St. Louis, MO - HDTV *OLD* - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 19496 Old 12-10-2003, 10:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
zvogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by BudShark
if anyone wants a slightly (and I mean slightly) used T165 let me know - otherwise it goes up on ebay in a week.

Firewire is nothing to sneeze at.
Anyone in the area that sees Chris's post should really consider making Chris an offer.
I already own a T165 myself so I can't help him out, but it would be a shame if it ends up
going the eBay route when it was offered here first.
It would be nice if it could be given a good home by one of our own.

STL HDers unite.
zvogt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 19496 Old 12-10-2003, 11:09 AM
Member
 
SilverLuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: DC/NoVa
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by BudShark
I'm excited about my new set - I'll finally be able to see how HD looks on my 811! Also, the S700 has a built in tuner and firewire out - so if anyone wants a slightly (and I mean slightly) used T165 let me know - otherwise it goes up on ebay in a week.

I'm interested; will PM re details.

Heh. It'd be nice to actually watch HD on my HDTV

Edit: email at:
bastet underscore lady at yahoo dot com
SilverLuz is offline  
post #63 of 19496 Old 12-10-2003, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
abcward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Waxhaw, NC
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can someone provide a link to information on the T165?
abcward is offline  
post #64 of 19496 Old 12-10-2003, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BudShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BudShark is offline  
post #65 of 19496 Old 12-11-2003, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
abcward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Waxhaw, NC
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im interested in the T165 - contact me at abcward@yahoo.com and we'll discuss.
abcward is offline  
post #66 of 19496 Old 12-11-2003, 03:56 PM
STL
Advanced Member
 
STL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
811 owners,

How is the upconvert of SD satellite channels with the 811 (compared to the 6000 or a DTC-100)? Or do use use S-video out for SD channels and let you TV do the upconvert? I am curious because I hear the line doubler in the 6000 is pretty crappy. I currently have a RCA DTC-100 (and D*) which seems to have a better line doubler than my Mits 55807 HDTV, and I am thinking about going to E* and the 811 -- but I don't want to take a hit on picture quality of the SD channels. I do realize that the biggest problem with SD satellite channels is over-compression, but adding a sub-par line doubler to the equation can make it even worse.
STL is offline  
post #67 of 19496 Old 12-11-2003, 11:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DroptheRemote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FWIW, I don't know if anyone else has noticed or commented on this, but KSDK is starting to run locally produced promotions about its HD programming.

And oddly enough, the HD promo clip was in SD.

I've only seen this once (during Wednesday evening's Leno) and most of this focused on NBC HD shows, but it also seemed like they were creating the impression that local news was going to be in HD.

Frankly, I'd have no problem if the local news remained in NTSC until the next millenium. But it's good to see a local station making an active effort to promote HD and build their HD audience.

Doug

Clearly Resolved Image & Sound
Lion AV Consultants
ISF & THX Video Calibration
Real-time Twitter Home Theater News
DroptheRemote is offline  
post #68 of 19496 Old 12-11-2003, 11:03 PM
Member
 
wschwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lee's Summit, Mo.
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed tonight that KSDK is starting to tout HDTV and mentions that information is available on its website. It is about time that a local station and not just a network starts spreading the word. Of course it is to promote their own network, but at least it is a start.

Walt Schwartz
wschwart is offline  
post #69 of 19496 Old 12-11-2003, 11:31 PM
Member
 
Phoenician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doug,

It might help if they don't keep messing up the HD broadcasts. Once again ER was not properly broadcast in HD. Many times they forget to flip the switch, broadcast in 4:3, bad upconvert, etc.... It's amazing the incompetence at that station. They should take a hard look and KMOV and KDNL and see how HD is supposed to be broadcast.

--Phoenician

Quote:


Originally posted by DroptheRemote
FWIW, I don't know if anyone else has noticed or commented on this, but KSDK is starting to run locally produced promotions about its HD programming.

And oddly enough, the HD promo clip was in SD.

I've only seen this once (during Wednesday evening's Leno) and most of this focused on NBC HD shows, but it also seemed like they were creating the impression that local news was going to be in HD.

Frankly, I'd have no problem if the local news remained in NTSC until the next millenium. But it's good to see a local station making an active effort to promote HD and build their HD audience.

