Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 437 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13081 of 13897 Old 04-05-2012, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
WWTD-49 (RF 14) is now broadcasting actual programming, but on 49.2 only.

New Tang Dynasty Television
Digital Rules is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13082 of 13897 Old 04-05-2012, 08:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post

I have a question (may be little OT)

If you have (only) internet from Comcast, is it (/not) legal to connect your TV to get the un-encrypted channels?
I would love to do it if it is legally allowed..

Since you are not paying for the service it is not legally allowed. However you probably paying a extra premium for internet only service. You may be able to get a package deal with limited basic service that would cost about the same price. Also Comcast is asking the FCC for permission to encrypt everything so possible in a few month getting any channels without a DTA may be impossible.
PaulGo is offline  
post #13083 of 13897 Old 04-06-2012, 06:16 AM
Member
 
compubit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, my package with "basic" cable (locals & a box) an Internet was $10 cheaper/month than the same level of Internet only... Plus I have access to Comcast on Demand with the box to catch up on the shows I miss during the week...

J
compubit is offline  
post #13084 of 13897 Old 04-07-2012, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Loudin View Post

WRC filed for Special Temporary Authority to operate at lower power into a different antenna at the site while a new transmitter is connected to the regular antenna. Temporary operations will be 291 kW @ 159 meters vice 813 kW @ 242 meters starting Wednesday for no more than 30 days.

Oddly, I'm getting WRC as well as ever. With the lower power, I expected to not get it at all.
J
Big J is offline  
post #13085 of 13897 Old 04-07-2012, 04:25 PM
Member
 
OldHud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Neck of VA - Montross
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big J View Post

Oddly, I'm getting WRC as well as ever. With the lower power, I expected to not get it at all.
J

Same here. No problem out in the fringe.
OldHud is offline  
post #13086 of 13897 Old 04-07-2012, 05:06 PM
Member
 
fmw63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Landover Hills, MD
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Digital Rules;21873772]WWTD-49 (RF 14) is now broadcasting actual programming, but on 49.2 only.

I just noticed it there. But, the picture is breaking up and pixelating like the signal strength/quality is low, but it's showing 75 @ 60%, which is usually very good reception here. Could they be re-broadcasting an off-air signal?
fmw63 is offline  
post #13087 of 13897 Old 04-07-2012, 07:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
They could be picking it up with a poorly-aimed satellite dish, or a dish that is too small. NTDTV is on Galaxy 19 Ku, which I can see with a 75cm (30") dish, but if the alignment is off, it will break up.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #13088 of 13897 Old 04-07-2012, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Dave Loudin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Forgot to mention that the STA was cancelled a couple of days later. Apparently the transmission line work went well.
Dave Loudin is offline  
post #13089 of 13897 Old 04-07-2012, 08:41 PM
Member
 
fmw63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Landover Hills, MD
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

They could be picking it up with a poorly-aimed satellite dish, or a dish that is too small. NTDTV is on Galaxy 19 Ku, which I can see with a 75cm (30") dish, but if the alignment is off, it will break up.

- Trip

See, that's why I hang out here! Always somebody who knows just what's up.
fmw63 is offline  
post #13090 of 13897 Old 04-07-2012, 08:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
I don't know for sure, just suggesting one possibility.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #13091 of 13897 Old 04-08-2012, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
[quote=fmw63;21880423]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post

WWTD-49 (RF 14) is now broadcasting actual programming, but on 49.2 only.

I just noticed it there. But, the picture is breaking up and pixelating like the signal strength/quality is low, but it's showing 75 @ 60%, which is usually very good reception here. Could they be re-broadcasting an off-air signal?

The picture looks good for 480i with no break-ups here.
Digital Rules is online now  
post #13092 of 13897 Old 04-09-2012, 10:15 AM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeptic Tank View Post

....I understand the futility of asking Comcast customer service about QAM channels. I had better luck contacting engineering at one of the stations when I lost its QAM signal.

I'm laughing over the idea that ANYONE at Comcast would have a clue. A neighbor switched to RCN after 25 outages and 14 truck rolls over 4.5 months. He's never been happier.
mkfs is offline  
post #13093 of 13897 Old 04-10-2012, 12:01 AM
Member
 
StevenJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Olney, MD
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post

I have a question (may be little OT)

If you have (only) internet from comcast, is it (/not) legal to connect your TV to get the un-encrypted channels?
I would love to do it if it is legally allowed..

