St. Louis, MO - HDTV - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wmschultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The Show Me State
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW, don't apologize, and welcome to our little world.

There's Good TV, Better TV and DirecTV, but nothing beats a calibrated TV!!
www.clearlyresolved.com
wmschultz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 06:35 PM
Member
 
matth1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southwest St. Louis, MO
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wulaw View Post

First, thanks for the channel listing. What I'm still struggling with is how I can watch other people's VOD. I live in a condo - does that mean I can watch VOD from other people in my BUILDING? Or my NEIGHBORHOOD? I believe you, I just can't quite grasp how that's possible. Do I have to watch it at the same time as whomever ordered VOD, or do I have access for the same 24 period?
.


Yeah, you're watching as they fast forward and rewind to the "good parts."

And it's more of a neighborhood thing. Made me wonder about my neighbors. Not being a big p0rn fan, this is one of the reasons I'm switching from Charter to Dish on thursday.

-Matt
matth1138 is offline  
post #63 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr_Bester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis MO USA
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by davesalaman View Post

KPLR PSIP is at 26-1 tonight.

Damn, I wish I'd have seen this earlier. My wife is pissed her Gilmore Girls ep showed up with a partial 0min recording. Luckily, we back up some shows on the sd tivo, and she is watching now....
Mr_Bester is offline  
post #64 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You can get your "last read message" feature back.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6&goto=newpost

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #65 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
black_macleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Webster Groves
Posts: 1,744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speaking of porn, there are 4 new (as yet untitled) channels appeared in my Charter guide tonight in the 800 range -- that's the porn range, yea?

And on another note -- especially with the whole internet / porn rage, do cable / sat companies still make a lot of money on porn? I mean are ppl still willing to pay ~$10 to watch a few hours of PPV stuff? Seems silly to me.

Then again, alcohol can make ppl buy a lot of infomercial crap too.
black_macleod is offline  
post #66 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 07:59 PM
Member
 
MizzouTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else still having a problem getting 11-1 and 11-2 via OTA on DirecTv still? I'm using HR20 receiver. Just tried tuning to 11-1 and just got a black screen. Have to go to guide and select a different channel to get off of it - using channel up and down won't change channel. I notice 1 person posted at dbstalk that they were getting 11-1 and 11-2 just after 8:00 tonight.
MizzouTiger is offline  
post #67 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
DLSDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MizzouTiger View Post

Anyone else still having a problem getting 11-1 and 11-2 via OTA on DirecTv still? I'm using HR20 receiver. Just tried tuning to 11-1 and just got a black screen. Have to go to guide and select a different channel to get off of it - using channel up and down won't change channel. I notice 1 person posted at dbstalk that they were getting 11-1 and 11-2 just after 8:00 tonight.

OTA via TV tuner transmitting fine.
DLSDO is offline  
post #68 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:09 PM
Member
 
MizzouTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just checked the signal strength on my HR20 and it is showing 85%+ signal strenght for 11-1 and 11-2 but nothing is coming in when I try to tune to those channels. Haven't tried connecting directly to TV's antenna input yet.
MizzouTiger is offline  
post #69 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kdg454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same as usual on OTA/Dish receiver. Breaking up, but they're both there.

I also see Dish has added guide data for 6.1, 8.1, and 9.3.
I don't recall these being populated in the past.
kdg454 is offline  
post #70 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wmschultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The Show Me State
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MizzouTiger View Post

I just checked the signal strength on my HR20 and it is showing 85%+ signal strength for 11-1 and 11-2 but nothing is coming in when I try to tune to those channels. Haven't tried connecting directly to TV's antenna input yet.

I just had to redo the antenna setup for the HR20 to get 11-1 and 11-2 back.

I had the same signal strength.

There's Good TV, Better TV and DirecTV, but nothing beats a calibrated TV!!
www.clearlyresolved.com
wmschultz is offline  
post #71 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:40 PM
Member
 
bhornberger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Webster Groves
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From the PD.

By Jerri Stroud
ST. LOUIS POST-DISPATCH
01/24/2007

AT&T Inc.'s new television franchise agreements with several local communities have raised some residents' hopes that another alternative to cable and satellite TV service is on the horizon.

But the telephone giant is making no promises for when or where its television service will be available. And its performance in other markets suggests that St. Louisans could have a long wait.

AT&T has franchises with four communities here and is seeking them in more than 100 other Missouri cities and towns. In addition, it is backing a bill in the Missouri Legislature that would allow it to get a statewide franchise covering all communities.

AT&T plans to make its U-Verse television service available to half of its 19 million customers nationwide by 2008. In Missouri, the company expects to reach 25 percent of its customers by 2009 or 2010, and half of its customers within six years, said John Sondag, vice president of external affairs.

Remaining of the story here...

http://www.stltoday.com/stltoday/bus...2?OpenDocument
bhornberger is offline  
post #72 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Gentlemen, the old timers here know I take things in stride and have a good sense of humor, but let's cut all the talk about porn please. Too much information in one post.

Thanks.

