Philadelphia, PA - OTA - Page 135 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 15Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4021 of 4054 Old 04-21-2016, 03:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
When I key in 29.3 it just stays on whatever channel is currently tuned. Samsung LN32D450G1D.
Ok, then it's just my TV being flaky - apparently Sony didn't plan on stations with gaps in their subchannel numbering.

Anybody have any clue where channel 10.3 is coming from?
frank70 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4022 of 4054 Old 04-21-2016, 04:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 27
Posts: 15,115
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
1. WCAU 10 is coming up with 3 subchannels. The third of these, 10.3 is new, is labeled WCAU-DT in the PSIP, is virtually identical to 10.1. However, it is NOT on RF channel 34 as are 10.1 and 10.2, but rather on RF 49. According to rabbitears, the nearest two stations on RF 49 are WWSI in Atlantic City (which comes in as PSIP channel 62 and is two subchannels of Spanish language programming), and W49BE in Hackettstown (which would come in as PSIP channel 52 if I could receive it, but I can't). So it can't be emanating from either of those stations. So what is this new and mysterious phantom WCAU-DT 10.3???
Sounds like they're doing the same thing they do in San Francisco. In San Francisco, the NBC signal on Mount San Bruno broadcasts 11-1, 11-2, and 48-3, while the Telemundo signal on Mount Allison broadcasts 48-1, 48-2, and 11-3. This allows people who have trouble with one signal or the other, since they're not co-located, to be able to receive the missing programming. Given the loss of WMGM as an NBC affiliate, this doesn't seem unreasonable. Keep an eye out in case a 62-3 pops up on WCAU. I've updated RabbitEars under this assumption.

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
2. WTXF 29 is coming up with 3 subchannels, 29.1, 29.2 and 29.4. Rabbitears indeed reflects this new gap. However, if I manually tune to 29.3, up pops GetTV. But now, once I do that, 29.1 through 29.4 become identical to WUVP 65, and WTXF (FOX 29) is just GONE! The only way to restore WTXF is to ask the TV to scan for new digital channels, after which it will restore WTXF in the 29.1, 29.2, and 29.4 positions. I need to carefully avoid punching in 29.3 because doing so will once again lose me all of WTXF, replacing it with WUVP's 4 subchannels of programming. It seems that WTXF needs to fill in that gap to prevent this odd behavior. Thoughts?
Definitely flakiness in your receiver, as others have clarified. Sony receivers have always been strange about PSIP, in my experience.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #4023 of 4054 Old 05-12-2016, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Keep an eye out in case a 62-3 pops up on WCAU.
It just did:
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=63153#station
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WCAU Telemundo.png
Views:	62
Size:	44.8 KB
ID:	1436250  

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is online now  
post #4024 of 4054 Old 05-13-2016, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
Well this has the unfortunate effect of forcing WCAU to broadcast two HD subchannels simultaneously (as WPVI now does with Live Well), eating into the bit rate for the main-market channel and reducing it's PQ. I think OTA TV is headed down the slippery slope of cable TV... lots and lots of low quality channels, not at all what the HDTV initiative was all about.
frank70 is online now  
post #4025 of 4054 Old 05-13-2016, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 3,932
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
Well this has the unfortunate effect of forcing WCAU to broadcast two HD subchannels simultaneously (as WPVI now does with Live Well), eating into the bit rate for the main-market channel and reducing it's PQ.
If 10.3 is transmitted on RF 49 there shouldn't be any bit rate loss to 10.1 and 10.2 since they are on RF 34.
Ken.F is offline  
post #4026 of 4054 Old 05-13-2016, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
If 10.3 is transmitted on RF 49 there shouldn't be any bit rate loss to 10.1 and 10.2 since they are on RF 34.
No Ken, I was commenting on 62.3 (an HD channel) being transmitted on RF 34 along with 10.1 (also an HD channel). Not being a Spanish speaker, I don't give a hoot about the picture quality on RF 49.

Last edited by frank70; 05-13-2016 at 10:29 AM.
frank70 is online now  
post #4027 of 4054 Old 05-13-2016, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 3,932
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
No Ken, I was commenting on 62.3...
Sorry, I thought you were still talking about 10.3.
Quote:
WCAU 10 is coming up with 3 subchannels. The third of these, 10.3 is new, is labeled WCAU-DT in the PSIP, is virtually identical to 10.1. However, it is NOT on RF channel 34 as are 10.1 and 10.2, but rather on RF 49.
Ken.F is offline  
post #4028 of 4054 Old 05-13-2016, 11:37 AM
Member
 
NoReDist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It definitely improves Telemundo's reach out here to Chester county, Berks & MD. Many Spanish communities there.
NoReDist is offline  
post #4029 of 4054 Old 05-16-2016, 10:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Agrajag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Guys, I just got my home theater set up and, as a cord cutter, I picked up the new TiVo Roamio and a Mohu Sky antenna. However, all attempts to get a signal strength above 45 (of 100) has failed. Spent hours adjusting the antenna with no luck. My backyard is overrun with Oak trees which isn't helping.

