Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 354 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 21Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10591 of 14028 Old 09-10-2009, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by djp952 View Post

Is there any chance that adding a low/high VHF combiner with a cap on the low VHF input to use it as a filter help with that?

I would certainly try it. I may have an extra one you can use to test with. Both channel 11 & 13 are much improved here in much of northern VA with a LO VHF/FM trap.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djp952 View Post

The 42XG is great at the higher frequencies, not so much on the lower ones. It seems to really fall apart under UHF 35 or so.

I find the 42XG/91XG to work quite well on channels 21 & 22.
Digital Rules is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10592 of 14028 Old 09-10-2009, 12:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,556
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1266 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_e View Post

They finally did this re-alignment overnight. The IMG hasn't been updated (guide was updated as of ~noon) on the VZ box, and my TiVo doesn't have data either, although the channel map has updated and they can be added manually. I put a lineup change request on the TiVo website.

If anyone in Howard/AA counties lost the postcard, the changes are:

SD
WRC from 4 to 16
WTTG from 5 to 17
WJLA from 7 to 18
WUSA from 9 to 19
WMDO from 21 to 24
UNI from 20 to 21
WUTB from 24 to 9

HD

WRC from 504 to 516
WTTG from 505 to 517
WJLA from 507 to 518
WUSA from 509 to 519
WUTB from 524 to 509

Since the channels are virtual, it all seems pointless, but it has happened!

Well that seems like an odd choice.

So was this only for the area between DC and Baltimore?

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #10593 of 14028 Old 09-10-2009, 12:59 PM
Member
 
mark_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Well that seems like an odd choice.

So was this only for the area between DC and Baltimore?

As far as I know, it was only done on the Howard/AA system.
mark_e is offline  
post #10594 of 14028 Old 09-11-2009, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
RCN to add NFL RedZone HD.

http://www.yachtchartersmagazine.com/node/1103429

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #10595 of 14028 Old 09-11-2009, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Got this in the mail today for Montgomery County - the digtal transition (elimination of analog channels) will finally begin on November 30 (15 analog channels deleted) with the second phase about 35 days later (January 6) when an additional 21 analog channels will be deleted. So after the transition only analog channels 2 through 34 will be available. On December 12th we will be getting 48 new HD channels.

Based on this Comcast should have room after January 6 to add a lot more channels.
LL
PaulGo is offline  
post #10596 of 14028 Old 09-11-2009, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
The RedZone SD is in the Comcast guide in Baltimore. Can't confirm if the channel is live.

I have NFLRZ at 734 and NFLRD at 263 near the HD channels. They are on different QAMs. 263 could be the HD version. It wasn't announced like 734 was.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #10597 of 14028 Old 09-11-2009, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
djp952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sold out to the man.

I was home sick today and thanks to the rain had a most miserable experience trying to watch TV. In fairness, I think my house grounding rod may need to be replaced which is probably MOST of the problem with the rain, but still. It was so frustrating trying to watch the US Open coverage on either 9 or 13, that I've had it.

I ordered the FiOS "Local TV" package and I'm now out of this game. VHF sucks and I'm done trying. Fall season starts in a week, and I absolutely have to have good recordings to send my lovely wife who's in Germany for the next YEAR patching up our injured servicemen and servicewomen. No CBS at all that works during inclement weather is just not an acceptable situation.

I still get to keep one antenna to pick up the slack with missing FiOS channels from D.C. (20, 50, 66), so my fun isn't completely over, but still ... I've had enough. Those channels are easy.

Thank you all for your assistance and time lately, but I'm probably going to just fade away into hard-wired obliviousness here. LOL. Oh, and if you'll forgive me ... SCREW VHF.
djp952 is offline  
post #10598 of 14028 Old 09-11-2009, 06:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Noooo!

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #10599 of 14028 Old 09-11-2009, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
andgarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Philly these days.
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if we could pay for basic cable for everyone if the FCC auctioned the entire broadcast TV spectrum. >-)
andgarden is offline  
post #10600 of 14028 Old 09-11-2009, 07:43 PM
Member
 
kalnel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulGo View Post

Got this in the mail today for Montgomery County - the digtal transition (elimination of analog channels) will finally begin on November 30 (15 analog channels deleted) with the second phase about 35 days later (January 6) when an additional 21 analog channels will be deleted. So after the transition only analog channels 2 through 34 will be available. On December 12th we will be getting 48 new HD channels.

