Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 313 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2009, 06:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by billodom View Post

I took a lot of grief from my HOA when I originally put up my UHF about eight years ago.

Tell the HOA to stick their antenna rule up their collective a$$es. The feds outlawed said clauses years and years ago.

That said, they keep trying. In this case, the developer of a new area in Middleton, WI, has a no outside antenna clause, no sat dishes large than 20" and no solar panels. He obviouslu hired lawyers that were yes-men. The no sat dish rule, federally, is 1 meter. The state law outlawed the no solar panel clause.

The sad part is that there are those who do not know the law regarding this stuff and actually do what it says.

I'm glad I live in an older neighborhood in Madison before HOAs were dreamed of. So, not only do I have an outside antenna, I have a 10' and a 12' set of BUDs on my property. Not one neighbor has ever said squat over the years.

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video
My Geek Images

mrvideo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-14-2009, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKrell View Post

I am suffering inexplicable interference since Friday in the Annandale, VA area. . . . . The only new sources I know about is WNVC RF24 channels 30.1-5 . . . . So what's going on here? Why after then transition can I no longer use that attic distribution amp?

WNVC RF 24 is very potent in Annandale (& here too) You will no longer be able to use a distribution amp. A better antenna that is capable of providing enough gain all on it's own will solve your problem. How much room do you have in your attic?

WNVC has caused one of my Baltimore stations to dissappear, and I'm not using any amplification.
Digital Rules is online now  
Old 06-14-2009, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post

WNVC RF 24 is very potent in Annandale (& here too) You will no longer be able to use a distribution amp.

No kidding. They're only 2.5 miles away from my house. However, I can indeed use a distribution amp if I carefully adjust the antenna (which I have done) so that it gets a weak signal from WNVC.

The sensitivity pattern of a dipole antenna has nulls (zero signal strength) at 0 and 90 deg, which is pointed along the direction of the elements themselves. Obviously I don't want WNVC to be sitting right exactly on a null, or I would receive no signal at all. Nevertheless, I adjusted my Winegard GS-1100 antenna so that the signal strength of WNVC (unamplified) is lower than my DC stations. Is WNVC bouncing off something and coming in on axis? Maybe. But if so, I don't see that SS showing up on any of my ATSC tuners.

I claim I'm getting something new, not tunable by an ATSC tuner, coming in on axis. And I furthermore claim it's not WNVC, which is sitting near a null of my antenna's sensntivity. Sorry; you can't use this trick in Arlington, although a conventional highly directional antenna with a high front-to-back ratio might do as well for you. Except for WNVT which would be precluded by that high front-to-back ratio.
TheKrell is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 07:38 PM
Newbie
 
HurricaneDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in Merrifield with my bedroom HDTV hooked up to Cox cable with no HD box or DVR. Prior to the digital conversion, I had received NBC, FOX, ABC, and CBS HD channels beautifully (4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 5.1, 7.1, 7.2, 9.1, & 9.2). Ever since the digital conversion, these channels have been all screwed up. I have rescanned at least 8 times (with each scan taking 10-15 mins). Here is what I have been receiving when I go to each of these channels:

4.1: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
4.2: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
4.3: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
5.1: WUSA-HD
7.1: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
7.2: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
7.3: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
9.1: No picture - Digital channel signal strength is too low
9.2: No picture - Digital channel signal strength is too low

WTF??? Please at least tell me I am not the only one having these problems with Cox...
HurricaneDavid is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 07:42 PM
Member
 
ajnabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a small roof top antenna and i am able to pick up all the dc channels ( i have lost all Baltimore channels) but the signal is bit low around 6 and i have seen breaks up in the signal few times. I am looking for recommendation for an amplifier or a good vhf/uhf antenna that i can put in the attic. I am attaching my tvfool image. Any help would be appreciated.
LL
ajnabi is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 07:54 PM
Member
 
yekim54's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dunn Loring, VA
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HurricaneDavid View Post

I am in Merrifield with my bedroom HDTV hooked up to Cox cable with no HD box or DVR. Prior to the digital conversion, I had received NBC, FOX, ABC, and CBS HD channels beautifully (4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 5.1, 7.1, 7.2, 9.1, & 9.2). Ever since the digital conversion, these channels have been all screwed up. I have rescanned at least 8 times (with each scan taking 10-15 mins). Here is what I have been receiving when I go to each of these channels:

4.1: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
4.2: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
4.3: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
5.1: WUSA-HD
7.1: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
7.2: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
7.3: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
9.1: No picture - Digital channel signal strength is too low
9.2: No picture - Digital channel signal strength is too low

WTF??? Please at least tell me I am not the only one having these problems with Cox...

