New York, NY - Verizon - Page 3 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > Local HDTV Info and Reception > New York, NY - Verizon

Local HDTV Info and Reception

KenA's Avatar KenA
09:23 AM Liked: 10
post #61 of 1314
12-13-2006 | Posts: 443
Joined: Oct 2001
MSG is being added in SD. It will be channel 66.
KenA's Avatar KenA
09:06 PM Liked: 10
post #62 of 1314
12-14-2006 | Posts: 443
Joined: Oct 2001
MSG-SD active today, channel 66. Lets hope FSNY as well as HD is not far behind.
KenA's Avatar KenA
08:23 AM Liked: 10
post #63 of 1314
12-18-2006 | Posts: 443
Joined: Oct 2001
The following SD channels are being added:

129 WE
186 FUSE
201 AMC
304 FSNNY
321 MSG2
322 FSNY2
385 IFC
KenA's Avatar KenA
08:20 AM Liked: 10
post #64 of 1314
12-20-2006 | Posts: 443
Joined: Oct 2001
Verizon screwed up FSNY/FSNY2 feeds last night. They were the same feed - the Devils game. Should have been the Devils on FSNY and Islanders broadcast of Isles/Rangers game on FSNY2. I called them and they acknowledged the issue, but were unable to correct it for the game. Anyway, during the discussion, the CSR said they are definitely adding FSNY-HD and MSG-HD, but not sure how soon they would get them up and running. I'm crossing my fingers!
Phil056's Avatar Phil056
08:27 AM Liked: 10
post #65 of 1314
12-20-2006 | Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 2004
KenA,
I'm thinking about switching over to FIOS and was wondering if you had IO before this and if so, would you recommend moving over to Verizon? I live in Smithtown, and I keep getting the mail to switch over, I currently have the IO silver package w/ the 8300HD DVR, internet and optimum voice. I just wanted an opinion from someone that lives relatively close to me?
Thanks for your time in advance,
Phil
KenA's Avatar KenA
08:54 AM Liked: 10
post #66 of 1314
12-20-2006 | Posts: 443
Joined: Oct 2001
Phil,
I have both iO and FiOS right now until FiOS gets FSNY-HD and MSG-HD. I need my hockey games in HD! I have the basic family package with iO and no DVR. I do have the FiOS DVR, so I can compare to TiVo. I used to have D* with HD-TiVo. I also have VOIP through Vonage.

Anyway, to answer your question, I have much happier with FiOS than with iO. SD picture is much better on most channels and HD is comparable, if not slightly better on some channels and more HD channels are available on FiOS. FiOS is also cheaper. I can't wait to get rid of Cablevision. A lot of the issues are covered in this and the programming thread, but if you have any specific questions, fire away.
Phil056's Avatar Phil056
10:01 AM Liked: 10
post #67 of 1314
12-20-2006 | Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 2004
Ken,
I hear ya about the HD hockey games, thanks for the info.
I might wait until they are included, also have to think about the internet option as well, but I've had no problems with optimumvoice and I don't want to change to a new number again.
But thanks again, and if needed will bug you again!

Phil
cat6man's Avatar cat6man
11:48 AM Liked: 10
post #68 of 1314
12-20-2006 | Posts: 439
Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by antneye View Post

There are analog channels you can get without a box. You can also get a cable card.

not exactly my question about 5c.....perhaps an indirect answer that they 5c everything?

can anyone confirm if VZ are putting 5c on all simulcast SD channels? if they do, i stay with comcast
KenA's Avatar KenA
12:25 PM Liked: 10
post #69 of 1314
12-20-2006 | Posts: 443
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil056 View Post

Ken,
I hear ya about the HD hockey games, thanks for the info.
I might wait until they are included, also have to think about the internet option as well, but I've had no problems with optimumvoice and I don't want to change to a new number again.
But thanks again, and if needed will bug you again!

