Pittsburgh, PA - Armstrong - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 01-05-2007, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BustHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of January 5th, 2007

102 DKDKA
104 DWTAE
109 WPGHD
111 DWPXI
113 DWQED
118 MHD
119 A&EHD
120 TNTHD
121 WLTHHD
179 FSNPHD
180 NFLHD
185 ESPNHD
186 HDNET
187 HDNETMOVIES
188 UHD
190 SHOHD
195 STARZHD
198 MAXHD
199 HBOHD
BustHDTV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 01-05-2007, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BustHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did a thread title search for "armstrong" and didn't see any threads pertaining to this service so I hope it's okay to start this one. I wanted to have a master thread to keep a tab on our HD channels and discuss any issues problems without having to read the whole Pittsburgh OTA thread.
BustHDTV is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 07:26 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Thread added to the Thread Index. Please keep the first post updated with current info.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #4 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BustHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks CPanther!

Our two newest HD channels are MHD and A&EHD. So far, I'm enjoying MHD because I haven't seen all the programming yet. A&EHD has been a real dissapointment so far. Everytime I surf to it, the programming is SD. Not sure why they even have this channel yet. I wish the A&E website would specify what programming is going to be in HD. Doesn't seem like too much to ask.
BustHDTV is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 03-06-2007, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
etcarroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Living among the children of the corn in Oxford, (S.E.), PA.
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've not been able to access the email client via web for 2+ days, anyone else have that problem.

"The Bundys' proud name was built on a philosophy of lying. Well, lying, owing money and perhaps beer. Yes, lying, owing money and beer. The only thing that separates us from the Kennedys is that they have money." - Al Bundy
etcarroll is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 03-23-2007, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
garsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cranberry Township, PA
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am able to receive the local stations in HD with my TV's QAM tuner.
But the channel numbering is different. Here are the channel numbers for a QAM tuner:
Code:
+---------+---------+--------------------------+
| channel | QAM num | name                     |
+---------+---------+--------------------------+
| 102     |  93.1   | KDKADT (KDKA-DT)         |
| 104     |  94.2   | WTAEDT (WTAE-DT)         |
| 109     |  93.3   | WPGHDT (WPGH-DT)         |
| 111     |  94.1   | WPXIDT (WPXI-DT)         |
| 113     | 116.3   | WQEDDT (WQED-DT)         |
+---------+---------+--------------------------+
garsh is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 04-16-2007, 10:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
eghill1125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Butler, PA
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Garsh,

You are the first post I have been able to find with the identical channel numbers as me. I am in Butler on Armstrong basic cable. I wanted to add that I can also get TNT HD on 100-1 over the TV's tuner, but there is no sound on it. I had a LG LCD that I was not happy with before my current Samsung plasma. I used the TV's tuner on it and got the same channels along with 102-1 which was HDNET (without the sound also).

Ed

PSN - eghill1125
eghill1125 is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 04-23-2007, 05:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
eghill1125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Butler, PA
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Must not be too many Armstrong people on here huh?

Ed

PSN - eghill1125
eghill1125 is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 04-24-2007, 05:59 PM
Newbie
 
STiNGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have armstrong basic in gibsonia, and my HDHomerun tuner arrives thursday. I'm curious as to what channels are available via QAM tuning. I'm going to be using the tuner with multiple MCE boxes. Please tell me more is available than just our locals?!?
STiNGER is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 05-01-2007, 08:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BustHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else using a Motorola HD Box from Armstrong? I'll make a note of the model number when I get home from work, but this thing is the biggest piece of crap I've ever used. The DVR controls are terrible. The play/forward/reverse controls are not responsive at times.

Does Armstrong have any other HD equipment I can ask for?
BustHDTV is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 05-01-2007, 09:01 AM
Newbie
 
STiNGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried it, and hated it, and that's why I'm doing an HDHomerun and MCE box
STiNGER is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 05-02-2007, 05:52 AM
Member
 
Morganna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bust,

Call Armstrong and tell them you want to swap it out for a Pace Tahoe. They are much better than that Motos. I switched to the Tahoe a few months ago and love it.
Morganna is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 05-02-2007, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
etcarroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Living among the children of the corn in Oxford, (S.E.), PA.
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are the benefits of the Pace unit?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Morganna View Post

Bust,

Call Armstrong and tell them you want to swap it out for a Pace Tahoe. They are much better than that Motos. I switched to the Tahoe a few months ago and love it.


"The Bundys' proud name was built on a philosophy of lying. Well, lying, owing money and perhaps beer. Yes, lying, owing money and beer. The only thing that separates us from the Kennedys is that they have money." - Al Bundy
etcarroll is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 05-02-2007, 01:44 PM
Member
 
Morganna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by etcarroll View Post

What are the benefits of the Pace unit?

