Davenport, IA - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1643 Old 09-19-2006, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc0bsn View Post

Interesting... I wonder what that [upcoming WQAD sale] will mean for operations as most, if not all, NYT stations are hubbed out of one center.

That is correct, although I don't think there's anything that would prevent them from operating their automation equipment locally if the group gets sold piecemeal. If that's the case, worst case scenario is they'll have to hire some master control and traffic people to program it and watch things. Of course, if they get bought by another "hubbed" station group which uses a different automation system, things could get interesting in the QAD shop.

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1643 Old 09-20-2006, 06:52 PM
Member
 
fdelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Coralville
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can add me to the list of people who have emailed KLJB. I just wrote to express my dissatisfaction with having Bones in SD. I told them that if it's not in HD minute 1 next week I'm swinging my antenna to KFXA and leaving it there. I may need a 4228 and 7777 but at least I have the choice of broadcasters. I actually quit watching the late game on WHBF because the SD PQ was so poor.

Dish 622 HD-DVR
Westinghouse LVW-42W3
Denon AVR2802
ChannelMaster 4228 roof top
ChannelMaster 7777
fdelin is offline  
post #183 of 1643 Old 09-25-2006, 08:40 AM
Member
 
monkey3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a sony A2000, and mapped the channels. Originally I had to manually enter 23.1 & 2 to get WQPT, now they are gone, not on 23 or 24.

What happened to the channels?

thanks.
monkey3d is offline  
post #184 of 1643 Old 09-25-2006, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Where are you located? I'm at work, so I can't check right now, but I will tonight.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #185 of 1643 Old 09-25-2006, 10:17 AM
Member
 
monkey3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

Where are you located? I'm at work, so I can't check right now, but I will tonight.

I'm in Wildwood in Moline.
monkey3d is offline  
post #186 of 1643 Old 09-25-2006, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You should have no problem picking them up. I checked with WQPT master control. They say they're on the air. Not sure what the problem might be. However, I will check, too, when I get home.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #187 of 1643 Old 09-25-2006, 11:04 AM
Member
 
monkey3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

You should have no problem picking them up. I checked with WQPT master control. They say they're on the air. Not sure what the problem might be. However, I will check, too, when I get home.

Does this info sound familliar to you?

Q3-A203
monkey3d is offline  
post #188 of 1643 Old 09-25-2006, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkey3d View Post

Does this info sound familliar to you?

Q3-A203

Yes, very.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #189 of 1643 Old 09-25-2006, 01:37 PM
Member
 
monkey3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

Yes, very.

Fellow employees then.
monkey3d is offline  
post #190 of 1643 Old 09-25-2006, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I gather....PM me and reveal yourself !

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #191 of 1643 Old 09-30-2006, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI:

Iowa Public Television says on its website that it is experiencing weather-related delays in its quest to upgrade the KIIN (12) tower north of West Branch. The website lists no target date for completion.

When they do come up, their digital channel will be 45. After the transition, they will return to channel 12.

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
post #192 of 1643 Old 10-13-2006, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It's vehwee vehwee quiet around here....everyone must be getting their QC HD just fine....

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #193 of 1643 Old 10-19-2006, 06:03 AM
Member
 
brittmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Eldridge, Iowa
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Everyone,

I currently have a Samsung SIR-T451 HD receiver that is starting to have audio and video problems so I am thinking about getting something different.

I was wondering what you would recommend? Is there anything that will allow me to record over-the-air in HD without having to get something from cable or satellite?

Thanks for the input!!

