Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 469 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 22Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14041 of 14053 Old 04-08-2015, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 33
36.1, the Washington, DC area retransmission of WMDE's Soul of the South , by WWTD-LD (UHF 14) has displayed no programming for at least three days now. The signal quality is evaluated as "good" by my TV, it gets reincluded in my channel line-up when I rescan, and al of the 49.X subchannels from the same carrier are present and operating normally. Can anyone determine if WMDE in Salisbury, MD itself is currently transmitting?

Last edited by AntAltMike; 04-08-2015 at 12:37 PM.
AntAltMike is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14042 of 14053 Old 04-09-2015, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntAltMike View Post
36.1, the Washington, DC area retransmission of WMDE's Soul of the South , by WWTD-LD (UHF 14) has displayed no programming for at least three days now. The signal quality is evaluated as "good" by my TV, it gets reincluded in my channel line-up when I rescan, and al of the 49.X subchannels from the same carrier are present and operating normally. Can anyone determine if WMDE in Salisbury, MD itself is currently transmitting?
Isn't WMDE 36.1 out of Dover?
Signal 32%
SNR 13dB

I can get 16.1 from Salisbury. But not anything from Dover.

Samsung 65" HU8550-TS01 UHDTV, Denon 3312, Cerwin Vega VE's x 7, DefTech Sub x3
TiVo Raomio OTA 3TB, 2 TiVo Mini's, TiVo Stream, SimpleTV, HD Homerun Extend, WDTV Live, Roku 3, FireTV
PC - AMD FX8350, 16GB, LG 16x BD-RW, 1000w PSU
EVGA GTX-980 ACX 2.0, GTX-750Ti, (2) 27" IPS Secondary Monitors
Asus AC68, AC66 Routers, (2) Gigabit Switches, 100/10 Comcast, 3 UPS's
doctorwizz is online now  
post #14043 of 14053 Old 04-09-2015, 06:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Yes, and its signal in DC is so poor (it is a low-VHF, after all) that they simulcast on WWTD-LD.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #14044 of 14053 Old 04-09-2015, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Salisbury/Dover is one Nielsen market, and I hastily appended it inaccurately. Nevertheless, it it still transmitting? The signal quality of rebroadcast 36.1 as received here in College Park is more than adequate for reliable reception.
AntAltMike is online now  
post #14045 of 14053 Old 04-10-2015, 02:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
No, it looks like the WMDE subchannel on WWTD-LD has now vanished.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #14046 of 14053 Old 04-10-2015, 10:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
No, it looks like the WMDE subchannel on WWTD-LD has now vanished.,,
The content is not there, but the identifier still is. The local, 36.1 subchannel is still included in my TV's channel list when I rescan, like 54.2 was for months on end after WNUV dropped CoolTV.

Last edited by AntAltMike; 04-10-2015 at 11:29 AM.
AntAltMike is online now  
post #14047 of 14053 Old 04-10-2015, 10:27 PM
Member
 
StevenJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Olney, MD
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
WMDE is still being carried and still displays programming on Verizon FiOS Channel 502. I say this just so that you will know that maybe it's only the OTA signal that is affected.
StevenJB is offline  
post #14048 of 14053 Old Today, 05:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Today I am unable to get channels 5.1, 9.1, 32.1 from DC. Signal show 32 with SNR 14. WTH? It was fine last night.
Ch 4 and 7 show my normal signal strength at 72
3 different tuners have same symptoms.
RCA mast attached preamp go bad?

Samsung 65" HU8550-TS01 UHDTV, Denon 3312, Cerwin Vega VE's x 7, DefTech Sub x3
TiVo Raomio OTA 3TB, 2 TiVo Mini's, TiVo Stream, SimpleTV, HD Homerun Extend, WDTV Live, Roku 3, FireTV
PC - AMD FX8350, 16GB, LG 16x BD-RW, 1000w PSU
EVGA GTX-980 ACX 2.0, GTX-750Ti, (2) 27" IPS Secondary Monitors
Asus AC68, AC66 Routers, (2) Gigabit Switches, 100/10 Comcast, 3 UPS's
doctorwizz is online now  
post #14049 of 14053 Old Today, 05:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
Today I am unable to get channels 5.1, 9.1, 32.1 from DC. Signal show 32 with SNR 14. WTH? It was fine last night.
Ch 4 and 7 show my normal signal strength at 72
3 different tuners have same symptoms.
RCA mast attached preamp go bad?
You'll get more responses if you post this in the HDTV Technical subforum.
AntAltMike is online now  
post #14050 of 14053 Old Today, 06:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 85
They are coming back. 32 and 5 are back. 9 just started coming back. Must be atmosphere conditions? Weather was not bad this morning.
I don't want start a new thread. Got to go.
I just dont understand how such a good signal can drop to nothing like that. While others are still the same.

Samsung 65" HU8550-TS01 UHDTV, Denon 3312, Cerwin Vega VE's x 7, DefTech Sub x3
TiVo Raomio OTA 3TB, 2 TiVo Mini's, TiVo Stream, SimpleTV, HD Homerun Extend, WDTV Live, Roku 3, FireTV
PC - AMD FX8350, 16GB, LG 16x BD-RW, 1000w PSU
EVGA GTX-980 ACX 2.0, GTX-750Ti, (2) 27" IPS Secondary Monitors
Asus AC68, AC66 Routers, (2) Gigabit Switches, 100/10 Comcast, 3 UPS's

Last edited by doctorwizz; Today at 06:05 AM.
doctorwizz is online now  
post #14051 of 14053 Old Today, 07:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Where in MD are you? Interference from other stations seems like a likely candidate for your issues. WTTG is on the same channel as WITF and WMGM, while WUSA is on the same channel as WBPH. Not sure what would be impacting WHUT, off-hand.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #14052 of 14053 Old Today, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Where in MD are you? Interference from other stations seems like a likely candidate for your issues. WTTG is on the same channel as WITF and WMGM, while WUSA is on the same channel as WBPH. Not sure what would be impacting WHUT, off-hand.

- Trip
Chesapeake Beach

Never seen any issue with an DC channels. Signals are always rock steady. Even in a recent small thunderstorm.
I can't think of anything that would cause this.

Samsung 65" HU8550-TS01 UHDTV, Denon 3312, Cerwin Vega VE's x 7, DefTech Sub x3
TiVo Raomio OTA 3TB, 2 TiVo Mini's, TiVo Stream, SimpleTV, HD Homerun Extend, WDTV Live, Roku 3, FireTV
PC - AMD FX8350, 16GB, LG 16x BD-RW, 1000w PSU
EVGA GTX-980 ACX 2.0, GTX-750Ti, (2) 27" IPS Secondary Monitors
Asus AC68, AC66 Routers, (2) Gigabit Switches, 100/10 Comcast, 3 UPS's
doctorwizz is online now  
post #14053 of 14053 Old Today, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 85
There is nothing around me except a Naval Research Facility.

http://www.nrl.navy.mil/field-sites/...eake-bay-det./

Samsung 65" HU8550-TS01 UHDTV, Denon 3312, Cerwin Vega VE's x 7, DefTech Sub x3
TiVo Raomio OTA 3TB, 2 TiVo Mini's, TiVo Stream, SimpleTV, HD Homerun Extend, WDTV Live, Roku 3, FireTV
PC - AMD FX8350, 16GB, LG 16x BD-RW, 1000w PSU
EVGA GTX-980 ACX 2.0, GTX-750Ti, (2) 27" IPS Secondary Monitors
Asus AC68, AC66 Routers, (2) Gigabit Switches, 100/10 Comcast, 3 UPS's
doctorwizz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off