Well for one its not a Motorola box! I had nothing but problems with them. The picture quality with the Pace Tahoe is better. The Pace Tahoe does not have the slow response problem and the fast-forward and rewind are much faster and smoother.
Morganna is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 05-08-2007, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
garsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cranberry Township, PA
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by STiNGER View Post

I'm curious as to what channels are available via QAM tuning. I'm going to be using the tuner with multiple MCE boxes. Please tell me more is available than just our locals?!?

You can get digital versions of all of the basic cable channels using the QAM tuner. But these are not HD (high definition). In addition, you can also pick up the HD versions of the local channels that I listed above.

But that's pretty much it for picking up HD channels using a QAM tuner. eghill1125 reported that he can get TNT HD with no sound. And every now and then, I can get Fox Sports HD, but always without sound. And there's probably a few others, if you want to search around. They always seem to be without sound though.

Also, it appears that the on-demand stuff (which is not HD, but is digital) can also be seen with a QAM tuner. The bad part is that you never know when & what your neighbors are ordering. The good part is that your neighbor will automatically fast-forward through all of the boring parts of the pr*n they ordered.
garsh is offline  
post #16 of 30 Old 05-17-2007, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
oldbastard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too receive the HD locals using the QAM tuner on my HDTV. Anybody else have a problem with the ABC HD feed? I seem to always have the audio out of sync and the video sort of stutters when I am trying to watch Lost. I have had the same issue watching other ABC HD Primetime shows but it seemed to work great during the NBA Playoff game last week.
oldbastard is offline  
post #17 of 30 Old 05-23-2007, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
garsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cranberry Township, PA
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldbastard View Post

Anybody else have a problem with the ABC HD feed? I seem to always have the audio out of sync and the video sort of stutters when I am trying to watch Lost.

Yep, I've been having a similar problem for a couple of months now. I record shows using a mythtv system. When I go to watch a recorded WTAE-DT show, the audio goes *way* out of sync with the video (like 10-30 seconds). When a commercial comes on (up-converted standard def), the audio & video sync up correctly, and then they quickly go out of sync again when the commercial ends.

I've taken the resulting mpeg file and tried playing it under Windows Media Player, and it will play the video fine, but won't play the sound at all. I have found that the VLC media player is able to play the file with no problems.

If somebody knows a way to examine or even repair a bad mpeg file, please let me know. If I could somehow just fix the mpeg file, I could go back to watching Lost in HD again.
garsh is offline  
post #18 of 30 Old 05-25-2007, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Morganna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yippee!!! Armstrong just added National Geographic HD to its lineup!!!
Morganna is offline  
post #19 of 30 Old 08-31-2007, 04:37 PM
Member
 
Morganna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well Armstrong just added ESPN2 HD! I think that all of us Armstrong folks should band together and email Armstrong to add more HD channels.
Morganna is offline  
post #20 of 30 Old 09-07-2007, 05:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:


Armstrong will add 15 new HD channels in the coming months, including Discovery HD Theater, TBS, History Channel, The Learning Channel, Animal Planet and The Science Channel.

http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/07250/815179-238.stm

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is online now  
post #21 of 30 Old 10-03-2008, 09:20 AM
Member
 
Fred72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


"Shortly, Armstrong customers will have an option to opt-in to e-mail notifications concerning their accounts (channel additions, Internet speed increases, etc.) through our Web site," he said. "Very few customers had requested the previous program and many of our changes are regional rather than global, so the information was not always pertinent to an individual's situation."

At least 10 more HD channels will arrive by Christmas, including several in October. Fox News and Disney in HD are expected to be among the new batch.

http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/08270/915052-238.stm
Fred72 is offline  
post #22 of 30 Old 07-29-2010, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
RockFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slippery Rock, PA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For printing see attached PDF file

All of the basic channels (1-73) are also on SD (4:3) Clear QAM channels.

Scroll down for the HD Clear QAM channels.

Armstrong Grove City / Slippery Rock
Clear QAM 4:3 Ratio Digital Channels
Sorted by channel number



