San Francisco, CA - Comcast - Page 508 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15211 of 15238 Old 04-01-2014, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
greeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 2,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
hrm. I watched the a's home opener last night on CSN via directv and didn't notice any pq issues (not happy about the outcome though). I'm usually pretty picky about how things look. I watched a couple of preseason games over the previous couple of weeks on mlb network and those also looked okay. is it mileage varying? Best, jeff
greeno is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15212 of 15238 Old 04-01-2014, 10:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by greeno View Post

hrm. I watched the a's home opener last night on CSN via directv and didn't notice any pq issues (not happy about the outcome though). I'm usually pretty picky about how things look. I watched a couple of preseason games over the previous couple of weeks on mlb network and those also looked okay. is it mileage varying? Best, jeff
It's better on DirecTV, but still not a very good image in my opinion. The center field camera, the one that follows the pitcher to the plate, a huge portion of the broadcast, is just awful. I know that AT&T Park suffers from a lot of moisture in the air being right on the water which can cause video noise, maybe that's the problem. Maybe better lighting, the combination of the video noise and the lighting just presents itself as a dull looking image. Day games are much better than night games which makes me think the wet night air has a lot to do with it.
Keenan is online now  
post #15213 of 15238 Old 04-01-2014, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
greeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 2,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hi keenan,
I think you're right about it being moisture in the air. the giants games have a similar issue at night. We know there was alot of moisture in the air as that's what kept donaldon's long fly in the 8th in the park :-( During summer nights, the games look alot better.

Best,
jeff
greeno is offline  
post #15214 of 15238 Old 04-03-2014, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
greeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 2,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hi,
Watched the A's last night on sportsnet and it looked really good on directv. checked it on a 70'' LCD (2 years old) and a 4 year old 50'' plasma (both calibrated). YMMV ;-)

Best,
jeff
greeno is offline  
post #15215 of 15238 Old 04-03-2014, 02:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 301
I never watch the A's so I don't know about that channel, my comments have been about the Giant's channel. I activated my DIRECTV account the other day so I'll be able to compare the Comcast version against the DIRECTV version this weekend as they're playing the Dodgers, when that happens I'm blacked out on the Dodger channel anyway.
Keenan is online now  
post #15216 of 15238 Old 04-24-2014, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
ptysell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Getting driven NUTS by an artifact on both CSN channels in the lower right.
Keep running between two TVs trying to see if it is on both channels.
Really apparent in the Sharks game/white screen.
GOING NUTS!!!!
(Doesn't appear when I do a solid white screen picture)

Ugh!!!
ptysell is offline  
post #15217 of 15238 Old 05-12-2014, 02:57 PM
Newbie
 
crouchingpotato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could somebody with a Comcast DVR please check the guide info for channel 780 (CSN Bay Area Plus HD)?

My TiVo has been showing only SIGN OFF on this channel for months, and usually that channel only simulcasts content from CSN Bay Area HD or CSN California HD.

But a couple of weeks ago a Giants game was scheduled for 780 because a Warriors or Sharks playoff preempted their usual CSN Bay Area slot, and my TiVo missed it because: SIGN OFF


I'm trying to figure out whether TiVo is not getting correct guide info from their supplier, or if CSN isn't even providing guide info for 780 to Comcast (their owner!). Thanks for any help.
crouchingpotato is offline  
post #15218 of 15238 Old 05-12-2014, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
We'd have to look when tere is actually something next scheduled on 780. I can't forsee anything in the foreseeable future.
snidely is offline  
post #15219 of 15238 Old 05-12-2014, 09:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Is "X1" service being offered here yet? What is (would be) the cost? Is it worth it?
snidely is offline  
post #15220 of 15238 Old 05-13-2014, 11:58 PM
Member
 
milt9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: walnut creek, ca.
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tuesday 11:55 pm. comcast channell 780 shows off-air. walnut creek (rossmoor) programming is some guy doing a radio sports call in show
milt
milt9 is offline  
post #15221 of 15238 Old 05-14-2014, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
crouchingpotato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post

We'd have to look when tere is actually something next scheduled on 780. I can't forsee anything in the foreseeable future.
Quote:
Originally Posted by milt9 View Post

tuesday 11:55 pm. comcast channell 780 shows off-air. walnut creek (rossmoor) programming is some guy doing a radio sports call in show
milt

Ok thanks. Sounds like Comcast Sportsnet just isn't providing schedule info for channel 780, but it only matters once in a blue moon when they actually use it for a live game not on their other channels.

Almost definitely not a TiVo-related problem, which is what I wanted to know. Too bad, because I think TiVo would be more likely to fix it than Comcast.
crouchingpotato is offline  
post #15222 of 15238 Old 05-14-2014, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
ptysell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post

Is "X1" service being offered here yet? What is (would be) the cost? Is it worth it?