Is there a place to call (I'm in South Jersey) to have a pro come out and check signal strength and possibly install the best antenna for our needs? If so, who?

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
Agrajag is offline  
post #4030 of 4054 Old 05-17-2016, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,162
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 875
Antennas such as that are not particularly good.
Do you have access to an attic? Running the cable is the only pita, for which you might want an electrician.
If you need to mount it outside, you'll probably want expert help.
Make sure the antenna can get both high and low vhf (otherwise you'll never get Ch. 6), and aim it at Roxborough.
Something from here would do the trick:
https://www.antennasdirect.com/store/attic.html
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4031 of 4054 Old 05-17-2016, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Agrajag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Last, thanks for the input. Just a bit before you replied I had found the site you mentioned and actually did order a different antenna. I'll be trying this guy in a few days (with a VHF kit applied):

https://www.antennasdirect.com/store...V-Antenna.html

We'll see if that makes a dent.

Last edited by Agrajag; 05-17-2016 at 12:54 PM.
Agrajag is offline  
post #4032 of 4054 Old 05-19-2016, 12:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Agrajag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I will say, I'm not having the best experience with Antennas Direct. I could have ordered on Amazon from them and had the antennas already. Instead, they charged me and all they can tell me is "it processed". They have NO way to tell me where the antenna is and it hasn't yet gotten to FedEx. What the heck is that BS? They claimed they'd ship it on Tuesday and now it's Thursday which means I likely won't have it for the weekend now.
Agrajag is offline  
post #4033 of 4054 Old 05-25-2016, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,162
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 875
You should have it by now. Did it work?
BTW, their shipping information clearly states 5 to 7 working days.
We've all gotten spoiled by next day, haven't we.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4034 of 4054 Old 05-25-2016, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Agrajag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It arrived two days ago and I assembled it yesterday. It goes up on the roof tomorrow, so we'll know the deal then! I have high hopes.
Agrajag is offline  
post #4035 of 4054 Old 05-25-2016, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,162
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 875
Our collective fingers are crossed.
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4036 of 4054 Old 05-25-2016, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agrajag View Post
It arrived two days ago and I assembled it yesterday. It goes up on the roof tomorrow, so we'll know the deal then! I have high hopes.
Be very patient when aiming the antenna (perhaps you have a rotator, which will make that MUCH easier). Even though you may have a theoretical magnetic bearing to Roxborough, a few degrees this way and that can make a world of difference if you have multi-path problems. The voice of experience.

Good luck!
NoReDist likes this.
frank70 is online now  
post #4037 of 4054 Old 05-26-2016, 09:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Agrajag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It's in and with very little need for adjustment it's already way beyond the Mohu Sky antenna. The problematic ABC, which was only getting a 37 is at 67-72. Most everything is in the upper 70s or beyond. Incredible.
Agrajag is offline  
post #4038 of 4054 Old 05-26-2016, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,162
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 875

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4039 of 4054 Old 06-08-2016, 06:58 PM
Member
 
gregarious119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Can anyone else check WPVI tonight and see if your reception is working? I'm getting 100% Signal Strength, but only 40% Signal Quality and 0% Symbol quality. I can usually receive this channel with no problems. Other channels are coming in as normal (watching Copa America at the moment).

Anyknow know the best way to contact the station engineers at this time of night?
gregarious119 is offline  
post #4040 of 4054 Old 07-09-2016, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
G-star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey guys - About to cut the cord. Wondering if someone can recommend a good attic antenna that will pick up hi/lo band VHF and UHF and won't break the bank? From my cursory research, it seems WPVI is a low band station, and I want to be able to receive it.

Thanks!

"That's right Mr. Martini...there is an Easter Bunny".
G-star is offline  
post #4041 of 4054 Old 07-09-2016, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 114
I get WPVI with a UHF only antenna (Winegard Square Shooter) in zip 19425. At the bottom of a shallow valley.

It's mounted outdoors up high. However, I've never gotten WHYY, which I think is nearly an impossible get in northern Chester County.
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
post #4042 of 4054 Old 07-09-2016, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
G-star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
I get WPVI with a UHF only antenna (Winegard Square Shooter) in zip 19425. At the bottom of a shallow valley.

It's mounted outdoors up high. However, I've never gotten WHYY, which I think is nearly an impossible get in northern Chester County.
Thanks for your input. I didn't even know that it was possible to receive a VHF signal on a UHF only antenna. I guess I have lots to learn.

I'm in 19020, about 17 miles from the major station antennas in BC.

"That's right Mr. Martini...there is an Easter Bunny".
G-star is offline  
post #4043 of 4054 Old 07-11-2016, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-star View Post
Hey guys - About to cut the cord. Wondering if someone can recommend a good attic antenna that will pick up hi/lo band VHF and UHF and won't break the bank? From my cursory research, it seems WPVI is a low band station, and I want to be able to receive it.

Thanks!