Based on this Comcast should have room after January 6 to add a lot more channels.

I got the same mailing -- great news. I just wish the switch were happening faster, so I could see more hockey, football, basketball, and baseball in HD this fall.

I also noticed that we're getting MGM HD (new) and TCM HD. Great news for movie buffs.
kalnel is offline  
post #10601 of 14028 Old 09-11-2009, 07:44 PM
Senior Member
 
djp952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Noooo!

- Trip

I did the best I could for almost 2 years now my friend, I was just pushed over the edge today. To be honest, the biggest selling points were that they would have it installed next Sunday (24 hours before the season starts!), I'm quintupling my Internet speed (is 3Mb/s, will be 15Mb/s) and most importantly ... when you add phone/15-5 data and Local TV together, it's CHEAPER than we're paying them now for just phone+DSL. You can't compete with that. Local TV is 100% ClearQAM, so all I need to do it plug it into what I've got going now, set up the TVs and Media Center for QAM instead of ATSC and I'm done.

I'm actually looking forward to this, from the hobbyist perspective, after thinking about it a bit more. Consider the freedom I'll suddenly have! I can go mess with whatever I want to mess with OTA, and there is no timeline anymore. No need to have it all working again by 8:00pm. I can totally try for Philly or Delmarva channels now. Goodness knows I have the equipment, it's just not pointed in the right direction.

If there's any regret, it's that I won't have the complete 2-city setup working anymore and I can't give you TSReader reports anymore. That was really fun for me I'll still be able to hook you up with stats from 4 (48), 5 (36), 20 (35), 32 (33), 50, and 66 (34) from the antenna that I intend to keep at this point, though [42XG + CM7777]. Those are the only channels that particular aerial gets 99-100% from the location I happen to have it :-)

I really do believe that I'll have MORE fun now in the end since that whole "has to work" restriction will be gone. It was $12.99/mo, you can't blame me, right?? Don't think badly of me!!! heh.
djp952 is offline  
post #10602 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 02:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Carr View Post

The RedZone SD is in the Comcast guide in Baltimore. Can't confirm if the channel is live.

I have NFLRZ at 734 and NFLRD at 263 near the HD channels. They are on different QAMs. 263 could be the HD version. It wasn't announced like 734 was.



I'd say that seals it.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #10603 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 05:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
tangfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djp952 View Post

I was home sick today and thanks to the rain had a most miserable experience trying to watch TV.

It was so frustrating trying to watch the US Open coverage on either 9 or 13, that I've had it.

I am in Columbia, and I am seeing the same issues as you are. Granted, I don't watch TV much since we turned off Fios and moved to an antenna (about 6 weeks ago), but this is the first time I've seen this issue. I've lost 9, 11 and 13 this morning, which is annoying only because my kids like to watch the CBS Saturday cartoons.

I've got a ChannelMaster 4228HD on the roof pointed toward DC. Because of my nearly in-line location between DC and Baltimore, the backside of it picks up all my Baltimore stations, and it has been working flawlessly up until today.

In your opinion, is there any OTA solution for me? Would an amplifier be of any use at all?

I've learned that there are three things not to discuss with other people: Religion, politics, and the Great Pumpkin.
tangfoot is offline  
post #10604 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangfoot View Post

In your opinion, is there any OTA solution for me? Would an amplifier be of any use at all?

Unfortunately an amplifier will probably make things worse. The best solution is to augment the 4228 with a VHF-HI antenna. Combine the 2 antennas using a UVSJ, and you should get 7,9,11,& 13 (possibly 8) with the antenna pointed towards DC.