Bruce
brittmer is offline  
post #194 of 1643 Old 10-19-2006, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The only units I'm aware of are the Sony DHG (250 & 500), the LG 3410 and the TiVo Series 3. Both the Sony and LG have no subscription fee. From my experience, the Sony has good PQ, but I had several flakey units and ultimately returned them and purchased the TiVo last month. The TiVo requires a subscription of $12.95/month. But, in my opinion, it's well worth it. The program guide is light years ahead the free guides of the Sony and LG. And it has lots of other nifty features. Plus the TiVo is a dual tuner; Sony and LG are single tuners. BUT, it's more expensive -- currently $799 with the only discounts anywhere approaching maybe $80 off that. PM me if you'd like more info. TiVoCommunity.com has a forum dedicated to the Series 3.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #195 of 1643 Old 10-23-2006, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey gang,

Head over to the "Third Round Channel Election" sticky on this forum and you will see a very, very ugly sight, which I had feared and my fears were confirmed:

WHBF has requested channel 4 after analog shutdown, and as of Friday we now know they requested...and got approved for...3.88 kw. That's right...3,880 watts.
They're at 1 million right now.

We here in the Chicago market have suffered immensely because of our CBS affiliate, WBBM-DT, on channel 3 at 4.4 kw. You can't get it without interference beyond 30 miles. After that, good luck. And even Comcast gets breakups with their signal in any nearby or overhead thunderstorm...and they are less than 5 miles from the transmitter with their antenna on a tower!

Download the spreadsheet which has the final approved power for stations
after analog shutdown. For those stations changing channels, like WHBF, for the first time you can see what power levels those stations will be at. And for WHBF fans, things just got real ugly.

Mmmm...remember, Mr. Bierboy, how I said you'd need a giant antenna to get that station in 2009? Hope you know how to install beacon lights on your tower. Ciao...


Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #196 of 1643 Old 10-23-2006, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That's just ridiculous....I'm only about 7 miles from the stick, but with some trees in the way. I'm getting them on the backside of my CM 4221, but who knows what'll happen in 2009. How in the world can they be allowed such low power? Does the FCC permanently approve levels that low? Crap....I hate the idea of having to subscribe to Mediacrap to get HD, and there's good HD stuff on CBS. Phooey....you just ruined my day....thanks Gilbert You wanna help me install those lights?

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #197 of 1643 Old 10-23-2006, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a link to the spreadsheet Gilbert's talking about:

- Acrobat: http://hraunfoss.fcc.gov/edocs_publi...C-06-150A2.pdf

- Excel: http://hraunfoss.fcc.gov/edocs_publi...C-06-150A2.xls

- The full "Final Notice of Proposed Rulemaking" in Acrobat format:
http://hraunfoss.fcc.gov/edocs_publi...C-06-150A1.pdf

The spreadsheet is sorted by state and city of license, and that format isn't really Quad-Cities friendly, so here's a list of QCA information. The stations' current analog channels and their post-transition channels are in parentheses:

- WHBF (4/4): 3.88 kW @ 408m/1360 ft. HAAT*
- KWQC (6/36): 696kW @ 329m/1097 ft. HAAT
- WQAD (8/38): 1 MW @ 334m/1113 ft. HAAT
- KLJB (18/49): 1MW @ 344m/1147 ft. HAAT
- WQPT (24/23): 80kW @ 269m/897 ft. HAAT
- KGCW (26/41): 500kW @ 388m/1293 ft. HAAT
- KQIN (36/34): 150kW @ 102m/340 ft. HAAT

(The low-power position of WBQD isn't listed.)

* HAAT: height above average terrain. Conversions to feet are rounded.

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
post #198 of 1643 Old 10-23-2006, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What I can't understand is why they (WHBF) would be at a much higher power now, then go to a LOWER power (other than to save $$ on electricity). Doesn't make any sense to me.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #199 of 1643 Old 10-23-2006, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

What I can't understand is why they (WHBF) would be at a much higher power now, then go to a LOWER power (other than to save $$ on electricity). Doesn't make any sense to me.

OK, let me sort it out for you.

