Philadelphia, PA - OTA - Page 128 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3811 of 3822 Old 04-18-2014, 01:44 PM
Member
 
ctg115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HGN2001 View Post

Have you tried just getting the audio from 3-1 and 10-1 just through the TV speakers? Try that. If you can hear it through the TV speakers, then I'd suspect your audio connection to the Denon.

Harry

You are correct, the problem seems to be with the connection to the receiver. When I disabled the audio out to the receiver and used the tv speakers both 3-1 and 10-1 played audio on track 1. I guess I'll try swapping the toslink cable out and play around with the audio settings. I can't imagine what the problem would be though, why would it only impact those two channels?

Edit: I swapped out the cables and played around with the audio settings in the Denon and Panasonic menus to no avail. I'll post in the receiver thread to see if others have this issue with the 1610.
ctg115 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3812 of 3822 Old 04-19-2014, 07:37 AM
Member
 
JoeWS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Haddonfield, NJ
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cordcutter8982: I can help you out. I'm in Haddonfield. Send me a Personal Message and we can exchange contact information.
JoeWS is offline  
post #3813 of 3822 Old 04-26-2014, 07:33 AM
Newbie
 
weirdaljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I am 22 miles from WPVI attempting to get a signal for channel 6 without luck. So far I originally had a directional long range antennna roof mounted on a pole pointing at WPVI coordinates and nothing, but then I realized this was a UHF directional. I then switched to a UHF/VHF LAVA OmniPro HD-8008 Omni Directional antenna that was well rated with a amplifier, but still no luck with WPVI. I am looking for any suggestions. I keep seeing people speak about rabbit ears. Could they actually be a improvement over my antenna?

Anyone have any suggestions for me?

Here are specs on my current antenna. Again its pole mounted about 35 feet above the ground on roof with 25' of coax.

FM.UHF/VHF Reception
● Shield for minimum interference
● Build-in high gain and low noise amplifier.
● Anti-UV coating and waterproof design for durabilit
● 360 degree omni directional receptio on both UHF and VHF.
Frequency(VHF) 40-230MHz
Frequency(UHF) 470-862MHz
Gain(VHF) 28+/-3dB
Gain(UHF) 30+/-3dB
Impedance 75Ω
Working Voltage 110V/60Hz
DC Input 12 V
weirdaljr is offline  
post #3814 of 3822 Old 04-26-2014, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
Alex in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Channel 6 actually has a strong signal, if you have the right antenna. You need something capable of VHF-Lo. Channel 6 is 82-88 MHz. I see your antenna is suppose to cover 40-230MHz, but apparently not very well. These are relatively low frequencies which require a larger antenna. 

 

See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Television_channel_frequencies#North_and_South_America_.28most_countries.29.2C_South_Korea.2C_Taiwan_and_the_Philippines.

 

To pick up channels 2 - 6, you need an antenna with better VHF-lo sensitivity. For example,  C290 Colorstar UHF VHF FM HD TV Antenna (C290). Sensitive VHF-Lo antennas has long elements in the back, which are tuned for VHF-Lo. 

 

The LAVA OmniPro HD-8008 does not look like it has any long elements, so probably has a tough time picking up channel 6. 

 

I live in Hamilton NJ about 38 miles from WPVI and pick up channel 6 strongly. I have a (now discontinued) Winegard HD-7080P with inline amp. I pickup channel 6 without the amp; I use the amp for coax loss.

 

HTH,

Alex

Alex in NJ is offline  
post #3815 of 3822 Old 04-26-2014, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdaljr View Post

Hello,

I am 22 miles from WPVI attempting to get a signal for channel 6 without luck. So far I originally had a directional long range antennna roof mounted on a pole pointing at WPVI coordinates and nothing, but then I realized this was a UHF directional. I then switched to a UHF/VHF LAVA OmniPro HD-8008 Omni Directional antenna that was well rated with a amplifier, but still no luck with WPVI.
It doesn't matter what it says on the box or in the specs... I can't tell from the picture on Amazon how big that antenna is, but in order to pick up WPVI, then hold your arms out to your sides - if your antenna's longest active element (the HD-8008 seems to be a folded dipole, so that's it) isn't about the same length as the distance between your hands, it's not going to do it. Is that antenna more than a foot or two long? I easily pick up WPVI with a homemade twinlead folded dipole... see this post: http://www.avsforum.com/t/620626/philadelphia-pa-ota/3690#post_23577230 and then follow the link therein.
frank70 is offline  
post #3816 of 3822 Old 04-28-2014, 06:11 AM
Newbie
 
weirdaljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
It doesn't matter what it says on the box or in the specs... I can't tell from the picture on Amazon how big that antenna is, but in order to pick up WPVI, then hold your arms out to your sides - if your antenna's longest active element (the HD-8008 seems to be a folded dipole, so that's it) isn't about the same length as the distance between your hands, it's not going to do it. Is that antenna more than a foot or two long? I easily pick up WPVI with a homemade twinlead folded dipole... see this post: http://www.avsforum.com/t/620626/philadelphia-pa-ota/3690#post_23577230 and then follow the link therein.

