Chicago, IL - OTA - Page 408 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #12211 of 12240 Old 11-18-2014, 11:21 AM
Member
 
kd9fz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no one has mentioned it yet ...
and it has been a week ...
not that any one likely cares ...so ....

44.2 has changerd from 'exitos' to ' telexitos' or t-exitos as the dtt901 shows -
spanish programming, but different show and some movies

gone is '12 corazones' with penelope ( be still my heart)

now showing are various movies , 'the A-team' and 'Xena, warrior princess' (another of my heart throbs)

kd9fz
comments, criticisms and questions of sanity are always welcome
kd9fz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12212 of 12240 Old 11-18-2014, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 37
My Comcast bill mentioned that TVC+Latino would be dropped on December 2. For the past month, it doesn't even have a name in the guide. I checked, and it's still TVC+Latino, which I thought was 25.2. Did it move to another broadcast channel?

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #12213 of 12240 Old 11-20-2014, 03:05 PM
Member
 
danwojciechowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post
I looked at the AntennaCraft 10G212 preamp instructions & noticed it said not to mount the power supply in the attic, but I have no idea why not. Are you running your 3 drops using a splitter in the attic & located inbetween the preamp & power supply (presumably located inside your house)? Or did you also put the power supply in the attic?
I put the power supply in the attic. I had a light up there already, so I added an outlet. I wonder if the extreme temperatures of the attic might shorten the lifespan of the power supply.
danwojciechowski is offline  
post #12214 of 12240 Old 11-20-2014, 03:17 PM
Member
 
danwojciechowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonline View Post
Dan - Thanks! You are close by. So help me understand this 3 drops you mentioned. How would I go about doing it or did you outsource this job to someone (contact details)? I have a similar set-up as you. Is it possible to send it to one spot and then it gets distributed from there?
I ran some cable when the house was built, so it was easy. I have a 1-3 splitter after the pre-amp. One line goes directly to the master bedroom, one to the main floor family room, and one to the basement family room. There are a lot of ways to run the cables. Fishing the cables through un-insulated walls should not be too hard. Optionally, you could go out an eave, down the outside wall and back in to a better place. If you had cable or satellite TV previously, you can tie into the existing cabling at the most convenient place. You can run through heating or cooling ducts, too. The actual design of your cable network is really easy. Start at the source and head towards each destination, only splitting where necessary.

Yes, you absolutely can run a single cable to the most convenient place and split it there. You lose signal with each split (and connection) so just minimize them.
danwojciechowski is offline  
post #12215 of 12240 Old 11-20-2014, 06:50 PM
Member
 
bluegras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
good evening you guys and gals i need a little help on something yesterday i got the ota doogle for the dish hopper dvr.and today i got a clearstream 2v with mount i put it together in the house and it is in my bedroom right now on my dresser and i am picking up 7 channels right now.this is where i need the help are there installers in the streator or ottawa area who could put up and mount the antenna to the roof i also need the person to run rg6 cable from the antenna to the house and to my bedroom they would also need to ground the anternna to the house.i can pick up stations over 50 miles with this antenna and i hope many more to come once this gets done.are there any places to pick up a preamp also i cannot find one in this town i wonder if radioshack has one.any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Allen bluegras Culver
Streator,illinois
bluegras is offline  
post #12216 of 12240 Old 11-30-2014, 05:11 PM
Member
 
ryadoggy1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Darien il
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
25.2 retro is gone same programming in the reve'n channel 25.3 was bought be Mako communications (25dw-d) new channel on 20.7 (owned by tuff tv) I think 23.1-.3 channels are low powered but have a better antenna in Willis tower

Last edited by ryadoggy1987; 11-30-2014 at 05:17 PM.
ryadoggy1987 is offline  
post #12217 of 12240 Old 12-01-2014, 04:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
It's an issue with the satellite uplink company. They made a change and it caused the satellite receivers for both Retro and Rev'n to reset to the first channel on the satellite. I'm sure it will be fixed shortly.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #12218 of 12240 Old 12-02-2014, 09:54 AM
Member
 
alnielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Villa Park
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I didn't see any mention of this previously. WPVN 24-3 has become MOVEE4U. Despite what you may think by the name, I've only seen half hour DYI shows in the short time I've been watching.
It's available for streaming at http://movee4u.net/.

