Davenport, IA - HDTV - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1643 Old 03-13-2008, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dacruiser View Post

I am new to HD in the Quad Cities. I was able to pick up all local unscambled HD channels via my analog cable feed. However in the last few weeks, the two PBS stations have dropped from my channel list (They were both around the 114 channel). Now last night, Fox HD has disappeared from my 106-3 channel. When I do a rescan, these channels never show up as a choice. If I input 106-3 manually, it just stays on the current channel I am viewing. Is anyone else having the same problem? I have a Samsung LN-T3253 Tv. Any ideas? Did Mediacom remove these channels from clear QAM viewing?

First off, WELCOME!

Last night, I just happened to fiddle around those channel areas and noticed that (I thought) the PBS HD feeds had moved. But I'm at work right now, so I can't tell you for sure where they are. One was WQPT-HD and the other was Iowa PBS-HD. I also noticed the Biography channel at 118.1 (I think), but it's not HD. I'm not sure about Fox HD, but I thought it was still there (somewhere). I'll try to check when I'm home for lunch and update the first post in this thread that lists those channels.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1643 Old 03-13-2008, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
Dacruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bierboy:
Thanks for the help. Those were the two PBS HD stations that were removed in the 114 channel area a few weeks ago. I am able to pick up the non HD Biography channel as you stated. I also noticed that on a new scan this morning, I am picking up WGN non HD on 101-7 and am getting two channels (125-7 and 125-9) of the Mediacom TV Listing channel (Channel 4 on Mediacomm analog cable). Would be interested in finding out if you are experiencing the same (FOX on 106-3 missing) as that would be a real bummer.
Dacruiser is offline  
post #543 of 1643 Old 03-13-2008, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dacruiser View Post

bierboy:
Thanks for the help. Those were the two PBS HD stations that were removed in the 114 channel area a few weeks ago. I am able to pick up the non HD Biography channel as you stated. I also noticed that on a new scan this morning, I am picking up WGN non HD on 101-7 and am getting two channels (125-7 and 125-9) of the Mediacom TV Listing channel (Channel 4 on Mediacomm analog cable). Would be interested in finding out if you are experiencing the same (FOX on 106-3 missing) as that would be a real bummer.

I'm still getting Iowa PBS DT on 114-2 and WQPT PBS DT on 114-4. Also still getting KLJB-DT on 106-3. I'm using a TiVo Series 3 for my digital/HD tuner.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #544 of 1643 Old 03-13-2008, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
Dacruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bierboy: Thanks for checking. After your update, I ran a different cable to my TV and all channels came back. HD must be very demanding as far as signal strength. The cable did appear to be showing its age. Nice to know that Mediacom is not scrambling these local channels one by one. I heard that is in the works as per an acquaintance of mine, but was not sure how valid his source was or if it was just a rumor.
Dacruiser is offline  
post #545 of 1643 Old 03-14-2008, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
spokybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

Bob - Welcome to the QC thread! You should have no problem picking up 12.1 from IC using the CM 4221. That's the antenna I use, and, when pointed that direction, it gets 12.1 with no problem at all. Mine is about 20 feet above ground on a mast, so, if yours is also on the roof, you should be fine I would think, even from Aledo. But get it as high as you can.

John

I talked to Keven@ Warren Electronics today. He was not very encouraging about my upgrade to the 4221 from the 4220. I bought it anyway at least to try it. Here are results from my magicmeter on my 622 box with the bottom of the antenna at 14' AGL.

Old New
4.1 #97 #95
6.1 #97 #75
8.1 #100 #97
12.1 Iffy@#67 OK @ #77
18.1 #81 #79
24.2 #95 #98
If I don't get any dropouts on 6.1, I might leave it pointed right at Orion.

Bob 61231
spokybob is offline  
post #546 of 1643 Old 03-14-2008, 09:18 PM
Newbie
 
y_flagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovehidef View Post

Just new to the forum so hopefully this is where I can get some help. I went Hidef back in November via DISH and a indoor antenna for the locals on hidef. I set on the backside of a hill and reception can be intermittant at times. Need an outside antenna. Someone here had suggested a place in Moline for the antenna. They suggested someone to install the antenna. That was in November and he still hasn't "had the time". Anyone know of someone who can do a simple install?

