St. Louis, MO - HDTV - Page 435 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13021 of 13051 Old 07-02-2014, 07:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linxs View Post
GetTv is up and running. The bad news is Zuus got the boot. I don't know if its my tv but for some reason GetTv is showing up on 31.4.
Strange. I did a scan of my locals just to be sure. I find channels 30.1, 30.2 and 30.3 but only 30.1 has the usual signal. The two sub-channels contain black screens with no audio. I don't see a 30.4.
moman19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13022 of 13051 Old 07-02-2014, 08:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
It looks like something is wrong with the KDNL signal, as only 30-1 shows up on my Live Bandscan. If I remember, I'll try to give it a look in TSReader when I get home from work today.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #13023 of 13051 Old 07-02-2014, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Linxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well now its on 30-2.
Linxs is offline  
post #13024 of 13051 Old 07-02-2014, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
GetTV on channel 30-2 for me. But no guide data for it on the Tivo or on the Windows Media Center guide.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13025 of 13051 Old 07-02-2014, 07:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
GetTV on channel 30-2 for me. But no guide data for it on the Tivo or on the Windows Media Center guide.
Same here tonight. No guide data on E* either.
moman19 is offline  
post #13026 of 13051 Old 07-03-2014, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Since Charter 30 meg customers are getting an upgrade to 100 megs, I went to Charter's Facebook page and asked if those of us paying for 100 meg service are getting an upgrade, too.

Their response: "Good morning Robert, sorry for the delayed response; our Social Media team is not staffed in the evenings. At this time there is not an upgrade to our 100Mbps speeds. If this changes we will send you notification in the mail. Thanks for your patience."

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13027 of 13051 Old 07-03-2014, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
Since Charter 30 meg customers are getting an upgrade to 100 megs, I went to Charter's Facebook page and asked if those of us paying for 100 meg service are getting an upgrade, too.

Their response: "Good morning Robert, sorry for the delayed response; our Social Media team is not staffed in the evenings. At this time there is not an upgrade to our 100Mbps speeds. If this changes we will send you notification in the mail. Thanks for your patience."
Bob,

This is what I'm consistently seeing for $30/month. Unless you're getting better upload speeds, I don't see any reason why anyone should pay more.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/3601962241.png
moman19 is offline  
post #13028 of 13051 Old 07-03-2014, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
tstolze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ofallon, MO
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
Since Charter 30 meg customers are getting an upgrade to 100 megs, I went to Charter's Facebook page and asked if those of us paying for 100 meg service are getting an upgrade, too.

Their response: "Good morning Robert, sorry for the delayed response; our Social Media team is not staffed in the evenings. At this time there is not an upgrade to our 100Mbps speeds. If this changes we will send you notification in the mail. Thanks for your patience."
You should have been upgraded to 120, I have seen several that had to make a customer service call to get the upgrade pushed through to their modem.
tstolze is offline  
post #13029 of 13051 Old 07-06-2014, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Well WTF????

Channel Guide says "Newschannel 5 at Nine" at 8AM and "Meet the Press" at 9AM.

DVR is supposedly recording "Meet the Press" at 9, I turn the TV on at 9:40 to watch from the beginning, and kSDk is showing local news. Apparently Meet the Press was at 8AM, like it's always been.

This is the second time in recent weeks that I've missed Meet the Press because of screwed up guide data from kSDk.

Guess I'll have to see if MSNBC is going to repeat it today (again).

Update: It'll be repeated at 1PM on MSNBC.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis

Last edited by Robert Simandl; 07-06-2014 at 09:58 AM. Reason: Updated info.
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13030 of 13051 Old 07-06-2014, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Still no Channel Guide info for GetTV on 30-2 on Windows Media Center or TiVo.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13031 of 13051 Old 07-06-2014, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think I'm going to put in a Series Recording (aka season pass) for the Meet the Press repeat on MSNBC, since kSDk can't seem to get its guide listings for this show straight.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13032 of 13051 Old 07-11-2014, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Tivo now shows guide listings for 30-2 GetTV.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13033 of 13051 Old 07-13-2014, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
I think I'm going to put in a Series Recording (aka season pass) for the Meet the Press repeat on MSNBC, since kSDk can't seem to get its guide listings for this show straight.
My timer worked this week. It's anyone's guess how long this will last.
moman19 is offline  
post #13034 of 13051 Old 07-15-2014, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by moman19 View Post
My timer worked this week. It's anyone's guess how long this will last.
Ditto.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13035 of 13051 Old 07-20-2014, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by moman19 View Post
My timer worked this week. It's anyone's guess how long this will last.
Apparently not very long.