Phoenician is offline  
post #70 of 19496 Old 12-11-2003, 11:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DroptheRemote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Apparently E.R. was not in HD Thursday night:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=336932

So, this time KSDK gets a free pass. But I agree that they do the worst job of "switch flipping" in this market.

Hopefully the Chief Switch Flipper got the memo about the promo...

BTW, I wanted to add here that KPLR does a great job of handling HD broadcasts, especially for a smaller operation. They deserve a lot of credit for stepping up to get HD on the air and handling it in a completely professional way.

Doug

Clearly Resolved Image & Sound
Lion AV Consultants
ISF & THX Video Calibration
Real-time Twitter Home Theater News
DroptheRemote is offline  
post #71 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
gramig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wentzville, MO
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if PBS and WB-11 are transmitting at full power? I get all the other St. Louis Digital stations with no problem.
gramig is offline  
post #72 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 07:37 AM
Newbie
 
daveinstl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Collinsville, IL
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In addition to kplr mapping to 75-1 it also seems that their signal format has changed. I used to get the black side bars "in the signal" and i could not stretch it to fit the widescreen. Now all of a sudden the default is stretched to widescreen and pressing "4x3" on the remote places gray sidebars to correct the picture to 4x3 format.

Also It seems that kplr is now filling out the program guide properly. Before now it seems that KMOV was the only station in St. Louis bothering to fill out the guide. Most stations still don't even have the time set right in the info they send.

Dave
daveinstl is offline  
post #73 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 08:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
zvogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by daveinstl
I used to get the black side bars "in the signal" and i could not stretch it to fit the widescreen. Now all of a sudden the default is stretched to widescreen and pressing "4x3" on the remote places gray sidebars to correct the picture to 4x3 format.

Really?? This doesn't sound right. I don't remember ever getting black bars
"in the signal" with KPLR as I do with the other digital stations.
Well maybe SD WB network programs had them and true local programming
did not. I wouldn't know, I've never watched a WB program.
zvogt is offline  
post #74 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 09:14 AM
oby
Member
 
oby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel 5 , or NBC-HD, is also getting lots of publicity on Charter, as Charter runs commericials on the analog stations--emphasizing its' content as a reason to sign up for HD. Also, on its website Channel 5 says it is "proud" to be the "only" channel offered in HD by Charter. I hope they don't carry this distinction for a long time.
oby is offline  
post #75 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
StLouG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: St.Louis, MO
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Count me in as one of their customers who is getting a little tired of waiting for new HD channels. I would think they would at least but out some publicity about some of the channels they are negotiating with for HD programing. Just my two cents.

StLouG
StLouG is offline  
post #76 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
MyMonyPit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been lurking for a few months now on a few of these threads. Found the STL thread by accident searching for some other topic. The AVSForum helped my wife and I in deciding on a Samsung HLN567W DLP screen and we've been very happy with the result. Thanks to you folks on this thread, I've been waiting patiently for Dish to come out with their new 811 HD receiver because I liked the fact it had a DVI connection and integrated OTA hookup. I haven't seen any recent posts on their special offers for existing customers and thought maybe I could offer something to the list. With a 1 year commitment to America's Top 50, I got the 811 for $199 plus I opted not to commit to credit card auto-payment which cost me another $24.95. So for a total of $223.95, I have an install date of Dec 19th. Now I need to get the OTA antenna installed in the attic and cabled down to the family room. I'll have to search back through the post for references to a good antenna to use. Is there also a difference in cabling? I'm located near the airport on a pretty high elevation with a two-story house. An attic install should work fine, shouldn't it? I appreciate all the info you guys have put out. I'd even be interested in joining the group for one of the get-togethers sometime. Thanks.

Alan
MyMonyPit is offline  
post #77 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 02:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
zvogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MyMonyPit
An attic install should work fine, shouldn't it?

Digital signals are very directional.
Depending which way the building faces relative to the towers
it might be a little optimistic to think an attic install will go without a hitch.
But it won't hurt to try.
Many in the forum swear by Channel Master antennas,
But if I were in the market for one, my first thought would
be to pop down to the local radio shack and buy a bargain
outdoor antenna.