Phil

Vonage allows porting of phone numbers. I've had the same number since I moved in 5 years ago. I started with Verizon and changed a few times for analog. Then I went to VOIP with Lingo. They sucked, so I went to Vonage. Kept my number through it all, at $32.92/mo unlimited in NA and much of EU.
Firehawk295's Avatar Firehawk295
07:59 AM Liked: 10
post #70 of 1314
12-21-2006 | Posts: 99
Joined: Dec 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil056 View Post

I don't want to change to a new number again.

Local number portability legislation was passed years ago. You most certainly can change providers and keep your current number.

Mr Dolan is well aware of the MSGHD and FSNYHD issue allowing him to keep the diehard hockey fans as CV customers. Problem for him is VZ has deeper pockets than CV, so they can fight CV through the enlongated court battles that always seem to involve CV and carriage agreements.
KenA's Avatar KenA
09:41 AM Liked: 10
post #71 of 1314
12-21-2006 | Posts: 443
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firehawk295 View Post

Mr Dolan is well aware of the MSGHD and FSNYHD issue allowing him to keep the diehard hockey fans as CV customers. Problem for him is VZ has deeper pockets than CV, so they can fight CV through the enlongated court battles that always seem to involve CV and carriage agreements.

Couldn't said it better myself! They love hearing "High definition exclusive to Cablevision customers!"
Phil056's Avatar Phil056
09:58 AM Liked: 10
post #72 of 1314
12-22-2006 | Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firehawk295 View Post

Local number portability legislation was passed years ago. You most certainly can change providers and keep your current number.

So since my number changed to OV (656-xxxx) when I went to OV (had issues with my old verizon number) last year, I can transfer my current 656 number to Verizon if I decide to switch?
If so, and from what I've read about the internet service as well, (mine bogs down everynight around 6pm - 11) it might be a good idea for me to really consider moving over.
Thanks for your comments!
Phil
KenA's Avatar KenA
07:57 AM Liked: 10
post #73 of 1314
12-23-2006 | Posts: 443
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil056 View Post

So since my number changed to OV (656-xxxx) when I went to OV (had issues with my old verizon number) last year, I can transfer my current 656 number to Verizon if I decide to switch?
If so, and from what I've read about the internet service as well, (mine bogs down everynight around 6pm - 11) it might be a good idea for me to really consider moving over.
Thanks for your comments!
Phil

Yes, you can transfer that number to anywhere. Just remember, Verizon phone is still analog and is more expensive. They're supposedly working on a VOIP option, but I haven't heard anything lately. I went with Vonage for VOIP phone service, but I use Verizon for TV and Internet, which rocks at a steady 10Mbps down, 2Mbps up. I never have any problems and the speed is always consistant.
Tiyuri's Avatar Tiyuri
07:54 PM Liked: 10
post #74 of 1314
12-25-2006 | Posts: 323
Joined: Aug 2001
I have a stupid question. I tried to call but since it is Christmas they are closed. The charge for the HD-DVR is just $12/month right? Do I have to pay any other charges? I ask because Comcast here hits me for a receiver rental charge and a DVR charge.
Firehawk295's Avatar Firehawk295
08:00 AM Liked: 10
post #75 of 1314
12-26-2006 | Posts: 99
Joined: Dec 2002
dont believe there are additional charges.

NJ STB pricing

SD box - $4.99/mo
HD box - $9.99/mo
DVR - $12.99/mo
Multi-room DVR - $19.99/mo
Firehawk295's Avatar Firehawk295
09:12 AM Liked: 10
post #76 of 1314
12-26-2006 | Posts: 99
Joined: Dec 2002
anyone about to order.....

The New York Region is thrilled to make this new and exciting limited time offer to New York residents
Customers who order FiOS Internet service or FiOS TV for the first time, and have it installed on or before 12/31/06, will receive either a $100 credit on their post install bill or a $100 gift card* (see details below).


You must place your order by either one of these two methods:

1. *Call 1-888-GET-FiOS ($100 credit will be applied on post install bill)
OR
2. *Place your order in person at one of our mall kiosks, listed below, and immediately receive a $100 mall gift card.

