Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 31 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 07:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
dneily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Prince Georges County, MD
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Marcus:

Thanks for the list.

Note that "Hitting Rec button records everything in the buffer istead of starting at the current time." has always been available.
dneily is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
URFloorMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Now that I'm watching Duke/NCST on ESPN2, it seems like the color was a bit washed out coming from WDCA. The ESPN2 broadcast is much better picture-wise than the WDCA broadcast, but I'm not going to complain too much since it seems like only ESPN can get college basketball right, and even they only manage it some of the time.

Anyone with the Baltimore station want to compare the ESPN2 broadcast to this afternoon's games?
URFloorMatt is offline  
post #903 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry guys - My PSIP generator just took a dump. I'm on the backup, but everything isn't set right...

I hope that people are still getting the game...

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #904 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,122
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 469
zoyd is online now  
post #905 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 08:01 PM
Member
 
HokieNav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Odenton, MD
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

Sorry guys - My PSIP generator just took a dump. I'm on the backup, but everything isn't set right...

I hope that people are still getting the game...

Mark

Everything is good OTA here in Odenton!

Edit:I swear that wasn't there when I started!

Edit 2: PQ still kicks 20.1's tail and Mark, you're the only one that has DD working right (from here, at least).
HokieNav is offline  
post #906 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,122
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 469
zoyd is online now  
post #907 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 08:35 PM
Member
 
HokieNav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Odenton, MD
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

54 has 5.1, 20 does not. ?

That's what my receiver is telling me.
HokieNav is offline  
post #908 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 08:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokieNav View Post

That's what my receiver is telling me.

We have a 5.1 simulator. It takes the stereo in and magically makes 5.1 out of it. If it detects 5.1 coming in, it just passes it through.

It's an expensive box, but it does a good job.

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #909 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 08:56 PM
Member
 
HokieNav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Odenton, MD
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

We have a 5.1 simulator. It takes the stereo in and magically makes 5.1 out of it. If it detects 5.1 coming in, it just passes it through.

It's an expensive box, but it does a good job.

Mark

It's well worth it today - you sound much, much better than your cousin to the south...
HokieNav is offline  
post #910 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 09:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
billodom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two subjects:

I have not had a chance to see any of the ACC tournament games as of yet--too busy trying to catch up on this thread . But I've got to say, I could have predicted that WNUV would absolutely smoke My20 in their HD presentation. I'm surprised nobody who watched the Redskins-Giants game back in December has commented here. I was fortunate enough to get that game on NFL Network through FiOS but the OTA on Fox5--or was it My20 (same thing)--was washed out and not anywhere near the NFL Network quality for what should have been an identical feed. I'm glad I kept my OTA setup. I know where I'll be watching the tournament--and it darn sure won't be on My20.

Switching gears, I had a chance to catch some of the Wizards-Warriors game last Sunday on 50. I'm again surprised that nobody has commented on the horrendous PQ. Almost every time there was any transition shot, the picture became blurry and there was what I would term macroblocking throughout the game. The color didn't even look right--like it was slightly washed out. Is CSN HD's feed that poor? Say it ain't so. I'm thinking it's something in WDCW's equipment that's causing the degraded PQ. Can any CSN-HD viewers comment on the PQ when watching through their Comcast system? Thanks.
billodom is offline  
post #911 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 09:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,122
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Mark, can you comment on what data rate the OTA signal is delivered at? Are there any broadcast standards for data rate?
zoyd is online now  
post #912 of 13942 Old 03-08-2007, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bill, I remember tried to record some Wizards material last year on WB50, and the PQ was terrible too. Now CW50 doesn't have a sports dept and just broadcasts Comcast's production. But I don't why it looks so terrible.

About the ACC, I also add my voice that WNUV is superior in PQ and Audio by a considerable margin over My20. Mark your hard work has paid off. My Dish 622 was locking up around 9pm when trying to tune in 54.1. Typical of PSIP issues in the past, so I'm glad to hear there was an issue on your end (ie my box isn't broken).

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #913 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 06:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Mark, can you comment on what data rate the OTA signal is delivered at? Are there any broadcast standards for data rate?

