Chicago, IL - OTA - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 12163 Old 07-19-2007, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasgresea View Post

I have a old antenna on the roof of my house. It worked fine with my old analog TV. Could please anyone tell me that antenna will work with a HDTV or not? Do I need to replace it or do any other things to make it work with a HDTV?

If you got very good to excellent reception on your analog set, chances are very good you'll have solid signals with your HDTV. Just make sure your HDTV is just that...an HDTV, that is, with a "digital tuner".

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 12163 Old 07-19-2007, 08:25 PM
Newbie
 
Steve ota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gilberts, IL
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay... Here's my update, any help would be appreciated.

I replaced my RS VU90 with the VU190 on wednesday and I was able to get a WBBM signal around 10 to 20%. Today it went away all together so I bought the rs 15-2507 signal amplifier. Current signal strengths:

5.1 - 90 to 100%
7.1 - 90 to 100%
9.1 - 70 to 90%
11.1 - 100%
26.1 - 70 to 90%
32.1 - 70 to 80%
38.1 - 90 to 100%
44.1 - 80%
50.1 - 80 to 100%
60.1 - 80%
62.1 - 40 to 50%
66.1 - 60%
And of course absolutely no signal for 2.1 WBBM

Why did all my other signals increase with the booster except 2.1?

I'm on a mission now!
Steve ota is offline  
post #633 of 12163 Old 07-19-2007, 10:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve ota View Post

Okay... Here's my update, any help would be appreciated.

I replaced my RS VU90 with the VU190 on wednesday and I was able to get a WBBM signal around 10 to 20%. Today it went away all together so I bought the rs 15-2507 signal amplifier. Current signal strengths:

5.1 - 90 to 100%
7.1 - 90 to 100%
9.1 - 70 to 90%
11.1 - 100%
26.1 - 70 to 90%
32.1 - 70 to 80%
38.1 - 90 to 100%
44.1 - 80%
50.1 - 80 to 100%
60.1 - 80%
62.1 - 40 to 50%
66.1 - 60%
And of course absolutely no signal for 2.1 WBBM

Why did all my other signals increase with the booster except 2.1?

I'm on a mission now!

Steve,

I wrote a huge list of what could be the problem. Only getting 20 hours of sleep this week due to working severe weather (I'm a meteorologist at NIU out in DeKalb) has made my brain turn to mush. But one brain cell finally woke up long enough to make me realize exactly what the problem is.

You live in Gilberts! You live at the home to WHYY-FM (103.9). Oh sure, it says they're in Dundee, but that's the town they serve. The actual 3,000 watt blowtorch that's killing you is the ~300' tower that's right behind the baseball diamond just north of 72 and on the west side of the railroad tracks. Those two devil's pitchfork thingy's sticking out of the west side near the top of the tower is their antenna. FM stations less than 5 miles away can and usually do interfere like crazy with channels 2-6. Your amp does have a variable FM attenuator. You need to make sure it is set so that it filters out FM signals. It quite possibly may be letting FM signals in fully. If it is, not only are you getting nuked by 103.9, but the amp is making things even worse!

Now, if you have the attenuation on at maximum, then you need a second FM trap, like one person in Gilberts needed that I helped a year or two ago.
They used to sell them at Radio Shack for $5; alas, they no longer do. They have them at Tri State Electronic up near Arlington Heights (http://www.tselectronic.com), or you can grab one online from them:

https://www.tselectronic.com/winegard/ft7500.html

I bet if you had an analog TV, channel 2 would just be loaded with interference. Make sure the trap is "in", or perhaps the knob or screw turned all the way to the right on your current amplifier, before you try this. See if that helps, then report back.