Mall Locations:
Staten Island Mall - 2655 Richmond Ave. Staten Island, NY (F-1, in Sears wing)
The Westchester - 125 Westchester Ave. White Plains, NY (F-1 by guest services)
Hicksville Broadway Mall - 358B Broadway, Hicksville, NY (by Ruby Tuesday)
Massapequa Westfield Sunrise Mall - 1 Sunrise Mall, Massapequa, NY (F-1, by Macy's)
Roosevelt Field Mall - 630 Old Country Road, Garden City, NY (F-2, by food court)
Walt Whitman Mall - 160 Walt Whitman Road, Huntington, NY (by Saks)
Crossgates Mall - 1 Crossgates Mall Road, Albany, NY (F-1, by Cohoes)
Carousel Mall - 9090 Carousel Center Drive, Syracuse, NY (F-1, by VZ Wireless)

*
1. Mall gift card will NOT be fulfilled if you call 1-888-GET-FiOS. This channel can provide bill credit only (no exceptions).
2. Only one $100 reward per household/order.
3. Offer is limited time -- while capacity for 2006 installation is available. If 2006 installation date/capacity is no longer available, offer expires.
4. Offer only available to customers with addresses that qualify for FiOS.
Tiyuri's Avatar Tiyuri
10:45 AM Liked: 10
post #77 of 1314
12-26-2006 | Posts: 323
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firehawk295 View Post

dont believe there are additional charges.

NJ STB pricing

SD box - $4.99/mo
HD box - $9.99/mo
DVR - $12.99/mo
Multi-room DVR - $19.99/mo

Right but if I want an HD-DVR are they going to hit me with a $9.99 HD box charge AND a $12.99 DVR fee? That is what Comcast does.
zielin's Avatar zielin
07:45 PM Liked: 10
post #78 of 1314
12-26-2006 | Posts: 403
Joined: Jan 2001
one could always go with "cable card" + tivo 3 for HDdvr action - of course, u then have to pay tivo. Anyone know how much they charge for "cable cards" - hopefully u don't have to "rent" them.
Olevia37HD's Avatar Olevia37HD
07:55 PM Liked: 10
post #79 of 1314
12-26-2006 | Posts: 302
Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by zielin View Post

one could always go with "cable card" + tivo 3 for HDdvr action - of course, u then have to pay tivo. Anyone know how much they charge for "cable cards" - hopefully u don't have to "rent" them.

Yes you have to rent them and your cable company charges a set up fee.
SixkillerNYC's Avatar SixkillerNYC
10:20 AM Liked: 10
post #80 of 1314
12-29-2006 | Posts: 562
Joined: Oct 2005
Does anyone have any information on if or when FIOS will be available in Brooklyn?
brigont's Avatar brigont
10:40 AM Liked: 10
post #81 of 1314
01-23-2007 | Posts: 351
Joined: Feb 2005
I have not been able to find a FIOS TV thread on service/experience in NEW JERSEY

Can someone either guide me to an NJ FIOS thread and/or can we establish this as a home base for all discussions on Verizon FIOS TV in New Jersey.

I have been waiting for the service in Randolph NJ for some time...

Are there any Verizon Fios team members in the forum who can provide more info on the rollout plan. Also, is there anything we (the avg citizen home theater enthusiast) can do to help "inspire" the rollout?

Thanks in advance.

Brian G.
brigont's Avatar brigont
08:44 AM Liked: 10
post #82 of 1314
01-26-2007 | Posts: 351
Joined: Feb 2005
Is anyone in northern NJ getting Fios TV yet?

There are some people in the southern part of the state that seem to be getting it?

Please advise.

BG
NorthJersey's Avatar NorthJersey
08:48 AM Liked: 21
post #83 of 1314
01-26-2007 | Posts: 2,740
Joined: Jan 2003
I'm not holding out hope that Sussex Co. will be getting FIOS (internet or video) anytime soon. Morris County has a much better chance due to the several affluent towns in that county
Tiyuri's Avatar Tiyuri
11:14 AM Liked: 10
post #84 of 1314
01-26-2007 | Posts: 323
Joined: Aug 2001
The "New York" in the thread title is for the DMA so it includes the parts of NJ that are in the NYC DMA.

