St. Louis, MO - HDTV - Page 435 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13021 of 13038 Old 07-02-2014, 07:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linxs View Post
GetTv is up and running. The bad news is Zuus got the boot. I don't know if its my tv but for some reason GetTv is showing up on 31.4.
Strange. I did a scan of my locals just to be sure. I find channels 30.1, 30.2 and 30.3 but only 30.1 has the usual signal. The two sub-channels contain black screens with no audio. I don't see a 30.4.
moman19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13022 of 13038 Old 07-02-2014, 08:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
It looks like something is wrong with the KDNL signal, as only 30-1 shows up on my Live Bandscan. If I remember, I'll try to give it a look in TSReader when I get home from work today.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #13023 of 13038 Old 07-02-2014, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Linxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well now its on 30-2.
Linxs is offline  
post #13024 of 13038 Old 07-02-2014, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
GetTV on channel 30-2 for me. But no guide data for it on the Tivo or on the Windows Media Center guide.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13025 of 13038 Old 07-02-2014, 07:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
GetTV on channel 30-2 for me. But no guide data for it on the Tivo or on the Windows Media Center guide.
Same here tonight. No guide data on E* either.
moman19 is offline  
post #13026 of 13038 Old 07-03-2014, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Since Charter 30 meg customers are getting an upgrade to 100 megs, I went to Charter's Facebook page and asked if those of us paying for 100 meg service are getting an upgrade, too.

Their response: "Good morning Robert, sorry for the delayed response; our Social Media team is not staffed in the evenings. At this time there is not an upgrade to our 100Mbps speeds. If this changes we will send you notification in the mail. Thanks for your patience."

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13027 of 13038 Old 07-03-2014, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
Since Charter 30 meg customers are getting an upgrade to 100 megs, I went to Charter's Facebook page and asked if those of us paying for 100 meg service are getting an upgrade, too.

Their response: "Good morning Robert, sorry for the delayed response; our Social Media team is not staffed in the evenings. At this time there is not an upgrade to our 100Mbps speeds. If this changes we will send you notification in the mail. Thanks for your patience."
Bob,

This is what I'm consistently seeing for $30/month. Unless you're getting better upload speeds, I don't see any reason why anyone should pay more.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/3601962241.png
moman19 is offline  
post #13028 of 13038 Old 07-03-2014, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
tstolze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ofallon, MO
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
Since Charter 30 meg customers are getting an upgrade to 100 megs, I went to Charter's Facebook page and asked if those of us paying for 100 meg service are getting an upgrade, too.

Their response: "Good morning Robert, sorry for the delayed response; our Social Media team is not staffed in the evenings. At this time there is not an upgrade to our 100Mbps speeds. If this changes we will send you notification in the mail. Thanks for your patience."
You should have been upgraded to 120, I have seen several that had to make a customer service call to get the upgrade pushed through to their modem.
tstolze is offline  
post #13029 of 13038 Old 07-06-2014, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Well WTF????

Channel Guide says "Newschannel 5 at Nine" at 8AM and "Meet the Press" at 9AM.

DVR is supposedly recording "Meet the Press" at 9, I turn the TV on at 9:40 to watch from the beginning, and kSDk is showing local news. Apparently Meet the Press was at 8AM, like it's always been.

This is the second time in recent weeks that I've missed Meet the Press because of screwed up guide data from kSDk.

Guess I'll have to see if MSNBC is going to repeat it today (again).

Update: It'll be repeated at 1PM on MSNBC.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis

Last edited by Robert Simandl; 07-06-2014 at 09:58 AM. Reason: Updated info.
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13030 of 13038 Old 07-06-2014, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Still no Channel Guide info for GetTV on 30-2 on Windows Media Center or TiVo.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13031 of 13038 Old 07-06-2014, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think I'm going to put in a Series Recording (aka season pass) for the Meet the Press repeat on MSNBC, since kSDk can't seem to get its guide listings for this show straight.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13032 of 13038 Old 07-11-2014, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Tivo now shows guide listings for 30-2 GetTV.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13033 of 13038 Old 07-13-2014, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
I think I'm going to put in a Series Recording (aka season pass) for the Meet the Press repeat on MSNBC, since kSDk can't seem to get its guide listings for this show straight.
My timer worked this week. It's anyone's guess how long this will last.
moman19 is offline  
post #13034 of 13038 Old 07-15-2014, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by moman19 View Post
My timer worked this week. It's anyone's guess how long this will last.
Ditto.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13035 of 13038 Old 07-20-2014, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by moman19 View Post
My timer worked this week. It's anyone's guess how long this will last.
Apparently not very long.

Meet the Press is running right now, and the DVR is NOT recording it because the Channel Guide says "Newschannel 5 at Nine" is supposed to be on right now. Never mind that "Nine" isn't for another 50 minutes. Oh, and of course that's when MTP is supposed to start in the guide. So I guess the DVR will record the 9AM newscast thinking it's MTP. Again.

So I guess I'll be watching MSNBC's repeat of MTP when I get home from work this afternoon. Again.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13036 of 13038 Old 07-20-2014, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
Apparently not very long.

Meet the Press is running right now, and the DVR is NOT recording it because the Channel Guide says "Newschannel 5 at Nine" is supposed to be on right now. Never mind that "Nine" isn't for another 50 minutes. Oh, and of course that's when MTP is supposed to start in the guide. So I guess the DVR will record the 9AM newscast thinking it's MTP. Again.

So I guess I'll be watching MSNBC's repeat of MTP when I get home from work this afternoon. Again.
Sadly, it's the same here and this why we're so damn pessimistic about kSDk. I must wonder why this continues to flip flop. The Electronic Program Guide on my Hopper goes out 8 days. When I check next Sunday's schedule, MTP starts correctly at 8am and the local news starts at 9am. See attached screen shots of my Guide. This is the correct sequence of events unless things change between now and then (which it can).

So this appears to be a Tribune issue, but begs the question as to who is to blame. Is Tribune Co. messing up or is Channel 5 sending them bad data?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EPG1.jpg (186.4 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg EPG2.jpg (163.2 KB, 2 views)
moman19 is offline  
post #13037 of 13038 Old 07-20-2014, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
BTW, my OTA Tivo channel guide had MTP wrong, too.

I think it's kSDk, considering this is the ONLY program I consistently have this problem with.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13038 of 13038 Old 07-27-2014, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Meet the Press recorded okay today. Thank goodness for small favors.
Robert Simandl is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off