Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 12:19 PM
Member
 
yekim54's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dunn Loring, VA
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post

Sound issues aside, I think this was the first time I was able to directly compare the same programming on a 720p station (20-1, Fios 805) and a 1080i station (54-1). It looked distinctly sharper on 54-1, even though I have the Tivo's output set to 720p fixed, and my set is an EDTV. Maybe this originated as a 1080i signal, and WDCA's cross-conversion just isn't as good as the Tivo's?

I agree, using OTA, 54.1 looks better than 20.1, and the sound is definitely better. I'm glad I can get both of these stations because it gives me a backup in case one of them develops a transmission problem (like the sound problem on 20 during the FSU-Clemson game).
yekim54 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
afiggatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 4,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yekim54 View Post

I agree, using OTA, 54.1 looks better than 20.1, and the sound is definitely better. I'm glad I can get both of these stations because it gives me a backup in case one of them develops a transmission problem (like the sound problem on 20 during the FSU-Clemson game).

I spent a few minutes comparing the two channels and agree that the picture quality on WNUV-DT 54 looks better than WDCA-DT 20. This is for OTA. I only get WDCA-DT 20 via Verizon Fios (Washington Metro line-up), so the comparison is strictly OTA. This is on a 42" 1024x768 plasma, so the difference between 720p and 1080i should not be that obvious. I may mess with the output settings on my two ATSC receivers tonight to see if I can get a better picture for WDCA.

However, Mark, I'm getting closed captions for the game on WDCA-DT 20.1 on both ATSC receivers (Samsung SIR-T451, Sony DHG-HDD250), but none for WNUV-DT 54.1. There are captions for the analog WNUV 54, BTW. This is unexpected because the last I looked I never got captions for 20.1, so maybe they fixed something. I imagine you are rather busy, but maybe you could look into it. The pattern is that I sometimes see captions for the local programming on WNUV 54.1, so that part works, but not for the CW network programming. WDCW-DT 50.1 has captions for the national CW programming, so the CC data is there. Maybe the fact that the digital captions are not getting passed for the syndicated ACC feed is a clue you can use to hunt down the problem. Good job on getting the ACC in HD in the first place!
afiggatt is offline  
post #903 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 01:17 PM
Member
 
HokieNav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Odenton, MD
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks great, Mark - that's for all the hard work!

I'm getting Dolby Digital from 54.1 and not from 20.1 which is why the sound is so much nicer. WNUV's PQ is definitely much better too (both OTA, so I'm comparing apples to apples).

I just need to futz with the antenna a bit, my new CM 4221 is doing a great job, but I still need to tweak it a bit to get WNUV solid.

Now if my Hokies will look this good tomorrow night, everything will be good!!!
HokieNav is offline  
post #904 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AcuraCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Suburban Baltimore
Posts: 3,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since Dish killed the local guide for 811 users who don't subscribe to local channels, I'm thinking about getting a Samsung ATSC tuner.

Can anyone tell me if Baltimore/Washington channels send out an advanced program guide in PSIP, or give me an idea of what to expect to be included in the PSIP data?

Thanks much for any help you can provide.
AcuraCL is offline  
post #905 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bonus Coverage on the Deuce right now, though no HD

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
post #906 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 02:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afiggatt View Post

edited -

WDCW-DT 50.1 has captions for the national CW programming, so the CC data is there. Maybe the fact that the digital captions are not getting passed for the syndicated ACC feed is a clue you can use to hunt down the problem. Good job on getting the ACC in HD in the first place!

Sorry about the closed captioning problem. I'm checking on it.

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #907 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 02:39 PM
Member
 
2dogz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TVJunkyMonkey View Post

It just started and the PQ is great, much better than CSN-HD. The sound however keeps breaking up. Is it just my set or anyone else experiencing that as well?

I also had sound breakups on both of my Direct tivos on 20.1 ota. Many of them. Putzed around with the antenna direction, but that didn't seem to help. Sound was fine on channel 20 off of the sat, so seems to be something to do with local broadcast.

I also noticed a problem with sound levels of the games (seemed low) and the commercials (high), something like 15db difference.

The picture was fine. Glad that 20 is finally starting to get HD. Maybe now I won't automatically groan when I see a game scheduled on it.

Mike
2dogz is offline  
post #908 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
On Wednesday morning Comcast did a software download in Baltimore City that made several changes to my Motorola DVRs:


The Main Menu consolidated onto one page instead of two.

The ability to make and label up to five favorites lists (using an on-screen keyboard).

After hitting Guide button and Favorites button, the guide only displays favorite channels.

Mini-guide can be set to display two channels or three channels.

A timed screen saver (only covers the 4:3 area of the screen).

HD programs labeled as HD in the guide.