Yes.
Apparently there is still a monster waiting list and to get on the list you have to be a subscriber of triple play (Walnut Creek)
ptysell is offline  
post #15223 of 15238 Old 05-14-2014, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptysell View Post

Yes.
Apparently there is still a monster waiting list and to get on the list you have to be a subscriber of triple play (Walnut Creek)

That means you have to get landline phone service from them? The percentage of homes still with landlines has been dropping rapidly over the last several years.
===
U.S. households with no land line service but at least one wireless telephone jumped to 35.8% by June 2012, compared with 34% at the end of 2011, and only 10.5% five years earlier, according to the National Center for Health Statistics.
====
I saw somewhere else that for those under age 35 it is over 50%.
snidely is offline  
post #15224 of 15238 Old 05-14-2014, 03:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post

That means you have to get landline phone service from them? The percentage of homes still with landlines has been dropping rapidly over the last several years.
===
U.S. households with no land line service but at least one wireless telephone jumped to 35.8% by June 2012, compared with 34% at the end of 2011, and only 10.5% five years earlier, according to the National Center for Health Statistics.
====
I saw somewhere else that for those under age 35 it is over 50%.
You get it, but you don't have to use it. The bundled price was cheaper so I got a TP package but never got a telephony modem and pay about $1.00 per month in 911/utility fees on my monthly bill. I've never even known what the actual phone number is. I get a cheaper price with the bundling and Comcast gets to talk about how popular their phone service product is. I'd be surprise if more than 30% of the subs that have a TP package actually even use the phone part of it.
Keenan is online now  
post #15225 of 15238 Old 05-14-2014, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
When my MIL moved into an assisted living place - ATT wouldn't let her keep her number of 40+ years. It is 5 miles from her old home in diff. "prefix" area. Comcast had no problem giving her service and porting the number over. Comcast provides basic cable to all the units in the place and that is included in the rent. We do have to pay CC $30+ for the phone service. Voice quality seems as good as a regular landline.
snidely is offline  
post #15226 of 15238 Old 05-14-2014, 04:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post

When my MIL moved into an assisted living place - ATT wouldn't let her keep her number of 40+ years. It is 5 miles from her old home in diff. "prefix" area. Comcast had no problem giving her service and porting the number over. Comcast provides basic cable to all the units in the place and that is included in the rent. We do have to pay CC $30+ for the phone service. Voice quality seems as good as a regular landline.
Yes, I think Comcast's phone service is IP-based so they probably could have have given her almost any number she wanted as it doesn't work the same way as a regular POTS line.

The refusal by AT&T doesn't surprise me as they want out of the regulated landline business anyway.
Keenan is online now  
post #15227 of 15238 Old 06-16-2014, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Elias1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In this month's Comcast bill there was a lot going on in terms of notices. Channel changes and across the board price increases for what looks like every city and county in the SF Bay Area (attached).

Effective 7/15 the following will change from East coat feed to West coast feed so watch your scheduled recordings:
  • A&E HD 734
  • HGTV HD 746
  • Food HD 747
  • AMC HD 798
  • Animal Planet HD 751
  • History HD 758
  • BET HD 777
  • CMT HD 787
  • FXX HD 803
  • FXX SD 401
On 6/17 Bloomberg HD will be on 765 on Digital Starter HD packages.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ComcastRates.jpg (327.4 KB, 27 views)
Elias1 is offline  
post #15228 of 15238 Old 06-16-2014, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Hopefully Tivo catches these changes though ideally, Comcast should add both feeds in HD.
wco81 is offline  
post #15229 of 15238 Old 06-16-2014, 01:09 PM
Member
 
Elias1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
Hopefully Tivo catches these changes though ideally, Comcast should add both feeds in HD.
Sometimes TiVo/Tribune don't get it updated at exactly the right time so I keep an eye on it when I know the changes are coming.
Elias1 is offline  
post #15230 of 15238 Old 06-16-2014, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elias1 View Post
In this month's Comcast bill there was a lot going on in terms of notices. Channel changes and across the board price increases for what looks like every city and county in the SF Bay Area (attached).

Effective 7/15 the following will change from East coat feed to West coast feed so watch your scheduled recordings:
  • A&E HD 734
  • HGTV HD 746
  • Food HD 747
  • AMC HD 798
  • Animal Planet HD 751
  • History HD 758
  • BET HD 777
  • CMT HD 787
  • FXX HD 803
  • FXX SD 401
On 6/17 Bloomberg HD will be on 765 on Digital Starter HD packages.
And as usual not one new HD station added to the list.
Cal1981 is offline  
post #15231 of 15238 Old 06-27-2014, 11:42 AM
Member
 
unmesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by snidely 

That means you have to get landline phone service from them? The percentage of homes still with landlines has been dropping rapidly over the last several years.
===
U.S. households with no land line service but at least one wireless telephone jumped to 35.8% by June 2012, compared with 34% at the end of 2011, and only 10.5% five years earlier, according to the National Center for Health Statistics.
====
I saw somewhere else that for those under age 35 it is over 50%.