**EDIT**
On second thought.
Doug here in the St. Louis sub-section of the forum has a source
for antennas I believe. And it would be good karma to throw a
little business to the local folks.
zvogt is offline  
post #78 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DroptheRemote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Welcome, MMP.

I think an attic install will probably work out OK for you. I think the bigger potential issue is your proximity to the airport, as someone recently reported reception problems that might be related to all the things going on there. I don't have any direct experience with that sort of environment, but wouldn't think the attic or roof mount option is going to make a major difference one way or another.

In general, a Channel Master or Winegard should be good. Others have reported good results with the Radio Shack antennas. Whatever you do, you should buy UHF-only, as that will result in better reception. All STL digitals are in the UHF band.

Do a search on Winegard, Channel Master (or CM4228) specifically for the OTA forum here. A good place to buy an antenna is Skywalker Communications in O'Fallon, though someone recently reported that they are having trouble getting CM stock.

RG-6 cable should do the trick -- also available at Skywalker for around $50 for a 1000-ft spool, though I appreciate that sort of quantity is likely to be overkill.

Doug

Clearly Resolved Image & Sound
Lion AV Consultants
ISF & THX Video Calibration
Real-time Twitter Home Theater News
DroptheRemote is offline  
post #79 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 03:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
zvogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow Doug, you're FAST.
zvogt is offline  
post #80 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DroptheRemote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by zvogt
Doug here in the St. Louis sub-section of the forum has a source
for antennas I believe. And it would be good karma to throw a
little business to the local folks.

Here, here -- by all means let's support local businesses...

[End of semi-shameless (but serious) pandering]

Doug

Clearly Resolved Image & Sound
Lion AV Consultants
ISF & THX Video Calibration
Real-time Twitter Home Theater News
DroptheRemote is offline  
post #81 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DroptheRemote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Zac,

I must have some sort of forum karma going just at the moment.

Last night wschwartz and I posted about the KSDK HD promos within seconds of each other.

Doug

Clearly Resolved Image & Sound
Lion AV Consultants
ISF & THX Video Calibration
Real-time Twitter Home Theater News
DroptheRemote is offline  
post #82 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 07:42 PM
Member
 
P8nter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ofallon , Mo
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone getting Enterprise on UPN in HD.

Fitz
P8nter is offline  
post #83 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr_Bester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis MO USA
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
P8nter,
Not in St. Louis. The local UPN still isn't broadcasting HD. It's mentioned in earlier threads, but I think it may have been the October or November thread(some of the longest we've had in my memory).
Haven't seen you before, so welcome.
Dug
Mr_Bester is offline  
post #84 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 09:06 PM
Member
 
P8nter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ofallon , Mo
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mr_Bester,
Thanks, Ive been around for awhile, just not in this section much. Nice thread.

Fitz
P8nter is offline  
post #85 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 09:21 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
zvogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rather than retype the info here, I'll just provide this link to the bad news about my LCoS.


Doug, I'll send you a PM to discuss what this may or may not mean about your visit.
zvogt is offline  
post #86 of 19496 Old 12-12-2003, 11:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
BGPGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see a lot of breakups and audio drops on my Charter HD channels. My 5100 says it has solid 50 ("good") AGC and SNR fluctuates between 31 and 33 (between "good" and "fair"). I think these are decent numbers.

I have a triple splitter. 1st line on triple goes to a double with one set active off it. 2nd line goes to a TV, third goes to an amp, which in turn goes to another 1x2 splitter (HDTV is off this one). Quite the mess, but I put a cable drop in each room in my newly finished basement. All of them use RG6 with first tri-splitter (Charter provided) being 120db 5-100MHz splitter, the the amp is one of those RCA ones (50-900MHz), and the dual splitter to the 5100/HDTV is a 4db 1GHz splitter. I have a mix of gold and silver twist connectors I made myself on these cables (shielding over casing each one, with twist on over it).

Is something in my chain not up to spec for HDTV? Is there something I can check with a meter? Should I just call Charter? Anyone else have video breakup and audio drops?

Thanks in advance!

