San Francisco, CA - Comcast - Page 526 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 42Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15751 of 15909 Old 11-30-2016, 09:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,182
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 397
I called tech support tonight to complain about what looks a palpable decrease in PQ since the outages last night. The image is still softer than it was and some of its dynamics have fallen off as well. The image is also a bit warmer than it was. My plasma TV was calibrated by the outstanding ChadB two years ago and it has held up very well and since our LCD sets are exhibiting similar issues it's not a TV set problem. The CSR sent a couple of signals to the DVR which improved the PQ but only marginally so a truck roll is scheduled for Saturday morning. I'll let you guys know what happens after they check things out.
Cal1981 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15752 of 15909 Old 12-01-2016, 01:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,366
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 556 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
Are those values of the resolution of the original sources before the TV upscales to the native resolution of the display?
Yes... it's the value received from the station for OTA and from Dish and Comcast for the satellite/cable services.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
Larry Kenney is offline  
post #15753 of 15909 Old 12-01-2016, 03:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
My new Sony XBR-65x850D TV indicates the resolution of the incoming signal in the information at the top of the screen when you change inputs. Comcast is shown as 720P, Dish as 1080i and Netflix and Youtube as 3840P. I never had the means of seeing this information before, so I don't know if Comcast has always been 720P here or if it's been changed.

Larry
SF
Pretty strange you're seeing 3840p. UHD is 2160, double that of HD's 1080. 3840 would be the number of pixels in a horizontal row, as opposed to the 2160 pixels in a vertical column.
bweissman is offline  
 
post #15754 of 15909 Old 12-01-2016, 07:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,182
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 397
The PQ appears to have improved tonight. The image is sharper and has better contrast than it had yesterday. It's still not "great" but is much more watchable. The football game on NBC looks very good, especially the Vikings solid purple uniforms. I still have the service call open for Saturday so I'll decide tomorrow whether to cancel it or not.
Cal1981 is offline  
post #15755 of 15909 Old 12-01-2016, 11:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,366
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 556 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
Pretty strange you're seeing 3840p. UHD is 2160, double that of HD's 1080. 3840 would be the number of pixels in a horizontal row, as opposed to the 2160 pixels in a vertical column.
I checked tonight and is shows 3840x2160. I just noted the first number previously.

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Last edited by Larry Kenney; 12-01-2016 at 11:58 PM.
Larry Kenney is offline  
post #15756 of 15909 Old 12-02-2016, 08:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TimV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey all. I just re-engaged Comcast cable after 10+ years of being a cord cutter. I'm looking for BeIN Sports in English but can't find it. Does anyone have a channel number for me? TIA.

Tim Vickroy

"Besides, there's no reason we can't be civil, is there?"
TimV is offline  
post #15757 of 15909 Old 12-02-2016, 09:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,182
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 397
I ended up cancelling the service call for tomorrow. The picture quality has steadily increased and is now close to what it was prior to the outage this week. I've been told that after some of these outages the X1 system can sometimes take a few days to fully recover. Maybe that's what happened here. If so, it doesn't give one a warm and fuzzy feeling, does it?
Cal1981 is offline  
post #15758 of 15909 Old 12-03-2016, 12:43 AM
Member
 
spear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimV View Post
Hey all. I just re-engaged Comcast cable after 10+ years of being a cord cutter. I'm looking for BeIN Sports in English but can't find it. Does anyone have a channel number for me? TIA.
beIN1 (429) is the English channel but it's SD.
beIN2 HD (677) has English on the secondary audio track.
spear is offline  
post #15759 of 15909 Old 12-04-2016, 12:03 PM
Member
 
KingsFan6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Couple days ago, I noticed that all channels are coming as as stereo. Programs that are supposed to be DD5.1 are not coming in as such, and I did check more than just a handful. I checked again today, and that still seems to be the case. Is anyone else noticing this, or is this just my soundbar system acting up?
KingsFan6 is offline  
post #15760 of 15909 Old 12-04-2016, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 882 Post(s)
Liked: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingsFan6 View Post
Couple days ago, I noticed that all channels are coming as as stereo. Programs that are supposed to be DD5.1 are not coming in as such, and I did check more than just a handful. I checked again today, and that still seems to be the case. Is anyone else noticing this, or is this just my soundbar system acting up?
I have a Tivo Roamio Pro. Tivo released an update earlier this week which causes my Denon 6200 (and other folks' avrs) to default to LPCM stereo. Tivo screwed up but there is a button sequence on the Tivo remote which switches the Tivo to output DD 5.1. By chance, do you have a Tivo DVR?

