Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 438 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13111 of 13819 Old 05-09-2012, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
mchief99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria VA
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WatchESPN is apparently now available to COMCAST. However, when I try to set it up @ ESPNNetworks/setup I get an error retrieving providers when I enter the billing zipcode 22304. Has anyone been successful setting it up??
mchief99 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13112 of 13819 Old 05-10-2012, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
jgantert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkfs View Post

Hmm, I see nothing there I'm looking to watch.

AntennaTV has WKRP! Sunday evenings, definitely worth checking out.
jgantert is offline  
post #13113 of 13819 Old 05-11-2012, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
tvdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have an idea why WJLA-HD (Ch. 7) never has sports highlight in HD? It's not just events (are there any) that are in SD only, but also ones that clearly were in HD. Yet they provide SD highlights. This isn't like the field reporters where they have limited numbers of HD crews/cameras.
tvdrew is offline  
post #13114 of 13819 Old 05-13-2012, 06:07 PM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkfs View Post

Looks like the encoder on WJLA has the day off. I get a generic
Code:
DTV program
on the guide tonight....

And today, it's showing time as 6 minutes fast.....
mkfs is offline  
post #13115 of 13819 Old 05-14-2012, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgantert View Post

AntennaTV has WKRP! Sunday evenings, definitely worth checking out.

Original music?

57 channels and nothing on
wmcbrine is offline  
post #13116 of 13819 Old 05-15-2012, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
jgantert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post

Original music?

Unfortunately, no.
jgantert is offline  
post #13117 of 13819 Old 05-17-2012, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Knicks_Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvdrew View Post

Anyone have an idea why WJLA-HD (Ch. 7) never has sports highlight in HD? It's not just events (are there any) that are in SD only, but also ones that clearly were in HD. Yet they provide SD highlights. This isn't like the field reporters where they have limited numbers of HD crews/cameras.

WJLA has a half-assed HD news setup. I never watch ABC-7 as I can't stand most of their field reports and sports highlights STILL in SD. They are lagging behind the other DC stations by a mile.
Knicks_Fan is offline  
post #13118 of 13819 Old 05-18-2012, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgantert View Post

Unfortunately, no.

That pretty much kills it for me.

On a separate note, WETA is going to be replacing Create with BBC. Any idea what they will be showing?
J
Big J is offline  
post #13119 of 13819 Old 05-18-2012, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big J View Post

WETA is going to be replacing Create with BBC. Any idea what they will be showing?
J

Can't findmuch info out there, but DCRTV says "WETA UK will feature drama, action, romance, mystery, and humor shows.
Digital Rules is offline  
post #13120 of 13819 Old 05-18-2012, 08:52 AM
Member
 
pamajestic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gettysburg, PA
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big J View Post


On a separate note, WETA is going to be replacing Create with BBC. Any idea what they will be showing?
J

On their web-site they have a promo video and a schedule.

http://www.weta.org/tv/uk
pamajestic is offline  
post #13121 of 13819 Old 05-18-2012, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pamajestic View Post


On their web-site they have a promo video and a schedule.

http://www.weta.org/tv/uk

Thanks for the link. Doesn't look all that thrilling.
J
Big J is offline  
post #13122 of 13819 Old 05-21-2012, 05:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
machpost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knicks_Fan View Post

WJLA has a half-assed HD news setup. I never watch ABC-7 as I can't stand most of their field reports and sports highlights STILL in SD. They are lagging behind the other DC stations by a mile.

My cable provider just added co-owned Newschannel 8 HD, and their local programming seems to be a totally random mix of HD and SD. One newscast will be in HD, and the next newscast 30 minutes later will inexplicably be in SD, seemingly originating from the same studio.
machpost is offline  
post #13123 of 13819 Old 05-21-2012, 03:03 PM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big J View Post

Thanks for the link. Doesn't look all that thrilling.
J

Au Contraire! They'll have Foyle's War and Prime Suspect!
mkfs is offline  
post #13124 of 13819 Old 05-21-2012, 03:05 PM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by machpost View Post

One newscast will be in HD, and the next newscast 30 minutes later will inexplicably be in SD, seemingly originating from the same studio.

Hey, they run out of bits, and have to hoard them until more trickle in!
mkfs is offline  
post #13125 of 13819 Old 05-22-2012, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
andyz111's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why is 49-2 crashing my KWorld SA 290 TVbox?
andyz111 is offline  
post #13126 of 13819 Old 05-24-2012, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
tvdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knicks_Fan View Post

WJLA has a half-assed HD news setup. I never watch ABC-7 as I can't stand most of their field reports and sports highlights STILL in SD. They are lagging behind the other DC stations by a mile.

