Lansing, MI - HDTV - Page 87 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2581 of 2734 Old 01-25-2012, 07:12 AM
Senior Member
 
wb8tgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Michiguide.com is reporting that WLNS will be broadcasting ABC's Live Well Network starting Jan. 30.
wb8tgy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2582 of 2734 Old 01-27-2012, 10:01 AM
Member
 
HD74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually it says Young will begin the rollout at their stations starting January 30.
It will take several months for all stations to be completed.
HD74 is offline  
post #2583 of 2734 Old 02-21-2012, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
dblitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ones anyone know when Directv will broadcast local channels?
dblitt is offline  
post #2584 of 2734 Old 02-21-2012, 03:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Topics merged.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #2585 of 2734 Old 02-21-2012, 03:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dblitt View Post

Ones anyone know when Directv will broadcast local channels?

It's been officially announced by DirecTV for 2012, so sometime in the next 10 months.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #2586 of 2734 Old 03-22-2012, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
garybliev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

It's been officially announced by DirecTV for 2012, so sometime in the next 10 months.

No comments here for one full month (ok Feb was a bit shorter then other months, but hey, it had 29 days this time) you guys all go to sleep or move to FL to avoid the new tax on retirement income?
garybliev is offline  
post #2587 of 2734 Old 03-25-2012, 05:08 PM
Newbie
 
Steffenfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bones on channel 18.1 was in HD today.

Happy!
Steffenfield is offline  
post #2588 of 2734 Old 03-31-2012, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
Steffenfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My zip code is 48906.

I'm about 6 blocks north of the State Capital.

I can get 6 ,18, 23, 27, 43, 47, 53 using a RCA flat, indoor antenna that I paid about $30 for at Walmart.

I'm not sure if it can do VHF though.

I have another antenna that has something like 3 foot rabbit ears, but whatever I try, I can't get NBC with either one of these.

Is this possible for me?

I can get my indoor antenna about 3 feet off the floor but that's about as high as I can go.

Thanks ahead if anyone responds.
Steffenfield is offline  
post #2589 of 2734 Old 03-31-2012, 10:18 PM
Senior Member
 
maggiefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I live a few blocks northeast of the Capitol. With a cheap Radio Shack indoor antenna I get the same channels you listed. Not have been able to get 10 (NBC) since they went back to VHF. I tried many times and cannot pick it up on a scan. I am in a high rise so I'm sure that doesn't help any.

Larry
maggiefan is offline  
post #2590 of 2734 Old 03-31-2012, 10:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steffenfield View Post


Thanks ahead if anyone responds.

Go to TV Fool and post a link or the results here.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #2591 of 2734 Old 04-01-2012, 11:16 AM
Member
 
HD74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If your high rise has a south facing window, try putting the bunny ears in the window. WILX is about due south of you, and your other antenna does not like VHF. (WLNS is on channel 36) If you can kind of get WILX in a south window you may be able to use one of the directional indoor antennas to pick it up. (like a silver sensor)
HD74 is offline  
post #2592 of 2734 Old 04-01-2012, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
garybliev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steffenfield View Post

My zip code is 48906.

As other mentioned, you will need a VHF antenna. HD74 gave you most of the details: important is a south facing window. The tip-to-tip length of the antenna for channel 10 should be about 29 inches, horizontal, with the radials going east west (so that the broad-side is facing south)

29" is approximately 1/2 wavelength, you could also try 15", about 1/4 wavelength.
http://www.kyes.com/antenna/rabbitear.html

It is also possible that there could be some interference from FM radio stations getting into the converter/receiver. It is a function of the a harmonic of the radio station (something that happens inside the receiver, not a problem with the FM station or the TV station) You could try getting a FM filter. Here is one such trap (just a note, not a recommendation)
http://www.rackmount-devices.com/mai...?page=015-4252

Information about FM into DTV/VHF:
http://www.tvtechnology.com/article/...horizon/204615
garybliev is offline  
post #2593 of 2734 Old 04-01-2012, 10:56 PM
Senior Member
 
maggiefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I only have windows facing west. Funny thing is when WILX was broadcasting their digital signal on the UHF band I could pick it up ok, even though it had to penetrate very many walls. When they went back to VHF no more signal. I believe many people with indoor antennas lost that station. Poor choice on their part. Even when they increased power some time after that, still no signal.