My signature:
Link: avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet

I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me.
kokishin is offline  
post #15761 of 15909 Old 12-04-2016, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
juancmjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watching football on KTVU and my receiver indicates 2 channel. Switched to NatGeo and the program was showing 5.1. NBC was also showing 5.1.

Occupation: Millionaire Philanderer... I mean philanthropist

juancmjr is offline  
post #15762 of 15909 Old 12-04-2016, 01:07 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,852
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2463 Post(s)
Liked: 2311
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingsFan6 View Post
Couple days ago, I noticed that all channels are coming as as stereo. Programs that are supposed to be DD5.1 are not coming in as such, and I did check more than just a handful. I checked again today, and that still seems to be the case. Is anyone else noticing this, or is this just my soundbar system acting up?
Check the audio output on your DVR/STB and make sure it's set to Dolby Digital and not PCM. I was noticing the same thing and it seems that a recent update to my TiVo had reset the audio to PCM, at least that's the story I'm going with as I sure don't recall ever changing it myself.
KingsFan6 likes this.
Keenan is offline  
post #15763 of 15909 Old 12-04-2016, 01:11 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,852
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2463 Post(s)
Liked: 2311
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
I have a Tivo Roamio Pro. Tivo released an update earlier this week which causes my Denon 6200 (and other folks' avrs) to default to LPCM stereo. Tivo screwed up but there is a button sequence on the Tivo remote which switches the Tivo to output DD 5.1. By chance, do you have a Tivo DVR?
Ah, I hadn't seen your post before I posted my response to KingsFan6. So that is what happened, the update played with the audio settings. Come on TiVo, get your act together.
Keenan is offline  
post #15764 of 15909 Old 12-04-2016, 01:14 PM
Newbie
 
yawitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by juancmjr View Post
Watching football on KTVU and my receiver indicates 2 channel. Switched to NatGeo and the program was showing 5.1. NBC was also showing 5.1.
This problem with KTVU dates back to May 2016 (based on TiVo recordings from that timespan that I still have saved). All other channels that I've checked (that broadcast in 5.1) don't have this issue, so it doesn't seem to be an equipment problem on my end.
yawitz is offline  
post #15765 of 15909 Old 12-04-2016, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,852
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2463 Post(s)
Liked: 2311
Quote:
Originally Posted by juancmjr View Post
Watching football on KTVU and my receiver indicates 2 channel. Switched to NatGeo and the program was showing 5.1. NBC was also showing 5.1.
KTVU has been screwed up for quite some time now. I'm not sure what the story is but unless they had to build from the ground up what ever it is they need to fix this problem it should have been fixed already. The audio is 2.0 and the picture quality looks like their old 480p Widescreen they used many years ago.
Keenan is offline  
post #15766 of 15909 Old 12-04-2016, 02:59 PM
c3
Advanced Member
 
c3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, USA
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The latest TiVo update reset some other setting as well. The new Screen Reader is fun to try (but gets annoying very quickly). When a program is playing, press and hold the "A" button for 2 seconds to toggle that feature.
c3 is offline  
post #15767 of 15909 Old 12-04-2016, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,852
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2463 Post(s)
Liked: 2311
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3 View Post
The latest TiVo update reset some other setting as well. The new Screen Reader is fun to try (but gets annoying very quickly). When a program is playing, press and hold the "A" button for 2 seconds to toggle that feature.
Pressing the B button will toggle closed captioning on and off which is a bit simpler than going through the Info button sequence. And the C button toggles audio I think. Not sure why they chose to use those letters with those functions, seems counterintuitive to me.
Keenan is offline  
post #15768 of 15909 Old 12-04-2016, 07:16 PM
Member
 