First of all, WHBF *will be* running the highest power they can on channel. Yep, you got it! WHy is WBBM running 4.4 kw? They said that 1 megawatt WPWR-DT at 1800' gave them a competitive disadvantage. They were at 3.8 kw, so the FCC allowed them to go to 4.4 kw. The FCC doesn't allow that all that often. Get this: due to the magic Mississippi rule, if they had a license over in one of the Iowa cities...say, Davenport...then they could run up to 10 kw. Bad, but not horrid like right now.

But, there's one more thing you should know. WHBF is one of 40 stations out of 2,000+ that will land on channels 2-6 after analog shutdown. So, the FCC has just opened up a new filing window, a "mulligan", for any station on channels 2-6 or are unable to maximize the power they specified in November 2004 to go to any open channel they want! Now, I haven't done an analysis on it for the Quad Cities, but I bet you there's at least a few. The ball is now in WHBF's court.

For the record, things could be worse, and are. In Rockford, WREX-DT has voluntarily decided to drop to a measly 5.07 kw when they move to channel 13. The shocker: in Chicago, legendary WLS-DT (ABC) has opted to go 3.2 kw on Channel 7. That's a crime against the public. I know what they're up to...all they are doing there is getting enough signal to the cable/satellite head ends. Apparently, they think over-the-air is dead. It's a sham.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #200 of 1643 Old 10-24-2006, 03:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So you're saying that WHBF is only at 3.88 kW right now? I agree; this is ludicrous.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #201 of 1643 Old 10-24-2006, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

So you're saying that WHBF is only at 3.88 kW right now? I agree; this is ludicrous.

No, not right now -- that's after the transition when they go back to channel 4.

I see Gilbert's also posted in the Des Moines thread ... wonder what station he's going to be talking about there ... let me guess, three letter callsign, starts with "W" and ends with "OI," right?

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
post #202 of 1643 Old 10-24-2006, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dline View Post

No, not right now -- that's after the transition when they go back to channel 4....

'Nuther quick question -- I know that in the analog world, it takes a lot more power for a UHF station to cover a certain area than a VHF station. Is the same true in the digital world? In other words, would they get better OTA coverage at that power level in the VHF band as opposed to the UHF?

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #203 of 1643 Old 10-24-2006, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

'Nuther quick question -- I know that in the analog world, it takes a lot more power for a UHF station to cover a certain area than a VHF station. Is the same true in the digital world? In other words, would they get better OTA coverage at that power level in the VHF band as opposed to the UHF?

It should be. It all has to do with how waves at different frequencies propagate, and you'll get a lot more bang for your buck transmitting 100 kW on channel 2 than you will on channel 69 if it wasn't for the noise and co-channel. The only difference between analog and digital is who has to pick the signal out of the noise, and the computer in your digital TV tuner has a lot more tolerance for a slightly weak fringe-area signal than a human viewer trying to see his or her favorite show in analog through a screenful of snow. Hence, the lower power levels for digital stations.

At least that's the theory.

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
post #204 of 1643 Old 10-25-2006, 01:48 PM
Member
 
brittmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Eldridge, Iowa
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dline View Post

- WHBF (4/4): 3.88 kW @ 408m/1360 ft. HAAT*
- KWQC (6/36): 696kW @ 329m/1097 ft. HAAT
- WQAD (8/38): 1 MW @ 334m/1113 ft. HAAT
- KLJB (18/49): 1MW @ 344m/1147 ft. HAAT
- WQPT (24/23): 80kW @ 269m/897 ft. HAAT
- KGCW (26/41): 500kW @ 388m/1293 ft. HAAT
- KQIN (36/34): 150kW @ 102m/340 ft. HAAT

(The low-power position of WBQD isn't listed.)

* HAAT: height above average terrain. Conversions to feet are rounded.

Does the height of the antenna have anything to do with it? Can WHBF get away with less wattage because their antenna is higher or does that not matter at all?