Currently, because I no longer have a second digital channel, my encoder is pretty much running flat out at 17-18 Mbps (I have to set a range of data rates due to the software that I have in the encoder). The total data rate for ANY digital channel is 19.36 Mbps, which includes the video, audio, PSIP and whatever other data you are sending. You have to share that 19.36 Mbps between all of your digital subchannels. If you only have one channel, it all goes there.

There are no standards for data rates for HD channels or SD channels. How the picture looks really depends on how much motion there is in the picture. I could send out an HD test pattern at, say, 1 Mbps, and after a second or so, you probably wouldn't be able to tell the difference between it and a test pattern that I sent out at 17 Mbps. It makes a difference in a basketball game, though.

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #914 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

Sorry guys - My PSIP generator just took a dump. I'm on the backup, but everything isn't set right...

I hope that people are still getting the game...

Mark

PSIP is fixed. Had to take apart the PC and reseat the card.

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #915 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 08:02 AM
Senior Member
 
GregAnnapolis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

PSIP is fixed. Had to take apart the PC and reseat the card.

Mark

Just wanted to mention that although I noticed the PSIP issue, it did not impact my ability to pick up the game(s) OTA. Thanks a lot for your work on bringing this game to us! I really appreciate it, and I'm sure others do as well. I'll be sure to tune in tonight when the Hokies dismantle Wake.

As a sidenote, I noticed that the channel was appearing as 40-3 when the PSIP was presumably broken. Whether it's a coincidence or not, the channel switched over to calling itself 54-1 at precisely the moment that RLF ceded control for a local commercial break (ie, the grey bars appeared instead of the black ones). I know RLF does their syndication a little differently than other programs, hopefully that information is useful (unless it was a coincidence)...
GregAnnapolis is offline  
post #916 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregAnnapolis View Post

Just wanted to mention that although I noticed the PSIP issue, it did not impact my ability to pick up the game(s) OTA. Thanks a lot for your work on bringing this game to us! I really appreciate it, and I'm sure others do as well. I'll be sure to tune in tonight when the Hokies dismantle Wake.

As a sidenote, I noticed that the channel was appearing as 40-3 when the PSIP was presumably broken. Whether it's a coincidence or not, the channel switched over to calling itself 54-1 at precisely the moment that RLF ceded control for a local commercial break (ie, the grey bars appeared instead of the black ones). I know RLF does their syndication a little differently than other programs, hopefully that information is useful (unless it was a coincidence)...

It was a coincidence.

I was screwing around with stuff during the commercials so that it wouldn't impact your viewing of the game, if something went wrong.

Don't tell the boss, because the commercials pay the bills. Fortunately, what I did made it better during the commercial, not worse.

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #917 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnGZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is anyone picking up the TK show on News Channel 8? If so how are you pulling it in?

JohnG
JohnGZ28 is offline  
post #918 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
GregAnnapolis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

Don't tell the boss, because the commercials pay the bills.

Your secret is safe with me.
GregAnnapolis is offline  
post #919 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Red Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting - ESPN2 is blacking out ESPN2HD, but not regular ESPN2. I was actually hoping they would simulcast ESPNU on ESPN2 so I could catch some of the Big XII quarters this afternoon.
Red Dog is offline  
post #920 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
kenrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast and Sinclair Enter into Four-Year Extension of Analog and Digital Carriage Agreement

http://biz.yahoo.com/prnews/070309/clf119.html?.v=8
kenrowe is offline  
post #921 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
raidbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoIrish View Post

It's not a space issue for Comcast. I believe it's simply MASN evaluating the cost and deciding they don't want to do HD for now and laying this at the feet of cable and satellite operators.

MASN wouldn't answer whether they were committed to doing HD for how long ? I still haven't heard them say they were willing to commit to it. Which in my opinion is a shame. No O's HD in '07

GoIrish

I'm very upset that MASN won't have HD in 2007. I asked them how HD customers should feel good about MASN taking over the Orioles when we lose 50-60 HD games this year. Of course, they gave no response.

Rich N.
raidbuck is offline  
post #922 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The funniest thing is that they are young RSN. You would have thought that the would have bought HD equipment from the beginning to keep from having to replace it in a few years.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #923 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredfa View Post

The Business of Television
Comcast, Sinclair Reach Retrans Deal
By Mike Farrell MultiChannel News 3/9/2007

With barely one day to spare, Comcast and Sinclair Broadcast Group reached a retransmission-consent agreement for Sinclair stations representing about 3.4 million of the cable operator's subscribers Friday.