Frank: It is about 38" wide. Could extending the width of the antenna on this antenna achieve the same results?
weirdaljr is offline  
post #3817 of 3822 Old 04-28-2014, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdaljr View Post

Frank: It is about 38" wide. Could extending the width of the antenna on this antenna achieve the same results?
Well, that's certainly not optimal for channel 6, but better than I suspected. You really should have 65". I don't understand what you mean by "extending the width of the antenna". Is it adjustable? If so, can you adjust it to 65"? The longest dimension of the antenna should be perpendicular to the line-of-sight from you to Roxborough (that is, if your arms are the long elements, then you would be facing Roxborough). Is this indoors or outdoors? Do you have any large trees or mountains in the direction to Roxborough? What is your altitude above sea level?

If it's indoors, you might want to try my twinlead folded dipole. Mine is nailed between rafters in my attic.

Channel 6 CAN be a challenge, no doubt about it. Fortunately for all of us, they quadrupled their power several weeks after going on the air digital.
frank70 is offline  
post #3818 of 3822 Old 04-29-2014, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
weirdaljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is outdoor antenna mounted rooftop. My ground altitude is 175' so antenna is mounted at about 200' above sea level. No mountains, I am actually on a bit of a hill so not any ground interference, but there are surrounding trees a few hundred feet away that are higher and have slight LOS issues between me and roxborough.

It is not adjustable but the antenna has 14" metal pieces, almost like wings on each side. I didn't know if it could be beneficial to solder or weld extensions to them of some wire or metal to increase to the 66" you mentioned, or if that would even work.
weirdaljr is offline  
post #3819 of 3822 Old 04-29-2014, 06:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
No, don't try to modify it - it's a folded dipole and messing with its design would most likely make it worse, not better. Size is important but not something you can hack.

At just 22 miles from the towers and with that kind of altitude, I can't even imagine what the problem is unless the antenna is defective or improperly aimed, or your signal is getting killed by those trees (this time of the year, they should be pretty bare). You should be able to pick up a marginal (though not good enough to watch on a permanent basis) signal from 6 with just a cheap unamplified rabbit ears dipole extended nearly horizontally to about 28" on each side, even if just near the TV, not on the roof, because you're already quite elevated. Often, amplified antennas are just a gimmick, and you're better off without their (inferior) amp.

Note that your antenna claims to be omni-directional, which translates into low gain and low immunity to multi-path. Even a simple twinlead folded dipole is quite directional (though it can't distinguish front from back).

Make sure there is nothing in the path from antenna to TV that is designed to filter out the low VHF band.

I'm plumb out of suggestions at this point.
frank70 is offline  
post #3820 of 3822 Old 06-07-2014, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I actually get WPVI-DT OTA with a Winegard SquareShooter. Zip code 19425, elevation 350'.
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
post #3821 of 3822 Old 06-12-2014, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
It seems that the transition to the new board format broke the links in existing posts to other posts. For example, a few posts above, I wrote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
It doesn't matter what it says on the box or in the specs... I can't tell from the picture on Amazon how big that antenna is, but in order to pick up WPVI, then hold your arms out to your sides - if your antenna's longest active element (the HD-8008 seems to be a folded dipole, so that's it) isn't about the same length as the distance between your hands, it's not going to do it. Is that antenna more than a foot or two long? I easily pick up WPVI with a homemade twinlead folded dipole... see this post: http://www.avsforum.com/t/620626/phi...#post_23577230 and then follow the link therein.
That link used to go to information I had posted long ago, but now it just returns to the last page. I have no idea how to find my old post. Something should be done to patch up the links so that they still work!!!
frank70 is offline  
post #3822 of 3822 Old 06-12-2014, 03:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
T-Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Near the Bridgewater Commons Mall, Bridgewater NJ
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
It seems that the transition to the new board format broke the links in existing posts to other posts. ... Something should be done to patch up the links so that they still work!!!
Ya, the site's a bit messed up but maybe they're working out the kinks. I tried to log on the other day and it wouldn't let me because it said I didn't have my browser set to accept cookies, which was not true. The site was the old site (or format) at that time, which was probably Monday because I wanted to see if anyone else had trouble with WPVI during the latter part of Sunday night's Spurs/Heat game. I completely lost reception but it wasn't anything at my end because everything else was okay. It could have been T-storms in the area between me and Philly, but I doubt it because all other channels were fine.

I've noticed that when PVI is getting the ESPN feed, like it was on Sunday nite, it's often full of glitches and such. So that might have been it.

And as to this new site/format, when I logged on just now it wasn't a problem any longer... BUT ...

It didn't take me to the Philly OTA page -- it took me to the main page instead. WTF? I want to log in and go back to the page I started at

Duh!

They're probably working on that as well.

Zap2it recently changed it's "format" and it took a few weeks for them to work out all the kinks and get it working for me with my Firefox browser. They had it pretty good with Google Chrome, but not with Firefox. But now they seem to have gotten it together.

Hopefully these guys will as well.

So .... LET ME LOG IN AND GO BACK TO MY PRIOR PAGE!

Thank you for your anticipated cooperation.
T-Max is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off