Chicago, IL - OTA - Page 410 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12271 of 12285 Old 03-13-2015, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
My latest Comcast bill has some changes involving broadcast channels that I haven't heard about here, along with Decades (will be Comcast 338), which I have seen here.

WYIN adding NHK World as of April 1 (will be Comcast 377). I tried to check via antenna with my TV, but can't pick up WYIN right now.

LiveWell SD being dropped April 15. Does that mean WLS is dropping 7.3? LiveWell HD will still be carried.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12272 of 12285 Old 03-13-2015, 07:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
No, 7-3 is adding "LAFF" from the same people who bring you Bounce, Grit, and Escape.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #12273 of 12285 Old 03-14-2015, 05:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
OK. The bill just says they will no longer offer LiveWell in SD, but doesn't actually say Comcast is dropping the channel. I guess it will convert to LAFF then.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #12274 of 12285 Old 03-15-2015, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does anybody know if WBBM is running at a lower power or on a backup transmitter? Since about the first week in March, I have been unable to receive them reliably, for the first time since they went to channel 12?and adjusting the antenna does not help. It's an indoor attic antenna, but a very large VHF-only, channels 2-13 behemoth, and it has not had any long ? term problems picking up channel 2. Anyone?
sebenste is offline  
post #12275 of 12285 Old 03-16-2015, 08:29 AM
Member
 
BillFromCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Clarendon Hills IL
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post
Does anybody know if WBBM is running at a lower power or on a backup transmitter? Since about the first week in March, I have been unable to receive them reliably, for the first time since they went to channel 12?and adjusting the antenna does not help. It's an indoor attic antenna, but a very large VHF-only, channels 2-13 behemoth, and it has not had any long ? term problems picking up channel 2. Anyone?
Oddly, I've had trouble with WMAQ since last Thursday, but on Sunday night I was receiving a signal again. WBBM has given me no trouble for quite some time, ever since they moved to channel 12.

I've also had some trouble with WYCC recently.
sebenste likes this.
BillFromCH is offline  
post #12276 of 12285 Old 03-16-2015, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
retromzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plano, Illinois
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post
Does anybody know if WBBM is running at a lower power or on a backup transmitter? Since about the first week in March, I have been unable to receive them reliably, for the first time since they went to channel 12?and adjusting the antenna does not help. It's an indoor attic antenna, but a very large VHF-only, channels 2-13 behemoth, and it has not had any long ? term problems picking up channel 2. Anyone?

Not noticing any reception issues with WBBM here.
sebenste likes this.

R. B.
retromzc is offline  
post #12277 of 12285 Old 03-16-2015, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Any external antenna/cable damage from the extreme cold of last month, plus the slight amount of freezing rain?
sebenste likes this.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #12278 of 12285 Old 03-16-2015, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Thanks Bill, R.B. and Andy! My antenna is in my attic, but I did do an end-to-end check from the connectors to the signal preamplifier where it combines the VHF with the UHF antenna to the antenna itself, since I am seeing great reception of all other channels, including some of the low-powers off of Trump Tower (24.x), 48.X (MeToo), etc. I'll keep digging to see what I can find.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #12279 of 12285 Old 03-16-2015, 11:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillFromCH View Post
Oddly, I've had trouble with WMAQ since last Thursday, but on Sunday night I was receiving a signal again. WBBM has given me no trouble for quite some time, ever since they moved to channel 12.

I've also had some trouble with WYCC recently.
Take a look at this thread, perhaps it's a multipath problem. I'm down the street from you in Darien.
Chicago: Is this signal problem due to multipath ?
Mike99 is online now  
post #12280 of 12285 Old 03-17-2015, 10:51 PM
Member
 
mikey man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post
Does anybody know if WBBM is running at a lower power or on a backup transmitter? Since about the first week in March, I have been unable to receive them reliably, for the first time since they went to channel 12?and adjusting the antenna does not help. It's an indoor attic antenna, but a very large VHF-only, channels 2-13 behemoth, and it has not had any long ? term problems picking up channel 2. Anyone?
I've been having trouble receiving WBBM lately, too. (located in Alsip)
This is happening on my garage TV, which has it's own outside roof antenna. Never had a problem with channel 2.1 until about a month ago. I don't watch much 2.1 until football season, so I haven't really looked into this issue.
The TVs in my house seem to be receiving WBBM fine. They are on a separate outside roof mounted (higher up) antenna.
I have Comcrap cable, so I don't watch a lot of OTA.
Guess I'll have to troubleshoot the garage TV. Inspect the antenna, check all the connectors and cables, then do another re-scan.
sebenste likes this.
mikey man is offline  
post #12281 of 12285 Old 03-27-2015, 09:18 PM
Newbie
 
HisSvt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has anyone figured out WBBM i was getting 2.1 and 2.2 perfectly fine but now the signal is gone no other channels have any issues
HisSvt2 is offline  
post #12282 of 12285 Old 03-28-2015, 06:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
retromzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plano, Illinois
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HisSvt2 View Post
Has anyone figured out WBBM i was getting 2.1 and 2.2 perfectly fine but now the signal is gone no other channels have any issues

Don't have a clue why some are having problems with WBBM. I just checked and both 2.1 and 2.2 are coming in loud and clear here. Signal meter pegged at 100%.

R. B.
retromzc is offline  
post #12283 of 12285 Old Yesterday, 11:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
dave73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gary, IN
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by retromzc View Post
Don't have a clue why some are having problems with WBBM. I just checked and both 2.1 and 2.2 are coming in loud and clear here. Signal meter pegged at 100%.
I haven't had any problems with them either.
dave73 is offline  
post #12284 of 12285 Old Today, 05:31 AM
Member
 
Mbajner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do a rescan then eliminate the odd ch26 WBBM stations that are low power
This seems to work for me
Mbajner is offline  
post #12285 of 12285 Old Today, 11:16 AM
Member
 
CubsWin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This question may have been asked before, but what are the chances of CBS moving to UHF at some point in the future? Has there been indication that may happen, or is it likely they will remain on VHF for the long term?
CubsWin1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off