Just out of curiosity, try punching in these channels if you can do so manually (on most TV's, you have to scan for a channel or it won't let you tune it):

41-1
42-1
16-1
54-1

These are all Rockford stations. Let me know what you get, and we'll take it from there. BTW, that Radio Shack amp isn't very good. A better one at slightly more cost can be had at http://www.warrenelectronics.com/antennas/7777.htm .
I order through them, and this amp is considered one of the best consumer-grade ones out there. I know, I own one and have installed several.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #634 of 12163 Old 07-20-2007, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
We're getting closer to having our first low-power digital TV station from Chicago hitting the airwaves. WWME-LD is scheduled to have the transmitter VERY tentatively installed August13 (but that can easily be delayed, and has been delayed already), but there is no date when the transmission line and broadcast antenna is due to be installed. That said, it looks like they'll have it on by the end of the year.

What I wish they would do is what they did for their analog channel. When WWME-CA (the low power analog channel 23) first signed on, they had a contest to see who could pick it up the furthest, and I think someone got $$$ for a prize.

Would they consider doing this again? Please? Even if it's a $10 gift card to Joe's Hot Dog Stand somewhere?

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #635 of 12163 Old 07-20-2007, 09:04 AM
Member
 
bakers12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago - Western Suburbs
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

We're getting closer to having our first low-power digital TV station from Chicago hitting the airwaves. WWME-LD is scheduled to have the transmitter VERY tentatively installed August 6 (but that can easily be delayed), but there is no date when the transmission line and broadcast antenna is due to be installed. That said, it looks like they'll have it on by the end of the year.

Does this mean that they will move off of channel 26-2?
bakers12 is online now  
post #636 of 12163 Old 07-20-2007, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakers12 View Post

Does this mean that they will move off of channel 26-2?

I updated my post above to note that it has now been pushed back 1 week (told ya it would probably be delayed). HVS has stated that 26-2 stays for now, so you're good to go. However, if they do HD, the only place to see it in HD would be 23-1 once it hits the air.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #637 of 12163 Old 07-20-2007, 12:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Are they going to be HD?

If they will be 720p or 1080i, even though they won't have anything in actual HD, it should still look real good.

Those high school basketball games should actually become watchable, then.

(At least all the Trekkie geeks will be ecstatic if they show ST in HD .)
Rammitinski is offline  
post #638 of 12163 Old 07-20-2007, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

Are they going to be HD?

If they will be 720p or 1080i, even though they won't have anything in actual HD, it should still look real good.

Those high school basketball games should actually become watchable, then.

(At least all the Trekkie geeks will be ecstatic if they show ST in HD .)

Not HD anytime soon.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #639 of 12163 Old 07-20-2007, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

.

What I wish they would do is what they did for their analog channel. When WWME-CA (the low power analog channel 23) first signed on, they had a contest to see who could pick it up the furthest, and I think someone got $$$ for a prize.

Would they consider doing this again? Please? Even if it's a $10 gift card to Joe's Hot Dog Stand somewhere?

How about an autographed picture??

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #640 of 12163 Old 07-20-2007, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvs10trk View Post

How about an autographed picture??

Sure! Pamela Anderson pictures are worth a fortune on Ebay.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #641 of 12163 Old 07-21-2007, 10:19 AM
Member
 
zippyfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Western Suburbs of Chicago, IL
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone had any trouble with WGN over the past two days? I have been watching the Cubs games, and the signal has been about 90% then all of a sudden drops to 0% (losing picture/sound, and I get an error saying weak or no signal), then jumps back to 90%. And it is doing approximately every 10 seconds. What could be causing this? Ever since the storms earlier this week, I have had this problem with WGN. My antenna is indoor, so I don't think that is the problem...
zippyfrog is offline  
post #642 of 12163 Old 07-21-2007, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by zippyfrog View Post

Has anyone had any trouble with WGN over the past two days? I have been watching the Cubs games, and the signal has been about 90% then all of a sudden drops to 0% (losing picture/sound, and I get an error saying weak or no signal), then jumps back to 90%. And it is doing approximately every 10 seconds. What could be causing this? Ever since the storms earlier this week, I have had this problem with WGN. My antenna is indoor, so I don't think that is the problem...

