Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 480 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 45Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14371 of 14399 Old 10-20-2016, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carltonrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Any HDTV viewers in the Baltimore/DC area? Has anyone else noticed that WBAL-DT's sound and picture are not in sync? It always appears to me as if the picture is just slightly ahead of the sound. That's the only station I've noticed having this issue. I notice this on both my DVR Plus and on my HDTV. What is the issue with WBAL?
carltonrice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14372 of 14399 Old 10-20-2016, 10:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by carltonrice View Post
Any HDTV viewers in the Baltimore/DC area? Has anyone else noticed that WBAL-DT's sound and picture are not in sync? It always appears to me as if the picture is just slightly ahead of the sound. That's the only station I've noticed having this issue. I notice this on both my DVR Plus and on my HDTV.?
It's off a hair on my Seiki, too.

49.4 and 49.5 have been unwatchably bad for a couple of weeks now, even though their signal quality is good and the other four 49.Xs are stable.
AntAltMike is online now  
post #14373 of 14399 Old 10-21-2016, 04:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carltonrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntAltMike View Post
It's off a hair on my Seiki, too.
I sent a message to their engineering staff through their website. Let's hope they fix it soon.
carltonrice is offline  
post #14374 of 14399 Old 10-24-2016, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carltonrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Cool WBAL-DT's Audio/Video Sync Issue

I sent a message to WBAL-DT via their website and one of their engineers called to ask me about the issue of video/audio sync. While I was on the phone with him, he had me check both 11.1 and 11.2. I noticed that the audio is perfectly in sync for 11.2, but there was still a definite audio delay on 11.1. He said they would look into it over the next few days and get back to me. I was pretty impressed when they called, because I'd just sent the message through their website about a half an hour earlier!
carltonrice is offline  
post #14375 of 14399 Old 10-29-2016, 10:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntAltMike View Post
...49.4 and 49.5 have been unwatchably bad for a couple of weeks now, even though their signal quality is good and the other four 49.Xs are stable.
I sent a message to info@luken.tv at 2:30 Saturday afternoon, telling them that their two channels have been unwatchable for three weeks, and, boom, both are now rock solid, but they didn't reply to my communication.
TheKrell likes this.
AntAltMike is online now  
post #14376 of 14399 Old 11-04-2016, 01:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OTA Antenna and Tablo/Severn http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id

Link to TV fool in title

I could use some help - before I throw something!
I have a Mohu Sky 60 in the attic running down about 30 feet of coax cable to the bedroom below the attic (basically in the middle, it would be almost impossible to get to the edge) where it is connected to its provided amplifier and then into the 4 tuner Tablo.

The problem is the reliability of the signal. I seem to get WBAL clearly, but last night every other channel was a challenging. The Tablo just continued loading, loading, loading.

It also kept saying "Reconnecting to Tablo" which may have been wi-fi related but I'm not clear.

The house did have dish previously, I could mount it outside in the same location (15 degrees I think).
Is the amplifier that came with the Mohu Sky 60 overkill?

Any help is appreciated
mortonthecow is offline  
post #14377 of 14399 Old 11-05-2016, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 720 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Link to TVFool is invalid.
doctorwizz is offline  
post #14378 of 14399 Old 11-07-2016, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
b5fan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Does anyone know if WJLA CHannel 7 has any plans to fix/upgrade their fuzzy so-called Hi-Def?

Have a great day and be kind to each other,
-B
TiVo Bolt OTA with Denon AVR 591
My floor speakers, surrounds and sub are Polk brand. Home Theater Seats, needed.
FiOS 50/50 Streaming
b5fan001 is online now  
post #14379 of 14399 Old 11-07-2016, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 720 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by b5fan001 View Post
Does anyone know if WJLA CHannel 7 has any plans to fix/upgrade their fuzzy so-called Hi-Def?
Yeah it's a low quality 720P video. Other 720 channels are higher quality like Ch 2 in Balt.
Have you noticed they no longer have a .1 subwoofer audio channel? Been missing since December 2, 2015.
doctorwizz is offline  
post #14380 of 14399 Old 11-09-2016, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 720 Post(s)
Liked: 215
I got hold of Ernie Ensign, the director of engineering at Ch 7 WJLA describing the subwoofer channel issue. He replied on Nov 7th:

"I’ve confirmed we are sending out all 6 channels and I’m seeing all 6 channels on our over the air signal. What are you using to decode?
We get error reports anytime any part of our signal is missing. I’ve gone back through our logs and I don’t see any of the 5.1 missing over the last year."

