Chicago, IL - OTA - Page 320 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2010, 01:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvropro View Post

I applaud 26 for all the additions...

I did, too - up until the last subchannel or two.

What is going to be shown on this new channel that they couldn't have found room for on the other ones?
Rammitinski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-15-2010, 07:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
LithOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gilbert, could you explain the weather that caused some pretty strong tropo last night and this morning? I didn't do any dxing, but I saw the Hepburn map, and all of the Milwaukees were rockin'. Isn't this very unusual when it's this cold?
LithOTA is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
LithOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Once again, with the Bears and Packers both playing in prime-time, there are no extra games to be had this week. I think the PM'sNFLST strategy works better when the nearby teams are playing poorly, and don't get prime-time or "flex" consideration. Oh well, at least the Bears can wrap up the division, if the Packers lose and the Bears win- that is, if the Vikings can actually provide a place to play the game. TCF Bank stadium is not a done deal, and even if it is, there are going to be some issues (beer sales, stadium preparation, and what to do with the 13,000 ticketholders for whom there are no seats).

CBS Early-
Jacksonville (8-5) vs Indianapolis (7-6): All area CBS affiliates

FOX Early-
Philadelphia (9-4) vs NY Giants (9-4): WFLD-32, WITI-6, WQRF-39, WSJV-28, WMSN-47
Detroit (3-10) vs Tampa Bay (8-5): WXMI-17

CBS Late-
NY Jets (9-4) vs Pittsburgh (10-3): All area CBS affiliates

FOX Late-
Atlanta (11-2) vs Seattle (6-7): WXIN-59 way down in Indy (good luck!)
LithOTA is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 09:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
LithOTA, did you get my e-mail requesting new TSReader from WCIU? Not in a hurry, just making sure I got it to you.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Old 12-15-2010, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
LithOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

LithOTA, did you get my e-mail requesting new TSReader from WCIU? Not in a hurry, just making sure I got it to you.

- Trip

I don't think I did, but I'll get that for you. Do you want a before/after?
LithOTA is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
SycamoreSeej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LithOTA View Post

Gilbert, could you explain the weather that caused some pretty strong tropo last night and this morning? I didn't do any dxing, but I saw the Hepburn map, and all of the Milwaukees were rockin'. Isn't this very unusual when it's this cold?

I was wondering that too. I rescanned due to the WCIU change-up, and got all of my Madison stations back. Some things work out perfect!

Now in NE Tucson, AZ with a cheap rabbit ears antenna. Got everything except KTTU (MyNetwork).
SycamoreSeej is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 12:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by LithOTA View Post
I don't think I did, but I'll get that for you. Do you want a before/after?
Just an after is fine. I already have the before.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Old 12-15-2010, 12:38 PM
Member
 
CHEBANSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,

I am moving and dont want to move my self-supporting tower of 28ft. It is in poor shape and would only end up being 23+/- feet when installed. I have several neighbors with towers not being used that I could approach but I am looking for an economical solution for ground mount with house stablization at about 12 feet. My wife won't allow guyed wires. I have seen Rohn and Channel Master telescopic. Has any one tried w/o guyed. I have an Winegard 8200HD and want to go approx 30 ft up.

Thanks
CHEBANSE is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
HomeNow2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you help???

Chicago SW burbs here....had Basic Comcast, tech came in the summer to install a 'card' in the TV so that the new TiVo would work. After the tech came we started getting Basic Service AND Expanded Basic because tech did something with a filter?!?!?

Anyways, yesterday morning everything magically switched back to Basic Service. ANY insight on what I can do on my end to get the Expanded back.....other than calling the cable company?

Thanks!
HomeNow2 is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 29
The PSIP channel name for 26.2, which carries UToo, is FBT.  I hope that that will be fixed.

So 23.1, 23.2, and 23.3 are all from RF39 now, and 48.1 is gone, so RF27 is carrying only 26.1 through 26.5, and there aren't any more RF channels in this market spread over two or more virtual major channels; nor are there any more virtual major channels in this market shared by two or more RF channels except for 7.x, which has nothing to do with Weigel.
dattier is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 02:47 PM
Member
 
drhey19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Homer Glen, IL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeNow2 View Post

Can you help???

Chicago SW burbs here....had Basic Comcast, tech came in the summer to install a 'card' in the TV so that the new TiVo would work. After the tech came we started getting Basic Service AND Expanded Basic because tech did something with a filter?!?!?

Anyways, yesterday morning everything magically switched back to Basic Service. ANY insight on what I can do on my end to get the Expanded back.....other than calling the cable company?

Thanks!

There's a Comcast Chicago thread on here, here's the link http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...55885&page=327
This thread is for broadcast TV in the Chicago area. However, my guess is that Comcast finally went digital only in the SW suburbs, which requires a basic level DTA box in order to see the expanded basic channels. I know they were planning on making the transition in the Evergreen Park/Mt. Greenwood/Oak Lawn area for quite some time. The analog filters they use don't regulate digital signals. They are controlled through the pairing of the digital boxes to their head end.

If I were you, I'd just invest in a decent OTA rooftop antenna as well as a preamp and drop the Comcast basic. That way, you get a few more channels, better quality HD, and no monthly fee. It will all work with your TiVo too.

I spend more time thinking and talking about TV then I actually do watching it.
drhey19 is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Another change today, this one for WGN: the placeholding test pattern for Antenna TV is now PSIPped to 9.2 instead of its raw channel number 19.4 and it has the PSIP name "Antenna."

And for some reason I'm not getting update notices (for the first new post after each of my visits) for this thread, though it still comes up as already subscribed, and in all my other subscribed threads I'm still receiving them ...
dattier is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 05:51 PM
Member
 
zzzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dattier View Post

The PSIP channel name for 26.2, which carries UToo, is FBT.* I hope that that will be fixed.