I'm in Dunn Loring and my Cox cable clear QAM channels are fine. I did not even do a re-scan on the cable channels, only for the OTA channels.
yekim54 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKrell View Post

No kidding. They're only 2.5 miles away from my house. However, I can indeed use a distribution amp if I carefully adjust the antenna (which I have done) so that it gets a weak signal from WNVC.

The only power increase right in DC so far has been WFDC-DT 14. They have increased power form 325 kw to 1000kw. That may be adding to your issues, but I am still leaning towards WNVC. At 2.5 miles, you will not be able to attenaute that signal but so much no matter what you do. A paperclip would easily pick it up in your basement (If you have one)
Digital Rules is online now  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajnabi View Post

I have a small roof top antenna and i am able to pick up all the dc channels ( i have lost all Baltimore channels) but the signal is bit low around 6 and i have seen breaks up in the signal few times. I am looking for recommendation for an amplifier or a good vhf/uhf antenna that i can put in the attic. I am attaching my tvfool image. Any help would be appreciated.

What antenna do you have now? If you want Baltimore again, you will need to keep the antenna outside.
Digital Rules is online now  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post

The only power increase right in DC so far has been WFDC-DT 14. They have increased power form 325 kw to 1000kw. That may be adding to your issues, but I am still leaning towards WNVC. At 2.5 miles, you will not be able to attenaute that signal but so much no matter what you do. A paperclip would easily pick it up in your basement (If you have one)

Do you think a channel 24 Join-Tenna hooked to nothing or a channel 24 trap of some kind might be successful in knocking out this particular problem?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post

If you only have 5 feet to work with, the Antennacraft Y5-7-13 combined with your existing C-4 would be your best bet. Are you using a pre-amp of any kind now? Where are you located?

I am in Fredericksburg and only have an amplified splitter now (a generic one from Home Depot, I think). I was thinking about picking up the 10G202 preamp if I get the Y5-7-13 antenna from Solid Signal. I also might be able to fit the AntennaCraft HBU22 combo antenna up there but it would have to be about 6 feet lower than the C-4. Which do you think would be the better option (HBU22 alone or C-4 plus Y5-7-13)? Thanks for your help.
crbaldwin is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Do you think a channel 24 Join-Tenna hooked to nothing or a channel 24 trap of some kind might be successful in knocking out this particular problem?

- Trip

If the OP is just looking for DC stations, it would just be easier to avoid amplification altogether. I believe those jointennas are expensive.
Digital Rules is online now  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:28 PM
Newbie
 
bf3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any experience with the ClearStream4? I am looking to replace my Square Shooter (UHF only) since I have only marginal reception on channels 11 & 13 since the transition, and I am looking for antenna that isn't real big to put up on the roof. Thanks.
bf3000 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post

A paperclip would easily pick it up in your basement (If you have one)

Agree, but only if the paperclip isn't straightened out and pointed directly at WNVC.

I just went through all my unamplified signal strengths according to my Dish 612 receiver. Channels 7 and 20 are at 100. Most of the rest (including WNVC) are showing mid eighties. 4, 14, 26, 50, and 66 are all seventies. These results are all scrambled according to tvfool.com. We know why 30 isn's so strong. But why is 66 and 14 in the bottom tier rather than the top?
TheKrell is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post

I am in Fredericksburg and only have an amplified splitter now (a generic one from Home Depot, I think). I was thinking about picking up the 10G202 preamp if I get the Y5-7-13 antenna from Solid Signal. I also might be able to fit the AntennaCraft HBU22 combo antenna up there but it would have to be about 6 feet lower than the C-4. Which do you think would be the better option (HBU22 alone or C-4 plus Y5-7-13)? Thanks for your help.

Definitely keep the C-4, and add the Y5-7-13. Join the 2 antennas together with a Channel Master 7777 or Winegard 2870 pre-amp.

The HBU-22 doesn't have enough gain for your situation. The best small combo is the Winegard 7694P, but your C-4 is much better on UHF.
Digital Rules is online now  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:00 PM
Member
 
compuguy1088's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NoVA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dewster1977 View Post

I was helping my parents with there converter tonight they get WJLA 7 solid, But WUSA 9 is constant breakup's and Fox 5 doen't come in at all these are the three channels they watch most.

This is the same situation I'm having with two of my tv's. I have not solved it with one in the kitchen, which has a bow-tie terk antennae (uhf only?), but the other tv with a CECB seems to get it if you put the rabbit ears down flat on both sides, non extended facing the transceiver (to the northeast).

