Chicago, IL - OTA - Page 365 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10921 of 12175 Old 01-09-2012, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
cgmv123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

The one exception is your local team (in our case, the Bears) are playing on those nights. Then, the games get shown on a local TV station, in an auction done by the NFL to the highest bidder. Last year, WPWR paid $750,000 to show one game. I'm sure prices are similar this year.

Exception: Hearst-Argyle ABC stations and ABC O&O's get right of first refusal for Monday Night Games, because of their parent company's relationship with ESPN.

WLS usually waives their rights because ABC and Disney don't want Dancing with the Stars to not air live in the nation's #3 market, so it goes to the highest bidder.

But, WISN in Milwaukee never waives their rights. Other stations couldn't get the games no matter how deep their pockets are.

Max Vrany
All opinions are my own unless otherwise specified.
I make no guarantees as to the accuracy of any information given.
GO Pack GO! On Wisconsin! Go Brewers!
cgmv123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10922 of 12175 Old 01-10-2012, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
dicko2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone use MCE? MCE gives me the "no signal' blue screen on ch7.

Has Ch7 died for anyone else?

My other non-MCE tuner works just fine.

Edit: I hate it when this happens... After an hour long outage its back to normal now. I didnt do anything so it must have been the station.
dicko2 is offline  
post #10923 of 12175 Old 01-10-2012, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just saw Rob Feder post this over on TimeOutChicago.com:

Quote:


The new year brought a new look to Chicago's top-rated Spanish-language television station. Univision WGBO-Channel 66 converted its news operation to HD and unveiled a new set for Noticias Univision Chicago, the 5 and 10pm newcasts anchored by Jorge Barbosa and Angelica Atondo. It is important for our station to remain ahead of the curve when it comes to reporting news to our viewers, news director Marisol Seda said in a statement.


Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
post #10924 of 12175 Old 01-11-2012, 12:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicko2 View Post

Anyone use MCE? MCE gives me the "no signal' blue screen on ch7.

Has Ch7 died for anyone else?

My other non-MCE tuner works just fine.

Edit: I hate it when this happens... After an hour long outage its back to normal now. I didnt do anything so it must have been the station.

It was the station
Mike Caplan posted on his facebook
https://www.facebook.com/#!/michael.c.caplan

AVS Forum Fold@Home Team Enter Team # 55280 when u download
surf_fun85 is offline  
post #10925 of 12175 Old 01-11-2012, 12:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSugino View Post

Just saw Rob Feder post this over on TimeOutChicago.com:

now all that left is to Telemundo Chicago when will convert their news to HD

AVS Forum Fold@Home Team Enter Team # 55280 when u download
surf_fun85 is offline  
post #10926 of 12175 Old 01-11-2012, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Most of the video clips were SD, but the studio shots are HD. Baby steps...







Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
post #10927 of 12175 Old 01-14-2012, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I was wondering: Now with Universal Sports gone, has WMAQ's PQ improved? Has the data rate increased on the main and/or NonStop? Any rumors on if something will be added in the future?

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10928 of 12175 Old 01-15-2012, 10:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
dave73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gary, IN
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Has anyone picked up a 38-100, 38-200, & 38-201 before? I just bought a refurbished Haier brand portable TV from Big Lots, & when I did a scan, I got those additional virtual channels, but nothing was shown on those channels. I don't get those channels with my VisionTek USB TV tuner stick, or my Magnavox DTV converter box. For WMAQ-TV, unless the tuner in my portable TV doesn't pick up unmapped channels, then 5.3 is gone, as it only registered 5-2 & 5-3 (I put the dash, because that's how the TV displays the channels).
dave73 is offline  
post #10929 of 12175 Old 01-15-2012, 11:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
ION stations were testing something that involved three extra temporary subchannels, but they were only defined in the PSIP stream and their substreams weren't ATSC data.  Many tuners ignored them.