Meet the Press is running right now, and the DVR is NOT recording it because the Channel Guide says "Newschannel 5 at Nine" is supposed to be on right now. Never mind that "Nine" isn't for another 50 minutes. Oh, and of course that's when MTP is supposed to start in the guide. So I guess the DVR will record the 9AM newscast thinking it's MTP. Again.

So I guess I'll be watching MSNBC's repeat of MTP when I get home from work this afternoon. Again.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13036 of 13051 Old 07-20-2014, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
Apparently not very long.

Meet the Press is running right now, and the DVR is NOT recording it because the Channel Guide says "Newschannel 5 at Nine" is supposed to be on right now. Never mind that "Nine" isn't for another 50 minutes. Oh, and of course that's when MTP is supposed to start in the guide. So I guess the DVR will record the 9AM newscast thinking it's MTP. Again.

So I guess I'll be watching MSNBC's repeat of MTP when I get home from work this afternoon. Again.
Sadly, it's the same here and this why we're so damn pessimistic about kSDk. I must wonder why this continues to flip flop. The Electronic Program Guide on my Hopper goes out 8 days. When I check next Sunday's schedule, MTP starts correctly at 8am and the local news starts at 9am. See attached screen shots of my Guide. This is the correct sequence of events unless things change between now and then (which it can).

So this appears to be a Tribune issue, but begs the question as to who is to blame. Is Tribune Co. messing up or is Channel 5 sending them bad data?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EPG1.jpg (186.4 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg EPG2.jpg (163.2 KB, 2 views)
moman19 is offline  
post #13037 of 13051 Old 07-20-2014, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
BTW, my OTA Tivo channel guide had MTP wrong, too.

I think it's kSDk, considering this is the ONLY program I consistently have this problem with.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13038 of 13051 Old 07-27-2014, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Meet the Press recorded okay today. Thank goodness for small favors.
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13039 of 13051 Old 07-29-2014, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
Meet the Press recorded okay today. Thank goodness for small favors.
Yep. The schedule looks good for next week too. Let's hope this is behind us. To be safe, I now have a timer for the MSNBC replay as cheap insurance.
moman19 is offline  
post #13040 of 13051 Old 07-29-2014, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ditto.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13041 of 13051 Old 08-02-2014, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been with AT&T Uverse Internet only for several years. Heard about Charter's 100 meg service. I got a promo price for a year, free modem and low install price. (I can't remember if we can post prices or not). The install is set for Monday evening. My new TV is wireless and has an Ethernet port and I have been watching a lot of content on Netflix using wired cable with some buffering.

So my questions are: Will Netflix still buffer? I have a small gigabit network which is all CAT 6 wired and about 6-8 wireless devices connected to my Asus RT-N66U router at any given time. Half of those are D* devices for On Demand and Whole Home DVR, Ooma VOIP, an Xbox One, and TV even though it's wired and a laptop or tablet every once in while. I am not looking forward to moving to new IP addresses. With AT&T my DHCP addresses were pretty much the same. Is this true of Charter? I have a Synology NAS and it as well as my desktop and network printer, all wired, needs to be pretty much fixed. To ensure that I set up a .224 sub net to limit the number of DHCP addresses.

I was told the modem I will be getting will be either a Cisco Model DPC3208 or EPC3208. Either one better than the other? With AT&T they use a residential gateway (RG) so the modem and router are combined. I have used a known workaround which is IP pass through for "bridge mode" but not true bridge mode because of the RG. I am very familiar with the RG but I am wondering if there will be any issues I should know about with either of the above modems with a router behind it.