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...3-(Y5713)&c=TV

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=UVSJ
Digital Rules is offline  
post #10605 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 06:52 AM
Member
 
mjw703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I look at the list of new HD channels on Comcast in Montgomery County and I want to cry. We in Arlington (and Alexandria) have Scientific Atlanta equipment, which means no DTA's, which means no analog migration, which means no new HD channels for probably the next year. And Fios is widely available in Arlington (but not in my apartment) so I don't know why they are so slow or don't seem to care about the competition. Make sure when they add those new channels, you give us a full report so us Arlingtonians can dream!
mjw703 is offline  
post #10606 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulGo View Post

Got this in the mail today for Montgomery County - the digtal transition (elimination of analog channels) will finally begin on November 30 (15 analog channels deleted) with the second phase about 35 days later (January 6) when an additional 21 analog channels will be deleted. So after the transition only analog channels 2 through 34 will be available. On December 12th we will be getting 48 new HD channels.

Based on this Comcast should have room after January 6 to add a lot more channels.

I haven't gotten the info in the mail yet.
Those listed as going digital are already available via QAM tuner without a box. Will they still be available as such? If they decide to block them, and require an upgraded subscription, I'll cancel my cable.
J
Big J is offline  
post #10607 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Jim Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Baltimore County
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it depends on where they put them. if below ch100 then it's possible they'll still be on basic and clearqam.

i haven't seen any channel assignments for these where i live in balto county.

jtm
Jim Miller is offline  
post #10608 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Miller View Post

it depends on where they put them. if below ch100 then it's possible they'll still be on basic and clearqam.

i haven't seen any channel assignments for these where i live in balto county.

jtm

I believe they are, but out of curiosity, why does that matter? Several of the local channels that are clearqam are on the 108 region.
J
Big J is offline  
post #10609 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the flier. I contacted comcast, and they said I could use my QAM tuner to get the new digital channels (no box). They were actually friendly and helpful!
J
Big J is offline  
post #10610 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 03:11 PM
Member
 
mlmorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I live in downtown Baltimore and am thinking of the buying the Terk HDTVa antenna (maybe even the ss-3000). Has anyone had experience with this antenna in the city area? I only really care about getting abc, nbc, cbs, fox and possibly pbs. What antennas have people used in the city and how have they been? Will my qam tuner be able to pick these up if the antenna works fine?

Thanks for any help, it would be much appreciated.

** forgot to ask -- are these channels broadcast in hd?
mlmorg is offline  
post #10611 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
knnirs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Beltsville , MD
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djp952 View Post


It was $12.99/mo, you can't blame me, right?? Don't think badly of me!!! heh.

Please report your opinion after you have the Local Option in service. I find that Fios Local for my address includes a total of 66 channels for $12.99/month. I think I would be interested in at least 40 of these channels, and 9 are listed as HD.
knnirs is offline  
post #10612 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 06:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmsjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arnold MD
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlmorg View Post

Hi all,

I live in downtown Baltimore and am thinking of the buying the Terk HDTVa antenna (maybe even the ss-3000). Has anyone had experience with this antenna in the city area? I only really care about getting abc, nbc, cbs, fox and possibly pbs. What antennas have people used in the city and how have they been? Will my qam tuner be able to pick these up if the antenna works fine?

Thanks for any help, it would be much appreciated.

** forgot to ask -- are these channels broadcast in hd?

I have the cheapest Wal-Mart antenna in my office across from Mercy Hosp. and get all of those channels. (Yes, they all carry HD programming.) I am on the West side of the 14th floor but a few feet away from a window, with multiple A/C chillers and and ducts on the roof next door, between me & TV hill.
fmsjr is offline  
post #10613 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by djp952 View Post

I sold out to the man.

I was home sick today and thanks to the rain had a most miserable experience trying to watch TV. In fairness, I think my house grounding rod may need to be replaced which is probably MOST of the problem with the rain, but still. It was so frustrating trying to watch the US Open coverage on either 9 or 13, that I've had it.

I ordered the FiOS "Local TV" package and I'm now out of this game. VHF sucks and I'm done trying. Fall season starts in a week, and I absolutely have to have good recordings to send my lovely wife who's in Germany for the next YEAR patching up our injured servicemen and servicewomen. No CBS at all that works during inclement weather is just not an acceptable situation.

