Boston, MA - Comcast - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 8558 Old 08-01-2007, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
mgpt6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a fancy post card from Comcast that RPTi now on Channel 73 in my town was moving to Channel99 (midband freq.) on 8/30/07. Another attempt to free up spectrum for more HD, I hope.
mgpt6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 8558 Old 08-01-2007, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chitchatjf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lawrence MA
Posts: 3,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Heard on a different thread.

NFL Network HD tomorrow on 853.


Edit: It is UP!

You must have SnE to get this channel. (I do) (:

I wonder what they are holding 852 for?
chitchatjf is offline  
post #993 of 8558 Old 08-01-2007, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
mgpt6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another thing Comcast should add is the multiple HBO and Cinemax HD feeds. I subscribe to HBO and should get the 6 HBO channels in HD as well as SD , instead of just 1.
mgpt6 is offline  
post #994 of 8558 Old 08-01-2007, 03:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
mgpt6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, TBS-HD on 9/1/07. The MLB Divisional Playoffs are on TBS, not ESPN or Fox. I think that the NLCS is on TBS,not Fox this year.
mgpt6 is offline  
post #995 of 8558 Old 08-01-2007, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kenvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a letter from Comcast today saying effective Sept. 3 the price of the hd dvr is going to $12.95 from $9.95 !! They didn't even wait till the usual February price increase !!

-Ken
kenvt is offline  
post #996 of 8558 Old 08-01-2007, 06:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenvt View Post

I got a letter from Comcast today saying effective Sept. 3 the price of the hd dvr is going to $12.95 from $9.95 !! They didn't even wait till the usual February price increase !!

-Ken

Yep, so it will increase now because the FCC just passed a ruling allowing it, and then it will increase again in the upcoming new year like it usually does. Nice.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #997 of 8558 Old 08-01-2007, 07:33 PM
Member
 
jwciv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New England
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwciv View Post

does anyone have a chart that maps the comcast digital channels against channels a typical HDTV tuner picks up? For example, NESN HD is on channel 851, if I plugged my comcast cable directly into my HDTV tuner and had it auto-search for channels, what channel would it find NESN HD on (127.3 for example?)
Thanks

Here's the list for North Chelmsford. Comcast basic cable sub plugged into HDTV and tuner autosearch:
117 test pattern
111.5 nba league pass preview
104.4 R&B Hits
92.4 indemand preview
90.1 ?movie channel (showinh the departed)
88.9 style
85.1 E moview previews (PIP)
84.3 the tube
83.9 daystar
83.8 shop nbc com
83.7 foreign sports channel
83.6 npri
82.5 ion
83.3 game show network
82.12 cn8
82.11 abc
82.10 7 (cw56)
82.9 nbc
82.8 pbs 44
82.7 pbs
82.6 fox 25
82.5 abc
82.4 spanish channel
82.3 wsbk 38
82.2 my tv
82.1 cbs
79.11 T (foreign)
79.8 qvc
79.7 hsn
77.1 necn
74.6 pbs nh
74.5 cmt
74.4 hallmark
74.3 ?lowell spinners
74.2 nasa
74.1 ?
56.1 wlvi hd
44.4 kids
44.3 wgbh create
44.2 wgbh world
38.1 wsbk 38
25.1 fox 25 wfxt fi
9.1 wmur
7.2 whdh weathe rplus
7.1 whdh hd
5.1 wcvb dt
4.1 wbz dt
2.2 wgbh hd
jwciv is offline  
post #998 of 8558 Old 08-01-2007, 07:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Wow. You get Nasa-TV? I sure wish I had that. I haven't had that for over 10yrs.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #999 of 8558 Old 08-01-2007, 09:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
mgpt6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast Chicago is going all digital. Is it contracts with towns which is slowing the conversion of anlog channles to digital to free up space for more HD?
mgpt6 is offline  
post #1000 of 8558 Old 08-01-2007, 10:30 PM
Member
 
MrMars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chitchatjf View Post


I wonder what they are holding 852 for?


Comcast Sports Network New England HD

Comcast now has full control of FSN England, all their other RSNs = fulltime HD channels.
MrMars is offline  
post #1001 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 04:44 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yup, it isn't easy. However, you can get lucky if you try.
bicker1 is offline  
post #1002 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 04:51 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenvt View Post

I got a letter from Comcast today saying effective Sept. 3 the price of the hd dvr is going to $12.95 from $9.95 !! They didn't even wait till the usual February price increase !!

