San Francisco, CA - Comcast - Page 516 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15451 of 15460 Old Yesterday, 09:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintertime View Post
Kokishin, I've never had a Tivo; do you use it in conjunction with Comcast, or do you subscribe to channels directly?

If you are using Comcast, what city are you in?
Yes, my Tivo Roamio Pro DVR is connected to Comcast (San Jose). I have the Comcast Digital Preferred package. I was with Directv for over 12 years but I wanted local OTA sub-channels which Directv does not offer. I decided to go with the Tivo Roamio Pro because it is superior in almost every way over the Xfinity DVRs. I own my Roamio Pro as well as a Tivo Mini versus paying perpetual rent to Comcast for their boxes. Comcast even gives me a $2.50 monthly credit for owning my own equipment.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/ is a good forum for Tivo related info.

Hope that helps.

avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet

How to Create a Dolby Atmos Demo Disc (post #15199)

I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me.
kokishin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15452 of 15460 Old Today, 07:35 AM
Member
 
Steff3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
Yes, my Tivo Roamio Pro DVR is connected to Comcast (San Jose). I have the Comcast Digital Preferred package. I was with Directv for over 12 years but I wanted local OTA sub-channels which Directv does not offer. I decided to go with the Tivo Roamio Pro because it is superior in almost every way over the Xfinity DVRs. I own my Roamio Pro as well as a Tivo Mini versus paying perpetual rent to Comcast for their boxes. Comcast even gives me a $2.50 monthly credit for owning my own equipment.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/ is a good forum for Tivo related info.

Hope that helps.
Quick question ai an considering to make this move myself....Does the Roamoio Pro allow cable card and OTA recording?
Steff3 is online now  
post #15453 of 15460 Old Today, 08:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steff3 View Post
Quick question ai an considering to make this move myself....Does the Roamoio Pro allow cable card and OTA recording?
Roamio Pro requires a cablecard which Comcast provides for free. Roamio Pro does not support OTA. Comcast provides just about all of the OTA channels and sub-channels in the San Francisco Bay area.

avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet

How to Create a Dolby Atmos Demo Disc (post #15199)

I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me.
kokishin is online now  
post #15454 of 15460 Old Today, 08:33 AM
Member
 
Steff3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
Roamio Pro requires a cablecard which Comcast provides for free. Roamio Pro does not support OTA. Comcast provides just about all of the OTA channels and sub-channels in the San Francisco Bay area.
Thanks!
Steff3 is online now  
post #15455 of 15460 Old Today, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
PretzelFisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Does comcast offer KRCB in HD in any of it's local areas? I live in san jose and just get what looks like the hd stream chopped into 4:3
PretzelFisch is online now  
post #15456 of 15460 Old Today, 09:37 AM
Member
 
mazman49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay Area (Alamo)
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in Alamo, CA and get KRCB HD on channel 722
mazman49 is offline  
post #15457 of 15460 Old Today, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by PretzelFisch View Post
Does comcast offer KRCB in HD in any of it's local areas? I live in san jose and just get what looks like the hd stream chopped into 4:3
Does in Okld - ch 722 I wonder if SJ is considered a local area for KRCB?
snidely is offline  
post #15458 of 15460 Old Today, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by PretzelFisch View Post
Does comcast offer KRCB in HD in any of it's local areas? I live in san jose and just get what looks like the hd stream chopped into 4:3
I get KRCB in SD on Comcast 200 in the SJ area. I do not get an HD version.

avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet

How to Create a Dolby Atmos Demo Disc (post #15199)

I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me.
kokishin is online now  
post #15459 of 15460 Old Today, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
wintertime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
I get KRCB in SD on Comcast 200 in the SJ area. I do not get an HD version.
KRCB is also on ch. 200 in Sunnyvale. I don't have an HD box, so I don't know whether it's available in HD here.

Kokishin, thanks for the information that you're watching Comcast in San Jose. That strengthens my belief that the problem with ch. 107 is in the Sunnyvale head-end. I reported it to Comcast (via a frustratingly long chat session, grrrr) and also sent an email to AJAM.

Tiros sound pretty nifty, but I'm happy with my Magnavox DVR.
wintertime is online now  
post #15460 of 15460 Old Today, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 41
KRCB is on 722 in HD here in San Francisco.

Larry

Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Larry Kenney is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off