I can kinda/sorta understand SD field reports, but sports highlights I just don't understand. Do they have to pay CSN or ESPN more to use HD highlights? Or are they just being too lazy to downconvert the HD sports broadcast to SD for the highlights package?
tvdrew is offline  
post #13127 of 13819 Old 05-30-2012, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
GregAnnapolis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been a while since I've been around, so I apologize if this isn't news... but it appears that WBAL is finally passing DD5.1 from the NBC network. I had stopped checking long ago; it was DD2.0 years after it reasonably should have been (in my opinion, anyway). Glad to see it!
GregAnnapolis is offline  
post #13128 of 13819 Old 06-04-2012, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
F_man8326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just noticed that Fox Soccer Channel HD was added on Xfinity/Comcast. Channel 842. Long over due, in my opinion.
F_man8326 is offline  
post #13129 of 13819 Old 06-05-2012, 05:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20

Fox Soccer Channel HD added in Baltimore City yesterday.

 

 

Quote:
Most of the DC/MD/VA areas (suburbs of Washington, DC) of Comcast are expected to add Fox Soccer Channel HD on a rolling schedule throughout June 2012

 




http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Channels-and-Programming/FSC-HD-Fox-Soccer-Channel/m-p/1297793#M21326


YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #13130 of 13819 Old 06-07-2012, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
carltonrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So with this new format for AVS Forum, how do you get it to display the most recent posts at the top for the topics you want to follow?
carltonrice is offline  
post #13131 of 13819 Old 06-07-2012, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by carltonrice View Post

So with this new format for AVS Forum, how do you get it to display the most recent posts at the top for the topics you want to follow?
Amen!

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #13132 of 13819 Old 06-07-2012, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkfs View Post


Au Contraire! They'll have Foyle's War and Prime Suspect!

Plus a whole lot of shows PBS showed 30 years ago.
To the Manor Born, Are You Being Served, Benny Hill... really?
J
Big J is offline  
post #13133 of 13819 Old 06-12-2012, 03:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
carltonrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My mother lives on the 14th floor of a high rise in downtown Columbia, MD. Any ideas on a good indoor antenna for receiving OTA signals from Baltimore and DC?
carltonrice is offline  
post #13134 of 13819 Old 06-12-2012, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by carltonrice View Post

My mother lives on the 14th floor of a high rise in downtown Columbia, MD. Any ideas on a good indoor antenna for receiving OTA signals from Baltimore and DC?

I never knew there was a 14 story high rise in downtown Columbia MD. I used to service the Vantage House master antenna system there until the digital transition, but they never had me convert it to the new channel frequencies, and before that I had done antenna work for the Columbia Inn. Have you tried anything there yet? Baltimore of course has two VHF highband channels, which are a little "iffier" than UHF when you are in an apartment complex. It will take more luck than science to reliably get her Washington signals with an indoor antenna.

Did her building have an off-air antenna system that was never upgraded?
AntAltMike is offline  
post #13135 of 13819 Old 06-12-2012, 10:53 AM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

Amen!

Besides the fact it BLARES at you... this was the first shortcoming I found.
mkfs is offline  
post #13136 of 13819 Old 06-12-2012, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Dave Loudin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My subscriptions show up about halfway down the home page, ordered from most recent. To see the unread posts, you need to click on the thread title twice.
Dave Loudin is offline  
post #13137 of 13819 Old 06-12-2012, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm noticing what looks, just visually, like an insanely reduced bitrate on WPXW-DT 2 and 3, via Fios (491 and 492). It looks like it's the same way on broadcast 66-2 and 66-3, although it's a marginal station for me, so it's hard to be certain.

Does anyone know what they might be sparing the bits for?

57 channels and nothing on
wmcbrine is offline  
post #13138 of 13819 Old 06-12-2012, 08:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Many large market ION stations do:

1x 720p HD
2x 480i SD
1x Mobile DTV
8x MPEG-4 SD (AirBox)

Lots going on there.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #13139 of 13819 Old 06-13-2012, 01:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
After Googling AirBox, I see that WPXW is indeed one of the Ion affiliates offering this service. It also states that two of the subchannels are unencrypted. Have to see what I can see on my Dish Network mpeg-4 receiver. wink.gif
TheKrell is offline  
post #13140 of 13819 Old 06-13-2012, 08:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
The two unencrypted ones are gone now. They have been for some time.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off