KingsFan6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Check the audio output on your DVR/STB and make sure it's set to Dolby Digital and not PCM. I was noticing the same thing and it seems that a recent update to my TiVo had reset the audio to PCM, at least that's the story I'm going with as I sure don't recall ever changing it myself.
Yep, you're right. I have a TiVo, and the audio setting apparently had reset to PCM. It must have been the update that did it. I set it to Dolby Digital, and all is good now.
Keenan likes this.
KingsFan6 is offline  
post #15769 of 15909 Old 12-14-2016, 09:58 PM
Member
 
jasonander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
KTVU has been screwed up for quite some time now. I'm not sure what the story is but unless they had to build from the ground up what ever it is they need to fix this problem it should have been fixed already. The audio is 2.0 and the picture quality looks like their old 480p Widescreen they used many years ago.
I noticed a significant improvement in KTVU picture and sound quality with last night's broadcast. File sizes on my TiVo are now about twice the size as recordings from last week.
kevini likes this.
jasonander is offline  
post #15770 of 15909 Old 12-15-2016, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,852
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2463 Post(s)
Liked: 2311
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonander View Post
I noticed a significant improvement in KTVU picture and sound quality with last night's broadcast. File sizes on my TiVo are now about twice the size as recordings from last week.
I'd have to take another look, but yes, I saw a few minutes of the 49er game Sunday and it did look quite a bit better, I didn't check to see if 5.1 audio was back or not but the video did look better than it has recently. They must have received/installed what ever it was that was broken.
Keenan is offline  
post #15771 of 15909 Old 12-15-2016, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,468
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1463 Post(s)
Liked: 547
How do you figure out the file sizes of your Tivo recordings?

kmttg?
wco81 is offline  
post #15772 of 15909 Old 12-15-2016, 01:24 PM
Member
 
jasonander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
How do you figure out the file sizes of your Tivo recordings?

kmttg?
From the recording in the Now Playing list, just hit the Info button on your remote and then Channel Down a few times, and you can see the file size. This works on a Roamio, not sure about other TiVo models.
jasonander is offline  
post #15773 of 15909 Old 12-15-2016, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,852
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2463 Post(s)
Liked: 2311
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
How do you figure out the file sizes of your Tivo recordings?

kmttg?
By using kmttg, and also by using Mediainfo after copying the show over to a computer.
Keenan is offline  
post #15774 of 15909 Old 12-16-2016, 02:00 PM
Member
 
KingsFan6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I'd have to take another look, but yes, I saw a few minutes of the 49er game Sunday and it did look quite a bit better, I didn't check to see if 5.1 audio was back or not but the video did look better than it has recently. They must have received/installed what ever it was that was broken.
If I'm not mistaken, the 49ers game this past Sunday was on KPIX (CBS), and as we all know, the picture there is superb.

I'll have to check KTVU later to see if things did get fixed there.
KingsFan6 is offline  
post #15775 of 15909 Old 12-16-2016, 02:02 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,852
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2463 Post(s)
Liked: 2311
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingsFan6 View Post
If I'm not mistaken, the 49ers game this past Sunday was on KPIX (CBS), and as we all know, the picture there is superb.

I'll have to check KTVU later to see if things did get fixed there.
That's possible, I'm not a fan of the team so I really wasn't paying close attention. And yes, CBS does have much better video quality for football than KTVU has had, at least of late anyway.
Keenan is offline  
post #15776 of 15909 Old 12-16-2016, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,468
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1463 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Yes it was a CBS game. Jets, AFC team, were the visitors so CBS has those games.
Keenan likes this.
wco81 is offline  
post #15777 of 15909 Old 12-17-2016, 01:36 AM
Member
 
KingsFan6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yep, looks like KTVU has been fixed . . . well, partially. Picture looks much better than before (bitrate is up to ~11 Mbps now from less than 6), but audio is still 2.0. The picture appears to have been fixed since at least Tue (4 days ago).
KingsFan6 is offline  
post #15778 of 15909 Old 12-18-2016, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 94
I'm getting tons of a/v breakups watching the Tennessee-Kansas City football game on KPIXD, channel 705. Anyone else?
bweissman is offline  
post #15779 of 15909 Old 12-18-2016, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,852
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2463 Post(s)
Liked: 2311
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
I'm getting tons of a/v breakups watching the Tennessee-Kansas City football game on KPIXD, channel 705. Anyone else?
Yes, I'm seeing it as well.
Keenan is offline  
post #15780 of 15909 Old 12-18-2016, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Yes, I'm seeing it as well.


Seeing that on DirecTV as well
cydeweyz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off