Frog,

You have a ribbiting problem! Hey, with material like that, I better not quit my day job...

Do you have an analog TV hooked up to your antenna? I forgot if you do or not. If you can, try channel 20. If it's got "ghosts", you've got a multipath problem (got a tree or a branch in the way now, or is there one on the roof?). If you see "pops" of interference, it could be from a power line damaged in the recent storm,
or another electrical device that was trashed causing spurious interference. Also, a wet roof changes the physical properties of it, and a damp roof can indeed produce significant multipath.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #643 of 12163 Old 07-21-2007, 10:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
This is one of the channels, along with "V-Me", that was supposed to have launched last August. This channel contains documentaries, news, and other supposed non-fiction programming from PBS.

http://hd.broadcastnewsroom.com/arti....jsp?id=160813

Oh, it's not in HD. And Chicago isn't initially on the list of stations to get it. But I bet WYIN-DT might carry it. Because several shows on this new channel are also shown on WTTW, they won't let WYCC-DT carry it. And WTTW is out of room to carry more channels, unless they drop their HD feed. So I bet WYIN-DT would
become the only local outlet for it, if they decide to pick it up.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #644 of 12163 Old 07-24-2007, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
R Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

... Because several shows on this new channel are also shown on WTTW, they won't let WYCC-DT carry it....

Can you explain why WTTW has this power or control?

In regard to WTTW, I recently send Dan Schmidt a letter about their programming priorities for 11-1. They showed the first three (of six) operas shot in High Definition from the Metropolitan Opera on 11-1, but NOT the final three. Of course I realize that this is a minority interest but there are a LOT of repeats on 11-1.

When I checked the upcoming schedule I found: " HairWorld: The Pursuit of Excellence / Wednesday, August 1, 7:00pm / CHANNEL 11.1 (WTTW-DT) / Highlights of the 2006 International HairWorld Championships for hairstylists, in Moscow."

There's no room in the 11-1 schedule for the Metropolitan Opera, but there's room for hairstyling contests?
R Johnson is online now  
post #645 of 12163 Old 07-24-2007, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Johnson View Post

.................

There's no room in the 11-1 schedule for the Metropolitan Opera, but there's room for hairstyling contests?

They are thinking of their viewers. The hairstyling contest requires less bandwidth than the opera and will give their gizzillion sub-channels more bits.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #646 of 12163 Old 07-24-2007, 03:35 PM
Member
 
spiaget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been reading all the posts on here, as i just got into the HD world, not 100% but i have an HD tuner on on non-HDTV via the TviX M-4100SH...well long story short, i can watch some HD channels though i know its not truly HD but ill take it, one step at a time.
I am having some trouble with my radioshack antenna it seems, its an indoor VHF/UHF/HD/FM antenna that i got, and i get all around good signals for all the channels (NOT CBS of course as i have read on here is the hardest to get). however from time to time, the signal drops out and as a result freezes my TViX, any suggestions to perhaps improve strength??
Drops usually happen when the train near my house goes by!
spiaget is offline  
post #647 of 12163 Old 07-24-2007, 06:56 PM
Member
 
bakers12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago - Western Suburbs
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiaget View Post

I am having some trouble with my radioshack antenna it seems, its an indoor VHF/UHF/HD/FM antenna that i got, and i get all around good signals for all the channels (NOT CBS of course as i have read on here is the hardest to get). however from time to time, the signal drops out and as a result freezes my TViX, any suggestions to perhaps improve strength??
Drops usually happen when the train near my house goes by!

Please supply your zip code and I'll look on antennaweb.org or you can check for yourself. This will give an idea of what you're up against.

Can you see the train from where you're at? If you can, your antenna may be getting an echo off the train. This causes multipath and degrades the signal. Something more directional may be needed, but that usually means bigger.
bakers12 is online now  
post #648 of 12163 Old 07-24-2007, 08:33 PM
Member
 
spiaget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ZIp is 60639, and yes i can see the tracks and the train as it goes by.
I think you might be on to something with the echo off the train!
spiaget is offline  
post #649 of 12163 Old 07-24-2007, 08:55 PM
Member
 
bakers12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago - Western Suburbs
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Antennaweb.org shows that you're about 7 miles from the transmitters, except for channel 56.1 in Gary.