I replied with my setup list and config. And today the subwoofer .1 channel is finally fixed!

@Trip in VA
This started happening at the same time that (Dec 03 2015) the "PAT TSID set to 0 but the TVCT TSID set (correctly) to 533. Once the PAT TSID is fixed (set to 533)". When 7.1 was on 7.3.
Maybe related to the sub channel?

Edit:
I'd have to guess it is related. Ernie replied and said, "One of our backup OTA encoders had the LFE turned off."
Eben and TheKrell like this.

Last edited by doctorwizz; 11-09-2016 at 03:53 PM.
doctorwizz is offline  
post #14381 of 14399 Old 11-10-2016, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Eben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thumbs up

doctorwizz,
Thank you for taking the time to track this down and to get a fix from WJLA!
Eben is online now  
post #14382 of 14399 Old 11-10-2016, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 720 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eben View Post
doctorwizz,
Thank you for taking the time to track this down and to get a fix from WJLA!
Did you notice it? I probably would have never noticed it but I have 2 AVR's that have audio channel input indicators. It was very easy to see it was missing. I can definitely hear the difference now that it is fixed.
The first 2 emails I sent were ignored. Probably thought it was user error.
TheKrell likes this.
doctorwizz is offline  
post #14383 of 14399 Old 11-17-2016, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
b5fan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
Did you notice it? I probably would have never noticed it but I have 2 AVR's that have audio channel input indicators. It was very easy to see it was missing. I can definitely hear the difference now that it is fixed.
The first 2 emails I sent were ignored. Probably thought it was user error.
I didn't notice it because my eyes were bleeding because of the terrible 720P picture I was enduring.

Thanks for all you guys have done to get WJLA to come into the 21st Century!
Eben and doctorwizz like this.

Have a great day and be kind to each other,
-B
TiVo Bolt OTA with Denon AVR 591
My floor speakers, surrounds and sub are Polk brand. Home Theater Seats, needed.
FiOS 50/50 Streaming
b5fan001 is online now  
post #14384 of 14399 Old 12-02-2016, 09:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wash DC So MD antenna

I'm looking for a solid antenna to pick up my Wash DC local stations 39 miles away. It will go on the roof in place of my sat dish. The RG-6 path from dish to TVs is a very long path; from dish across attic, down to basement distribution box and back up through house. I believe there is currently an inline amp in the attic installed by DTV. Below a pic looking at 313 degrees toward DC. Advice appreciated.

-M
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	roofdish.JPG
Views:	42
Size:	148.7 KB
ID:	1803721  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf TV Fool.pdf (179.6 KB, 26 views)
Cheesewizzard is offline  
post #14385 of 14399 Old 12-08-2016, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
view from roof @ 313, some trees.
Attached Images
 
Cheesewizzard is offline  
post #14386 of 14399 Old 12-08-2016, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 4,881
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1042 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Please post a link to your TV Fool report using your actual address. The one you have may not be accurate. If you don't have 5 posts then PM Dr. Don to do it for you.
Cheesewizzard likes this.
Calaveras is online now  
post #14387 of 14399 Old 12-08-2016, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,111
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Welcome to the forum, M
INFO from previous post:

Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesewizzard View Post
I'm looking for a solid antenna to pick up my Wash DC local stations 39 miles away. It will go on the roof in place of my sat dish. The RG-6 path from dish to TVs is a very long path; from dish across attic, down to basement distribution box and back up through house. I believe there is currently an inline amp in the attic installed by DTV. Below a pic looking at 313 degrees toward DC. Advice appreciated.

-M
Your attachment doesn't work; edited and reattached here.