I had the same problem after buying a new antenna from Warren last summer. They recommended the too-busy-guy, and he was the only guy I could find in any listings. He would return calls after a week or two had passed, and he kept making up excuses as to why he didn't return my call earlier. My situation wasn't urgent, and he eventually did show up. He did a great job and was very friendly, though. He must stay in business for lack of competition--I would have hired someone else in a heartbeat if I could have found them.

The job, once he finally "fit me in", was fine. He seemed very competent, but normally I don't give my business to a contractor who doesn't return phone calls in a timely manner without pitiful, see-thru excuses. My $0.02. Good luck.
y_flagger is offline  
post #547 of 1643 Old 03-16-2008, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by spokybob View Post

I talked to Keven@ Warren Electronics today. He was not very encouraging about my upgrade to the 4221 from the 4220. I bought it anyway at least to try it. Here are results from my magicmeter on my 622 box with the bottom of the antenna at 14' AGL.

Old New
4.1 #97 #95
6.1 #97 #75
8.1 #100 #97
12.1 Iffy@#67 OK @ #77
18.1 #81 #79
24.2 #95 #98
If I don't get any dropouts on 6.1, I might leave it pointed right at Orion.

Did you rotate it when tuning in 12-1? That will make all the difference....especially if you have any height at all. 6-1, 8-1, 18-1, 18-2 and 24-2 are all in one direction. 4-1 is in Bettendorf, and you're gonna have to point to Iowa City to get 12-1.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #548 of 1643 Old 03-16-2008, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
spokybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply BB. Orion channels are at 69 deg and 12.1 is at 320 deg. Pointing the 4221 at about 40 deg upped the signal on all the Orion stations and I still get 12.1 at about 70%. I must be picking it up from the side. 20.1 is gone now and that's OK. I am very pleased with the reception. It's supposed to rain heavy Mon & Tues, so I will see if I have dropouts. On the next nice day, I'll see if I can get a helper with a cell phone, to dial this thing in.
Are you surprised I can pick up 12.1 without aiming over there?

Bob 61231
spokybob is offline  
post #549 of 1643 Old 03-17-2008, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by spokybob View Post

Thanks for the reply BB. Orion channels are at 69 deg and 12.1 is at 320 deg. Pointing the 4221 at about 40 deg upped the signal on all the Orion stations and I still get 12.1 at about 70%. I must be picking it up from the side. 20.1 is gone now and that's OK. I am very pleased with the reception. It's supposed to rain heavy Mon & Tues, so I will see if I have dropouts. On the next nice day, I'll see if I can get a helper with a cell phone, to dial this thing in.
Are you surprised I can pick up 12.1 without aiming over there?

Not totally...the CM 4221 is a great antenna. I'm surprised Warren tried to discourage you from trying it.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #550 of 1643 Old 03-19-2008, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Lovehidef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: West Davenport
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
y_flagger,

I had Rave from Port Byron install an OTA antenna. Did a great job and was responsive to my requests. I'd have him back if the need arose. I now watch the locals with no dropouts. Mission accomplished!!
Lovehidef is offline  
post #551 of 1643 Old 03-19-2008, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
spokybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had experience with the Winegard gs 1100? It is the non-amplified version that looks like a seagull.
Bob in Aledo 61231

Bob 61231
spokybob is offline  
post #552 of 1643 Old 03-28-2008, 05:41 AM
Newbie
 
arharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A guy from Quad City Satellite Super Center told me DirecTV would offer local QC stations in HD this August. Can anyone confirm or deny this? Would be great if it was true.
arharvey is offline  
post #553 of 1643 Old 03-29-2008, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
HD Hawkeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bettendorf, IA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is my first posting to this thread. I have been reading the history and it looks like everyone is very helpful! Hopefully someone can help me with a problem I have been having.