I am not an attorney, so my answer is not based on any legal experience or knowledge.

If Comcast provides you with an RG-6 cable into the privacy of your house for internet-only service then I cannot see how you are breaking any law by attaching that cable to the RF input of your TV. I could be wrong and I have been known to be wrong on many an occasion but you are in the privacy of your home. If Comcast doesn't want you to receive unencrypted signals then it is their responsibility to not provide them to you. Comcast has the ability as well as the legal right to attach a signal block on your line at the lawn pedestal if it wants to block your access to unencrypted signals. If they choose not to block your access then I cannot see how you can be held liable for cable theft if Comcast does not care enough to choose to block your access. Just my two cents worth!
StevenJB is online now  
post #13094 of 13897 Old 04-13-2012, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
nottenst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post

I have a question (may be little OT)

If you have (only) internet from comcast, is it (/not) legal to connect your TV to get the un-encrypted channels?
I would love to do it if it is legally allowed..

Last I looked the cost for the lowest basic TV service plus internet was not much (if any) more than internet on its own. There is a premium in the internet-only price if you don't have anything else. Take a look at the costs and you might just do it legally anyway.
nottenst is offline  
post #13095 of 13897 Old 04-13-2012, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davidsonville, MD
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Comcast charges that ridiculously high internet only price because they figure customers are watching the government required unencrypted channels . Anyone thinking this is any kind of illegal should have their paranoia checked.

Art Neill
a.k.a.
Mr. HiFi
MrHifi is offline  
post #13096 of 13897 Old 04-17-2012, 09:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm excited to see that 4-2 is now airing in 16:9, widescreen SD. First time I've seen that since Fox went HD. They haven't got it completely worked out yet -- I saw Cash Cab in postage stamp format.

57 channels and nothing on
wmcbrine is offline  
post #13097 of 13897 Old 04-18-2012, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
mdviewer25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Capitol Heights, MD
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
posted in the verizon forum and posting here in the local forum, why is MASN2/MASN2HD not available on verizon?

HD DVD = 102
BD = 45
mdviewer25 is offline  
post #13098 of 13897 Old 04-18-2012, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
AFAIK, MASN2 is a part-time channel; Verizon airs it on Fios 1 (501 HD), which until recently it shared with CSN+, as well as original programming.

57 channels and nothing on
wmcbrine is offline  
post #13099 of 13897 Old 04-18-2012, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
mdviewer25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Capitol Heights, MD
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just found out by accident, must have hit one by mistake on the remote and saw the end of the orioles loss. thanks

HD DVD = 102
BD = 45
mdviewer25 is offline  
post #13100 of 13897 Old 04-21-2012, 07:37 PM
Member
 
aptt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bounce TV is now on 459 on Verizon FiOS.
aptt is offline  
post #13101 of 13897 Old 05-03-2012, 06:26 PM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like the encoder on WJLA has the day off. I get a generic
Code:
DTV program
on the guide tonight....
mkfs is offline  
post #13102 of 13897 Old 05-04-2012, 03:45 AM
Member
 
danboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FIOS just became available in my neighborhood and I decided to sign up. We are currently with Cox and will be making the switch towards the end of May. I would like to get some feedback on FIOS from you folks out there.
How is the quality, the level of service etc...
Thanks.
danboot is offline  
post #13103 of 13897 Old 05-04-2012, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Dave Loudin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
LiveWell is finally coming to WJLA as 7.3. Say buh-bye to RTV.
Dave Loudin is offline  
post #13104 of 13897 Old 05-04-2012, 07:51 PM
Member
 
geostone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danboot View Post

FIOS just became available in my neighborhood and I decided to sign up. We are currently with Cox and will be making the switch towards the end of May. I would like to get some feedback on FIOS from you folks out there.
How is the quality, the level of service etc...
Thanks.


On the plus side here in Fairfax County, you'll love the fast internet speeds! The TV picture quality is outstanding, and I've had fewer outtages than With Cox. The latest Motorola 7232 DVR provides about 72 hours of HDTV recording time. The techs who do installation have been great.

Low points: rates are higher than Cox and keep increasing year after year. It's always a crap shoot when you call VZ...still a phone company at heart. I returned a couple of DVRs and am still being charged a monthly rental for one that VZ claims they didn't receive, even though they sent me the return box and pre-pay UPS label. This has been going on for about a year now. Not sure if I'll ever get it resolved. Oh...VZ always tries to push you into subscribing to some add-on whenever you call. Be cautious!

