Chicago, IL - OTA - Page 404 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12091 of 12097 Old 07-17-2014, 05:24 PM
Member
 
gonefishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Marseilles, Ill. On the back side of Seneca...south of I-80 zip:61341
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by longwong View Post
Wonder how the tuner is on the Roamio, although it's nice to see they finally built-in the wifi. Still lament that the Premiere tuner is less sensitive than the Series 3.

Hi longwong,

go ahead and read through some of my previous posts, here in the Chicago OTA thread. I just moved to a new area, out in the fringe borders of Chicago OTA reception. In our old house we had a Tivo HD and had great reception with our antennas. But after the move, some 40 miles further from Chicago, the Tivo HD would only pull in channel 7. My Tv tuner would get most of the channels, most of the time. I borrowed my dad's Tivo Romio, to see if it had better reception...better than my HD. It got all the major networks...so it was easily performing better than my HD...way better in fact.

I since changed out the coax and preamp for a high db one...I have even better results.

that's where I am so far...


Dan

not working

not working


enjoy the music!
gonefishin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12092 of 12097 Old 07-18-2014, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
longwong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Maybe Roamio actually is truly the step-up from Premiere that they've been promoting. Just wish they would include an OTA tuner on the Elite models or at least offer it with a larger capacity, but I guess we should be grateful that they even still have a tuner to begin with.


Good luck with your reception quest.


Quote:
Originally Posted by gonefishin View Post
Hi longwong,

go ahead and read through some of my previous posts, here in the Chicago OTA thread. I just moved to a new area, out in the fringe borders of Chicago OTA reception. In our old house we had a Tivo HD and had great reception with our antennas. But after the move, some 40 miles further from Chicago, the Tivo HD would only pull in channel 7. My Tv tuner would get most of the channels, most of the time. I borrowed my dad's Tivo Romio, to see if it had better reception...better than my HD. It got all the major networks...so it was easily performing better than my HD...way better in fact.

I since changed out the coax and preamp for a high db one...I have even better results.

that's where I am so far...


Dan
longwong is offline  
post #12093 of 12097 Old 07-18-2014, 10:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by longwong;
or at least offer it with a larger capacity, but I guess we should be grateful that they even still have a tuner to begin with.
With the base model Roamio you can easily swap out the hard drive in about 15 minutes, for a 3tb drive.
Johnla is offline  
post #12094 of 12097 Old 07-19-2014, 07:08 AM
Member
 
gonefishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Marseilles, Ill. On the back side of Seneca...south of I-80 zip:61341
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post
With the base model Roamio you can easily swap out the hard drive in about 15 minutes, for a 3tb drive.
very true!


I think we are very lucky that they're still offering an OTA option on their DVRs.

not working

not working


enjoy the music!
gonefishin is online now  
post #12095 of 12097 Old 07-19-2014, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 26
gonefishin, your signature links don't work
nyctveng is offline  
post #12096 of 12097 Old 07-20-2014, 01:01 AM
Member
 
bonline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_GUY View Post
Get the biggest thing that will fit. Keep the receipt.

Think about putting the home run in the attic and dropping Ethernet into the basement.
What do you mean drop ethernet to the basement? Why do I need Ethernet with the coax cables?
bonline is offline  
post #12097 of 12097 Old 07-20-2014, 05:51 AM
Member
 
OTA_GUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonline View Post
What do you mean drop ethernet to the basement? Why do I need Ethernet with the coax cables?

The closer the tuner is to the antenna the better the signal it receives. So think about putting it in the attic. If the hdhomerun tuner is in the attic the coax drop to the basement won't be needed. If you plan on using other tuners like a tv, or dvr then the coax will need to be dropped ... If the attic isn't climate controlled the hdhomerun might not work when summer comes....
OTA_GUY is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off