St. Louis, MO - HDTV - Page 53 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kdg454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twombomber View Post

I have a Dish installer here now. Having 2 dual tuner receivers installed, one HD. I had asked him about putting up an ota antenna--he says I don't need one, I'll get all local channels in HD. True? What is the point of getting the channels ota?

Yes, true.

OTA gives you the ability to record an additional HD or SD timer. Presently, you'll be able to record 2 HD events on your HD DVR...with OTA, it would be 3.
OTA is also a slightly clearer, sharper picture.
kdg454 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 12:01 PM
Member
 
matth1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southwest St. Louis, MO
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twombomber View Post

I, too, am ready to kick Charter out my door, at least for tv. Dish is supposed to be here by noon today to install. Had it set up for 2 weeks ago but got snowed out. Matth, how low did they go for your internet?


I called out the mailer I had just received = $30 / month for six months, and I'll renegotiate in August.

-Matt
matth1138 is offline  
post #1563 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 12:04 PM
Member
 
matth1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southwest St. Louis, MO
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twombomber View Post

I have a Dish installer here now. Having 2 dual tuner receivers installed, one HD. I had asked him about putting up an ota antenna--he says I don't need one, I'll get all local channels in HD. True? What is the point of getting the channels ota?


Also, you'll get the sub channels (5-2, 9-2, 9-3, etc.) if you're interested.

-Matt
matth1138 is offline  
post #1564 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Tucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 2,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
twombomber,

You will also get access to TV when an asteroid knocks the satellite from the sky.

Seriously,

There have been a few times I have been able to watch OTA when my satellite was not receiving signal like during a blizzard. It can only benefit you to have an antenna.

Scott
Scott Tucker is offline  
post #1565 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kdg454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twombomber View Post

I, too, am ready to kick Charter out my door, at least for tv. Dish is supposed to be here by noon today to install. Had it set up for 2 weeks ago but got snowed out. Matth, how low did they go for your internet?

After several years of my calling and being told no, they fairly easily dropped my Pipeline (5mb) from $62.95/mo to $24.94/mo. I called just after the Belo uprising, and told them DISH offered me a promotion of SAT Internet for $29.95/mo + N/C installation. The Charter retention rep countered by telling me SAT cannot offer speeds of 5mb (which they cannot), but I told her the DISH rep told me it is exactly what I have now.

Mine is stand-alone also. The retention agent originally told me $29.95/mo, but when my statement posted last month, it was $5.00 less.

Hopefully [looking upward] the DSL switches will be here before the year is up, and I will be able to live out one of my lifelong dreams!
kdg454 is offline  
post #1566 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr_Bester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis MO USA
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I didn't realize dish had 11HD and 9HD through the dish....
Mr_Bester is offline  
post #1567 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kdg454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Tucker View Post

twombomber,
You will also get access to TV when an asteroid knocks the satellite from the sky.
Seriously,
There have been a few times I have been able to watch OTA when my satellite was not receiving signal like during a blizzard. It can only benefit you to have an antenna.
Scott

....that semi-annual sun-spot thingie which blocks the signals. I forget what it's called.



BTW...OT, but I've been meaning to ask our grammar guru, Mo.....is "that" or "which" proper in my sentence?
kdg454 is offline  
post #1568 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kdg454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Bester View Post

I didn't realize dish had 11HD and 9HD through the dish....

They don't....and I don't think anyone posted they did
Just 2, 4, 5, & 30 on SAT (Dish)

With OTA, through a DISH receiver, you can get 9 & 11 digital signals.
kdg454 is offline  
post #1569 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Tucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 2,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdg454 View Post

They don't....and I don't think anyone posted they did
Just 2, 4, 5, & 30 on SAT (Dish)

With OTA, through a DISH receiver, you can get 9 & 11 digital signals.

One more reason for him to get an antenna.

