Chicago, IL - OTA - Page 406 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12151 of 12163 Old 09-09-2014, 03:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegras View Post
i wanted to ask you guys what is the best indoor antenna you can get from radio shack or best buy something i can put on my dresser to get the peoria,chicago stations or futher i want to hook it up to the dish hopper dvr.if you can help me out i appreciate it very much.

Thanks


Allen bluegrass
Illinois
There's no such antenna especially considering that indoor antennas get Crap reception at best but you can blame the ATSC for that.
elcaporegresa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12152 of 12163 Old 09-10-2014, 09:49 AM
Member
 
chgo1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NW Side Chicago
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are there any plans for the LiveWell channels when they are scheduled to go off air (7.2, 7.3)?
Weather or Traffic Channel?
If this was answered earlier, I apologize.
chgo1967 is offline  
post #12153 of 12163 Old 09-10-2014, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
dave73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gary, IN
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by chgo1967 View Post
Are there any plans for the LiveWell channels when they are scheduled to go off air (7.2, 7.3)?
Weather or Traffic Channel?
If this was answered earlier, I apologize.

The only thing I have heard that 7.2 (not sure if there'll be a 7.3) that the .2's on ABC O&O stations will be locally produced content. Not sure what all that will be, but I'm sure news & weather will be a part of it. Some ABC O&O stations might even use some of the timeslots to place a second airing of any locally produced programming, or even air programming that gets pre-empted by the network for any news that pops up (some stations might otherwise be forced to air that program in the overnight hours). Whatever the plans are, we won't know them in detail until January. I do know that my mom will miss Steven & Chris, since they're exclusive to Livewell Network in the US.
dave73 is online now  
post #12154 of 12163 Old 09-11-2014, 03:24 PM
Member
 
ryadoggy1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Darien il
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcaporegresa View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegras View Post
i wanted to ask you guys what is the best indoor antenna you can get from radio shack or best buy something i can put on my dresser to get the peoria,chicago stations or futher i want to hook it up to the dish hopper dvr.if you can help me out i appreciate it very much.

Thanks


Allen bluegrass
Illinois
There's no such antenna especially considering that indoor antennas get Crap reception at best but you can blame theaTSC for that.

I recommend a GE ampflied antenna range up to 40 mile its flat and bought it at Target
ryadoggy1987 is offline  
post #12155 of 12163 Old 09-11-2014, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryadoggy1987 View Post
I recommend a GE ampflied antenna range up to 40 mile its flat and bought it at Target
I see you're in Darien & so am I. I've been having problems with WYCC since spring/early summer & blame it on the tree in front for getting bigger every year. At least that's what I'm speculating is the problem. However there is no problem with any other channels. Do you experience reception problems with WYCC?
Mike99 is offline  
post #12156 of 12163 Old 09-12-2014, 01:21 PM
Member
 
ryadoggy1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Darien il
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryadoggy1987 View Post
I recommend a GE ampflied antenna range up to 40 mile its flat and bought it at Target
I see you're in Darien & so am I. I've been having problems with WYCC since spring/early
summer & blame it on the tree in front for getting bigger every year. At least that's what I'm speculating is the
problem. However there is no problem with any other channels. Do you experience reception problems with WYCC?

No Mike99 im able too . Pick 73 channels using 3 rca amp and GE amp antenna tape to the
window on the south
ryadoggy1987 is offline  
post #12157 of 12163 Old 09-12-2014, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
wes182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Total newbie when it comes to OTA. I did some quick reading but getting impatient. Just for giggles bought an indoor amplified (RCA) antenna from Best Buy to just play around with. I have a western facing office with huge window. I did auto tuning on TV and first time picked up FOX fine but not 2,5,7. Messed around with antenna and ran again. Picked up 7 but not FOX. Is this OTA stuff that finicky? I mean I just moved antenna in the room no more than a couple feet. Seems I should either get all those stations on none.
wes182 is offline  
post #12158 of 12163 Old 09-12-2014, 11:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryadoggy1987 View Post
No Mike99 im able too . Pick 73 channels using 3 rca amp and GE amp antenna tape to the
window on the south
You're using 3 amplifiers? I would have thought the amp noise would add up & really ruin the signal-to-noise ratio. These must be really low noise amps. Do you happen to have a model number?
Mike99 is offline  
post #12159 of 12163 Old 09-13-2014, 04:22 AM
Member
 