I'm in Quakertown and am receiving 56 stations including WPVI on a RCA ANT751R with a RCA TVPRAMP1R Preamplifier. The antenna is installed in the attic. The antenna was around $45 when I bought it and the preamp was $25. I did a little research (TVFOOL) and just bought the minimum equipment hoping it would work. I "cut the cord" about 3 years ago. When I bought the antenna, I wasn't expecting much for a $45 antenna but it worked well.

I added the preamp a couple of weeks after I put the antenna up and was able to watch 2.1 KJWP (METV) from Wilmington.
ems2158 is offline  
post #4044 of 4054 Old 07-25-2016, 11:03 AM
Member
 
jaxstraww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregarious119 View Post
Can anyone else check WPVI tonight and see if your reception is working? I'm getting 100% Signal Strength, but only 40% Signal Quality and 0% Symbol quality. I can usually receive this channel with no problems. Other channels are coming in as normal (watching Copa America at the moment).

Anyknow know the best way to contact the station engineers at this time of night?
Since the storms this morning I'm having issues too. Antenna looks to be in teh same spot. Everything else is ok but channel 6 is a mess. Mine reads 40% as well.

Sharp Aquos LC-60EQ
ClearStream 4
Channel Master DVR+
Nvidia Shield
PS3 & PS4
jaxstraww is offline  
post #4045 of 4054 Old 07-25-2016, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaxstraww View Post
Since the storms this morning I'm having issues too. Antenna looks to be in teh same spot. Everything else is ok but channel 6 is a mess. Mine reads 40% as well.
WPVI looking normal here in Lower Bucks this evening.
frank70 is online now  
post #4046 of 4054 Old 08-18-2016, 04:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has WCAU reduced their broadcasting power? I haven't watched it for most of the summer but I tried to tune in to watch the Olympics and noticed the signal is significantly worse than before. In fact, this channel used to be the strongest signal out of all of the Philadelphia channels for me (almost 100% signal strength) and now the signal is so weak that I can't even tune to the channel most of the time (it hovers around 50% signal strength, and cannot even get a lock at most times of the day).

I'm in the Allentown, PA area. I haven't made any hardware changes since the time the channel had a strong signal. All of my other channels broadcasting from Philadelphia still have the same signal strength as before.

I know they recently added the WWSI subchannel but I can't imagine that would impact the signal strength. Anybody know what is going on?
MasterSplinter is offline  
post #4047 of 4054 Old 08-19-2016, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 114
^^^
They turned over the WCAU engineering team to Comcast with predictable results

(I'm being facetious)
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
post #4048 of 4054 Old 09-06-2016, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
^^^
They turned over the WCAU engineering team to Comcast with predictable results

(I'm being facetious)
I live in Yardley and successfully used an older antenna (probably 40+years old) from the 1970s - after recent storms I lost all reception and upon their recommendation replaced it with an antennas direct DB8e. I'm still experimenting with placement and receiving some but not all stations (no 29). Any recommendations regarding placement,etc would be very welcome as well as opinions regarding this antenna vs. a yagi. thanks.
gerall is offline  
post #4049 of 4054 Old 09-08-2016, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerall View Post
I live in Yardley and successfully used an older antenna (probably 40+years old) from the 1970s - after recent storms I lost all reception and upon their recommendation replaced it with an antennas direct DB8e. I'm still experimenting with placement and receiving some but not all stations (no 29). Any recommendations regarding placement,etc would be very welcome as well as opinions regarding this antenna vs. a yagi. thanks.
First make sure both halves are pointing in the same direction (Roxborough) to minimize multi-path. Second, you're unlikely to get WPVI channel 6 with just that antenna. Your old antenna had long elements for VHF, this one does not. I use an old 8-bay UHF antenna supplemented with a twinlead folded dipole tuned for channel 6 (coupled via a UHF and VHF-LO combiner). If your new setup IS receiving channel 6, you are very lucky indeed.
frank70 is online now  
post #4050 of 4054 Old 09-09-2016, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Talking WBPH in HD, 60.3

WBPH-TV Bethlehem has launched an HD feed on 60.1; channel 60.3 is a simulcast of 60.1 in SD.

It appears much of the programming has not yet broadcast in HD or was not yet adjusted to fit the 16:9 screen
Pat's local 5:30 PM show (Bethlehem Glory) is still being shot in 4:3
CBN Newswatch is still being presented in a letterboxed format
69 News' Spanish Newscast is simulcast from WFMZ 69.4, but even that wasn't yet presented in 16:9 as it is on 69.4


Glad to see this station finally launch an HD feed, and I sure hope it won't be long before those RCN-produced Lafayette Leopards football games are presented in HD.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WBPH HD3.PNG
Views:	18
Size:	219.5 KB
ID:	1651577   Click image for larger version

Name:	WBPH HD2.PNG
Views:	21
Size:	785.2 KB
ID:	1651585   Click image for larger version

Name:	WBPH HD1.PNG
Views:	17
Size:	313.8 KB
ID:	1651593  
ScottLV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off