Lots of trees toward 313. Trees block TV signals.
http://www.hdtvprimer.com/antennas/siting.html
scroll down to Trees and UHF

Nice helpful photo though reception might not be as "solid" as you would like when the leaves return.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CheesewizzardAVSroofdish.JPG
Views:	232
Size:	229.0 KB
ID:	1817689  
Cheesewizzard likes this.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 12-08-2016 at 01:05 PM.
rabbit73 is online now  
post #14388 of 14399 Old 12-08-2016, 05:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,111
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 132
This is the active link extracted from page 1 of your pdf report, but it is still only resolved to block level.


http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...dfaf5e417f2ed9
Cheesewizzard likes this.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is online now  
post #14389 of 14399 Old 12-16-2016, 06:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What I am considering...
1byone
60 Miles Digital Outdoor / Roof HDTV Antenna with Motorized 360 Degree Rotation for VHF / UHF Signals
RCA
TVPRAMP1Z Preamplifier
CM3414 4-Port Distribution Amplifier


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cheesewizzard is offline  
post #14390 of 14399 Old 12-16-2016, 10:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 4,881
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1042 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesewizzard View Post
What I am considering...
1byone 60 Miles Digital Outdoor / Roof HDTV Antenna with Motorized 360 Degree Rotation for VHF / UHF Signals
Antennas are not rated in miles. That is entirely marketing.

That antenna is too small. You need a Winegard HD7698P and even then I'm concerned that when all those trees leaf out you'll have a problem.

The amps are okay.
Calaveras is online now  
post #14391 of 14399 Old 12-17-2016, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,813
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Only use Preamp or DistroAmp.....you only NEED one or the other [Preamp preferred] and using BOTH is likely to cause Overload Desensitization.
Cheesewizzard likes this.
holl_ands is offline  
post #14392 of 14399 Old 12-18-2016, 07:16 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 14,733
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 759 Post(s)
Liked: 1456
Moved to DC thread. Redirect left in Technical.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #14393 of 14399 Old 12-22-2016, 01:41 PM
Member
 
dleedlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Boo. Channel 30.2/MHz-2 has dropped NHK programming:

TRT World In English To Replace NHK On MHz2

For our Washington, D.C. metro area viewers, as of December 20th, NHK is no longer available on MHz2 through local cable/satellite providers. TRT World in English (news from Turkey), will launch on MHz2 in early January. In the interim, Arirang TV will replace NHK on MHz1/MHz Worldview from 6am to 9am temporarily until TRT World in English is available.


Looks like it is currently duplicating Ch 30.1 programming.
dleedlee is online now  
post #14394 of 14399 Old 12-22-2016, 02:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,204
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dleedlee View Post
Boo. Channel 30.2/MHz-2 has dropped NHK programming:
I think it's the opposite; I think NHK pulled their programming. It's now on MPT. Try 22-4 or 67-4 or 62-4, whichever you receive.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #14395 of 14399 Old 12-22-2016, 02:30 PM
Member
 
dleedlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
I think it's the opposite; I think NHK pulled their programming. It's now on MPT. Try 22-4 or 67-4 or 62-4, whichever you receive.

- Trip
Kind of surprised. NHK has been a stalwart partner since as long as I can remember.

And I can't pick up any of those three channels either.
dleedlee is online now  
post #14396 of 14399 Old 12-22-2016, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Frankie20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
I think it's the opposite; I think NHK pulled their programming. It's now on MPT. Try 22-4 or 67-4 or 62-4, whichever you receive.

- Trip

Wow, thanks for the heads up. I removed all the channels that are duplicates, I didn't know NHK moved to 22-4.
Frankie20 is offline  
post #14397 of 14399 Old Today, 08:11 AM
Member
 
dleedlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
MHz-3, formerly CCTV News/CCTV-9 has rebranded itself to CGTN - China Global Television Network.
http://www.mhznetworks.org/blog/cgtn...january-1-2017

MHz-2 hasn't switched over to Turkish programming yet. Just a permanent slide saying: TRT World Coming Soon to MHz2.
dleedlee is online now  
post #14398 of 14399 Old Today, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by dleedlee View Post
Kind of surprised. NHK has been a stalwart partner since as long as I can remember.

...I can't pick up any of those three channels either.
You must be in nowheresville.That's a lot of coverage area from those three locations: Annapolis, north of Baltimore, and I think, Frederick. Are you in northern Virginia?
AntAltMike is online now  
post #14399 of 14399 Old Today, 10:27 AM
Member
 
dleedlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntAltMike View Post
You must be in nowheresville.That's a lot of coverage area from those three locations: Annapolis, north of Baltimore, and I think, Frederick. Are you in northern Virginia?
Yep, Reston.
dleedlee is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off