San Francisco, CA - Comcast - Page 511 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15301 of 15305 Old 09-09-2014, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
There have been a couple of outages in the past year, mainly on the data side. Maybe the longest one was an hour or two.

Otherwise, speed is much greater, now by a factor of 10 on the download, than Uverse that I had.

Rico is good for the most part but th Mini in my bedroom freezes on live TV periodically, requiring reboots that take several minutes. Sometimes several reboots. It's a widely reported problem at tivo community.com.

Otherwise having 6 tuners is great and I use the streaming to the iPad often.
Do you have the Mini connected to the Roamio via MOCA?

Thanks for the pointer to tivocommunity.com. I registered after reading your post.

I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me.
kokishin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15302 of 15305 Old 09-09-2014, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3 View Post
Try this TiVo: http://www.cnet.com/products/tivo-mega/


I moved from two TiVo HDs (nearly rock solid) to a single Roamio Plus upgraded to 3TB. The current Roamio software is much more stable than the last couple of versions.
I'm studying that possibility. Seems more cost effective/more bang for the buck than the Roamio Pro. Any warranty issues if you upgrade it yourself?

I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me.
kokishin is online now  
post #15303 of 15305 Old 09-09-2014, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Yup, the built in MOCA on the Roamio and Mini. Worked on the coax in my 30 year old home.
wco81 is offline  
post #15304 of 15305 Old 09-09-2014, 01:34 PM
c3
AVS Special Member
 
c3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, USA
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
I'm studying that possibility. Seems more cost effective/more bang for the buck than the Roamio Pro. Any warranty issues if you upgrade it yourself?
No personal experience. TiVo definitely knows if you have put in a different drive, but in most cases people have not been denied warranty service for self upgrade. The hard drive is the most common source of failure, but it's also the easiest to fix yourself, especially on the Roamios. Just plug in a blank drive.

When I bought mine, the price difference between Plus and Pro was greater than it is now. If you put in your own drive, you do get the much longer 3-year warranty on the drive.
c3 is offline  
post #15305 of 15305 Old 09-10-2014, 02:32 AM
c3
AVS Special Member
 
c3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, USA
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want a TiVo Mini, find a place stilling selling them at the old price without service, such as $88 at Fry's. All new activations include lifetime service without additional charge. The new price is ~$150 with service included.
c3 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off