I still get to keep one antenna to pick up the slack with missing FiOS channels from D.C. (20, 50, 66), so my fun isn't completely over, but still ... I've had enough. Those channels are easy.

Thank you all for your assistance and time lately, but I'm probably going to just fade away into hard-wired obliviousness here. LOL. Oh, and if you'll forgive me ... SCREW VHF.

unfortunately i went over to the dark side also, being up in harford county out in the woods i took it all hook line and sinker. one consolation i get to watch my beloved gators football.
rviele is online now  
post #10614 of 14028 Old 09-12-2009, 06:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by djp952 View Post

Don't think badly of me!!! heh.

Nah, you're fine. I can't blame you given the unusable CBS station problem.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #10615 of 14028 Old 09-13-2009, 12:20 PM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big J View Post

My Sony SXRD has a cable card slot. Comcast tried twice to install one for me, but couldn't get it to work properly. I told them to forget it. Cable companies HATE cable cards. I've got cable going straight to my set. Luckily, I never opted for premium channels, so I got could bypass a box.
J


Given that the Cablecos were dragged kicking and screaming into supporting cablecards at all; I'm shocked, just shocked, that they wouldn't couldn't make them work. A friend had that issue with Brighthouse but persisted until they fixed all their internal issues...


But here's a related question: How can you tell which channels you'll be able to get with a direct connection and which you can't? This if RCN would be the cableco.
mkfs is offline  
post #10616 of 14028 Old 09-13-2009, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mjones73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 7,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone having glitching issues with WJZ HD via Directv? Been watching the Ravens game and it's been dropping out and glitching the whole game.

Matt
Please don't PM me with technical questions that should be posted in the forum.
mjones73 is offline  
post #10617 of 14028 Old 09-14-2009, 04:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkfs View Post

Given that the Cablecos were dragged kicking and screaming into supporting cablecards at all; I'm shocked, just shocked, that they wouldn't couldn't make them work. A friend had that issue with Brighthouse but persisted until they fixed all their internal issues...


But here's a related question: How can you tell which channels you'll be able to get with a direct connection and which you can't? This if RCN would be the cableco.

It turned out, that I didn't need a cable card-I just wanted the locals in HD, and they didn't say that they were QAM available.
You just have to do a scan, and see what turns up. I don't know if you can get premium channels via QAM since I only pay for expanded basic. The placement is somewhat random, so it helps to bookmark the channels, or put them on you favorites list. I do get TNT-HD and Universal-HD. I used to get random VOD, but they plugged that leak. That's fine, since usually all I ever got was either kid's shows or porn.
J
Big J is offline  
post #10618 of 14028 Old 09-14-2009, 07:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
nottenst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I was attempting to watch the Ravens game yesterday over the air on WJZ and having trouble when I noticed that one ear of the antenna still had a couple of inches to come out. To my surprise that made all the difference.
nottenst is offline  
post #10619 of 14028 Old 09-14-2009, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
carltonrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was wondering if any of the HD news laggards in the area would be rolling out HD News in time for the fall season.
carltonrice is offline  
post #10620 of 14028 Old 09-14-2009, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RalphArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rockville MD
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkfs View Post

Given that the Cablecos were dragged kicking and screaming into supporting cablecards at all; I'm shocked, just shocked, that they wouldn't couldn't make them work. A friend had that issue with Brighthouse but persisted until they fixed all their internal issues...


But here's a related question: How can you tell which channels you'll be able to get with a direct connection and which you can't? This if RCN would be the cableco.

You should get what you pay for; except no on demand and guide etc.

For COMCAST Montgormery County I was getting a different set of channels on two of my cable card tvs. PITA to get a technician out and check out the cable card on the one set as to why some of my premiums weren't coming in; but after that visit I was still missing some. Turns out they didn't have correct subscription information for me in the central database tied to the card in that TV. And the standard help techs can't fix it; you have to get to another level of help if you have problems. But they have to fix it; in my case no charge for the house visit but I had to take off and be home.

One problem with cable cards is that since there is no guide, people like me tend to hide the unsubscribed channels to minimize hassle when surfing channels. So when new channels are added you won't see these if you have them hidden for surfing convenience.
RalphArch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off