"The Internet .... It's a series of tubes....I just the other day got, an internet was sent by my staff at 10 o'clock in the morning on Friday and I just got it yesterday. Why?"
--Senator T. Stevens
BGPGuy is offline  
post #87 of 19496 Old 12-13-2003, 07:38 AM
Newbie
 
Wyse Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: City of St. Louis - Princeton Heights
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Everyone,
I also have been lurking around for a several weeks. I recently visited a CC on a mission to buy a 32" Flat Tube and came home with a 50" RCA Plasma. Now I am fully engaged in replacing my home theater system.
My first question is which form of HD TV to subscribe to.
Currently I have DirecTivo, which of course, has no HDTV option. There is speculation that HD DirecTivo will be available as early as January '04 or as late as Dec '04.
I was considering buying a HNS HD DirecTV receiver for as a temporary solution but I hate to spend the $$ on something I am surely going to replace within a year.
Another option is to go Charter Digital cable but Charter is not offering HDTV in my area until February.
I guess my questions are:
Which produces a better signal DirecTv HD or Charter Digital Cable HD?
Can anyone suggest an inexpensive DirecTv HD Receiver with OTA capability?
Should I just buy an inexpensive OTA receiver as a stop gap?
Any and all comments welcome!

Wyse Guy
Wyse Guy is offline  
post #88 of 19496 Old 12-13-2003, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
cdhouch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North St. Louis County
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by zvogt
What kind of goofiness is up with WB11?
There are two distinct KPLR digital broadcasts running concurrently right now.
One mapped to 11-1, and another simultaneous stream mapping to 75-1.

Hmm I can't seem to find the 75-1 channel, what is its UHF actual channel number? Channel 26 aka 11-1 is just showing a black screen to me, even though the channel signal is at 100%. :/

Wait a tic, someone with XX chromosomes in an AVS forum?!?
cdhouch is offline  
post #89 of 19496 Old 12-13-2003, 08:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DroptheRemote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wyse Guy,

Congrats on the RCA plasma. I just calibrated one of these on Tuesday and was surprised to find that it was, as best I could tell, electronically identical to the Pioneer Elite plasmas that I've calibrated -- and the Elites carry a $17,000 MSRP, though they more typically sell for around $10,000.

On the choice of HD sources, this is a tough question to answer definitively, but you'd be well-served spending an afternoon reading through the STL threads for the past couple of months. There's been a LOT of discussion on this subject here.

As far as image quality between Charter and DirecTV, I have DirecTV at home but based on what I have seen on customer calls, there's not a substantial difference between DTV and Charter. That might change over time, but for now the quality is very good regardless of which way you go.

The real issue, it seems, is quantity, and Charter seems to be doing its level best to leave customers to completely guess what its plans are for additional programming. It is supposed to begin charging for its HD package in the New Year, but I suspect that any attempt to do that without matching the DISH and DirecTV offering is going to result in defections.

Personally, I think you should just bite the bullet and buy a full-fledged DirecTV HD receiver and begin to really enjoy the investment you've made in your new display. When the DirecTivo HD box comes along, you can sell the old DTV HD box on eBay or by posting here. Maybe you lose $100 or $150 in the interim, but that cost is likely to be spread across at least 6 months.

With the impending approval of the DirecTV sale to News Corp. and the fact that News Corp. already has a relationship with a different PVR manufacturer, I suspect that the delivery of DirecTivo will get bogged down further.

Bear in mind, that's just my opinion, based on my own reading of what's happening with TiVo and DirecTV.

Doug

Clearly Resolved Image & Sound
Lion AV Consultants
ISF & THX Video Calibration
Real-time Twitter Home Theater News
DroptheRemote is offline  
post #90 of 19496 Old 12-13-2003, 08:34 AM
Newbie
 
Wyse Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: City of St. Louis - Princeton Heights
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Doug!
I appreciate your input. I have been leaning toward "biting the bullet" with HD DirecTV and going with the HNS E86. DirecTV has a $399 special that seems to be a good deal.
I love my RCA Plasma. I have not seen any posts on the AVS forum discussing RCA so I was hesitant at first.
I would like your opinion on another question. The TV that I bought was a floor model (The price was too good to pass up at sub $4000). My best guess is that it was on display for around 9 months. Is there any testing I can do to insure that there is no burn in or other problems? So far I have not observed any anomalies in the picture quality. I still have 3 weeks to return it.

Thanks again!

Wyse Guy
Wyse Guy is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off