Sorry for the long post, but I am sure you all can appreciate that it's a pretty big deal to switch if you have a network or even Netflix.

Vizio M602i-B3
MoInSTL is offline  
post #13042 of 13051 Old 08-03-2014, 03:21 PM
Member
 
lkrupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoInSTL View Post
So my questions are: Will Netflix still buffer?
Absolutely possible. The data path is only as good as the weakest link. If the connection between Charter and Netflix is overloaded it doesn’t matter how much bandwidth you have locally, or how fancy your home network is. Ultimately you are still sharing bandwidth. Netflix has recently negotiated better connections between itself and AT&T, Comcast. These agreements are being criticized as being anti net neutrality. Bottom line, you could have a 100 mbps connection, your neighbor could be at 15 mbps but if the Netflix connection to Charter is congested you are both in the same bucket.
lkrupp is offline  
post #13043 of 13051 Old 08-04-2014, 04:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkrupp View Post
Absolutely possible. The data path is only as good as the weakest link. If the connection between Charter and Netflix is overloaded it doesn’t matter how much bandwidth you have locally, or how fancy your home network is. Ultimately you are still sharing bandwidth. Netflix has recently negotiated better connections between itself and AT&T, Comcast. These agreements are being criticized as being anti net neutrality. Bottom line, you could have a 100 mbps connection, your neighbor could be at 15 mbps but if the Netflix connection to Charter is congested you are both in the same bucket.

Thanks, I kind of figured that. There is no contract so I'm willing to give it a try. AT&T has been solid and I am currently at 24/4 but they upped it a bit and I get just under 5 megs up and 28 megs down. I have not had any outage and I'm not sharing bandwidth. I do qualify for 45 down at the same promo price as Charter's 100 meg. I don't have a "fancy home network". I upgraded a couple of things and decided to go gigabit when I did.

When did AVS start inserting its own links? In my OP it added a couple. I realize it's for ads, but still it is a little odd.

Vizio M602i-B3
MoInSTL is offline  
post #13044 of 13051 Old 08-04-2014, 07:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoInSTL View Post
Thanks, I kind of figured that. There is no contract so I'm willing to give it a try. AT&T has been solid and I am currently at 24/4 but they upped it a bit and I get just under 5 megs up and 28 megs down. I have not had any outage and I'm not sharing bandwidth. I do qualify for 45 down at the same promo price as Charter's 100 meg. I don't have a "fancy home network". I upgraded a couple of things and decided to go gigabit when I did.

When did AVS start inserting its own links? In my OP it added a couple. I realize it's for ads, but still it is a little odd.
FWIW, I have 100 Mbps Charter service and have never experienced any Netflix freezes. They provided me with a small Cisco modem that I connected directly to a WIFI router I already own for coverage throughout my home. I have all sorts of wireless and Cat5 IP devices (Xbox, femtocell, tablets, smartphones, DVRs, laptops, PCs, etc.) and they all seem to peacefully coexist. No complaints.
moman19 is offline  
post #13045 of 13051 Old 08-04-2014, 03:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moman19 View Post
FWIW, I have 100 Mbps Charter service and have never experienced any Netflix freezes. They provided me with a small Cisco modem that I connected directly to a WIFI router I already own for coverage throughout my home. I have all sorts of wireless and Cat5 IP devices (Xbox, femtocell, tablets, smartphones, DVRs, laptops, PCs, etc.) and they all seem to peacefully coexist. No complaints.
moman, that's exactly what I was looking for. Thanks.

Install window is now to 7PM.

Do you have an XB1 by chance? Looking for a fire team when Destiny launches in September. The beta was great.

EDIT: Some creepy contractor showed up within 10 minutes of the 5-7PM window. If I didn't see his tag, I would not have opened the door to him. I made it clear when I ordered I have no basement and he said he forgot his drill at home. No apology. No call at all to say he would be here. He just showed up let alone a call 15 minutes beforehand. I spoke to a supervisor and apparently the sales rep was the culprit as there were no notes. It's unusual in STL to not have a basement so I expressly mentioned it a couple of times. But not having a drill? Even if I had a basement, a drill is pretty much standard in a tool bag. I even have a drill.