By the same token, that fee didn't actually go up in February.
bicker1 is offline  
post #1003 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
IndieRockSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMars View Post

Comcast Sports Network New England HD

Comcast now has full control of FSN England, all their other RSNs = fulltime HD channels.

awesome!
IndieRockSteve is offline  
post #1004 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dozens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenvt View Post

I got a letter from Comcast today saying effective Sept. 3 the price of the hd dvr is going to $12.95 from $9.95 !! They didn't even wait till the usual February price increase !!

-Ken

Does the letter distinguish between DCT (no CableCard) and DCH (CableCard) ? I am wondering if it will cost $12.95 + CC Fee for a DCHx416.

dozens is offline  
post #1005 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 10:51 AM
Member
 
jwciv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New England
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Wow. You get Nasa-TV? I sure wish I had that. I haven't had that for over 10yrs.

that's a long time ago...want me to tape some episodes on my beta-max and send them to you
jwciv is offline  
post #1006 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 11:20 AM
 
Lodef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northshore, MA
Posts: 3,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the DVR rates keep going up ( I have 2 of them ), I might have to go back to Cablecard because this is starting to get a tad too expensive.
Lodef is offline  
post #1007 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 11:44 AM
Member
 
DjCalvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Carver, MA
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been able to get cablecards out of Comcast here in MA?
Im in Carver and Just picked up the series 3 hd tivo. Went to comcast and they said it would be $60 something to have their techs install 2 cablecards - $45 for the 1st card and $23 for the 2nd.

Also, 2 cable cards would cost me $3/70 a month, whereas on their web site it says no more than 1.95 for the 2nd card...

FYI: I have comcast hd dvr (S/A box.. old adelphia network), and the tivo is replacing that box.
DjCalvin is offline  
post #1008 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 12:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwciv View Post

that's a long time ago...want me to tape some episodes on my beta-max and send them to you

Well Nasa-TV is available for free on crappy feeds over the net, I wish they would do it broadband like they used to.

Interest in science/space exploration has pretty much dried up to nothing.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #1009 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 01:24 PM
Member
 
chrisgeleven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMars View Post

Comcast Sports Network New England HD

Comcast now has full control of FSN England, all their other RSNs = fulltime HD channels.

Assuming FSNE goes HD soon, hopefully that will mean all Celtics games are in HD too (not just home games). With the new "Big Three", they are going to get a massive amount of new viewers. Good time to roll that out if I were them.
chrisgeleven is offline  
post #1010 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Paul Simoneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisgeleven View Post

Assuming FSNE goes HD soon, hopefully that will mean all Celtics games are in HD too (not just home games). With the new "Big Three", they are going to get a massive amount of new viewers. Good time to roll that out if I were them.

FSNE is already in HD. I'm in a formerly-Adelphia system, and we've had this channel for quite some time. The downside is that it plays a demo loop when the Celtics aren't playing, which is about 95% of the time. Quite a waste of bandwidth to dedicate a full HD channel to 2-4 NBA games a week...
Paul Simoneau is offline  
post #1011 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 01:43 PM
Member
 
chrisgeleven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On Comcast in Manchester, there is no dedicated FSNE HD channel (yet). When there is a Celtics home game, the HD version is broadcasted on channel 881.

Always bothered me when channels have a demo loop (or nearly as bad, repeats of the 5 HD episodes of shows from 2003). If they are going to do such a half attempt at an HD channel, at least broadcast what is on the SD channel and add HD versions of shows when possible.
chrisgeleven is offline  
post #1012 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 05:54 PM
Member
 
Wally1912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NAS South Weymouth, MA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone have NFL Network HD pop up on channel 853? I don't subscribe to the package to be able to view the content on the channel, but I did see it listed on 853 when flipping through the other channels I do get in the 800s.
Wally1912 is offline  
post #1013 of 8558 Old 08-02-2007, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
deathstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wayland, MA
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally1912 View Post

Did anyone have NFL Network HD pop up on channel 853? I don't subscribe to the package to be able to view the content on the channel, but I did see it listed on 853 when flipping through the other channels I do get in the 800s.