Scott
Scott Tucker is offline  
post #1570 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 01:05 PM
Member
 
eyezen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Troy, MO
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdg454 View Post

They don't....and I don't think anyone posted they did
Just 2, 4, 5, & 30 on SAT (Dish)

With OTA, through a DISH receiver, you can get 9 & 11 digital signals.

Well the OP said the installer did...(emphasis mine)

Quote:
Originally Posted by towmbomer View Post

I have a Dish installer here now. Having 2 dual tuner receivers installed, one HD. I had asked him about putting up an ota antenna--he says I don't need one, I'll get all local channels in HD. True? What is the point of getting the channels ota?

Then you posted...(emphasis mine)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdg454 View Post

Yes, true.

OTA gives you the ability to record an additional HD or SD timer. Presently, you'll be able to record 2 HD events on your HD DVR...with OTA, it would be 3.
OTA is also a slightly clearer, sharper picture.

So I (and I'm sure others including Mr Bester) can see where you were agreeing with the OP's installers claim that you don't need to have an OTA antenna to get 9 and 11.

But maybe I'm reading way too much into this.
eyezen is offline  
post #1571 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kdg454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya, you're right...it said "all."
Not everyone would realize "all" means the big 4 when referring to SAT HD locals.
kdg454 is offline  
post #1572 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 01:39 PM
Member
 
StLBluesFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ellisville, MO
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aspec2 View Post

Doug

I think AT&T runs fiber to the neighborhood and coax to your house????? I understand Verizon runs fiber to your house. I read where Verizon will give you a 30mps connection on the east coast. They had a lot of problems in the beginning but I have not heard of any recently. If this is true, I am not surprised why Verizon is beating AT&T. Now that I have a DVR I think I will be waiting for the Verizon service.
Walt

Fiber to the neighborhood for existing, fiber to the curb and often fiber to the premises for new construction, typical copper finishes the loop.

Verizon is running fiber to the house as much as possible and spending *considerably* more dollars and as a result depressing their stock price by comparison. AT&T is betting that technology improvements will allow for necessary bandwidth and speed without bringing fiber to the house. Investors seem to agree, for now.

In most areas the 2 telcos won't be competing against one another, but rather with cable and sat, and how the fiber is run by the incumbent telco is what you get.
StLBluesFan is offline  
post #1573 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 01:50 PM
Member
 
StLBluesFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ellisville, MO
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kotches View Post

Actually, the whole model of U-Verse is essentially VOD. When you select a channel, it's going to start streaming down your selection. When you goto another channel, it stops the current stream and starts another stream.

The downside is that (at this point) you are limited to just 1 HD channel at a time with U-Verse.
Cheers,

4 SD channels can currently be recorded at the same time, not sure when multiple HD feeds will be handled simultaneously, but that's in the works.

FYI, all U-Verse supplied tuners will be HD-ready.
StLBluesFan is offline  
post #1574 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdg454 View Post

....that semi-annual sun-spot thingie which blocks the signals. I forget what it's called.



BTW...OT, but I've been meaning to ask our grammar guru, Mo.....is "that" or "which" proper in my sentence?

Stop it! I am not the grammar police and my punctuation is horrid. But
since you asked, I would have chosen "the" and then "that". Followed by "forgot" instead of "forget".

Vizio M602i-B3
MoInSTL is offline  
post #1575 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kdg454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoInSTL View Post

Stop it! I am not the grammar police and my punctuation is horrid. But
since you asked, I would have chosen "the" and then "that". Followed by "forgot" instead of "forget".

Ahh....I forgot to even ask about forget
kdg454 is offline  
post #1576 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
redwine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dardenne Prairie, MO
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdg454 View Post

After several years of my calling and being told no, they fairly easily dropped my Pipeline (5mb) from $62.95/mo to $24.94/mo. I called just after the Belo uprising, and told them DISH offered me a promotion of SAT Internet for $29.95/mo + N/C installation. The Charter retention rep countered by telling me SAT cannot offer speeds of 5mb (which they cannot), but I told her the DISH rep told me it is exactly what I have now.