While terms of the deal were not disclosed, Comcast said it did not pay cash for the right to carry Sinclair's television signals.

Comcast has achieved its objective of not paying cash for broadcast carriage that would need to be passed on to our customers, executive vice president David Cohen said in a prepared statement. Consistent with our existing agreement with Sinclair and all of our other retransmission-consent agreements, comparable value is being exchanged.

The four-year deal -- it expires March 1, 2011 -- also calls for Comcast to carry digital-multicast channels Sinclair is currently broadcasting in Richmond, Va., and Baltimore, as well as certain other multicast channels in Comcast markets that the stations may broadcast in the future.

And the new deal involves advertising and co-marketing agreements, including Web opportunities, as well as advertising and cross-promotion opportunities on both companies' properties.

We have always been willing to discuss exchanges of value with broadcasters, Cohen said in an interview. Those exchanges of value vary from deal to deal. We have had with Sinclair an existing exchange of value where we're paying cash but receiving marketing and advertising benefits back from Sinclair that are of comparable value to the payments we're making. We were able to make a deal consistent with that model.

Comcast's existing deal with Sinclair was set to expire March 10. If the two parties hadn't reached an agreement, Comcast was in danger of losing the right to carry Sinclair's 37 stations in 23 markets -- mostly affiliates of Fox, MyNetworkTV and The CW -- in markets such as Baltimore; Pittsburgh; Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.; Nashville, Tenn.; Richmond, Va.; and Tampa. Fla.

Cable operators across the country were keeping a close eye on the negotiations. Sinclair -- just off a three-month battle with midsized cable operator Mediacom Communications, where Mediacom agreed to pay an estimated 40-50 cents per subscriber, per month for stations representing about 50% of its total footprint -- has been one of the more aggressive station groups pressing for cash for retransmission consent. Several operators have said in the past that if Comcast agreed to pay cash for the Sinclair signals, it would represent a paradigm shift in retransmission-consent negotiations.

Operators apparently have dodged that bullet for now.

I think you can draw a deeper line in the sand, Cohen said. Those who would say that there is a sea change occurring in retransmission consent are premature in their assessment.

While terms were not disclosed, Sinclair had more to lose in a protracted battle with the nation's largest cable operator. Sinclair stations represented just 15% of Comcast's total 24.2 million-subscriber footprint, while the Comcast markets accounted for more than 30% of Sinclair's total advertising revenue. In addition, Comcast carries another Fox station in the Baltimore-Washington, D.C., market, so losing Sinclair's Baltimore Fox affiliate would have had little effect on the cable operator.

http://www.multichannel.com/article/...=Breaking+News

.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #924 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
afiggatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 4,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xbgamer View Post

I noticed recently WUSA changed their 9 news now HD slogan from "the first and only local news in high definition" to "the first..."

is there another station that's prepping to do local HD news?

If there is, it would be either WRC-DT NBC 4 or WTTG-DT Fox 5. But there have little concrete information for either as to when they will go HD on local news.

WRC is an NBC owned & operated (O&O) station. NBC announced last fall that they were upgrading the local news for all their O&O stations to HD, starting with their flagship WNBC station in NYC which went HD at that time. But the upgrades were to take place over the next 18 months or longer, and the report was that WRC was near the end of the upgrade list. WRC did a studio lighting overhaul last December while they moved to the backup studio and indicated that this was part of an upgrade process for going to HD. The only public word since then was that the switch to HD would not happen for a while.

However, NBC has announced that their nightly news program with Brian Williams will be going HD in March. You would think that they may want their Washington DC affiliate news operation to have HD capability for breaking news stories and live feeds. But I don't know if there is much interaction between the WRC local news operation & their field equipment and the network news operation.

It was reported last summer that WTTG was buying HD equipment for their local news operation. But I think that was it for any concrete info on them upgrading to HD for the local news programs.