* yellow - uhf WYCC-DT 20.1 PBS CHICAGO IL 104° 6.9 21
* yellow - uhf WTTW-DT 11.1 PBS CHICAGO IL 117° 6.7 47
* yellow - uhf WPWR-DT 50.1 MNT GARY IN 117° 6.7 51
* yellow - uhf WLS-DT 7.1 ABC CHICAGO IL 117° 6.7 52
* yellow - uhf WMAQ-DT 5.1 NBC CHICAGO IL 117° 6.7 29
* yellow - uhf WSNS-DT 44.1 TEL CHICAGO IL 117° 6.7 45
* yellow - uhf WGBO-DT 66.1 UNI JOLIET IL 104° 6.9 53
* yellow - uhf WGN-DT 9.1 CW CHICAGO IL 117° 6.7 19
* yellow - vhf WBBM-DT 2.1 CBS CHICAGO IL 104° 6.9 3
* yellow - uhf WFLD-DT 32.1 FOX CHICAGO IL 117° 6.7 31
* yellow - uhf WXFT-DT 60.1 TFA AURORA IL 117° 6.7 59
* yellow - uhf WCIU-DT 26.1 IND CHICAGO IL 117° 6.7 27
* yellow - uhf WCPX-DT 38.1 ION CHICAGO IL 117° 6.7 43
* red - uhf WJYS-DT 62.1 REL HAMMOND IN 117° 6.7 36
* violet - uhf WYIN-DT 56.1 PBS GARY IN 158° 43.4 17

Many people like the Philips Silver Sensor at that range. It's UHF only so forget about channel 2.1. It's fairly directional so it should help reduce the multipath.

I've tried a Winegard Sharpshooter and it almost works out here in Lombard. It's good at dealing with multipath but it runs about $90 with shipping and it looks something like a weather radar station.
bakers12 is online now  
post #650 of 12163 Old 07-24-2007, 09:27 PM
Member
 
spiaget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lol at the Winegard, i have no doubt that something like that or the Channel Master 4228 with their area mounted on the roof will solve my signal problems...what does yellow mean in those listings, and thanks for the help.
spiaget is offline  
post #651 of 12163 Old 07-24-2007, 09:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Johnson View Post

Can you explain why WTTW has this power or control?

There's no room in the 11-1 schedule for the Metropolitan Opera, but there's room for hairstyling contests?

Answer #1: $$$$. They get most of the money from donations from PBS in this 3-PBS station market.

Answer #2: That I do not know. They might be waiting for the fall season. I've seen stuff in SD on 11-2 that appears in HD months later on 11-1. Since that is mostly a PBS-HD feed, I don't know why they didn't carry the last 3. Unless WTTW pre-empted them. I couldn't tell you if they did, or why.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #652 of 12163 Old 07-24-2007, 09:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiaget View Post

lol at the Winegard, i have no doubt that something like that or the Channel Master 4228 with their area mounted on the roof will solve my signal problems...what does yellow mean in those listings, and thanks for the help.

Spiaget,

The good Baker is right about trains causing multipath. I know of someone who lived next to the Metra tracks near Glen Ellyn, I believe...same problem. That's the worst kind of multipath because it is highly variable at any given moment.

The yellow refers to the type of antenna you'll need to get the station(s) clearly.
That size is a small suburban-type antenna. But it assumes you don't live near tracks. If you have an antenna that gets everything except when trains roll by, the only thing you can do is try to go bigger (more directional) and higher.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #653 of 12163 Old 07-25-2007, 06:26 AM
Member
 
bakers12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago - Western Suburbs
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiaget View Post

lol at the Winegard, i have no doubt that something like that or the Channel Master 4228 with their area mounted on the roof will solve my signal problems...what does yellow mean in those listings, and thanks for the help.