I have an OTA antenna that I got in January 08. The problem I am having seems to be when I am watching national broadcasts from 04-1 CBS and 06-1 NBC. The screen jumps from perfect to all squiggly (like when old rabbit ears were not tuned) and then jumps back to perfect. The signal quality is 99 or 100 and never fluctuates. When I watch local programming the picture never jumps!? Commercials are almost always fine too. I think 08-1 ABC may have the same issue. My 18-1 FOX broadcast is perfect. It never jumps. Does anyone know how I can fix this. NCAA basketball and Masters (coming up) gets hard to watch because of this!
HD Hawkeye is offline  
post #554 of 1643 Old 03-29-2008, 07:17 PM
Newbie
 
arharvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD Hawkeye

If no one comes up with a good solution you might want to gave a phone call to the store where you bought your antenna or TV. Or better yet, give the particular station a call and discuss your problem with their engineer.
arharvey is offline  
post #555 of 1643 Old 03-30-2008, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Lovehidef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: West Davenport
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
arHarvey....I have a coworker who is awaiting local HD thru DirecTV as well. This morning he was teling me he had spoken with a DirecTV technical person on another matter and the tech couldnt give a definite answer but kept saying look for "downloads" around April 12 giving the impression that local HD may be as early as April 12.
Lovehidef is offline  
post #556 of 1643 Old 03-31-2008, 08:02 AM
Member
 
HDfan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Port Bron, IL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Directv just launched a new HD satellite (D11)a couple of weeks ago and it will have increased spot beam capability for HD locals in locals. It's expected to be online by May 1-15. That said, Loacals are only uplinked after an agreement is made with the local OTA stations. The best way to know if HD LILs are close, is to find out if the stations here have agreeded to allow signal uplinks and the equipment in place. My bet is that that is a prett well guarded secret. But calls to 4,6,8,and 18 might reveal something. My guess is we'll have them within 3 months, hopefully sooner.

EDIT. A Directv customer will have to have the new Slimline dish with 5 LNBs and compatible receiver. The D11 sat is @ 99.3 drgrees.
HDfan01 is offline  
post #557 of 1643 Old 03-31-2008, 07:08 PM
Member
 
kavh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Iowa
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
About a week before the Cedar Rapids locals went HD I was home for lunch and I had a signal for 4 6 8 18 on my reciever. They were other channels being broadcast seems like 18 was actual VH1 and another channel was just a channel guide but it sure looked like they were testing something that day.
kavh is offline  
post #558 of 1643 Old 04-04-2008, 09:35 AM
Newbie
 
QCHDViewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Davenport
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upper Midwest Broadcasting (http://www.northpine.com/broadcast/ index.html) just released this:

IOWA/ILLINOIS/ NEBRASKA:
Citadel Communications has signed up to carry Equity Media's "Retro
Television Network" on digital subchannels of WOI-DT (Ames-Des Moines),
WHBF-DT (Rock Island), and KLKN-DT (Lincoln). Citadel also owns a
station in Sioux City, but RTN already has an affiliate there (KTIV-DT).
RTN now has carriage deals in 14 Upper Midwest markets. (4/3/2008)
QCHDViewer is offline  
post #559 of 1643 Old 04-04-2008, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, I saw it too, and here's some more information:

The press release from Equity Media Holdings, which owns RTN, is here: http://ir.emdaholdings.com/releasede...leaseID=302847

RTN is already on the air on KWWL in Waterloo as part of a deal with the Quincy Newspapers broadcast group. It currently carries programming until about midnight, and shows I've seen on the channel include Little House on the Prairie, The Nanny, Cannon, The Fugitive, Quincy M.E., 21 Jump Street, Get Smart, and others.

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
post #560 of 1643 Old 04-04-2008, 06:09 PM
Member
 
adm22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: People's Republic of Illinois
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like RTN. Now it would just be nice if WHBF would increase their power so folks could get them. I sort of got a bit of a signal off them once. I libve about half way between peoria and QC. So unlike ABC, NBC and FOX I only have one choice of a CBS station to watch.

THE RTN station in Waterloo is a full power one that runs some new shows along with classic shows and is owned by RTNS parent company. They have been actively attaining carriage on sub channels all over the country and also recently added Rockford and Madison. The schedule on each station is different. Some also carry MY TV in prime time in markets taht do not have MY TV. I know last year one of the ones that was on a CBS stations sub channel carried alternate BB games during MArch madness.