I am going to give it another try Thursday. The sales supervisor offered a paltry amount for their screw-up and I insisted on waving the install fee. She agreed, but it was only after saying I would not reschedule and to forget it. (I moved a rack away from a wall, parked my car in another part of my driveway, cleared my desk). I did everything to make it as easy for said creepy guy and even had cold bottled water to offer. I thought Charter was improving.

Vizio M602i-B3

Last edited by MoInSTL; 08-04-2014 at 05:43 PM.
MoInSTL is offline  
post #13046 of 13051 Old 08-05-2014, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, no XB1. Just an XB360. Hopefully, the guy with no drill knows how to terminate cables. Good luck!
moman19 is offline  
post #13047 of 13051 Old 08-06-2014, 07:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoInSTL View Post
When did AVS start inserting its own links? In my OP it added a couple. I realize it's for ads, but still it is a little odd.
I don't see them here. I wonder if it not AVS, but instead an uninvited ride-along extension that has added itself to your browser? I have run into those -- they were putting dotted blue underlines under the advertising link. MalwareBytes anti-malware expelled them for me.

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #13048 of 13051 Old 08-07-2014, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
I don't see them here. I wonder if it not AVS, but instead an uninvited ride-along extension that has added itself to your browser? I have run into those -- they were putting dotted blue underlines under the advertising link. MalwareBytes anti-malware expelled them for me.
I love MalwareBytes and bought the premium version when it was on sale. Does real-time protection. Fully up to date. Using Chrome.

Vizio M602i-B3
MoInSTL is offline  
post #13049 of 13051 Old 08-07-2014, 06:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoInSTL View Post
moman, that's exactly what I was looking for. Thanks.

Install window is now to 7PM.

Do you have an XB1 by chance? Looking for a fire team when Destiny launches in September. The beta was great.

EDIT: Some creepy contractor showed up within 10 minutes of the 5-7PM window. If I didn't see his tag, I would not have opened the door to him. I made it clear when I ordered I have no basement and he said he forgot his drill at home. No apology. No call at all to say he would be here. He just showed up let alone a call 15 minutes beforehand. I spoke to a supervisor and apparently the sales rep was the culprit as there were no notes. It's unusual in STL to not have a basement so I expressly mentioned it a couple of times. But not having a drill? Even if I had a basement, a drill is pretty much standard in a tool bag. I even have a drill.

I am going to give it another try Thursday. The sales supervisor offered a paltry amount for their screw-up and I insisted on waving the install fee. She agreed, but it was only after saying I would not reschedule and to forget it. (I moved a rack away from a wall, parked my car in another part of my driveway, cleared my desk). I did everything to make it as easy for said creepy guy and even had cold bottled water to offer. I thought Charter was improving.
It's the luck of the draw with Charter installers. I suggested my parents switch to Charter from ATT because of some changes in their household. The first guy who showed up was a mess. Kept asking if they had a dog, complained about this and that, and then said he had been stung by a bee (at first he said 3 times, then 2, but I couldn't see a mark on him). He waited for his supervisor to bring bug spray and futzed around for 4 hours before saying we'd have to hire an exterminator to get rid of the pest problem. I rescheduled but did nothing about the bees. Three days later the next Charter tech did the install without a single complaint, like all the other service guys who've done work around that house over the years.

As I said recently, I really like Charter Internet service. I'm consistently getting about 103 mbps now. My nephews were over the other night, streaming "Kickin' It" on Netflix while I was streaming something else on Netflix in the other room. Not a single drop for that 2-3 hour period. The only drop I've had was in the wee hours, when I had a complete loss of service twice. Otherwise, it's been very solid.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #13050 of 13051 Old 08-08-2014, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey, the Jimmy Stewart western flick playing right now on GetTV channel 30-2 is LETTERBOXED!

Given that the movies on 2-2 and 11-2 are 100% 4:3 pan & scan, I'm impressed. Sure, it's only 480i low bit rate letterbox, but I'm impressed nonetheless.

Hey Jim wracer, any idea if this is standard operating procedure for GetTV, or is this just a fluke?

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off