The Sharpshooter (not Square Shooter) is an indoor antenna, but I'd try to put it out of sight because it's odd-looking. It's very good with multipath problems, though. It was designed with city apartments in mind.
bakers12 is online now  
post #654 of 12163 Old 07-25-2007, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
R Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

Answer #1: $$$$. They get most of the money from donations from PBS in this 3-PBS station market.

This implies that stations bid for PBS material and only one station can carry a program. Is that really the case?

A few years ago WTTW quit carrying "Charlie Rose". I then found that WYCC was showing that program. And WYCC started getting my donations, with less to WTTW. And now WTTW is showing "Charlie Rose" again... BTW, I believe that C.R. is self funded, and stations don't have to pay to carry it.

BTW, today's Tribune is plugging the HairWorld show as one of two "Shows of Note Today." (NTSC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

Answer #2: That I do not know. They might be waiting for the fall season. I've seen stuff in SD on 11-2 that appears in HD months later on 11-1. Since that is mostly a PBS-HD feed, I don't know why they didn't carry the last 3. Unless WTTW pre-empted them. I couldn't tell you if they did, or why.

I wont give up hope then...
R Johnson is online now  
post #655 of 12163 Old 07-25-2007, 04:37 PM
Member
 
spiaget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help guys, i think im stuck, unless i move, cant really mount anything on the wall, so ill just look to perhaps bolster the signal to reduce the possibility of dropouts....or something!
appreciate it
spiaget is offline  
post #656 of 12163 Old 07-25-2007, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Johnson View Post

This implies that stations bid for PBS material and only one station can carry a program. Is that really the case?

A few years ago WTTW quit carrying "Charlie Rose". I then found that WYCC was showing that program. And WYCC started getting my donations, with less to WTTW. And now WTTW is showing "Charlie Rose" again... BTW, I believe that C.R. is self funded, and stations don't have to pay to carry it.

BTW, today's Tribune is plugging the HairWorld show as one of two "Shows of Note Today." (NTSC)


I wont give up hope then...

It doesn't mean that the same show can air on PBS stations, but WTTW
makes sure that doesn't happen often. And don't give up hope on the Met yet!

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #657 of 12163 Old 07-25-2007, 09:13 PM
Member
 
bakers12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago - Western Suburbs
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiaget View Post

Thanks for the help guys, i think im stuck, unless i move, cant really mount anything on the wall, so ill just look to perhaps bolster the signal to reduce the possibility of dropouts....or something!
appreciate it

Some people (like me, once) think an antenna amplifier will help here. Just in case you're thinking of it (like I did), don't. It's not going to help and it costs you $$.
bakers12 is online now  
post #658 of 12163 Old 07-25-2007, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UncD2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mount Prospect, IL
Posts: 2,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish WGN and WCIU could stop carrying road games of the Cubs & Sox. The PQ is usually terrible. It would be an improvement to give them all to Comcast SportsNet HD which usually is able to obtain a widescreen feed. While not HD, the quality is good and a big improvement over WGN & WCIU.

UncD2000
UncD2000 is offline  
post #659 of 12163 Old 07-26-2007, 07:18 AM
Member
 
mklawz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone. I only visit when I need help so my questions may seem basic...

Well last night I lost all my OTA reception. Never had this happen in the 2 or 3 months since I installed the antenna in the attic. It was out for about an hour or so. Does this happen occasionally? If so, why? Or may there be something wrong with mine in particular? Thanks.
mklawz is offline  
post #660 of 12163 Old 07-26-2007, 08:15 AM
Member
 
spiaget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakers12 View Post

Some people (like me, once) think an antenna amplifier will help here. Just in case you're thinking of it (like I did), don't. It's not going to help and it costs you $$.

Will keep that in mind, thanks for the savings; im considering other options

Cheers
spiaget is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off