I have been able to receive a lagre number (but ever decreasing percentage) of their stations for FREE with a sattelite dish. There are a handful on C-Band sat G4 and a lot more on Ku Band G0. If you have a big dish you can buy a cheap receiver for about $100 and receie them and a large number of other stations for free. The RTN ones are the most interesting I ahve found in 400 plus of these. This is not stealing the signals since they are not scrambled.
adm22 is offline  
post #561 of 1643 Old 04-18-2008, 08:58 AM
Newbie
 
QCHDViewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Davenport
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those who haven't found it yet all IPTV stations are carrying a simulcast of their analog channel on .2 now. This moved the IPTV Plus to .3. The HD is still on .1.
QCHDViewer is offline  
post #562 of 1643 Old 04-20-2008, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
spokybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCHDViewer View Post

For those who haven't found it yet all IPTV stations are carrying a simulcast of their analog channel on .2 now. This moved the IPTV Plus to .3. The HD is still on .1.

Yep. I can watch Red Green now on Saturday at noon.

Bob 61231
spokybob is offline  
post #563 of 1643 Old 04-22-2008, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
QC Times has more information on RTN coming to the Quad-Cities. I believe the article has it wrong, however, in stating it will be on 4-1. It should say 4-2.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #564 of 1643 Old 04-23-2008, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may not completely allay your concerns about WHBF-DT's pending move to Channel 4 after the transition, but it may help:

A CDBS search I did today pulled up this application -- marked as "granted" -- which includes a power increase from 3.88 kW to 8.7 kW on Channel 4. Coronet's consulting engineers sought the increase because they felt the original 3.88 kW wouldn't replicate Channel 4's current analog coverage.

In the fringes, this should add about five miles to WHBF's coverage area, but I'd have to think it would help matters in the immediate Quad Cities region as well.

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
post #565 of 1643 Old 04-23-2008, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dline View Post

This may not completely allay your concerns about WHBF-DT's pending move to Channel 4 after the transition, but it may help:

A CDBS search I did today pulled up this application -- marked as "granted" -- which includes a power increase from 3.88 kW to 8.7 kW on Channel 4. Coronet's consulting engineers sought the increase because they felt the original 3.88 kW wouldn't replicate Channel 4's current analog coverage.

In the fringes, this should add about five miles to WHBF's coverage area, but I'd have to think it would help matters in the immediate Quad Cities region as well.

Thanks, dline....that is, indeed, good news. Rare that they would actually do something like that. Maybe they're finally "getting it" as far as HD is concerned.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #566 of 1643 Old 04-23-2008, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

Thanks, dline....that is, indeed, good news. Rare that they would actually do something like that. Maybe they're finally "getting it" as far as HD is concerned.

8.7 kw is a 3 dB increase, but it won't be enough to get over the noise.
Try getting it during a storm, or when power lines sizzle in the rain. Ugh.
There's a reason why less than 3% of all stations are on channels 2-6 after analog shutdown...

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #567 of 1643 Old 04-23-2008, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
retromzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plano, Illinois
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FWIW I agree with Gilbert. In Chicagoland we have had quite a time with WBBM-DT on channel 3. The slightest electrical impulses can cause a major break-up. If there is any lightning anywhere near your area I fear your channel 4 digital will be totally unwatchable no matter how much power they are sending out. Just my 2 cents worth.

R. B.
retromzc is offline  
post #568 of 1643 Old 04-25-2008, 01:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WBBM is supposedly putting out 4.4 kW on Channel 3, which is a little more than half the revised WHBF.

Still, I agree, we may not know until 2-18-09 specifically how Channel 4 will work in the QCA. And I understand why even Sinclair -- given the choice between 2 and 51 for our CBS 2 in Cedar Rapids -- chose 51, even though it'll be more expensive to run.

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
post #569 of 1643 Old 04-25-2008, 04:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

8.7 kw is a 3 dB increase, but it won't be enough to get over the noise.
Try getting it during a storm, or when power lines sizzle in the rain. Ugh.
There's a reason why less than 3% of all stations are on channels 2-6 after analog shutdown...

Push comes to shove, I can get the QAM on my S3 during bad wx.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #570 of 1643 Old 04-29-2008, 01:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arharvey View Post

A guy from Quad City Satellite Super Center told me DirecTV would offer local QC stations in HD this August. Can anyone confirm or deny this? Would be great if it was true.

Hope its a little sooner than that, but August would be cool.

Now if only KGCW would move to its own tower and start broadcasting in HD, and thus be available to spot-beam to/from D*, sometime this millenium............

HD-DVD + Blu-ray = An all-inclusive HD home movie viewing experience.
HDTVwannabe is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off