Quote:
Originally Posted by HurricaneDavid View Post

I am in Merrifield with my bedroom HDTV hooked up to Cox cable with no HD box or DVR. Prior to the digital conversion, I had received NBC, FOX, ABC, and CBS HD channels beautifully (4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 5.1, 7.1, 7.2, 9.1, & 9.2). Ever since the digital conversion, these channels have been all screwed up. I have rescanned at least 8 times (with each scan taking 10-15 mins). Here is what I have been receiving when I go to each of these channels:

4.1: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
4.2: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
4.3: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
5.1: WUSA-HD
7.1: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
7.2: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
7.3: NBC Live Digital Doppler XT
9.1: No picture - Digital channel signal strength is too low
9.2: No picture - Digital channel signal strength is too low

WTF??? Please at least tell me I am not the only one having these problems with Cox...

When I scan qam on cox here, there are many duplicates for each major channel, and the sub channels.....on several physical channels. (partially something to do with sdv?)
compuguy1088 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:14 PM
Member
 
pamajestic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gettysburg, PA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dewster1977 View Post

Why would the FCC have allowed another station use ch 9 if there was a chance of interference. A better Example is WTTG on RF36 in DC and WITF on RF 36 in Harrisburg, Most the allotments don't appear to have been thought through

The contour maps listed on the FCC web site overlap by a good 15 miles. Interference outside of the maps is one thing, but to admit that they overlap by 15 miles is ridiculous.
pamajestic is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,786
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1397 Post(s)
Liked: 931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post

The only power increase right in DC so far has been WFDC-DT 14. They have increased power form 325 kw to 1000kw. That may be adding to your issues, but I am still leaning towards WNVC. At 2.5 miles, you will not be able to attenaute that signal but so much no matter what you do. A paperclip would easily pick it up in your basement (If you have one)

One MILLION WATTS?!?!

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joblo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKrell View Post

Agree, but only if the paperclip isn't straightened out and pointed directly at WNVC.

I just went through all my unamplified signal strengths according to my Dish 612 receiver. Channels 7 and 20 are at 100. Most of the rest (including WNVC) are showing mid eighties. 4, 14, 26, 50, and 66 are all seventies. These results are all scrambled according to tvfool.com. We know why 30 isn's so strong. But why is 66 and 14 in the bottom tier rather than the top?

The trouble with this is that the signal strength readings in consumer equipment are not necessarily actual signal strengths, but more likely based on digital error rates. In other words, if the tuner front end is overloaded, you might see a lower number, even though the signal strength is really very high.
joblo is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joblo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post

WNVC has caused one of my Baltimore stations to dissappear, and I'm not using any amplification.

Which one?
joblo is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope evryone had a fun weekend.

Here's my current situation.

ANALOG STATIONS (234°M)
4 (NL), 5 (NL), 10 (PBS), 15 (PBS), 22 (PBS), 28 (PBS), 42 (3ABN), 48 (PBS), & 50 (W50DE). There's indication that I could be seeing even more, but I would need a spectrum analyzer to confirm.

DIGITAL STATIONS*
2 (WMAR-DT 132°M), 5, 7, 9, 10 (WTAJ-DT 333°M), 13 (WJZ-DT 132°M), 24, 25, 31, 42, 43 (WPMT-DT 88°M), 49 (WGCB-DT 88°M), 54, 60, 66, 67, & 68.

I'm really surpised that I can't get WHAG-DT beyond a Southerly window. At 1000KW, I would think that I could get it without pointing the antenna towards the tower. WJAL-DT is receivable no matter where I point the antenna and it's much, much lower in transmitting power. Both are LOS and WJAL-DT is at 15 miles, while WHAG-DT is at 20 miles.

*Trouble DTV stations are 2, 5, 7, 9, & 13.
systems2000 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 10:25 PM
Member
 
compuguy1088's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NoVA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should see the 13 page thread on the WJLA talk-back forums: http://cfc.wjla.com/forums/viewmessa...srow=1&erow=10

Or the three pages of comments on one WUSA9 posting....

http://www.wusa9.com/money/story.asp...id=37#comments
compuguy1088 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 11:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by joblo View Post

The trouble with this is that the signal strength readings in consumer equipment are not necessarily actual signal strengths, but more likely based on digital error rates. In other words, if the tuner front end is overloaded, you might see a lower number, even though the signal strength is really very high.

Aha! [Insert lightbulb here.] I think you've put your finger on the problem. I really can't do what I'm trying to do (null out WNVC) using a SS meter that operates like that.