Bruce
brittmer is offline  
post #205 of 1643 Old 11-06-2006, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well finally after all this time Im OTA for local HD's. Using pc and ati hdtv wonder, seems I get all channels with the supplied antenna. Although notice some audio skipping a lot even when it says signal strength is 80 or higher. Its kinda sucked during the day of course not much to watch but Im ready to check out some primetime lineups.

Anything I should know, Im in silvis far end across I-5, but just right across. Id like to make reception better but having a hard time.

It seems channel 8 wqad is the one Im having the most problem with, slightly the pbs 24-2 I think as well both having issues coming in all other channels near flawless.

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #206 of 1643 Old 11-06-2006, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtv00 View Post

Well finally after all this time Im OTA for local HD's. Using pc and ati hdtv wonder, seems I get all channels with the supplied antenna. Although notice some audio skipping a lot even when it says signal strength is 80 or higher. Its kinda sucked during the day of course not much to watch but Im ready to check out some primetime lineups.

Anything I should know, Im in silvis far end across I-5, but just right across. Id like to make reception better but having a hard time.

It seems channel 8 wqad is the one Im having the most problem with, slightly the pbs 18-2 I think as well both having issues coming in all other channels near flawless.

Sounds like you're having issues picking up the signals from the tower farm in Orion. Channels 6-1. 6-2, 8-1, 8-2, 8-3, 18-1, 18-2, 23-1 and 23-2 are all coming from there. Channels 4-1 and 4-2 come from Bettendorf. WQPT is lower power, but you should get 8-1 and 8-2 just fine.

Is your antenna indoors or out? Out is much better (as is higher). Do you have any trees in the line of sight to the towers? That could cause multipath.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #207 of 1643 Old 11-06-2006, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its indoor although right this second I have it outside the window ledge lol. It made a slight difference in % reception but not great.

Also forgot to mention Im on the 2nd floor in apt, window faces the south. So with right antenna I could probably easily get them all fine. I guess with it outside window all come in perfect cept 24-2. Like now though channel 8 says dolby digital yet it has slight skipping but signal says 91-94%

Channel reception %'s
4-1 88%
4-2 88%
6-1 91%
6-2 91%
8-1 92%
8-2 92%
8-3 92%
18-1 77%
18-2 77%
24-1 61%
24-2 61%

Even with high % channels audio skips slightly sometimes. Keep in mind only been messing with things for a few hours. So I'm still figuring things out. Course those %'s are with out the window on ledge so Im cheating some.

Heres a pic of the little antenna it came with works ok I guess for coming with the product. But should I look into better ones.

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #208 of 1643 Old 11-06-2006, 04:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm sure the lower percentages for WQPT are because they run at a much lower power than the others. Keep fiddling - that's what I did until I finally put a CM 4221 on a 20-foot mast with a rotor. Now I get everything just fine. (And the TiVo Series 3's outstanding tuner doesn't hurt a bit either!)

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #209 of 1643 Old 11-08-2006, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, folks, you may have a newcomer.

I just started getting KIIN-DT this afternoon. They're the Iowa Public Television transmitter licensed to Iowa City. It's been either low-power or non-existent for some time now, but today I'm getting six out of 10 bars from it here in Cedar Rapids. I'd probably get more if my TV and antenna were in the bedroom, which is on the south side of my building.

I'm not sure what stage they're at wrapping up the tower work, but let's hope it keeps up and running.

Anyway, if you want to try for it, its "actual" channel is 45. It's mapping to 12-1 and 12-2. 12-1 is HD/widescreen programming, while 12-2 is a digital SD simulcast of IPTV's analog programming. The tower is located just north of West Branch. If they are at full power, they should easily reach the QCA.

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
post #210 of 1643 Old 11-08-2006, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
dline - Thanks for the heads up. I'll check it out when I get home from work tonight. Problem is, I'll have to swing my antenna to pick it up, and I hesitate to do that 'cause right now I have it oriented perfectly to pick up everything in the Quad-Cities on my TiVO Series 3.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off