Vizio M602i-B3
MoInSTL is offline  
post #73 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Tucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 2,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MizzouTiger View Post

Anyone else still having a problem getting 11-1 and 11-2 via OTA on DirecTv still? I'm using HR20 receiver. Just tried tuning to 11-1 and just got a black screen. Have to go to guide and select a different channel to get off of it - using channel up and down won't change channel. I notice 1 person posted at dbstalk that they were getting 11-1 and 11-2 just after 8:00 tonight.

Just checked and I get a black screen too. Weird, I've never not been able to get 11-1 or 11-2 before even when others couldn't. Congrats on all the networks except Fox for showing the State of the Union in HD tonight. Fox looked like puke and CBS looked the best to me.

Scott
Scott Tucker is offline  
post #74 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kdg454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmschultz View Post

I just had to redo the antenna setup for the HR20 to get 11-1 and 11-2 back.

I had the same signal strength.

What did you "redo," Bill?
I'm guessing you're referring to OTA through the OTA tuner in the HR20, or are 11-1 and 11-2 on the DTV Sats?
Maybe that has something to do with the Dish issues.
Please elaborate
kdg454 is offline  
post #75 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kdg454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Tucker View Post

Just checked and I get a black screen too. Weird, I've never not been able to get 11-1 or 11-2 before even when others couldn't. Congrats on all the networks except Fox for showing the State of the Union in HD tonight. Fox looked like puke and CBS looked the best to me.

Scott

figures...I didn't watch it. I was thinking (I should learn), if they were in HD, I'd watch them...but, they never are
kdg454 is offline  
post #76 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Tucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 2,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken,

At first I thougt Bill meant to rescan the channels, but he has the HR20 so that means he's getting 11-1 via sat?
Anyway, I am rescanning now to see if it helps...

Scott
Scott Tucker is offline  
post #77 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Tucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 2,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just rescanned my HR10-250 and to no avail. I still get no channel 11-1
FWIW. I really don't care as I don't watch that channel, but thought I'd experiment for ya'll.

Scott
Scott Tucker is offline  
post #78 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 08:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Tucker View Post

Just rescanned my HR10-250 and to no avail. I still get no channel 11-1
FWIW. I really don't care as I don't watch that channel, but thought I'd experiment for ya'll.

Scott

Same here. I don't care about 11 and have the HR 250 w/OTA and I'm getting a black screen as well. Didn't try a rescan.

Vizio M602i-B3
MoInSTL is offline  
post #79 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 09:08 PM
Senior Member
 
repair4man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Home of the Arch, Rams, and Cardinals
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MizzouTiger View Post

Anyone else still having a problem getting 11-1 and 11-2 via OTA on DirecTv still? I'm using HR20 receiver. Just tried tuning to 11-1 and just got a black screen. Have to go to guide and select a different channel to get off of it - using channel up and down won't change channel. I notice 1 person posted at dbstalk that they were getting 11-1 and 11-2 just after 8:00 tonight.

It's 11:05 pm and KPLR is dead as a door nail OTA (0% signal) in St. Charles on Fusion HDTV tuner. Oops, 11:06 and they're up to the mid 40% range, occasionally bouncing up to where I get something. They are by far the worst at producing a signal. Never know if I'll pick them up or not.

Reynolds:"Not much faith in plan A?"
O'Neill:"Since when has plan A ever worked?"

Stargate SG-1, episode 143, "Evolution"

repair4man is offline  
post #80 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 09:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr_Bester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis MO USA
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A couple of posts ago DaveSalaman(sp?) noted that 11's psip was funky. did you guys try 26.1 manually. 11.1 is gone on my HDTivo too. It could be that the D* units are less forgiving with psip...
Mr_Bester is offline  
post #81 of 13073 Old 01-23-2007, 11:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 173
11.1 has been pretty much the same for me tonight as always. It doesn't come on the Dish 622 without serious breakup several times a minute - unwatchable. On the MyHD card, the image breaks up once every few minutes (sometimes more), but the audio continues pretty much intact. I think it's a ch. 11 issue, because it used to be very solid (signal strength still registers very high on the 622, and 100% on the MyHD), but it breaks up on both now. KPLR has changed something.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #82 of 13073 Old 01-24-2007, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
skippy_rq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am the one responsible for stlhdtv.info and just got back after moving. The link should be fixed today. Sorry for the delay!

Rich
skippy_rq is offline  
post #83 of 13073 Old 01-24-2007, 06:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Left Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Edwardsville, IL
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
alright! D* wa successfully installed last night! No more Charter!

I haven't gotten to mess around too much, but two quick observations (this is my first dish ever)...the SD channels looks MUCH better than Charter. And two, the HD channels seem to have a little more pop or something, they just seem more bright than charter's. Not a huge difference, but I swear I see it!

Another quick question: installer told me that ota-hd was activated yet on the hr20-700s? Is that right? I swear I've read here with people watching ota with D*, I'm going to check up and read some of the hr20 threads to familar with it and its foibles, but if you guys know, that'd be great!
Left Jeff is offline  
post #84 of 13073 Old 01-24-2007, 06:44 AM
Member
 
MizzouTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Left Jeff View Post

alright! D* wa successfully installed last night! No more Charter!