I noticed it today, and since I subscribe to the Sports and Entertainment package, I get the channel, though it's showing some old SD programming right now.
deathstroke is offline  
post #1014 of 8558 Old 08-03-2007, 05:26 AM
Senior Member
 
travis33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathstroke View Post

I noticed it today, and since I subscribe to the Sports and Entertainment package, I get the channel, though it's showing some old SD programming right now.

If you could update the board on how much content is actually in HD, that would be great. I'm thinking about getting this, but it wouldn't be worth it to me if it's like ESPN2 (barely any HD content). I assume all the games would be in HD, but if they have alot of other shows in HD I'd probably pick it up.

Thanks.
travis33 is offline  
post #1015 of 8558 Old 08-03-2007, 05:30 AM
Senior Member
 
travis33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjCalvin View Post

Has anyone been able to get cablecards out of Comcast here in MA?
Im in Carver and Just picked up the series 3 hd tivo. Went to comcast and they said it would be $60 something to have their techs install 2 cablecards - $45 for the 1st card and $23 for the 2nd.


FYI: I have comcast hd dvr (S/A box.. old adelphia network), and the tivo is replacing that box.

I thought that all you have to do is just stick the card in the STB? $60
travis33 is offline  
post #1016 of 8558 Old 08-03-2007, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chitchatjf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lawrence MA
Posts: 3,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Updated Comcast boston HD Lineup 08-03-07

Box ch ch name Tier needed to get channel
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
802 WGBH-HD (PBS HD ch) Basic
804 WBZ-HD (CBS) Basic
805 WCVB-HD (ABC) Basic
807 WHDH-HD (NBC) Basic
809 WMUR-HD (ABC) Basic
821 National Geo Starter
825 WFXT-HD (Fox) Basic
828 MHD Starter AND Classic
831 possible home of TBS-HD
832 HGTVHD Starter
833 TNT Classic
837 AnE Starter
838 WSBK-DT Basic
839 Discovery Home Theatre Classic
846 Universal HD Classic
848 Verses /Golf HD Starter
849 ESPN Classic
850 ESPN2 Starter
851 NESN Starter
852 possible home of Comcast North-HD
853 NFL Network Sports and Entertainment
854 FoodHD Starter
856 WLVI-HD (CW) Basic
868 Cinemax Cinemax
870 HBO HBO
875 Starz Starz
877 Showtime Showtime
881 Mojo Classic
chitchatjf is offline  
post #1017 of 8558 Old 08-03-2007, 08:11 AM
Member
 
DjCalvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Carver, MA
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by travis33 View Post

I thought that all you have to do is just stick the card in the STB? $60


Exactly...
I called them up this morning.
$60 was for 2 outlets to be installed(which i told them i didnt need the 1st time).. the rep had no clue.
I called up, explained the situation, and they dropped it to $13 after a LOT of convincing.

but yeah.. its pcmcia based i thought. cant really mess that up.
They are coming today to "install" the cards.
DjCalvin is offline  
post #1018 of 8558 Old 08-03-2007, 08:59 AM
Member
 
ezgoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The reason they need to send the tech is not really for the installation, but for the "activation process". When they installed mine in a secondary TV, the tech spent about 45 minutes on hold with the home office trying to get it activated... and he had a special direct phone number! He said at the time that the wait was typical for the activation and that they waste everyone's time by understaffing the activation phone lines.
ezgoin is offline  
post #1019 of 8558 Old 08-03-2007, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jefbal99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chitchatjf View Post

852 possible home of Comcast North-HD

Is that really what Comcast is going to call it?!?!?!

Hopefully it ends up as CSN New England/North East. CSN North makes me think of The Dakota's, Montana, Minnesota, etc.

It's time to give props to WLNS for the HD crawl generator!!!

Now we need WHTV to go HD and Lansing's CW to get a separate transmitter so it isn't a digital sub.
jefbal99 is offline  
post #1020 of 8558 Old 08-03-2007, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lodef View Post

If the DVR rates keep going up ( I have 2 of them ), I might have to go back to Cablecard because this is starting to get a tad too expensive.

Same here...I was trying to figure out how I could use one and just switch the output between my projector (basement) and LCD (1st floor), but what I really need is a 2x2 HDMI switcher (to also switch my HTPC) and those are still a little too expensive.
JDLIVE is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off