So 23.1, 23.2, and 23.3 are all from RF39 now, and 48.1 is gone, so RF27 is carrying only 26.1 through 26.5, and there aren't any more RF channels in this market spread over two or more virtual major channels; nor are there any more virtual major channels in this market shared by two or more RF channels except for 7.x, which has nothing to do with Weigel.

Dropping those double-mappings of 48.1/23.1 from RF27 was a good idea (as I would just end up deleting them after every channel scan anyway).

Now if they'd just do something useful with RF39. Nobody needs 3 identical copies of what we're already getting on RF27. Running the Me/MeToo programming time-shifted by a few hours -- so there'd be several different shows running at the same time would put RF39 to much better use.
zzzzz is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
LithOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zzzzz View Post


Dropping those double-mappings of 48.1/23.1 from RF27 was a good idea (as I would just end up deleting them after every channel scan anyway).

Now if they'd just do something useful with RF39. Nobody needs 3 identical copies of what we're already getting on RF27. Running the Me/MeToo programming time-shifted by a few hours -- so there'd be several different shows running at the same time would put RF39 to much better use.

Amen to that. The RF39 signal is golden out here at 45 miles, so why not use it like a full-power?
LithOTA is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 12:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone else getting channel 4-2817 ?
it seems to be the same audio feed as 13-2 (WOCH) but with no picture feed..i just get some kind of screen saver

AVS Forum Fold@Home Team Enter Team # 55280 when u download
surf_fun85 is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 12:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by surf_fun85 View Post

anyone else getting channel 4-2817 ?
it seems to be the same audio feed as 13-2 (WOCH) but with no picture feed..i just get some kind of screen saver

I'm getting it with 13.2's audio and a blank screen.
dattier is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:03 AM
Senior Member
 
re_nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has WOCK increased to 810 watts yet? If so, how does it come in at your location in Chicagoland?

When I was last visiting Chicago (Glen Ellyn last summer), I caught WOCK with a Terk HDTVa connected to a DTX-9950 CECB I carry with me when traveling for DXing and to watch local TV. The only area station I didn't get with that setup was WYIN.

Speaking of low power facilities, I got WLFM's 87.7 MHz signal to just beyond the I-55 bridge over the Des Plaines River while driving back to Dallas.
re_nelson is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 03:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dattier View Post

The PSIP channel name for 26.2, which carries UToo, is FBT.* I hope that that will be fixed.

So 23.1, 23.2, and 23.3 are all from RF39 now, and 48.1 is gone, so RF27 is carrying only 26.1 through 26.5, and there aren't any more RF channels in this market spread over two or more virtual major channels; nor are there any more virtual major channels in this market shared by two or more RF channels except for 7.x, which has nothing to do with Weigel.

26.2 will change to U Too once it has officially launched.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 04:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Just an after is fine. I already have the before.

Isn't it variable?
Rammitinski is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 04:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by surf_fun85 View Post

anyone else getting channel 4-2817 ?

4-2817? Are you talking about ATSC or QAM?
Rammitinski is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

Isn't it variable?

Variable and allocations haven't changed.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by LithOTA View Post

Gilbert, could you explain the weather that caused some pretty strong tropo last night and this morning? I didn't do any dxing, but I saw the Hepburn map, and all of the Milwaukees were rockin'. Isn't this very unusual when it's this cold?

Really quick: While signals travel less far in cold, you can still have somewhat significant tropo events if there is warm air aloft. We had temperatures up around 40 degrees, and colder at ground level...allowwing for some tropo to kick in. You won't be getting Detroit or Cedar Rapids with it, but at least "local tropo", if you will, can happen.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 09:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

Isn't it variable?

Yeah, but it's also nearly impossible to tell what the range of bitrates is without the paid version of TSReader, so I usually wind up with an average value, which is okay.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Old 12-16-2010, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Markxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LithOTA View Post

Amen to that. The RF39 signal is golden out here at 45 miles, so why not use it like a full-power?

Because I live three miles from Willis (Sears) Tower and can't get the signal at all. Unless you have an outside antenna, the buildings in Chicago are dense enough to make getting any full power station a challenge.

I can receive analog 23 and 48 nearly perfectly clear. I have never been able to get digital 23 (RF39) even as close as a mile away with a silver sensor pointed directly at the Willis Tower.
Markxxx is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 10:34 AM
Member
 
Markxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This morning I checked analog 23 and it isn't on. It was last night. I still get analog 48
Markxxx is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 10:36 AM
Member
 
zzzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LithOTA View Post

Amen to that. The RF39 signal is golden out here at 45 miles, so why not use it like a full-power?

Or - if they can't timeshift Me/MeToo, how about using it for an HD version of This-TV (That-HD?).

Heck, even using one of the RF39 subchannels to just show a continual weather radar screen would be better than what they're doing with it now.
zzzzz is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markxxx View Post

This morning I checked analog 23 and it isn't on. It was last night. I still get analog 48

Analog 23's transmitter is offline and will be back shortly.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Yeah, but it's also nearly impossible to tell what the range of bitrates is without the paid version of TSReader, so I usually wind up with an average value, which is okay.

- Trip

I could tell you what the range's are, but I'd have to........ummmm.........

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 11:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvs10trk View Post

I could tell you what the range's are, but I'd have to........ummmm.........

I'm sure if I really wanted to know, I could spend about $100 and find out.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Old 12-16-2010, 11:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Also, is 26-2 still in 352x480i? Somehow I thought that would get bumped up to 704x480i when the change happened.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off