If there is solid information on when either of these stations will upgrade to HD for the local news, I expect it will be posted here rather quickly. Of course, the first we learn about it may be the day the station switches to HD for local news.
afiggatt is offline  
post #925 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
markbulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD (PG County - The REAL Laurel!)
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afiggatt View Post



However, Mark, I'm getting closed captions for the game on WDCA-DT 20.1 on both ATSC receivers (Samsung SIR-T451, Sony DHG-HDD250), but none for WNUV-DT 54.1. There are captions for the analog WNUV 54, BTW. This is unexpected because the last I looked I never got captions for 20.1, so maybe they fixed something. I imagine you are rather busy, but maybe you could look into it. The pattern is that I sometimes see captions for the local programming on WNUV 54.1, so that part works, but not for the CW network programming. WDCW-DT 50.1 has captions for the national CW programming, so the CC data is there. Maybe the fact that the digital captions are not getting passed for the syndicated ACC feed is a clue you can use to hunt down the problem. Good job on getting the ACC in HD in the first place!

Captions galore on 54.1!

Turns out that I got a box a couple of months ago that would fix my captioning problem that I forgot about until we got the bill for it today.

Basically, it takes the captioning data from our analog channel and inserts it into the HD encoder, bypassing all of the rest of the switching/processing/etc. equipment.

Geez - you look at the last couple of days on this forum, and it looks like all I do is read and post to it...

Mark

Mark
markbulla is offline  
post #926 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

Captions galore on 54.1!

Turns out that I got a box a couple of months ago that would fix my captioning problem that I forgot about until we got the bill for it today.

Basically, it takes the captioning data from our analog channel and inserts it into the HD encoder, bypassing all of the rest of the switching/processing/etc. equipment.

Geez - you look at the last couple of days on this forum, and it looks like all I do is read and post to it...

Mark

Now what will you put your lunch on?

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
post #927 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 01:44 PM
Member
 
TVJunkyMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Dog View Post

Interesting - ESPN2 is blacking out ESPN2HD, but not regular ESPN2. I was actually hoping they would simulcast ESPNU on ESPN2 so I could catch some of the Big XII quarters this afternoon.

NO blackouts here as far as I know, eve for the ACC games which I thought Raycom and Lincoln Financial would have exclusive rights to. I also stopped watching WDCA MyNet20 since ESPN and ESPN2 HD have the ACC games and they look MUCH better. I didn't know until I switched to ESPN HD and saw the hardwood floor, when you watch it on MyNet20, you won't recognize it.
TVJunkyMonkey is offline  
post #928 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
afiggatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 4,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbulla View Post

Captions galore on 54.1!

Turns out that I got a box a couple of months ago that would fix my captioning problem that I forgot about until we got the bill for it today.

Basically, it takes the captioning data from our analog channel and inserts it into the HD encoder, bypassing all of the rest of the switching/processing/etc. equipment.

Geez - you look at the last couple of days on this forum, and it looks like all I do is read and post to it...

Mark

Mark, yes, the captions are there on both ATSC receivers for WNUV-DT 54.1 OTA! I just checked it. Thanks for fixing it, although this is obviously a work-around approach. Now you have two years to figure out what is wrong with the digital signal path for the CC data before the analog feed goes away!

I did some more picture comparison when I realized that I was getting the ACC game in HD on no less than 3 channels: WNUV-DT 54.1 OTA (1080i), WDCA-DT 20.1 OTA & Verizon Fios (720p), and ESPN2-HD via Verizon Fios (720p)! Three different HD channels all with slightly different times on the feed. Wild.

The game looked sharper with better colors on ESPN2-HD than it did on WDCA-DT 20.1. ESPN must have better converters or a better setup than WDCA for dealing with a 1080i signal source. Anyway, my ranking for the picture based on a short comparison of all three with a considerable amount of channel and input source flipping: 1. WNUV-DT 54.1, 2. ESPN2-HD, and clearly trailing although still ok HD, 3. WDCA-DT 20.1.
afiggatt is offline  
post #929 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The Comcast-Sinclair deal was just mentioned on WBFF news.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #930 of 13942 Old 03-09-2007, 04:07 PM
Member
 
Johnnycanal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mariposa, CA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so on my h20 and hr20 there is no HD feed from wdca 20??

am I missing something?

D* says I am crazy and they need to send one of their crack techs out... uh no, I don't think so...

anyone know what is going on? the sd version is there, but no hd feed
Johnnycanal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off