the air (Still as of last night it seems).

Have a 4228 in the attic with a CM 7777 split to 2 STB's and a Digi TV.

I have a new Wingard HD 7080P that I was considering throwing on the roof (this one gets VHS too) but for now if even that wouldn't help 29 and bring in 6 I don't feel like risking life-n-limb for basically the same reception.

Have Directv but refuse to upgrade and committ to 2 more years to get the 4/5 LNB so my HD locals are NY

Waiting and waiting and waiting for FIOS

Comcast , that over priced ; non stable POS can KMA

Has anyone talked to the E's at 6 and 29 perhaps to see what their deal is?

Peace !
toandfro is offline  
post #294 of 3855 Old 11-03-2006, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
newsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pearland
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by toandfro View Post

All major channels used to come in at 85%. Now 6.1,2,3 are hovering at 60% and wavering, 29.1 seems to come in clear except when I want to watch football (odd how that happens) and of course 12.1,2,3 are off the air (Still as of last night it seems).

WHYY-DT is back on the air. I saw their HD broadcast last night. Though, their signal is coming in lower (upper 70s) vs. the mid to high 80s I was getting on their previous channel. As for WPVI-DT, I get mid to high 80s with them. No complaints there. As for WTXF-DT, they are a lost cause for me now. They come in upper 70s in the summer, now my receiver has trouble locking on to that signal. And when it does, it comes in at mid 60s. I can't see football on them anymore, unless I want to see pixelated video. Apparently, WTXF-DT has a construction permit for a taller antenna and more powerful transmitter.
newsman is offline  
post #295 of 3855 Old 11-03-2006, 04:50 AM
Member
 
toandfro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Deptford, NJ
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea, they have had that permit for some time now.. for both the 'new' lower tower and the even higher one.

I rescanned last night around 7pm and still didnt' get `HYY... I used to get them in the mid 90%.

mildly annoyed
toandfro is offline  
post #296 of 3855 Old 11-03-2006, 05:24 AM
Senior Member
 
enier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South NJ
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thinman View Post

Glad I checked this forum- couldn't figure out why I couldn't get WHYY till now...

Dumb question tho: How do you all get signal strength numbers? I just have a rooftop antenna and would be grateful to find signal strength. Thanks!

Is this what you're looking for?... http://www.hdtvexpert.com/pages/hitormiss.htm
enier is offline  
post #297 of 3855 Old 11-03-2006, 05:46 AM
Member
 
toandfro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Deptford, NJ
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gr8 link..

Can you rent them? No offense but unless your 'in the business' the cost seems a bit excessive to fine tune my antenna issues
toandfro is offline  
post #298 of 3855 Old 11-05-2006, 12:30 PM
Newbie
 
webhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I was watching the football game on CBS-DT (Comcast channel 233), and in the middle of the game it stopped being high definition. I'm unable to tune OTA channel 26 because our antenna sucks, so I can't tell if the problem is CBS sending the wrong feed to comcast, or if the problem is comcast putting the wrong feed on channel 233. Is anyone else noticing this problem?

Thanks,
Hillary
webhill is offline  
post #299 of 3855 Old 11-05-2006, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
stapleface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On a related note, I completely lost all HD programing this afternoon. Honestly, I'm not sure if it is something that I did wrong or if it is a problem with the feed(s). Earlier this morning I hooked up my newly purchased Hitachi 57F59A to my new Radio Shack 15-1892 antenna. Everything was going fine for about 4 hours, and then out of nowhere, I get nothing. I tried Fox29, 6ABC, Channel 3, Channel 10, every hd channel across the board just suddenly had a week signal. Anyone else had any issues like this today? I currently do not have cable/dish service at my residence yet, and was using this as my sole means of reception. So, since I am new to the whole HD arena, I am not that great with troubleshooting. I'm just perplexed as to why I would have reception for a while and now I have nothing. Anyone have any ideas at all?
stapleface is offline  
post #300 of 3855 Old 11-05-2006, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newsposter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
staple...perhaps a cable issue? Something not tight or antenna moved? Just guesses here. I've actually had problems with 3 and 57 going totally out at weird times. And those are my stronger stations. And thru everything, my weak fox has always gotten a pic. Weird.

----
regarding 12-1...on directv why dont they update the guide data? You can't record anything except manually. The old channels are there and that data is ok, but the new stations just say regular schedule.

57 inch Hitachi 57F710S
Tivo Premiere w/DB8 antenna which gets in VHF 6
Sony T60 2-160 drives unsubbed
Panasonic E80 Dvd recorder
newsposter is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off