Hitting Rec button records everything in the buffer istead of starting at the current time.

A menu comes up after hitting My DVR button, brings up a menu of all DVR options, not just the list of recordings.

Manual recording can be set to "Mon-Fri".

A "Welcome to On Demand" screen after hitting the On Demand button.

"New" or end dates displayed for On Demand selections instead of "LC" (Last Chance).

A time bar while watching On Demand, just like the one for watching broadcasts and recordings.

Faster response time for On Demand controls.


Most of the changes are listed above. Here's a web page about the "improved guide":

http://www.comcast.com/improvedguide/

And the user guide:

http://www.comcast.com/MediaLibrary/...VodOspg_46.pdf

Firmware is version 16.35.

On another note, DVR rental has gone from $10 to $12 a month. (Coincidence?)

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #909 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 06:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
dneily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Prince Georges County, MD
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Marcus:

Thanks for the list.

Note that "Hitting Rec button records everything in the buffer istead of starting at the current time." has always been available.
dneily is offline  
post #910 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
URFloorMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Now that I'm watching Duke/NCST on ESPN2, it seems like the color was a bit washed out coming from WDCA. The ESPN2 broadcast is much better picture-wise than the WDCA broadcast, but I'm not going to complain too much since it seems like only ESPN can get college basketball right, and even they only manage it some of the time.

Anyone with the Baltimore station want to compare the ESPN2 broadcast to this afternoon's games?
URFloorMatt is offline  
post #911 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 06:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry guys - My PSIP generator just took a dump. I'm on the backup, but everything isn't set right...

I hope that people are still getting the game...

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #912 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,451
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 314
zoyd is online now  
post #913 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 07:01 PM
Member
 
HokieNav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Odenton, MD
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

Sorry guys - My PSIP generator just took a dump. I'm on the backup, but everything isn't set right...

I hope that people are still getting the game...

Mark

Everything is good OTA here in Odenton!

Edit:I swear that wasn't there when I started!

Edit 2: PQ still kicks 20.1's tail and Mark, you're the only one that has DD working right (from here, at least).
HokieNav is offline  
post #914 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,451
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 314
zoyd is online now  
post #915 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 07:35 PM
Member
 
HokieNav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Odenton, MD
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

54 has 5.1, 20 does not. ?

That's what my receiver is telling me.
HokieNav is offline  
post #916 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokieNav View Post

That's what my receiver is telling me.

We have a 5.1 simulator. It takes the stereo in and magically makes 5.1 out of it. If it detects 5.1 coming in, it just passes it through.

It's an expensive box, but it does a good job.

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #917 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 07:56 PM
Member
 
HokieNav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Odenton, MD
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

We have a 5.1 simulator. It takes the stereo in and magically makes 5.1 out of it. If it detects 5.1 coming in, it just passes it through.

It's an expensive box, but it does a good job.

Mark

It's well worth it today - you sound much, much better than your cousin to the south...
HokieNav is offline  
post #918 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 08:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
billodom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two subjects:

I have not had a chance to see any of the ACC tournament games as of yet--too busy trying to catch up on this thread . But I've got to say, I could have predicted that WNUV would absolutely smoke My20 in their HD presentation. I'm surprised nobody who watched the Redskins-Giants game back in December has commented here. I was fortunate enough to get that game on NFL Network through FiOS but the OTA on Fox5--or was it My20 (same thing)--was washed out and not anywhere near the NFL Network quality for what should have been an identical feed. I'm glad I kept my OTA setup. I know where I'll be watching the tournament--and it darn sure won't be on My20.

Switching gears, I had a chance to catch some of the Wizards-Warriors game last Sunday on 50. I'm again surprised that nobody has commented on the horrendous PQ. Almost every time there was any transition shot, the picture became blurry and there was what I would term macroblocking throughout the game. The color didn't even look right--like it was slightly washed out. Is CSN HD's feed that poor? Say it ain't so. I'm thinking it's something in WDCW's equipment that's causing the degraded PQ. Can any CSN-HD viewers comment on the PQ when watching through their Comcast system? Thanks.
billodom is offline  
post #919 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,451
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Mark, can you comment on what data rate the OTA signal is delivered at? Are there any broadcast standards for data rate?
zoyd is online now  
post #920 of 13835 Old 03-08-2007, 09:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bill, I remember tried to record some Wizards material last year on WB50, and the PQ was terrible too. Now CW50 doesn't have a sports dept and just broadcasts Comcast's production. But I don't why it looks so terrible.

About the ACC, I also add my voice that WNUV is superior in PQ and Audio by a considerable margin over My20. Mark your hard work has paid off. My Dish 622 was locking up around 9pm when trying to tune in 54.1. Typical of PSIP issues in the past, so I'm glad to hear there was an issue on your end (ie my box isn't broken).