5.3 is gone; Universal Sports ended at midnight 2011-12-31 and then WMAQ carried a still card for a couple of days.  The subchannel was shut off on the second or third of January.
dattier is offline  
post #10930 of 12175 Old 01-16-2012, 07:32 AM
Member
 
kc9hzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If ION doesn't want to lose their copyright on AirBox, they'd better get going. It's my understanding that based on the dates here (http://www.trademarks411.com/marks/85198775-airbox), they need to submit a Statement of Use within 6 months of approval, so by March of this year. A Statement of Use requires public use of the copyrighted mark, so they need to launch in the next couple months.

Speaking of AirBox, I've found some other info about it over the weekend. AirBox Television, Inc. is almost certainly part of ION, same corporate officers, same corporate headquarters, but AirBox.com (advertised on one of the AirBox streams Trip decoded) is registered by "carl crabill" (Carl Crabill was an executive at MovieBeam), while other ION properties are registered by ION Media Networks, Inc. Also, based on their business filings, AirBox Television, Inc. claims to be in retail, so presumably that's the division that'll be selling the retail boxes. And this (http://www.justformyclients.com/ion/5-functionality) appears to be spec work for, presumably, AirBox.com. (Not all of those are necessarily for the main site, they might be for AirBoxBlog.com or AirBoxOnline.com, all also registered by "carl crabill".) Interesting note, that Susan Rust whose spec sheet that is appears to have done website work for the likes of Viacom and NBC Universal, as well.

So nothing definite that we didn't already know, but a little more to speculate on. But with the more frequent tests and the approaching deadline, I assume we'll hear something in the coming weeks.

Now with 100% more Amateur Extra Class privileges!
kc9hzn is offline  
post #10931 of 12175 Old 01-16-2012, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
dave73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gary, IN
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My portable TV picked up more than just 38.100, 38.200, & 38.201. It also picked up 38.202, 38.203, 38.204, 38.300, 38.400, & I believe 38.401. I wonder exactly what Ion Media has planned for the extra channels that aren't showing anything. I'm still amazed the TV can pick up the extra channels. I'm surprised it doesn't pick up the 2 channels that WTTW uses for the Update TV service like Samsung TV's do.
dave73 is offline  
post #10932 of 12175 Old 01-16-2012, 08:09 AM
Member
 
kc9hzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Portable TV, as in ATSC M/H? That might (or might not) explain how your unit gets the additional stations. They are, presumably, broadcasting something on the channels, but it's encrypted.

Edit: It seems that, based on what other people have said, the majority of content is Spanish. So, unless you speak Spanish, you're not missing out by not being able to watch the encrypted channels.

Now with 100% more Amateur Extra Class privileges!
kc9hzn is offline  
post #10933 of 12175 Old 01-16-2012, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
dave73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gary, IN
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc9hzn View Post

Portable TV, as in ATSC M/H? That might (or might not) explain how your unit gets the additional stations. They are, presumably, broadcasting something on the channels, but it's encrypted.

Edit: It seems that, based on what other people have said, the majority of content is Spanish. So, unless you speak Spanish, you're not missing out by not being able to watch the encrypted channels.

I can tell you that my portable TV does not have an ATSC M/H tuner. If I move the TV too fast, it loses the signal. It has a regular ATSC tuner built-in. It's just odd that it picks up these extra channels. I get WLS-TV on RF 7 & WBBM-TV on it if I have the outdoor antenna hooked to it. It however does not pick up WOCK-CD like my converter box can, & WWME-LD pixelates a lot on this TV too, but not on the converter box.
dave73 is offline  
post #10934 of 12175 Old 01-16-2012, 12:48 PM
Member
 
kc9hzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, weird ION channels aside, how do you like it? I've been idly considering getting a portable TV, myself. What sort of antenna connector does this one have, just a standard connector, or do you have to use an alligator clip, or what?

Now with 100% more Amateur Extra Class privileges!
kc9hzn is offline  
post #10935 of 12175 Old 01-16-2012, 11:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
dave73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gary, IN
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc9hzn View Post

Well, weird ION channels aside, how do you like it? I've been idly considering getting a portable TV, myself. What sort of antenna connector does this one have, just a standard connector, or do you have to use an alligator clip, or what?