ryadoggy1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Darien il
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[QUOTE=Mike99;7467136]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryadoggy1987 View Post
No Mike99 im able too . Pick 73 channels using 3 rca amp and GE amp antenna tape to the
window on the south
You're using 3 amplifiers? I would have thought the amp noise would add up & really ruin the signal-to-noise
ratio. These must be really
low noise amps. Do you happen to have a model number?[/QU

Yes three amp. the model model is amp1450r check walmart
ryadoggy1987 is offline  
post #12160 of 12163 Old 09-13-2014, 04:24 AM
Member
 
ryadoggy1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Darien il
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[QUOTE=ryadoggy1987;8496094]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryadoggy1987 View Post
No Mike99 im able too . Pick 73 channels using 3 rca amp and GE amp antenna tape to the
window on the south
You're using 3 amplifiers? I would have thought the amp noise would add up & really ruin the signal-to-noise
ratio. These must be really
low noise amps. Do you happen to have a model number?[/QUote


Yes three amp. the model model is amp1450r check walmart
ryadoggy1987 is offline  
post #12161 of 12163 Old 09-13-2014, 09:59 AM
Newbie
 
menagh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by menagh View Post
Thank you Dave73 - there's a ton of good information there!

I'm tempted to get the Winegard HD7694 partly based on price and availability on Amazon. It would get the primary networks, which is my main goal. But if I got the larger Winegard HD7084 it could give me options down the road.
Just a follow-up...

I purchased and installed the Winegard HD7694 in my attic. It took me a long time to find a place to get decent reception, and it was essentially at the highest point where it could line up at the proper angle and have the least amount of roof trusses to pass through. I essentially got the same signal strength as the tiny amplified Terk HD antenna sitting on a random rafter, but the Winegard angle didn't seem to matter as much as the tiny Terk, which was more an effort in finding the exact angle while holding your breath and hoping it would stay strong. I got every anticipated channel, though WBBM Channel 2 was frequently pixelated.

I then reduced the number of splitters to a minimum and that helped, and I found an 'Electroline EDA-2100 1-Port Cable TV HDTV Signal Booster/Amplifier' that was in one cable path that was no longer used. I researched it and apparently its used in cable systems and gives a 15 dB boost with 'Industry benchmark low-noise amplifier design' according to Amazon. It's probably at least 10 yrs old, so who know how it would compare to other options. Simply reducing the splitters was very effective, and I figured it didn't hurt to try the amp. I added it upstream into the coax about 2 feet from the antenna, and now my signal strength is 85-95%. I didn't isolate which helped CH 2 most, but it is no longer pixelated. I had almost bought an antenna amp before finding this Electroline and eliminating some splitters, so this seems to be a gift that is working out well.

Now its time to dial-in an HTPC to record OTA ... but that's another story

Thank you for the recommendations and guidance - I truly appreciate it!

Last edited by menagh; 09-13-2014 at 10:03 AM.
menagh is offline  
post #12162 of 12163 Old 09-13-2014, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Yes three amp. the model model is amp1450r check walmart
Totally unnecessary unless you have defective cabling or a bad splitter in the circuit.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #12163 of 12163 Old 09-14-2014, 01:34 PM
Newbie
 
yem549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi OTA newbie here. I'm having audio issues with CBS 2 and WGN 9-1, the pictures come in great, and the secondary audio source works, however there is no audio at all when I choose the English broadcast. I have a indoor antenna, and live on the NW side, about 12 miles from downtown.

Thanks
yem549 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off