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #921 of 13835 Old 03-09-2007, 05:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Mark, can you comment on what data rate the OTA signal is delivered at? Are there any broadcast standards for data rate?

Currently, because I no longer have a second digital channel, my encoder is pretty much running flat out at 17-18 Mbps (I have to set a range of data rates due to the software that I have in the encoder). The total data rate for ANY digital channel is 19.36 Mbps, which includes the video, audio, PSIP and whatever other data you are sending. You have to share that 19.36 Mbps between all of your digital subchannels. If you only have one channel, it all goes there.

There are no standards for data rates for HD channels or SD channels. How the picture looks really depends on how much motion there is in the picture. I could send out an HD test pattern at, say, 1 Mbps, and after a second or so, you probably wouldn't be able to tell the difference between it and a test pattern that I sent out at 17 Mbps. It makes a difference in a basketball game, though.

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #922 of 13835 Old 03-09-2007, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

Sorry guys - My PSIP generator just took a dump. I'm on the backup, but everything isn't set right...

I hope that people are still getting the game...

Mark

PSIP is fixed. Had to take apart the PC and reseat the card.

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #923 of 13835 Old 03-09-2007, 07:02 AM
Senior Member
 
GregAnnapolis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

PSIP is fixed. Had to take apart the PC and reseat the card.

Mark

Just wanted to mention that although I noticed the PSIP issue, it did not impact my ability to pick up the game(s) OTA. Thanks a lot for your work on bringing this game to us! I really appreciate it, and I'm sure others do as well. I'll be sure to tune in tonight when the Hokies dismantle Wake.

As a sidenote, I noticed that the channel was appearing as 40-3 when the PSIP was presumably broken. Whether it's a coincidence or not, the channel switched over to calling itself 54-1 at precisely the moment that RLF ceded control for a local commercial break (ie, the grey bars appeared instead of the black ones). I know RLF does their syndication a little differently than other programs, hopefully that information is useful (unless it was a coincidence)...
GregAnnapolis is offline  
post #924 of 13835 Old 03-09-2007, 07:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregAnnapolis View Post

Just wanted to mention that although I noticed the PSIP issue, it did not impact my ability to pick up the game(s) OTA. Thanks a lot for your work on bringing this game to us! I really appreciate it, and I'm sure others do as well. I'll be sure to tune in tonight when the Hokies dismantle Wake.

As a sidenote, I noticed that the channel was appearing as 40-3 when the PSIP was presumably broken. Whether it's a coincidence or not, the channel switched over to calling itself 54-1 at precisely the moment that RLF ceded control for a local commercial break (ie, the grey bars appeared instead of the black ones). I know RLF does their syndication a little differently than other programs, hopefully that information is useful (unless it was a coincidence)...

It was a coincidence.

I was screwing around with stuff during the commercials so that it wouldn't impact your viewing of the game, if something went wrong.

Don't tell the boss, because the commercials pay the bills. Fortunately, what I did made it better during the commercial, not worse.

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #925 of 13835 Old 03-09-2007, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnGZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is anyone picking up the TK show on News Channel 8? If so how are you pulling it in?

JohnG
JohnGZ28 is offline  
post #926 of 13835 Old 03-09-2007, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
GregAnnapolis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

Don't tell the boss, because the commercials pay the bills.

Your secret is safe with me.
GregAnnapolis is offline  
post #927 of 13835 Old 03-09-2007, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Red Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting - ESPN2 is blacking out ESPN2HD, but not regular ESPN2. I was actually hoping they would simulcast ESPNU on ESPN2 so I could catch some of the Big XII quarters this afternoon.
Red Dog is offline  
post #928 of 13835 Old 03-09-2007, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
kenrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast and Sinclair Enter into Four-Year Extension of Analog and Digital Carriage Agreement

http://biz.yahoo.com/prnews/070309/clf119.html?.v=8
kenrowe is offline  
post #929 of 13835 Old 03-09-2007, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
raidbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoIrish View Post

It's not a space issue for Comcast. I believe it's simply MASN evaluating the cost and deciding they don't want to do HD for now and laying this at the feet of cable and satellite operators.

MASN wouldn't answer whether they were committed to doing HD for how long ? I still haven't heard them say they were willing to commit to it. Which in my opinion is a shame. No O's HD in '07

GoIrish

I'm very upset that MASN won't have HD in 2007. I asked them how HD customers should feel good about MASN taking over the Orioles when we lose 50-60 HD games this year. Of course, they gave no response.

Rich N.
raidbuck is offline  
post #930 of 13835 Old 03-09-2007, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The funniest thing is that they are young RSN. You would have thought that the would have bought HD equipment from the beginning to keep from having to replace it in a few years.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off