Mine is stand-alone also. The retention agent originally told me $29.95/mo, but when my statement posted last month, it was $5.00 less.

Hopefully [looking upward] the DSL switches will be here before the year is up, and I will be able to live out one of my lifelong dreams!

So for how long will Charter give you that price?
redwine is offline  
post #1577 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 03:55 PM
Member
 
sandblaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Shiloh, Il
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DroptheRemote View Post

Walt,

Yes, I think that's correct about the network -- though I can't even get AT&T DSL in my neighborhood. By the by, a customer told me last night that AT&T is REQUIRED to offer DSL to every home in Illinois by the end of 2007. Considering my Charter Pipeline continues to emulate a yo-yo (up and down at least two dozen times in the last 48 hours), I CAN'T WAIT.

On the other hand, I think you might be waiting quite a while for Verizon's FioS here, as it probably is only going to be available initially in markets where Verizon is the primary provider of local phone services. Running fiber to the home in a market that is effectively "owned" by AT&T doesn't seem like a recipe for timely return on investment.

A condition of the merger with Bell South, AT&T must provide high speed internet to 100% of their service area by the end of 2007, so it's not just Illinois. However, that does not necessarily mean DSL via your existing phone lines. They will be allowed to provide high speed internet via satellite and/or wireless technology in addition to via phone line. I suspect that will be the solution for extreme rural areas. I believe the goal is to reach at least 80% via land line.
sandblaster is offline  
post #1578 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aspec2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Glen Carbon, IL
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StLBluesFan View Post

Fiber to the neighborhood for existing, fiber to the curb and often fiber to the premises for new construction, typical copper finishes the loop.

Verizon is running fiber to the house as much as possible and spending *considerably* more dollars and as a result depressing their stock price by comparison. AT&T is betting that technology improvements will allow for necessary bandwidth and speed without bringing fiber to the house. Investors seem to agree, for now.

In most areas the 2 telcos won't be competing against one another, but rather with cable and sat, and how the fiber is run by the incumbent telco is what you get.

Yes. Verizon is definitely providing for the future although AT&T will already be in the neighborhood and the fiber runs will be short when they need to catch up. I saw a picture with how much copper is replaced by 1 fiber cable. It was a PBS program about how the manufacture of fiber cable was achieved. The bundle of copper cables (wires smaller than #20) was at least 4' in diameter and was replaced by 1 fiber cable. I still find it hard to believe but they can't lie on TV, can they.

Walt

Mo is da gramer cop?
aspec2 is offline  
post #1579 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kdg454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redwine View Post

So for how long will Charter give you that price?

1 year
kdg454 is offline  
post #1580 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 07:35 PM
Member
 
T40T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been a DirecTV customer for about 8 years. I set up an appointment to have my dish swapped out for an HD one. They said the earliest they could give me an appointment is April 17!! WTF?!?!? Is that typical service? I think I've read here that their installers here in STL are terrible, but this is worse than I'd imagined. Six weeks just to hop up on my roof and change a dish out? It's making me think about switching to Dish, which I hear has better (less) compression, anyway.
T40T is offline  
post #1581 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 08:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr_Bester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis MO USA
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by T40T View Post

I've been a DirecTV customer for about 8 years. I set up an appointment to have my dish swapped out for an HD one. They said the earliest they could give me an appointment is April 17!! WTF?!?!? Is that typical service? I think I've read here that their installers here in STL are terrible, but this is worse than I'd imagined. Six weeks just to hop up on my roof and change a dish out? It's making me think about switching to Dish, which I hear has better (less) compression, anyway.