I am not sure where you draw the line but I am in Monmouth County and I am having TV installed on Monday.

On the DSLR Fios TV forum there are posts by people in Waldwick and Millington and other places that have FiOS TV.
5w30's Avatar 5w30
07:00 PM Liked: 10
post #85 of 1314
01-26-2007 | Posts: 251
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixkillerNYC View Post

Does anyone have any information on if or when FIOS will be available in Brooklyn?

Verizon is having franchise trouble in NYC. It's going to be years ... and if you live an an apartment building or any landlord-run building, VZ has to get permission from each of the building's owners to let in cable. FYI VZ plans to bring its fiber only to a junction box; unless the building or VZ runs fiber through the building it's going to be copper into the home. Same as Cablevision or Time Warner.
Why change?
Daredant's Avatar Daredant
02:22 AM Liked: 10
post #86 of 1314
01-31-2007 | Posts: 11
Joined: Sep 2006
Long Island, New York has the 94.99 deal now, yeah!!

Message me I got all the info.
blewan's Avatar blewan
10:50 AM Liked: 10
post #87 of 1314
02-05-2007 | Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 2007
i was lucky enough to get a response from a verizon Media Relations Director regarding the lack of MSG HD and FSNY HD...

"----- Original Message -----
From: "Robert Lewandowski"
Sent: 02/01/2007 12:08 PM
To: Sharon [blocked-privacy]
Subject: FSNY HD/MSG HD???

Good Afternoon,

I'm trying to convince myself and my father to switch to FiOS for all 3 (4counting wireless phone) services,
but the lack of HD hockey(sports in general for that matter) that would be provided by FSNYHD and MSGHD troubles us both.

Are there any plans on bringing those HD channels to FiOS soon? or does it look like it will just be Standard Definition
for those channels for years to come?

p.s. this will be a very big hindrance to sportsfans in the ny/norther nj area, and it frankly amazed me that this rainbow deal went
through without the HD versions of those channels...80% of people i know can't wait to get rid of cablevision, but this will make
a lot of them stay put...

Sincerely,

Robert L
Saddle Brook, NJ "

AND here is her reply...

From: sharon. []
Sent: Friday, February 02, 2007 4:36 PM
To: r lewandowski
Subject: Re: FSNY HD/MSG HD???


Thank you for considering a switch to Verizon. To answer your question as directly as I can, Rainbow withheld the HD versions of its services from FiOS customers by refusing to negotiate with Verizon for HD.
We have other great sports programming in HD, so I hope you look at FiOS TV as a whole when you make your decision. We appreciate your comments, and I've sent them to the team that negotiates our programming content.
_____________________________________

Sharon
Director - Media Relations, Verizon
***-789-71**
CPanther95's Avatar CPanther95
10:52 AM Liked: 73
post #88 of 1314
02-05-2007 | Posts: 23,797
Joined: Oct 2002
Threads merged.
Tiyuri's Avatar Tiyuri
11:38 AM Liked: 10
post #89 of 1314
02-05-2007 | Posts: 323
Joined: Aug 2001
That is not surprising. Cablevision knows that FSNY/MSG HD are the biggest hammers it wields programming wise to keep customers. Unless they are forced by the government you will never see them on any service that directly competes with Cablevision. The only reason FiOS was able to get MSG and FSNY in SD is because the government was about to intervene and force a resolution. ATM, there is nothing that can be done about HD.

What did you do to get a response? I don't see anywhere on the FiOS TV site where you can e-mail questions just phone numbers.
blewan's Avatar blewan
11:58 AM Liked: 10
post #90 of 1314
02-05-2007 | Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 2007
i searched around press clippings and other media related sites cross-ref'd with verizon, and happenned to see this woman's email on so i figured i give it a shot, i was very please and shocked i got a responce, and signed up for this message board so i could post my findings, email me at blewan (at) optonline (dot) net if you would like her email address, i dont want to post it on the board yet(i dont even know if i'm allowed or not to do so, but figured i may as well play it safe) -Rob

Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3