I only have one DVR, and opted to install a roof antenna to feed the other TVs in the house. I also have Roku for streaming, which works great over FiOS internet.

I'm in the Centreville area and have had VZ FiOS for four years.

George Stone

George in Northern Virginia
geostone is offline  
post #13105 of 13897 Old 05-05-2012, 06:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
E55 KEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Loudin View Post

LiveWell is finally coming to WJLA as 7.3. Say buh-bye to RTV.

I'll be de-selecting that one. I prefered RTV. The lineup of shows is un-inspiring to me.

http://livewellnetwork.com/index

Click For My Website - www.E55AMG.com

E55 KEV is offline  
post #13106 of 13897 Old 05-05-2012, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by E55 KEV View Post

I'll be de-selecting that one. I prefered RTV. The lineup of shows is un-inspiring to me.

http://livewellnetwork.com/index


Ditto. It's been on here in St Louis for quite a while. Never watched it. My opinion is it's a complete waste of bandwidth.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #13107 of 13897 Old 05-06-2012, 10:11 PM
Member
 
StevenJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Olney, MD
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by danboot View Post

FIOS just became available in my neighborhood and I decided to sign up. We are currently with Cox and will be making the switch towards the end of May. I would like to get some feedback on FIOS from you folks out there. How is the quality, the level of service etc...Thanks.

The FiOS picture quality is actually better than outstanding. The HD picture has "pop" to it. It comes right out at you. But, of course, that all depends on your equipment. The SD picture is excellent and quite usable. I've had Dishnetwork before. Verizon FiOS beats the Dish PQ hands down on both HD and SD! BTW, FiOS HD and SD audio is excellent, as well. Verizon has a policy and reputation for giving its customers full bandwidth for HD. The cable companies and satellite providers have had bad reputations for starving bandwidth causing artifacts, pixelation, and macro blocking.

Make sure that you get a QIP-7XXX series STB and not a QIP-6XXX STB if you get a Motorola STB. The 7XXX's are built for MP4 and have excellent response time to remote control commands. The 6XXX STB's are built for MP2 only and are much much slower in responding to remote control commands. I suspect that eventually Verizon will be switching over to an MP4 system in order to maximize bandwidth utilization. The 7XXX STB picture is better than the 6XXX STB picture. The 7XXX STB will provide you with a 16 x 9 aspect ratio program guide whereas the 6XXX STB limits you to only a 12 x 9 (4:3) aspect ratio program guide.

Internet speeds are staggering. I subscribe to 35 mB download but consistently get >42mB. Verizon advertises consistent speeds that exceed nominal speeds by 20%. They are true to their word.

I have the full service package from Verizon. Their internet, digital phone, and television services are extremely reliable. I've had maybe two service interruptions since I've has FiOS and that is around eight years or so.

Customer service is top notch. They are very polite and always try to help you whenever possible. My service has been so good that I hardly ever have to speak to them for any problem.

Consider yourself extremely lucky that you can get FiOS in your neighborhood. Millions upon millions of satellite and cable customers would give just about anything to be in your position. Good luck and enjoy FiOS.
StevenJB is online now  
post #13108 of 13897 Old 05-07-2012, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Loudin View Post

LiveWell is finally coming to WJLA as 7.3. Say buh-bye to RTV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by E55 KEV View Post

...I prefered RTV....

Me, too. I'll miss The Saint and Da Vinci's Inquest.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #13109 of 13897 Old 05-08-2012, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
machpost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Loudin View Post

LiveWell is finally coming to WJLA as 7.3. Say buh-bye to RTV.

I wonder if they'll be offering the special low-bandwidth HD feed, or if it'll be in SD only.

And I'll miss RTV too, but our cable company never picked it up so it was a hassle to watch, and Antenna TV is a decent substitute.
machpost is offline  
post #13110 of 13897 Old 05-08-2012, 10:00 PM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntAltMike View Post

Me, too. I'll miss The Saint and Da Vinci's Inquest.

I'll miss I Spy & Intelligence, but I've now seen every Da Vinci twice....

But I agree there's no reason to even keep 7.3 on my adapter.

Quote:


and Antenna TV is a decent substitute.

Hmm, I see nothing there I'm looking to watch.
mkfs is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off