I haven't gotten to mess around too much, but two quick observations (this is my first dish ever)...the SD channels looks MUCH better than Charter. And two, the HD channels seem to have a little more pop or something, they just seem more bright than charter's. Not a huge difference, but I swear I see it!

Another quick question: installer told me that ota-hd was activated yet on the hr20-700s? Is that right? I swear I've read here with people watching ota with D*, I'm going to check up and read some of the hr20 threads to familar with it and its foibles, but if you guys know, that'd be great!

Yes, the OTA function is now enabled on the HR20 unit, so you can pick up 5-2, 9-1, 9-2, 9-3, 9-4, 11-1, 11-2, 24-1 and 46-1 through it. My antenna is a directional one, so I'm not getting 24-1 or 46-1. The other ones I am getting. I do have some problems with the Channel 9 stations on the HR20 - sometimes it tells me it can't acquire the signal, but I get it fine with my televisions tuner. What I have seen posted on dbstalk is that the ATSC tuner in the HR20 is not as good as what you probably have in your tv, so it may register a lower signal. I was having problems with the channel 11 stations last night (see earlier post) - wife wanted to watch Gilmore Girls in HD. I understand it was a Channel 11 issue. Didn't get a chance to check this morning before I left the house to see if it was back or not. May have to reset up the OTA on the HR20 tonight.
MizzouTiger is offline  
post #85 of 13073 Old 01-24-2007, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Tucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 2,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Left Jeff View Post

alright! D* wa successfully installed last night! No more Charter!

I haven't gotten to mess around too much, but two quick observations (this is my first dish ever)...the SD channels looks MUCH better than Charter. And two, the HD channels seem to have a little more pop or something, they just seem more bright than charter's. Not a huge difference, but I swear I see it!

Another quick question: installer told me that ota-hd was activated yet on the hr20-700s? Is that right? I swear I've read here with people watching ota with D*, I'm going to check up and read some of the hr20 threads to familar with it and its foibles, but if you guys know, that'd be great!

I"m not familiar with the new mpeg4 stuff so I can't say, but welcome to the wonderful world of satellite. BTW, enjoy the Superbowl in HD!

Scott
Scott Tucker is offline  
post #86 of 13073 Old 01-24-2007, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr_Bester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis MO USA
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by skippy_rq View Post

I am the one responsible for stlhdtv.info and just got back after moving. The link should be fixed today. Sorry for the delay!

Rich

Delay? This all just popped up yesterday. I think some of us(read me) were just going through withdrawl....Hope you enjoy the new home....
Mr_Bester is offline  
post #87 of 13073 Old 01-24-2007, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Left Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Edwardsville, IL
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MizzouTiger View Post

What I have seen posted on dbstalk is that the ATSC tuner in the HR20 is not as good as what you probably have in your tv

well, considering my tv doesn't have a built in atsc tuner, i'll assume the one on the hr20 is better!

thanks for the info...i guess I need to start reading and posting on dbstalk as well...

I had no idea I was going to get the HR20 so fast. I'm friends with the installer, I knew they were back-ordered a bit. He said he could get me one, but I still thought I'd have more time to learn about it!
Left Jeff is offline  
post #88 of 13073 Old 01-24-2007, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Left Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Edwardsville, IL
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Tucker View Post

I"m not familiar with the new mpeg4 stuff so I can't say, but welcome to the wonderful world of satellite. BTW, enjoy the Superbowl in HD!

Scott

Dude, you have no idea! My dad is a frustrated Charter HD cusomter as well, but my mom won' "let him" put a dish on the house. About a year ago they finished remodeling the basement, he had the speaker wires ran throught the walls and ceilngs for his new speakers, new audio receiver, new HDtv, new furniture...the works...and TWO YEARS IN A ROW, my dad, the avid football fan, can't watch the Superbowl in HD. He is p!ssed!


Since I've been talking about getting a dish, he's been calling every other day..."Did you get it yet? Is it going to be there in time for the superbowl?"
Left Jeff is offline  
post #89 of 13073 Old 01-24-2007, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wmschultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The Show Me State
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdg454 View Post

What did you "redo," Bill?
I'm guessing you're referring to OTA through the OTA tuner in the HR20, or are 11-1 and 11-2 on the DTV Sats?
Maybe that has something to do with the Dish issues.
Please elaborate

On the HR20 I had to go into the menu and select ANT Setup and set up my primary area code. It then just downloads that data again.

Once I did that I got it working.

This is OTA as KPLR-HD is not available as a MPEG4 Local via DirecTV.

My HR10-250 suffered from the same problems everyone else is having. I tried a rescan on that
and it didn't work, so I just went to bed.

There's Good TV, Better TV and DirecTV, but nothing beats a calibrated TV!!
www.clearlyresolved.com
wmschultz is offline  
post #90 of 13073 Old 01-24-2007, 07:19 AM
Member
 
tenholde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcfila View Post

thats why the stlhdtv.info link is so good. It takes you the last post you saw.

Can't you just use:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...wpost&t=793006


Ed
tenholde is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off