Can you recommend a cheap meter that will?
TheKrell is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 03:24 AM
Member
 
dewster1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

I hope evryone had a fun weekend.

Here's my current situation.

ANALOG STATIONS (234°M)
4 (NL), 5 (NL), 10 (PBS), 15 (PBS), 22 (PBS), 28 (PBS), 42 (3ABN), 48 (PBS), & 50 (W50DE). There's indication that I could be seeing even more, but I would need a spectrum analyzer to confirm.

DIGITAL STATIONS*
2 (WMAR-DT 132°M), 5, 7, 9, 10 (WTAJ-DT 333°M), 13 (WJZ-DT 132°M), 24, 25, 31, 42, 43 (WPMT-DT 88°M), 49 (WGCB-DT 88°M), 54, 60, 66, 67, & 68.

I'm really surpised that I can't get WHAG-DT beyond a Southerly window. At 1000KW, I would think that I could get it without pointing the antenna towards the tower. WJAL-DT is receivable no matter where I point the antenna and it's much, much lower in transmitting power. Both are LOS and WJAL-DT is at 15 miles, while WHAG-DT is at 20 miles.

*Trouble DTV stations are 2, 5, 7, 9, & 13.

Are you still getting WVPY 42? I lost WVPY it when WHP moved it's digital back to 21.
dewster1977 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 04:43 AM
Member
 
maestro73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SQUIDWARD360 View Post

does anyone know why the WJLA feed for the NBA finals has looked horrible for basically every cable provider?

I have had no picture (blank screen), only sound, via Comcast Alex./Arl. on on WJLA-HD since I first checked yesterday afternoon. Comcast SD WJLA has some stuttering & breakups but is watchable. And like others, I can no longer receive WJLA-HD OTA anymore.

I noticed some other Comcast channels, like the WJLA sub RTN and ION, were stuttering as well.
maestro73 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Hardtimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone @ WJLA REALLY needs to be fired over this debacle of a transition. I've received it fine for well over a year, almost 60 miles away and since they switched frequencies all has gone to hell. There's barely any info on their web site and I had to go to antenna web to find out they switched frequencies. People are already posting complaints on their site. How hard can this be? I guess they really don't care if they're broadcasting to the ether. What's that saying about a tree falling in the forest...
Hardtimes is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
nottenst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardtimes View Post

Someone @ WJLA REALLY needs to be fired over this debacle of a transition. I've received it fine for well over a year, almost 60 miles away and since they switched frequencies all has gone to hell.

Just be glad that the transition is happening right now on a TV landscape with mostly repeats and "reality" on network channels for a few months as opposed to new programming as it could have been in February.
nottenst is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardtimes View Post

Someone @ WJLA REALLY needs to be fired over this debacle of a transition. I've received it fine for well over a year, almost 60 miles away and since they switched frequencies all has gone to hell. There's barely any info on their web site and I had to go to antenna web to find out they switched frequencies. People are already posting complaints on their site. How hard can this be? I guess they really don't care if they're broadcasting to the ether. What's that saying about a tree falling in the forest...

What debacle? The information was out there for a LONG time they would be going back to VHF and it's the FCC's fault that they cannot transmit with more power.

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gjvrieze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardtimes View Post

Someone @ WJLA REALLY needs to be fired over this debacle of a transition. I've received it fine for well over a year, almost 60 miles away and since they switched frequencies all has gone to hell. There's barely any info on their web site and I had to go to antenna web to find out they switched frequencies. People are already posting complaints on their site. How hard can this be? I guess they really don't care if they're broadcasting to the ether. What's that saying about a tree falling in the forest...

Can you post your TVfool results, I would like to see what WJLA's signal looks like at your location.

KD0MOF

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the poster's only and NOT that of the poster's employers.
gjvrieze is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gjvrieze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajnabi View Post

I have a small roof top antenna and i am able to pick up all the dc channels ( i have lost all Baltimore channels) but the signal is bit low around 6 and i have seen breaks up in the signal few times. I am looking for recommendation for an amplifier or a good vhf/uhf antenna that i can put in the attic. I am attaching my tvfool image. Any help would be appreciated.

Did you mean WDCN-LP as channel 6, or something else, also, just as Digital Rules asked, I would like to your what your hardware currently is!

KD0MOF

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the poster's only and NOT that of the poster's employers.
gjvrieze is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I seem to have come out ok. The only channel that I lost was WBAL-DT. I have a CM4228 UHF only, so ch 7, 9, & 13 are weaker than before, but viewable.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off