82- 1 ESPN
82- 2 Fox News
82- 3 CNBC
82- 4 CMT
82- 5 Travel
82- 6 Comedy Ctrl
82- 7 Lifetime
82- 8 AMC
82- 9 HGTV
82-10 Discovery
82-11 FX
82-12 Bravo
83- 1 ESPN-2
83- 2 MSNBC
83- 3 HLN
83- 4 MTV
83- 5 USA
83- 6 ABC-Family
83- 7 E!
83- 8 A&E
83- 9 Animal Planet
83-10 Nick
83-11 Spike
83-12 Tru-TV
84- 1 Cartoon
84- 2 CNN
84- 3 Weather
84- 4 VH1
84- 5 TLC
84- 6 History
84- 7 TV Land
84- 8 TNT
84- 9 Food
84-10 TBS
84-12 SyFy
89 -1 CBS KDKA Pgh
89- 2 NBC WPXI Pgh
89- 3 Armstrong 10
89- 4 INSP
89- 5 TV Guide
89- 7 Armstrong 19
89- 8 NBC WFMJ Yng
89- 9 CBS WKBN Yng
89-10 ABC WYTV Yng
89-11 ESPN Classic
89-12 PBS WNEO Yng
90- 1 ABC WTAE Pgh
90- 2 FOX WPGH Pgh
90- 3 PBS WQED Pgh
90- 4 Cornerstone
90- 5 EWTN
90- 8 PCN
90- 9 MyYTV Yng
90-10 PCNC Pgh
90-11 Fox WYFX Yng
90-12 CW WCBC Yng
91- 3 Pentagon
91- 2 Armstrong 70
91- 4 HSN
91- 5 C-SPAN
91- 6 Disney
91- 7 TCM
91- 8 Nick Toons
91- 9 QVC
92- 1 Grove City HS
92- 2 SRHS
92- 3 Moniteau HS
92-12 West Minister Col


Broadcast (Over the air)
High Definition Channels


68- 5 WQED Neighborhood (128-5)
93- 1 CBS KDKA Pgh HD
93- 3 FOX WPGH Pgh HD
94- 1 NBC WPXI Pgh HD
94- 2 ABC WTAE Pgh HD
94- 6 THIS Pgh SD
94- 7 RTV Pgh SD
128- 3 PBS WQED Pgh HD
128- 6 Create Pgh SD
133- 1 CBS WKBN Yng HD
133- 2 FOX WYFX Yng HD
134- 1 NBC WFMJ Yng HD
134- 2 ABC WYTV Yng HD
134- 3 Weather Yng SD
134- 4 MyYTV Yng HD

Armstrong Channel Lineup.pdf 59.263671875k . file

As of June 2014 there are no longer any Clear-QAM channels. ALL digital channnels are encrypted. Soon all of the old analog channels (2-73) will be transmitted digitaally and a free digital converter box will be required to view on old analog TVs

Last edited by RockFox; 07-01-2014 at 11:51 AM. Reason: Update
RockFox is offline  
post #23 of 30 Old 05-03-2011, 05:07 PM
Newbie
 
compnurd09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,


I am going to be moving into an Armstrong Area in Cranberry PA and i cant find any information to the products they use.... I have Direct TV now with Whole Home DVR and love it. Does anyone know what equipment Armstrong uses for there Whole Home service?
compnurd09 is offline  
post #24 of 30 Old 05-03-2011, 07:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd09 View Post

Does anyone know what equipment Armstrong uses for there Whole Home service?

Motorola. Check the HDTV Recorders for more detail.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #25 of 30 Old 05-04-2011, 03:38 AM
Member
 
hepalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mars, PA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think Armstrong has any whole house DVR in their lineup. They also give out some PACE DVR's along with the Motorolas. I would request a DCX3400. Why not stick with DirectTV? Here is a link to Armstrong's DVR's.......http://support.armstrongonewire.com/...n/manuals.aspx
hepalex is offline  
post #26 of 30 Old 05-04-2011, 04:52 AM
Newbie
 
compnurd09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They have a Multi Room Recorder listed on there website but there isnt any information on it. I would LOVE to keep Direct TV but we are moving into condo while another house sells and i dont have a view of the south sky
compnurd09 is offline  
post #27 of 30 Old 04-16-2014, 03:52 PM
Member
 
Cableguy Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North of Pittsburgh
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Just talked to the local (Zelie) office and Armstrong pushed back their all digital lineup until July/August at the earliest. I was hoping for it to be sooner. I am tired of the same 80 channels of HD.

Cableguy Greg is offline  
post #28 of 30 Old 04-17-2014, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
oriolesmagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cableguy Greg View Post

Just talked to the local (Zelie) office and Armstrong pushed back their all digital lineup until July/August at the earliest. I was hoping for it to be sooner. I am tired of the same 80 channels of HD.

According to my list for Armstrong, they don't have that many even.
oriolesmagic is offline  
post #29 of 30 Old 04-24-2014, 08:28 AM
Member
 
Cableguy Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North of Pittsburgh
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I was wrong, it is 70 channels. Opps, Now that I look again, it is 71. They added MLB Network in HD.

Cableguy Greg is offline  
post #30 of 30 Old 09-15-2014, 05:32 PM
Member
 
Cableguy Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North of Pittsburgh
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They have started adding HD channels. I noticed that I have the SEC Network, along with 6 HD channels starting at #233 . Hopefully there are more to come.
Cableguy Greg is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off