It's a good TV for what it's worth. It's a refurbished one I bought from my local Big Lots. It's a Haier 7 inch, model#HLT71, & I may have mentioned that I paid $29, but it was $39. I would have preferred a more popular brand name, but it's something for now. The antenna that was included is a telescopic that screws into a coax input. I'll use a regular antenna with this TV, as the telescopic antenna doesn't pick up a single VHF channel. My regular antennas (Antennacraft CS600 for VHF & Winegard HD9032 for UHF) hooked to the TV picked up more stations, including WLS-TV & WBBM-TV on the VHF. I just wish I could enter the RF channel to manually add channels, but new channels require a rescan. Entering the RF channel will say Fail to lock signal.
dave73 is offline  
post #10936 of 12175 Old 01-20-2012, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
"Global" on W25DW's 25.2 seems to have disappeared entirely.  It had been only a silent vertical-color-bar test pattern for weeks; now there's not even that.

They're still labeling Sonlife on 25.3 as "Sunlife."
dattier is offline  
post #10937 of 12175 Old 01-21-2012, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Anyone notice issues with WTTW the past few days? There is an occasional line of what looks like static at times, and it sometimes 'blinks' a brief blue flash with an audio snap. I thought it was Comcast, but am seeing it OTA, too.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10938 of 12175 Old 01-21-2012, 06:47 PM
Newbie
 
Wade Crowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Anyone notice issues with WTTW the past few days? There is an occasional line of what looks like static at times, and it sometimes 'blinks' a brief blue flash with an audio snap. I thought it was Comcast, but am seeing it OTA, too.

I've noticed it too along with another issue,the chicago tonight replay
on 11-2 is always fuzzy looking but the second repeat back on 11-1 is clear..
Wade Crowley is offline  
post #10939 of 12175 Old 01-21-2012, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Anyone notice issues with WTTW the past few days? There is an occasional line of what looks like static at times, and it sometimes 'blinks' a brief blue flash with an audio snap. I thought it was Comcast, but am seeing it OTA, too.

Yeah, I've noticed it a lot recently. Lots of popping and picture break-ups, as well as other problems. When I played back my recording of Nova from last week there was a sizeable chunk of the show missing - nothing but black screen. It seems to come and go, though: my recording of today's This Old House had some popping in it, but Ask This Old House was clean.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
post #10940 of 12175 Old 01-21-2012, 10:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
dave73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gary, IN
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I was watching WTTW 11 & WTTW Prime, & the picture froze up at random times throughout various shows. Create didn't act up as much as WTTW 11.1 & 11.2 did. I wasn't all that thrilled to find beg-a-thons on 11.2 today. So it gave me an excuse to avoid the channel much of the time. This was while I was at work. Now if only I could get WYCC & WCIU at work. Those 2 stations don't come in at work (WYCC because of their weak signal, & WCIU for a weaker signal toward Indiana). I was surprised to get WJYS at work, since the building is primarily metal & concrete. I did notice much of the brokered programming WCIU used to carry on the old FBT was being shown on WJYS 62.4 today. Maybe they're trying to pick up the programming Weigel no longer wanted, though I thought Polnet was doing that.
dave73 is offline  
post #10941 of 12175 Old 01-22-2012, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wade Crowley View Post

I've noticed it too along with another issue,the chicago tonight replay
on 11-2 is always fuzzy looking but the second repeat back on 11-1 is clear..

11-2 = SD, 11-1 = HD

That said, I found WTTW Prime to often be decent given the number of channels crammed together. I recorded (via Comcast) a Nature show a few weeks ago, and it looked surprisingly good, even zoomed up to de-letterbox it. Yes, it's SD, but it wasn't as fuzzy or blocky as I was expecting given how compressed everything must be for 1080i + 3x480i.

