St. Louis, MO - HDTV - Page 440 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13171 of 13197 Old 05-02-2015, 07:23 PM
awh
Member
 
awh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
3 new channels pop up today...
7.5 (MCBN)
7.6 (IQPA)
7.7 (ONTV4U)
awh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13172 of 13197 Old 05-05-2015, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by awh View Post
3 new channels pop up today...
7.5 (MCBN)
7.6 (IQPA)
7.7 (ONTV4U)
Probably no great loss, but I am unable to pick that station up here in Creve Coeur. I guess my roof top UHF yagi is simply overloading my tuners with the adjacent KSDK signal. Those guys should consider relocating to another frequency.
moman19 is offline  
post #13173 of 13197 Old 05-05-2015, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Those guys should consider relocating to another frequency.
They already did, four years ago. They just haven't done it even though their permit to relocate to channel 19 was issued two years ago.

http://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws....Facility=35781

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #13174 of 13197 Old 05-05-2015, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
They already did, four years ago. They just haven't done it even though their permit to relocate to channel 19 was issued two years ago.

http://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws....Facility=35781
Good info. I guess the close proximity to KSDK with such low power is the root cause. I have no clue what it takes to change channels at the transmitting end, but ch. 19 looks wide open. These guys better get on the stick if they want to have a prayer of any success.
moman19 is offline  
post #13175 of 13197 Old 05-05-2015, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
I guess the close proximity to KSDK with such low power is the root cause.
I can't find the engineering statement anymore, but that was indeed the problem quoted for the displacement request (adjacent channel too powerful).

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #13176 of 13197 Old 05-05-2015, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tomhunter8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by moman19 View Post
Good info. I guess the close proximity to KSDK with such low power is the root cause. I have no clue what it takes to change channels at the transmitting end, but ch. 19 looks wide open. These guys better get on the stick if they want to have a prayer of any success.
Well, that and channels people actually want to watch.
tomhunter8 is online now  
post #13177 of 13197 Old 05-05-2015, 07:10 PM
awh
Member
 
awh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone else notice a change in the picture (4x3 vs 16x9) on 9.3 & 9.4? Something has change, but I just can't quite figure out exactly what - the picture is now no longer in aspect unless I use one of the 'zoom' options.
awh is offline  
post #13178 of 13197 Old 05-06-2015, 02:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Create and World both went to 16:9 SD on the satellite feed recently. If KETC hasn't adjusted their encoders to output the 16:9 flag, then the aspect ratio will be wrong.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #13179 of 13197 Old 05-06-2015, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Create and World both went to 16:9 SD on the satellite feed recently. If KETC hasn't adjusted their encoders to output the 16:9 flag, then the aspect ratio will be wrong.

- Trip
I seldom view those channels so I had to take a look. You guys are correct. Both sub channels are displayed totally wrong and look like smartphone video shot vertically----squished video flanked with with large black bars on both sides. Do we live in a major market? Does anyone at the station look up occasionally?
moman19 is offline  
post #13180 of 13197 Old 05-06-2015, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tomhunter8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 253
I watch a lot of 9.3 and 9.4 and I just checked. The ratios are definitely off now. It must have happened within the last couple of days.
tomhunter8 is online now  
post #13181 of 13197 Old 05-07-2015, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhunter8 View Post
I watch a lot of 9.3 and 9.4 and I just checked. The ratios are definitely off now. It must have happened within the last couple of days.
Something definitely changed, but today those channels look better than they did two days ago on my TV. I'm now seeing SD events that fill my entire 16x9 screen even though the format is set for normal with no Zoom. No other SD channel displays this way in my house.
moman19 is offline  
post #13182 of 13197 Old 05-07-2015, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Maybe there's hope for 30-2 and 30-3 yet.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13183 of 13197 Old 05-07-2015, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tomhunter8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by moman19 View Post
Something definitely changed, but today those channels look better than they did two days ago on my TV. I'm now seeing SD events that fill my entire 16x9 screen even though the format is set for normal with no Zoom. No other SD channel displays this way in my house.
9.3 and 9.4 are still messed up on my Samsung TV. 9.2 looked OK to me, but I don't know for sure because it's kind of hard to tell with cartoons sometimes.
tomhunter8 is online now  
post #13184 of 13197 Old 05-08-2015, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhunter8 View Post
9.3 and 9.4 are still messed up on my Samsung TV. 9.2 looked OK to me, but I don't know for sure because it's kind of hard to tell with cartoons sometimes.
You may want to reach out to KETC as they do respond. I'm happy with what I see on those channels today but it concerns me that their 16x9 SD content somehow fills my entire screen on all TVs when that's truly not the case with any other SD channel in my house that sends a 16 x 9 picture. Not sure how that's even possible.
moman19 is offline  
post #13185 of 13197 Old 05-08-2015, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Six different ways to get a hold of them on this page: http://ninenet.org/contact-us