Larry
maggiefan is offline  
post #2594 of 2734 Old 04-02-2012, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
garybliev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by maggiefan View Post

Poor choice on their part. Even when they increased power some time after that, still no signal.

WILX did not really have any choice. There were on 59 UHF which was reclaimed by the USG. There isn't any other channel available in the UHF band in the Lansing area for a full power broadcaster.
garybliev is offline  
post #2595 of 2734 Old 04-02-2012, 02:16 PM
Member
 
HD74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't want to get off track, but WLNS had 59, then jumped to 36 the same day WJRT vacated it. WILX used to be on 57. Either way, the rest of the market went UHF, so WILX requires different reception hardware in those hard to reach areas.
HD74 is offline  
post #2596 of 2734 Old 04-02-2012, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
maggiefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, thanks for the info Gary. I wasn't aware of that.

Larry
maggiefan is offline  
post #2597 of 2734 Old 04-03-2012, 05:53 AM
Senior Member
 
garybliev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD74 View Post

Don't want to get off track, but WLNS had 59, then jumped to 36 the same day WJRT vacated it. WILX used to be on 57. Either way, the rest of the market went UHF, so WILX requires different reception hardware in those hard to reach areas.

thanks for the correction.
garybliev is offline  
post #2598 of 2734 Old 04-05-2012, 11:08 PM
Newbie
 
Steffenfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Gary for the wonderful info.

I don't have enough posts in here just yet to share a photo of my junk.

Once I do, I'll upload it and see if perhaps there is something that can be done with them.

TVFool is stating...
NM 9dB) 26.4 Pwr (dBm) -64.4 Dist Miles (20.8) Azimuth 182 degrees, Magnitude 189 degrees.

I can get the Ion station perfectly even though it's 26.3 miles away, and even the other Ion station (31) which is 35.6 miles from here.

NBC is my all time fave channel. I'm quite The Apprentice junkie. *lol*

My HD TV is really weird.

Someone posted a bug about this maybe a page or two back, and that's my problem as well.

I can't just type in a number that hasn't already been scanned, it doesn't work that way.

I have to move my antenna and auto program.

Even though there's a signal strength menu option, I can't use it until it finds a station first.

Anyway, somehow I'm getting 36-4 as of tonight.

Does anyone know what this is? It doesn't have any information that gets stored on my TV with this channel.

Are there also 36-3, 36-2, 36-1 as well?

I'm only asking, because again, I can't type in a channel.

Oh, and Maggie, if you do find anything that works indoors, can you post what you have here since you live very close to me?

I've subscribed to this forum so I can get an instant notification if you do.

Cheers everyone!
Steffenfield is offline  
post #2599 of 2734 Old 04-06-2012, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
garybliev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steffenfield View Post

Thank you Gary for the wonderful info.


Anyway, somehow I'm getting 36-4 as of tonight.

Does anyone know what this is? It doesn't have any information that gets stored on my TV with this channel.

Are there also 36-3, 36-2, 36-1 as well?

Congratulations, yours is the first reported sighting of LiveWell. Channel 36 is the RF channel that is actually used by WLNS. It looks like, at this moment, that the appropriate virtual channel table used to remap 36-4 to 6-2 is not fully in place.
garybliev is offline  
post #2600 of 2734 Old 04-06-2012, 12:04 PM
Member
 
HD74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What you saw was just swamp gas,
Or maybe mass hysteria,
or a hallucination,
I'm sure it will work itself out soon.....
HD74 is offline  
post #2601 of 2734 Old 04-06-2012, 10:54 PM
Senior Member
 
maggiefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I pretty much gave up on getting NBC, so I use Comcast. My building has a master antenna that is no longer used since they wired the building for cable. I have talked to the manager about bringing it up to date, but I don't think that is going to happen. It's just a case of them not understanding that it would be a worthwhile expense. They just think if you have cable, you don't need anything else.

Larry
maggiefan is offline  
post #2602 of 2734 Old 04-07-2012, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Bozzmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD74 View Post

What you saw was just swamp gas,
Or maybe mass hysteria,
or a hallucination,
I'm sure it will work itself out soon.....