I was originally scheduled for an install March 15. The next day I got online and rescheduled for Feb 27. So, if you like DirecTV, you can try the reschedule online. Just make sure you call and they have the correct equipment on the work order.
Dug
Mr_Bester is offline  
post #1582 of 13054 Old 02-28-2007, 09:51 PM
Member
 
T40T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Bester View Post

I was originally scheduled for an install March 15. The next day I got online and rescheduled for Feb 27. So, if you like DirecTV, you can try the reschedule online. Just make sure you call and they have the correct equipment on the work order.
Dug


Thanks, Dug. I just rescheduled online for next Friday, March 9, which is when my HD TVs are coming. Yay.
T40T is offline  
post #1583 of 13054 Old 03-01-2007, 05:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DroptheRemote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kotches View Post

Doug (droptheremote) and Walt (aspec2):

U-Verse is FTTN (Fibre to the Node/Neighborhood depending on who you ask) with the "last mile" being twisted pair, not coax.

It's actually vDSL (Very high speed DSL), with twisted pair over the run from the node/neighborhood to the house.

Cheers,

Thanks for this clarification and various follow-ups.

It seems to me that the limitation of one simultaneous HD channel is going to be a deal-killer for a lot of people. This creates a major restriction in terms of time-shifting and makes a DVR significantly less useful that what can be accomplished with competitor products/services.

Doug

Clearly Resolved Image & Sound
Lion AV Consultants
ISF & THX Video Calibration
Real-time Twitter Home Theater News
DroptheRemote is offline  
post #1584 of 13054 Old 03-01-2007, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
DishTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandblaster View Post

A condition of the merger with Bell South, AT&T must provide high speed internet to 100% of their service area by the end of 2007, so it's not just Illinois. However, that does not necessarily mean DSL via your existing phone lines. They will be allowed to provide high speed internet via satellite and/or wireless technology in addition to via phone line. I suspect that will be the solution for extreme rural areas. I believe the goal is to reach at least 80% via land line.

I sure hope this is true! I presently have charter pipeline and would love to switch to dsl when it becomes available. I live in High Ridge. Paradise Valley Estates does NOT currently get DSL.
DishTim is offline  
post #1585 of 13054 Old 03-01-2007, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Kotches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Troy, IL USA (St. Louis Area)
Posts: 7,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DroptheRemote View Post

Thanks for this clarification and various follow-ups.

It seems to me that the limitation of one simultaneous HD channel is going to be a deal-killer for a lot of people. This creates a major restriction in terms of time-shifting and makes a DVR significantly less useful that what can be accomplished with competitor products/services.

Doug:

It's a limitation that will be addressed RSN (Real Soon Now).

Cheers,

Contributing Editor & Surround Music Reviewer Widescreen Review
Opinions are mine, not the publication I write for.
John Kotches is offline  
post #1586 of 13054 Old 03-01-2007, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Tucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 2,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DishTim View Post

Paradise Valley Estates does NOT currently get DSL.

Maybe they should call it Almost Paradise Valley Estates.

Scott
Scott Tucker is offline  
post #1587 of 13054 Old 03-01-2007, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
aspec2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Glen Carbon, IL
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI....I transferred the whole movie to my hard drive from the DVR. I find that when I record HD OTA, it runs about 8 gig per hour. This 1:45 movie took 9.2 gig. It seems Charter is shaving bits also.

The movie still looks a lot better than the rented DVD, scaled. Now I need the price of burners to come down. It obviously will not compare with the new HD players.

Walt
aspec2 is offline  
post #1588 of 13054 Old 03-01-2007, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
It ain't HD, but there's enough horror fans here for this to be of interest...

New channel just appeared on DirecTV, "Chiller" on channel 257. Looks to be all horror, all the time. *D's monthly e-mail said it premieres at 9PM tonight, but it's already there.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #1589 of 13054 Old 03-01-2007, 07:35 AM
Newbie
 
DishTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Tucker View Post

Maybe they should call it Almost Paradise Estates.

Scott

If we could finally dump charter and get dsl it would truly be paradise.
DishTim is offline  
post #1590 of 13054 Old 03-01-2007, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Tucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 2,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DishTim View Post

If we could finally dump charter and get dsl it would truly be paradise.

You'll get no argument from 90% of the posters on this thread. I've lived in Paradise for 12 years now.

Scott
Scott Tucker is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off