In person
Phone
Fax
Email
Twitter
Facebook

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #13186 of 13197 Old 05-08-2015, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tomhunter8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 253
I just posted a note on their Facebook page. I'll post their response here.
tomhunter8 is online now  
post #13187 of 13197 Old 05-08-2015, 06:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
I'm confused. The satellite feed is 16:9 SD, and the station now appears to be putting out 16:9 SD as well, matching the satellite feed. What is the concern?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #13188 of 13197 Old 05-09-2015, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tomhunter8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 253
They said World & Create channels switched from a 4x3 aspect ratio to 16x9 on Monday. My Samsung TV won't auto config the ratio on sub-channels so I'll have to manually change the setting to when I watch those channels and then switch back to 4:3 for all other sub-channels.
tomhunter8 is online now  
post #13189 of 13197 Old 05-30-2015, 09:22 AM
Member
 
Linxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It looks like soon you be able to stream kmov with CBS All Access.

http://www.kmov.com/story/28744058/c...o-roku-devices
Linxs is offline  
post #13190 of 13197 Old 05-30-2015, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 21
If their on-demand programming has a higher picture quality than KMOV, I'm in.

But not for the live streaming, though. Just for the on-demand. KMOV's low bitrate to accommodate the two subchannels is a big turnoff, to the point that the few CBS shows worth watching, I pay for and stream from Amazon or Vudu.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13191 of 13197 Old 06-25-2015, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Noticed that KBGU-LD is now up on channel 33.

Their .1 appears to be along the same line as Livewell programming, .2 is EstrellaTV according to the on-screen bug.
tomhunter8 likes this.

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #13192 of 13197 Old 06-25-2015, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I get the 33-1 and 2 fine and dandy, though once again my scan produced 7 channel 25's that are too weak to produce an actual signal.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13193 of 13197 Old 06-26-2015, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Yeah, channel 25 (3ABN) transmits from the rooftop of one of those highrise buildings in the triangle of Grand, Forest Park, and 40 next to the Chipolte. I've never seen even a sniff of their signal from our rooftop DB8e. When I scanned in 33 yesterday, it was only 3 dB above the edge of the digital cliff so it was barely making the trip to our rooftop in Ellisville. We're down in a bit of a hole so the weaker channels usually get lost.

Looks like Trip already updated rabbitears overnight. He has 33.1 listed as DRTV which I do recall seeing on the screen between programs. That's a new one for, I'd never heard of that diginet.

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #13194 of 13197 Old 06-27-2015, 04:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Yep, I used the clues here to update it.

I know that DTV America has a close relationship with DrTV, if the two aren't related in terms of ownership.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #13195 of 13197 Old 06-27-2015, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Charter is apparently having another TV outage. Is there another PPV fight on tonight?

Meanwhile, no problems here with my DirecTV!

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13196 of 13197 Old 06-29-2015, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's strange that a cable provider would have an outage when the weather was so rough this weekend. I lost satellite several times due to rain fade this past few days. Mucked up several planned recordings. All technologies have their weaknesses apparently.
moman19 is offline  
post #13197 of 13197 Old 06-29-2015, 07:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by moman19 View Post
It's strange that a cable provider would have an outage when the weather was so rough this weekend. I lost satellite several times due to rain fade this past few days. Mucked up several planned recordings. All technologies have their weaknesses apparently.
Charter seems to have been having distribution infrastructure problems. At least in my neighborhood they admitted it and had crews out all day last Saturday looking for the source. By Sunday morning the tiling problems were gone.

They have been trying hard to reverse that old reputation. One of my networking clients switched to Charter about a week ago and the first installer they sent out messed up the job. They sent out a different installer and all is well.

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off