Swamp gas is back - WLNS 6.2 is up with LiveWell. Yipee! - now I can see that network on three different stations where I'm located (WLNS, WXYZ and WJRT.) Hopefully it doesn't mess too badly with the PQ on 6.1.
Bozzmonster is offline  
post #2603 of 2734 Old 04-21-2012, 02:40 PM
Member
 
pierceive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Meridian Twp, MI
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Changes on Comcast in Meridian (no clue when they were all made, but sometime in the last 10 months)...

New Channels:
980 Oxygen HD
988 Bloomberg News HD
993 Sprout HD
999 CBET HD

One channel was removed:
286 Empty [formerly TMC Extra]

And a few were renamed:
205 Velocity HD [formerly HD Theater]
206 NBC Sports HD [formerly Versus HD]
380 History 2 HD [formerly History International HD]
pierceive is offline  
post #2604 of 2734 Old 04-27-2012, 04:18 PM
Member
 
grover517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dblitt View Post

Ones anyone know when Directv will broadcast local channels?

I just had a dish moved on Tuesday, and due to issues, I had 2 supervisors here as well from Multiband. They said they were informed last week that the HD locals for Lansing are due to go live on Sept 13th, 2012.

So take that for what it is worth. At this point, I'll believe it when I see it.
grover517 is offline  
post #2605 of 2734 Old 05-04-2012, 02:11 PM
Member
 
otafreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just noticed WHTV 18 is now broadcasting in 1080i HD!!! When did this happen???
otafreak is offline  
post #2606 of 2734 Old 05-04-2012, 02:21 PM
Senior Member
 
garybliev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by otafreak View Post

I just noticed WHTV 18 is now broadcasting in 1080i HD!!! When did this happen???

it was noted in this forum on 3/25/12.
garybliev is offline  
post #2607 of 2734 Old 05-19-2012, 02:33 PM
Member
 
TTRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: DeWitt Twp MI
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone else noticed that Comcast has shut off all clear QAM channels? As of about a week ago, we noticed that some of the HD broadcast networks (ABC, CBS, PBS, ) were being scrambled. As of two days ago, none of our TVs can receive them with a direct cable attachment. We did receive a letter from Comcast earlier this month saying this would happen after May 30. Appears they sped up their process.

By the way, we're located in DeWitt Twp.
TTRider is offline  
post #2608 of 2734 Old 05-21-2012, 07:33 AM
Member
 
JT01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought there were FCC regulations saying all local channels had to be in Clear QAM ?
JT01 is offline  
post #2609 of 2734 Old 05-21-2012, 09:05 PM
Senior Member
 
maggiefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I read somewhere that the cable companys were requesting approval to encrypt all their channels.

Larry
maggiefan is offline  
post #2610 of 2734 Old 05-21-2012, 09:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTRider View Post

Has anyone else noticed that Comcast has shut off all clear QAM channels? As of about a week ago, we noticed that some of the HD broadcast networks (ABC, CBS, PBS, …) were being scrambled. As of two days ago, none of our TVs can receive them with a direct cable attachment. We did receive a letter from Comcast earlier this month saying this would happen after May 30. Appears they sped up their process.

Re-read the letter. Comcast isn't telling you all channels will be encrypted. They are telling you all channels will only be available in digital, which is in process of happening to all Comcast systems across the country. Last time I heard earlier this year they were about 1/4 done and that's probably closer to 1/3 or more by now.

As of right now, cable system must provide local channels in the clear, and that includes local broadcast HD channels in QAM. Cable systems also do system maintenance on a regular basis, and that means QAM channel locations can and will change. This is what has happened in your area, or otherwise they have made a mistake while doing maintenance.

If you do a complete reset of your TV's and rescan, and can't find local HD channels, contact Comcast and try and find someone who knows what QAM and clear QAM is. It may take more than one call because they have so few customers using clear QAM that most of their CSR's don't know what it is.

Having said that, there is currently a proposal in front of the FCC to permit any cableco that is all digital to encrypt all channels. It appears this proposal will pass and at that point expect to see all digital cable systems become all encrypted. In other words, it's not in effect yet, but most likely will be at some point soon.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off