You get it, but you don't have to use it. The bundled price was cheaper so I got a TP package but never got a telephony modem and pay about $1.00 per month in 911/utility fees on my monthly bill. I've never even known what the actual phone number is. I get a cheaper price with the bundling and Comcast gets to talk about how popular their phone service product is. I'd be surprise if more than 30% of the subs that have a TP package actually even use the phone part of it.
I'm an existing user that took TP because of the same reason and discovered that I could no longer administer my account through their web portal. Apparently the FCC requires that you turn on the phone service so that Comcast can call you and confirm your identity before they will re-allow access. After several hours of arguing unsuccessfully with Customer Service reps on the phone and on chat, I bought the telephony capable cablemodem and now am set up for wired calls even though I rarely use it. On the bright side, I have a battery backed up cablemodem

The guy at the Xfinity retail center that sold me this package did not know about this wrinkle.
unmesh is offline  
post #15232 of 15238 Old 06-27-2014, 11:57 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by unmesh View Post
I'm an existing user that took TP because of the same reason and discovered that I could no longer administer my account through their web portal. Apparently the FCC requires that you turn on the phone service so that Comcast can call you and confirm your identity before they will re-allow access. After several hours of arguing unsuccessfully with Customer Service reps on the phone and on chat, I bought the telephony capable cablemodem and now am set up for wired calls even though I rarely use it. On the bright side, I have a battery backed up cablemodem

The guy at the Xfinity retail center that sold me this package did not know about this wrinkle.
I recall some oddball re-authorizing procedure to access the online account pages several years ago but it didn't have anything to do with the phone service, not that I recall anyway. My phone service is probably active, it's just not connected to anything. I would guess if one dialed the number it would just ring and ring. I do remember something about activating the phone number at the Comcast retail office to enable 911 service, or something of that nature, but I've never had a telephony modem or used the service itself.

As far as the "wrinkle", the way Comcast operates it very well be different system by system even across just the bay area market. When it comes to Comcast, it's not unusual to get many different answers to the same exact question!
Keenan is online now  
post #15233 of 15238 Old 06-28-2014, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If the prices are going up on the 1st I wonder if that's when the doubling of the internet speeds will take place too.
maddog510 is offline  
post #15234 of 15238 Old 06-28-2014, 12:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog510 View Post
If the prices are going up on the 1st I wonder if that's when the doubling of the internet speeds will take place too.
Seems like a reasonable assumption given the doubling has finally reached some other areas on the west coast.
Keenan is online now  
post #15235 of 15238 Old 06-28-2014, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Seems like a reasonable assumption given the doubling has finally reached some other areas on the west coast.
Yeah considering that the ads on tv are running more frequently. Reboot your modems Tuesday morning. Hopefully I'll have 105!
maddog510 is offline  
post #15236 of 15238 Old 07-07-2014, 08:07 AM
Newbie
 
mrecob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog510 View Post
If the prices are going up on the 1st I wonder if that's when the doubling of the internet speeds will take place too.
I called Comcast over the weekend and asked about upgrading to Extreme 105. I was told by the first level sales that I would need to upgrade to Triple Play or pay an additional $34.00 over the $10.00 I already pay for Blast 50. My bill was already $155.00. I didn't want to do either of those so I complained. I got passed to Customer Service. This person was much more reasonable. I ended up with a promotional rate for "Starter XF Double Play" for 12 months ($89.99), 50% off my HD/DVR service for 6 months ($8.98), HBO for free for 24 months and Extreme 105 for $44.00 per month. The confirmation email if correct says this will knock $20.00 off my normal bill. The Comcast person also mentioned that Comcast is planning for Extreme 250 later this year! After the call, my modem rebooted itself and Extreme 105 was active. Sadly a speedtest only gave me 90. I realized that the Juniper Networks SSG5 I have been using for years is 100BaseT. I needed to upgrade. I ended up replacing the SSG5, a Trend Net wireless AP, and an HP switch with a TP-Link TL-ER604W ($100 at Frys). Replacing three boxes with one saves me 40 watts. The TP-Link also connects my home to my Sonicwall firewall at work with site to site VPN, not an easy feature to find in an home wireless router.
mrecob is offline  
post #15237 of 15238 Old 07-07-2014, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Were you out of contract when you called?
wco81 is offline  
post #15238 of 15238 Old 07-08-2014, 02:11 PM
Newbie
 
mrecob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
Were you out of contract when you called?
Yes, I had no contract. Still do not.
mrecob is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off