KC9ZOU

"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left." - Oscar Levant
alnielsen is offline  
post #12219 of 12240 Old 12-02-2014, 10:36 AM
Member
 
kd9fz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just moved to antioh, il ... set up the rabbit ears / loop and by changing the direction of the dipole
i can get reasonably decent signal on channels 50.x, 9.x, and 7.x
the dtt-901 shows a lot of stations, from chicago and milwaukee , all with low signal .....
so i went to wal-mart and got the rca amp1450f on sale for $12.17 , the internet price

hooked the amp up and VIOLA !!! hardly and difference at all on any station

looks like my days of free over the air tv are coming to an end as the new residence doesnt have an
existing antenna, but has a feed of rg-59 cable to every room .. need to investigate which company installed it


kd9fz
comments, criticisms and questions of sanity are always welcome

Last edited by kd9fz; 12-02-2014 at 10:47 AM.
kd9fz is offline  
post #12220 of 12240 Old 12-28-2014, 08:03 PM
Member
 
Mbajner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like analog ch 23 is now off the air
Was tuned to that station on one of our old TV
Ran a scan on the digital TV tuner to verify and no analog stations now at all
Was getting a ch 6 and 23 before
Mbajner is offline  
post #12221 of 12240 Old 12-29-2014, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I still see analog 6 and 48.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #12222 of 12240 Old 12-29-2014, 10:03 AM
Member
 
Mbajner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
I still see analog 6 and 48.
Will try rescan on a different TV to see what it picks up
The scan from a regular analog TV did not pick up any analog station
Located on SW Chicago and using homemade TV antenna which is a db 4 design
Mbajner is offline  
post #12223 of 12240 Old 12-30-2014, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I'm in the NW suburbs, using a common apartment antenna system. 6 and 48 are rather noisy. 23 was gone.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #12224 of 12240 Old 12-31-2014, 12:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
dave73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gary, IN
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
For those of you wondering about analog 23, based on the link below, it means that WWME-LD on RF 39 will become the Class A station. It didn't say anything about analog 23, but I'm assuming that Weigel is shutting off analog on 23 for good. I was really hoping that maybe they would have made 23 the Class A digital station, as I got better reception on 23 in NW Indiana than on RF 39 (especially in the summer months, when it pixelates a lot). RF 23 aims more signal toward Indiana, while RF 39 nulls it toward Indiana, in order to protect WMYS-LD South Bend, who is also on RF 39, & non-directional.




https://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws...&fac_num=71425
dave73 is offline  
post #12225 of 12240 Old 01-04-2015, 02:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dont know if this was posted before or not but CBS will be getting a subchannel later this year called Decades on 2.2
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decades_(TV_network)

AVS Forum Fold@Home Team Enter Team # 55280 when u download

Last edited by surf_fun85; 01-05-2015 at 10:55 PM.
surf_fun85 is offline  
post #12226 of 12240 Old 01-04-2015, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 37
(You need to correct your link. The closing parenthesis is missing.)

Sounds like yet just another old TV show network. I wonder how this will affect the main 2.1, which has some of the highest bitrates and cleanest picture.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #12227 of 12240 Old 01-04-2015, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Here's some more info on WBBM and Decades: http://chicagoradioandmedia.com/news...igital-network

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is offline  
post #12228 of 12240 Old 01-04-2015, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Someone updated WPVN's Wikipedia entry to show that 24.3 is now something called "Movee 4 U". Checking out WPVN on the TV, it had a dashtv.net logo on the upper left, and that leads to a web video site, where Movee 4 U is a video link. There is also a PDF about it: http://media.wix.com/ugd/34b892_bd45...2c1d4d732b.pdf
Interesting how it shows 9,000,000 viewers in Chicago, but in reality, only a few antenna users can really get it, as I doubt any of the cable/U-Verse/satellite carry anything beyond Polvision 24.4 (that's the only WPVN Comcast has.)

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #12229 of 12240 Old 01-05-2015, 05:53 AM
Member
 
Mike_TV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
(You need to correct your link. The closing parenthesis is missing.)

Sounds like yet just another old TV show network. I wonder how this will affect the main 2.1, which has some of the highest bitrates and cleanest picture.
I wonder about this too. "60 Minutes" is a good example of what a show can look like on a high bitrate channel. Lots of close up talking heads and outdoor shots.
Mike_TV is offline  
post #12230 of 12240 Old 01-06-2015, 04:26 AM
Member
 
chidave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mohu leaf amplified no PBS but all other channels?

We just moved to a top floor apartment in 60608 and have clear line of sight to all of downtown ( about 2 miles away) we can clearly see the SEARS tower and are using a mohu leaf amplified hanging in a window pointed NNE.


Tvfool tells me that

the transmitter is on the Sears tower 41.878923 -87.636164 and that the signal strength is 75.9 db SO I should easily be able to get it. What am I missing?

