St. Louis, MO - HDTV - Page 436 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13051 of 13060 Old 08-09-2014, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post
It's the luck of the draw with Charter installers. I suggested my parents switch to Charter from ATT because of some changes in their household. The first guy who showed up was a mess. Kept asking if they had a dog, complained about this and that, and then said he had been stung by a bee (at first he said 3 times, then 2, but I couldn't see a mark on him). He waited for his supervisor to bring bug spray and futzed around for 4 hours before saying we'd have to hire an exterminator to get rid of the pest problem. I rescheduled but did nothing about the bees. Three days later the next Charter tech did the install without a single complaint, like all the other service guys who've done work around that house over the years.

As I said recently, I really like Charter Internet service. I'm consistently getting about 103 mbps now. My nephews were over the other night, streaming "Kickin' It" on Netflix while I was streaming something else on Netflix in the other room. Not a single drop for that 2-3 hour period. The only drop I've had was in the wee hours, when I had a complete loss of service twice. Otherwise, it's been very solid.
Charter install round 2 went very well. It was an actual Charter guy and he was very pleasant and easy going. He thought he was coming out for a simple re-connect and did not complain that he had to do a new run from the pole to my house in the rain. He brought in an Arris modem and I asked if he had a Cisco on the truck. He didn't, but called the office and they had one. He drove over and picked it up. I can't say enough nice things about him and we exchanged gamertags.

I am getting 105 on Charter's speedtest.net site (the Olivette site). I haven't had a chance to check out Netflix yet, but I will tonight.

Edit: I LOVE my router. I did a reset and it figured everything out. The only thing that gave me trouble was my Cinema Connect from D* for on demand and their apps. Everything else that was wireless figured it out with no input from me. FWIW it's an Asus RT-N66U running Merlin's firmware. It's nothing drastic like Tomato. He just makes it better like being able to turn off the lights on the router. No 802.11ac devices so it fits my needs.


Vizio M602i-B3

Last edited by MoInSTL; 08-09-2014 at 03:34 PM.
MoInSTL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13052 of 13060 Old 08-24-2014, 03:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Have Charter internet and having problems?

As of yesterday, Charter is having DNS routing issues nationwide. Don't know (and don't care, you'll see why below) if they've gotten it fixed today.

Because if you're a computer geek you can bypass Charter's issues and fix it yourself.

Change your default DNS to 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 (Google's DNS server) instead of automatic (using Charter).

You can do this per computer/device, or in your router which will apply to all devices connected to it (wired or wireless). If you have several PC's and Smart TV's and Roku boxes and stuff, it's best to do it in the router (so you only have to do it once).

Should solve your internet problems instantly, and you do NOT have to change this setting back if and when Charter gets its own problems fixed.

https://developers.google.com/speed/...dns/docs/using

You can also Google "how to manually change DNS on _____ router"
Replace _____ with your router make/model.

Hope this helps.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13053 of 13060 Old 08-24-2014, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Simandl View Post
Because if you're a computer geek you can bypass Charter's issues and fix it yourself.

Change your default DNS to 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 (Google's DNS server) instead of automatic (using Charter).
Or if you are even geekier you can run Steve Gibson's DNS utility and find several that are faster than Google.

Quote:
You can also Google "how to manually change DNS on _____ router"
Replace _____ with your router make/model.
Alas, not the Motorola NVG510 Residential Gateway supplied by AT&T -- they lock it in. You can, however, set it for each network interface (NIC) and they will bypass the Residential Gateway's slow defaults.

Lots of fun.............
Robert Simandl likes this.

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #13054 of 13060 Old 08-24-2014, 09:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Thanks, guys. I first noticed the problem yesterday after adding a gig switch and plugging in a few devices for my nephew's system (while also experiencing audio issues). After I finished the cabling, there was no Internet access. I spent a couple of hours troubleshooting, only to give up to watch the Cardinals game. Later, a friend called and said, "So, what's going on with Charter Internet?" He then described exactly the same symptoms as I was having earlier. I also found out that, although I was running, Internet access was unusually wonky on my own system. Good to know it wasn't anything I'd done - just an unusual coincidence. I'm going to make the change later today.
Robert Simandl likes this.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #13055 of 13060 Old 09-12-2014, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Wow, nothing posted here since 8/24? Where is everybody?

I've watched a few movies on 30-2 GetTV, and I'm mighty impressed to see that channel shows widescreen movies LETTERBOXED instead of pan & scan like MeTV and AntennaTV (at least the movies I've seen, anyway).

Of course, the resolution still sucks since the bitrate is only 2.32mbps and the letterbox bars take up nearly half the resolution that's there. But I still find that preferable to the P&S on 4-2 and 2-2.
tomhunter8 likes this.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13056 of 13060 Old 09-15-2014, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Summer doldrums? Endless reruns? Reality TV? Streaming?

Lot's of reasons why it may be slow. Hopefully, things will pick up when the new Fall season gets underway. Then kSDk will start messing up in all likelihood
moman19 is offline  
post #13057 of 13060 Old 09-18-2014, 06:53 PM
Member
 
kc9hzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've noticed on some market threads, like my home market thread (Springfield, Decatur, Champaign), sometimes we go months without a post simply because there's nothing to be said. No changes OTA or with a paid provider, no technical difficulties or complaints, no new reges asking OTA 101 questions. So there's nothing to be said, unless we just start making small talk about what's on TV, which I suspect is actually considered somewhat off topic on the local HDTV reception threads. (But I never step foot outside of these threads. Outside of occasionally catching a show on Netflix or Hulu, I don't watch much TV anymore, my primary interest here is just DXing and helping new users. Makes me something of a misfit on a home AV site, I know.)
kc9hzn is offline  
post #13058 of 13060 Old 09-18-2014, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
repair4man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Home of the Arch, Rams, and Cardinals
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Two weeks ago I switched from DirecTV to UVERSE. Installation was painless even though I could have gotten wireless receiver. Only problem with intall is that the installer didn't check that he whole home DVR thing worked (which didn't). Solved myself by resetting both receivers. With all the storms we've had lately I haven't missed the lost D* reception. Only real downside is D* wanted their access cards back and as soon as you pull them, the DVR won't play back recorded programs. I almost caught up and could watch recordings after service was disabled up until I pulled the access cards. Overall there are some small differences. UVERSE guide isn't as user friendly, but program searches and most operations are much faster. I noticed the D* receivers were getting slow in responding. I'm assuming it's because of all the software upgrades that occurred over th 5 years I had them.

Reynolds:"Not much faith in plan A?"
O'Neill:"Since when has plan A ever worked?"

Stargate SG-1, episode 143, "Evolution"

repair4man is offline  
post #13059 of 13060 Old Yesterday, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[QUOTE=kc9hzn;27536914.........I don't watch much TV anymore, my primary interest here is just DXing and helping new users. .........[/QUOTE]

Any good advice to share with regards to DXing distant HD channels? I assume that's what you're doing. I have a great UHF yagi on the roof but no rotor. In the past I've caught a few distant channels in the early mornings, but the fact that I must always first perform a scan of all channels makes the process rather slow & cumbersome. Is there a better way?
moman19 is offline  
post #13060 of 13060 Old Yesterday, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Is there a better way?
Only if you have a spectrum analyzer.

A rotor plus a high-VHF antenna would also be very useful so as to give you the capability of exploring other directions and the 7-13 band.

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off