St. Louis, MO - HDTV - Page 449 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 23Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #13441 of 13456 Unread 05-08-2017, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
moman19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting news. But it's amazing how the Post-Dispatch link takes the reader down a rat hole of anti-trump political commentary. Especially when you click on the link within the link. I don't recall every past business merger linked to the evil, at-the-time administration. I am more interested in learning more about the ramifications of any one owner managing THREE major, high-power TV stations in my market.

Also, Sinclair has a shown ZERO interest in any local news broadcasting. Nada. I hope that doesn't spell trouble for Channels 2 & 11 which seem to go out of their way producing local news & weather content.

Last edited by moman19; 05-08-2017 at 09:01 AM. Reason: Additional thoughts
moman19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13442 of 13456 Unread 05-08-2017, 08:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
JoelWNelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by moman19 View Post
Interesting news. But it's amazing how the Post-Dispatch link takes the reader down a rat hole of anti-trump political commentary. Especially when you click on the link within the link. I don't recall every past business merger linked to the evil, at-the-time administration.
Noticed that as well.
JoelWNelson is offline  
post #13443 of 13456 Unread 05-12-2017, 09:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The last couple of days channel 16.1 Retro TV is only showing a black screen. My Tivo is showing a signal, just no picture like nothing is being broadcast. Anyone else getting the same thing?
Plager8 is offline  
 
post #13444 of 13456 Unread 05-12-2017, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Their RF signal is fine, it's just not carrying anything. Something in the content signal chain has probably failed.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #13445 of 13456 Unread 05-13-2017, 07:07 AM
Senior Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 17
This letter says the sale of WRBU to Brian Brady has been canceled. Why?
https://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/pr...etter_id=74348

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is online now  
post #13446 of 13456 Unread 05-15-2017, 07:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plager8 View Post
The last couple of days channel 16.1 Retro TV is only showing a black screen. My Tivo is showing a signal, just no picture like nothing is being broadcast. Anyone else getting the same thing?
It's working again tonight.
Plager8 is offline  
post #13447 of 13456 Unread 05-20-2017, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 3,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 95
I can't pick up 16-1 anyway. My channel scans show it there (along with some channel 8's and 25's), but when I try to actually watch all I get is no signal.

One of these days I need to put my antenna back in the right direction. Many years ago (Star Trek Enterprise was still on UPN at the time), a huge windstorm spun it about 30 degrees off. I still got all the channels I cared about so I never did anything about it.

Oh, and for anyone missing GetTV (formerly 30-2), it's now on 33-3. My HDhomerun channel guide also shows it on 33-2, but that's a mistake. 33-2 is still a shopping channel.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #13448 of 13456 Unread 06-11-2017, 08:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Why is there no channel information on channel 45? I am happy I can get 45 in Eureka mo.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
jeffreymakela is offline  
post #13449 of 13456 Unread 06-11-2017, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreymakela View Post
Why is there no channel information on channel 45? I am happy I can get 45 in Eureka mo.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
My Tivo has guide data for channel 45. Unfortunately, as soon as the leaves grew on the trees I lost signal.
Plager8 is offline  
post #13450 of 13456 Unread 06-11-2017, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreymakela View Post
Why is there no channel information on channel 45? ...
You'd have to ask the company that runs it....
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #13451 of 13456 Unread 06-11-2017, 02:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreymakela View Post
Why is there no channel information on channel 45? I am happy I can get 45 in Eureka mo.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Low powered stations are not required to list program info
unclehonkey is offline  
post #13452 of 13456 Unread 06-11-2017, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
You'd have to ask the company that runs it....
Good Luck. DTV America doesnt provide any guide info for their stations to view on a TV.
External items like Tivo there is info.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #13453 of 13456 Unread 06-20-2017, 12:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wildwood, MO
Posts: 2,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Any discussion here about Charter/Spectrum in the St. Louis area?

I have had OTA and DirecTV, and I'm ready to give DirecTV the boot. Looking to use cable with a TiVo device that I'll own, so just need a cable card. Haven't used Charter in many years. How is the HD and overall quality of service these days?

Pioneer ELITE PRO-720HD | Pioneer PDP-5010FD | Sony XBR-55X850B | LG OLED55E6P
OPPO BDP-103 | OPPO UDP-203 | Toshiba HD-XA2
PlayStation 4 Pro | Xbox One S
brentsg is offline  
post #13454 of 13456 Unread Yesterday, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentsg View Post
Any discussion here about Charter/Spectrum in the St. Louis area?

I have had OTA and DirecTV, and I'm ready to give DirecTV the boot. Looking to use cable with a TiVo device that I'll own, so just need a cable card. Haven't used Charter in many years. How is the HD and overall quality of service these days?
I booted DirecTV a few years ago. Charter has improved its customer service immensely since a new CEO was installed. I have the TV/Internet/Voice bundle and all work well, with significant cost savings since I dropped my AT&T landline at the same time.

The voice quality is terrific, caller ID is free, and you can manage it on line--including voice messages. The cable TV service has been trouble-free, and the Internet service (advertised as 100Mbps) consistently returns 135Mbps.

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #13455 of 13456 Unread Yesterday, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wildwood, MO
Posts: 2,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
I booted DirecTV a few years ago. Charter has improved its customer service immensely since a new CEO was installed. I have the TV/Internet/Voice bundle and all work well, with significant cost savings since I dropped my AT&T landline at the same time.

The voice quality is terrific, caller ID is free, and you can manage it on line--including voice messages. The cable TV service has been trouble-free, and the Internet service (advertised as 100Mbps) consistently returns 135Mbps.
Thanks Dan. I have Charter's internet now with a Business plan, and I have some insider knowledge regarding their phone deployment, so I have faith in those. Just looking to shore up my confidence in their TV services (including cablecard provisioning). Your input helps.

Pioneer ELITE PRO-720HD | Pioneer PDP-5010FD | Sony XBR-55X850B | LG OLED55E6P
OPPO BDP-103 | OPPO UDP-203 | Toshiba HD-XA2
PlayStation 4 Pro | Xbox One S
brentsg is offline  
post #13456 of 13456 Unread Today, 06:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentsg View Post
TV services (including cablecard provisioning)
I can't speak to the cable card setup since I just have regular STBs. Picture quality is great, at least on a 55" 1920x1080 Samsung.

If you go with Charter let me know--I have built a spreadsheet that lists all of their St. Louis area channels sorted both by channel number and alphabetically. That revealed that they have assigned 3 channels to ESPN, 3 more to ESPN2, 3 to HBO, 2 to HBOwest, 2 to HBO2, etc. I have no idea why!

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off