I am new to OTA having just left Dish so PLEASE help

chidave
chidave is offline  
post #12231 of 12240 Old 01-07-2015, 03:43 AM
Newbie
 
Dennis_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chidave View Post
We just moved to a top floor apartment in 60608 and have clear line of sight to all of downtown ( about 2 miles away) we can clearly see the SEARS tower and are using a mohu leaf amplified hanging in a window pointed NNE.


Tvfool tells me that

the transmitter is on the Sears tower 41.878923 -87.636164 and that the signal strength is 75.9 db SO I should easily be able to get it. What am I missing?

I am new to OTA having just left Dish so PLEASE help

chidave
Are you sure that you have set up your antenna properly? Is the coaxial cable center wire making a good connection when you screw down the endpiece?

Did you switch your signal source on your TV to "air" or "antenna?" Did you scan for TV channels?
Dennis_D is offline  
post #12232 of 12240 Old 01-07-2015, 04:49 AM
Member
 
chidave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_D View Post
Are you sure that you have set up your antenna properly? Is the coaxial cable center wire making a good connection when you screw down the endpiece?

Did you switch your signal source on your TV to "air" or "antenna?" Did you scan for TV channels?

Hey Dennis

I am a Dr Who fan as well so I appreciate your icon AND thanks for taking an interest in this issue. The answer is yes to all. I forgot to say that we are getting ALL other channels EXCEPT 11. I even tried 47 which is another approach. This is really weird! I get all the other channels just fine but the one that I MUST get because of that darn show Downton Abbey, wife choice NOT mine, I cannot get. Thanks again and I will recheck everything you suggested
chidave
chidave is offline  
post #12233 of 12240 Old 01-07-2015, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
Dennis_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chidave View Post
Hey Dennis

I am a Dr Who fan as well so I appreciate your icon AND thanks for taking an interest in this issue. The answer is yes to all. I forgot to say that we are getting ALL other channels EXCEPT 11. I even tried 47 which is another approach. This is really weird! I get all the other channels just fine but the one that I MUST get because of that darn show Downton Abbey, wife choice NOT mine, I cannot get. Thanks again and I will recheck everything you suggested
chidave
I hear ya on the "Wife Acceptance Factor" (WAF).

Have you tried to rescan the channels? Sometimes that can pick up a missing channel. Or a different TV? The tuners inside the TV can make a difference.

Good luck.
Dennis_D is offline  
post #12234 of 12240 Old 01-07-2015, 06:12 AM
Member
 
chidave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_D View Post
I hear ya on the "Wife Acceptance Factor" (WAF).

Have you tried to rescan the channels? Sometimes that can pick up a missing channel. Or a different TV? The tuners inside the TV can make a difference.

Good luck.
Hey Dennis

Yep scanned several times but will keep on it, I have just unpacked my Tardis squeeze toy so I will let it work it's magic. Thanks for all the great ideas

chidave
chidave is offline  
post #12235 of 12240 Old 01-07-2015, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
dicko2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
2 miles, line of site, AMPED antenna.. Could the issue be too much signal? Have you tried just sticking a wire a few feet long in the antenna jack?

Could also be multipath so I would try moving the antenna somewhere else, just a few feet should do it, just enough to get out of the signal reflection.
dicko2 is offline  
post #12236 of 12240 Old 01-08-2015, 05:15 AM
Member
 
chidave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicko2 View Post
2 miles, line of site, AMPED antenna.. Could the issue be too much signal? Have you tried just sticking a wire a few feet long in the antenna jack?

Could also be multipath so I would try moving the antenna somewhere else, just a few feet should do it, just enough to get out of the signal reflection.

You are SPOT ON dicko :-) Mohu replied to one of my emails and asked me to remove the AMP!!! it worked first time and now I have the ability to be bored by the goings on in an old house in england, let joy be unbounded :-) your advice was spot on and thanks for taking the time

chidave
chidave is offline  
post #12237 of 12240 Old 01-08-2015, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 37
It looks like MeToo is dead. 26.4 is now H&I, just like 23.2.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #12238 of 12240 Old 01-21-2015, 04:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
retromzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plano, Illinois
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Analog 23 is back. Airing H&I.

R. B.
retromzc is offline  
post #12239 of 12240 Unread Yesterday, 06:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
retromzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plano, Illinois
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Color bars and audio tone now airing on WBBM 2.2.

R. B.
retromzc is offline  
post #12240 of 12240 Unread Today, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Not certain if this was mentioned, but I noticed WXFT has made some changes. 60.2 is now a simulcast of WGBO, in HD. 60.3 is a network called ESCAPE.
Quote:
Escape is an American digital multicast television network that is owned by Katz Broadcasting.[3] The network, which is targeted at women between the ages of 25 and 54 years old, primarily focuses on feature films, but also carries some true crime documentary series.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off