Between the pixelated faces (remember "At the Movies"?) and now this, I wonder what WTTW is doing.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10942 of 12175 Old 01-22-2012, 08:23 AM
Member
 
Take Two's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Anyone notice issues with WTTW the past few days? There is an occasional line of what looks like static at times, and it sometimes 'blinks' a brief blue flash with an audio snap. I thought it was Comcast, but am seeing it OTA, too.

I noticed the "blue blink" as well, the last couple of days on 11.2.
At first, I thought that it was just our OTA reception.
However, it wasn't happening on any of our other channels when I flipped around. Something weird must be happening on their end.
Take Two is offline  
post #10943 of 12175 Old 01-22-2012, 10:33 AM
Member
 
drhey19's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Homer Glen, IL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Anyone notice issues with WTTW the past few days? There is an occasional line of what looks like static at times, and it sometimes 'blinks' a brief blue flash with an audio snap. I thought it was Comcast, but am seeing it OTA, too.

I've noticed it too, both OTA and on U-Verse.

I spend more time thinking and talking about TV then I actually do watching it.
drhey19 is offline  
post #10944 of 12175 Old 01-22-2012, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WBBM was breaking up quite a bit on DirecTV and over the air 2-1 today during the AFC championship game. I wonder why.
swiat is offline  
post #10945 of 12175 Old 01-23-2012, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
R Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Anyone notice issues with WTTW the past few days? There is an occasional line of what looks like static at times, and it sometimes 'blinks' a brief blue flash with an audio snap. I thought it was Comcast, but am seeing it OTA, too.

I recorded Downton Abbey and Sherlock last night from Comcast on a computer with a USB tuner stick.

I played back D.A. while Sherlock was still recording. In D.A. I saw occasional lines near the top of the screen, and quite a few flashes -- some with rather loud audio snaps, others without audio issues.

When I played back Sherlock, I didn't notice ANY of these problems!

Perhaps the problem is in WTTW's program acquisition or server systems...
R Johnson is offline  
post #10946 of 12175 Old 01-23-2012, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Is WOCK have any unusual issues? The feed on Comcast has been a bit glitchy, with the channels sometimes going dead (by me, each subchannel is on a different Comcast frequency!) I assume Comcast is using an antenna, and WOCK is always a bit difficult to pick up. I rarely get it with an antenna.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10947 of 12175 Old 01-23-2012, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
jepotter224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Is WOCK have any unusual issues? The feed on Comcast has been a bit glitchy, with the channels sometimes going dead (by me, each subchannel is on a different Comcast frequency!) I assume Comcast is using an antenna, and WOCK is always a bit difficult to pick up. I rarely get it with an antenna.

I heard on WBBM radio today we are experiencing more powerful than ususal sun flare activity, maybe this is why?

As for Comcast...the office in Rolling Meadows has several large dishes and a tall tower. At the top of the tower is what looks like a TV antenna, possilby an answer to locate channels, I realy do not know.
jepotter224 is offline  
post #10948 of 12175 Old 01-23-2012, 04:10 PM
Member
 
alnielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Villa Park
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The solar flare isn't suppose to get here until tomorrow or Wednesday. You can get the latest information on the sun's activity at spaceweather.com. I check it every morning.

On my roof: http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ANTENNAS/8800.gif
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left." - Oscar Levant

KC9ZOU

alnielsen is offline  
post #10949 of 12175 Old 01-24-2012, 04:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why isn't WLS transmitting guide data on rf ch 44?

AVS Forum Fold@Home Team Enter Team # 55280 when u download
surf_fun85 is offline  
post #10950 of 12175 Old 01-26-2012, 03:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jepotter224 View Post

I heard on WBBM radio today we are experiencing more powerful than ususal sun flare activity, maybe this is why?

As for Comcast...the office in Rolling Meadows has several large dishes and a tall tower. At the top of the tower is what looks like a TV antenna, possilby an answer to locate channels, I realy do not know.

I used to work at that facility in Rolling Meadows. It was a receive site back the MediaOne/ATT days. I believe it's still a backup site. There are OTA receive antennas at the top but those are a back up as well. There was typically 1 tuned antenna per channel they were picking up. That was a nicely setup facility back in the day.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off