Chicago, IL - OTA - Page 422 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 30Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #12631 of 12650 Unread 02-22-2017, 11:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by retromzc View Post
Well, I don't know or understand what is going on. I just saw a top of the hour ID and it identified the station as WLPD-CD Plano, Illinois and is on rf 32 mapping to 32.257 showing YouTooAmerica. I am not pleased that this station is blocking WMEU Chicago also on rf 32.
And this also explains why I cannot get WMEU, either. Two weak stations (weak out by me), duking it out makes it a no-show in DeKalb.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12632 of 12650 Unread 02-23-2017, 05:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
retromzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plano, Illinois
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post
And this also explains why I cannot get WMEU, either. Two weak stations (weak out by me), duking it out makes it a no-show in DeKalb.
I have contacted Weigel Broadcasting about this and the reply I received stated that they are aware of the issue and working with the FCC for a resolution. I never had any problem receiving WMEU before this. From what I have been able to find out this station is officially called WSPY-LD licensed to LaSalle. If licensed to LaSalle, why broadcast from Plano right behind my home? And, why is this station mapping to 32.257 with horrid audio? Oh I bet I know, so Mr. Nelson can receive tower rental money.

R. B.
retromzc is offline  
post #12633 of 12650 Unread 02-25-2017, 10:38 PM
Member
 
Timroberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by retromzc View Post
I have contacted Weigel Broadcasting about this and the reply I received stated that they are aware of the issue and working with the FCC for a resolution. I never had any problem receiving WMEU before this. From what I have been able to find out this station is officially called WSPY-LD licensed to LaSalle. If licensed to LaSalle, why broadcast from Plano right behind my home? And, why is this station mapping to 32.257 with horrid audio? Oh I bet I know, so Mr. Nelson can receive tower rental money.
I didn’t know WMEU was being blocked by that station over there. The FCC should never have allowed that station on 32 IMO. Worse yet, it looks like they are called Youtoo America while blocking the Chicago YouToo UToo. Can you believe that?

Last edited by Timroberts; 02-26-2017 at 03:25 PM.
Timroberts is offline  
 
post #12634 of 12650 Unread 02-26-2017, 07:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
retromzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plano, Illinois
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timroberts View Post
I didn’t know WMEU was being blocked by that station over there. The FCC should never have allowed that station on 32 IMO. Worse yet, it looks like they are called Youtoo America while blocking the Chicago YouToo. Can you believe that?
Well, it certainly is blocking WMEU here and to the towns west of here. The folks at Weigel Broadcasting also say this station should have never been allowed on this frequency this close to Chicago. According to the folks at Weigel the station was first granted permission to broadcast from a tower further west of here but then they somehow sneaked in permission to broadcast from the current WSPY-FM tower in Plano which the FCC also approved. Supposedly the station (WSPY-LD which IDs itself as WLPD-CD at the top of the hour breaks) maps to 31.1 but it maps to 32.257 on all tvs with horrid audio. Isn't it ironic, TheUTOO being blocked by Youtoo America? I hope to hear more information from the folks at Weigel in the future.

R. B.
retromzc is offline  
post #12635 of 12650 Unread 03-07-2017, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 79
If you want to watch Comet TV that is on WOCH, but can't pick it up, I found out there is a Roku app that just plays the broadcast feed. No login required.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #12636 of 12650 Unread 03-12-2017, 06:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
If you want to watch Comet TV that is on WOCH, but can't pick it up, I found out there is a Roku app that just plays the broadcast feed. No login required.
I was looking at the EPG guide in Windows Media Center & just noticed Comet on channel 3.3. I could not receive it & the message said to check my antenna. Either I need to re-scan or the station is too weak.

Since I never heard of Comet I Googled it and it's supposedly on 41.2. My EPG says no data for 41.2 and again I get no signal. TVGuide online shows it on 3.3 and Zap2it doesn't list Comet at either frequency.

What channel is Comet really on? I'd like to know before I re-scan & add all kinds of channels that I have to delete.
Mike99 is offline  
post #12637 of 12650 Unread 03-12-2017, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
What channel is Comet really on? I'd like to know before I re-scan & add all kinds of channels that I have to delete.
According to rabbitears.info, Comet is carried on the 2nd subchannel of WOCH-CD which operates on real channel 49, virtual channel 41.

Channel 3.3? There is no virtual channel 3 in Chicago. Sounds like a guide error.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #12638 of 12650 Unread 03-12-2017, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I was wondering if Channel 3 was some sort of low power station that filled in. somehow.
That being said ever since Rovi took over the EPG for WMC it has never been 100% correct.
I wonder where TVGuide gets it data from?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TVGuide.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	175.4 KB
ID:	2022705  
Mike99 is offline  
post #12639 of 12650 Unread 03-13-2017, 04:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 121
There is not now, nor never has been a channel 3, analog or digital, in Chicago.

The parentage of where guide data originates changed hands a few times several years ago, I didn't keep track of the ownership changes. There are a couple of guys around who are up to date on it.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #12640 of 12650 Unread 03-13-2017, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,395
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
WBBM was on channel 3 during the DTV transition. But it mapped to 2-1.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #12641 of 12650 Unread 03-13-2017, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post
I was wondering if Channel 3 was some sort of low power station that filled in. somehow.
That being said ever since Rovi took over the EPG for WMC it has never been 100% correct.
I wonder where TVGuide gets it data from?
That channel 3 shown is WWMT, which is based in the Kalamazoo/Grand Rapids/Battle Creek areas of Michigan.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WWMT

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #12642 of 12650 Unread 03-13-2017, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
WBBM was on channel 3 during the DTV transition. But it mapped to 2-1.

- Trip
Doh! You are correct, forgot about that fiasco.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #12643 of 12650 Unread 03-20-2017, 01:09 PM
Newbie
 
QuietMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sz1000 View Post
I talked to the engineer from WFLD, really nice guy. Didn't understand some of what he said, but basically it's a problem going from 5.1 of the show to stereo. Said equipment (out information on equipment) is needed from CW to fix it. So called CW main line and told them what he told me. She made a note and was going to try and get it to someone.

So please call the main CW line (818-977-2500) and tell them you're having sound issues in the Chicago area. And the local station needs help from CW to help fix.
Went to the Facebook page for WPWR and they are aware of the issue, "WPWR's broadcast signal is not 5.1 capable, at present. Keep your fingers crossed, the higher-ups are aware of the need for an upgrade." So it sounds like a money issue, if enough people call the number, we may hear them fix it. Hopefully it's not fixing the stereo signal, but allowing 5.1.

Last edited by QuietMike; 03-20-2017 at 01:22 PM. Reason: Answered my own question
QuietMike is offline  
post #12644 of 12650 Unread 03-20-2017, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietMike View Post
Went to the Facebook page for WPWR and they are aware of the issue, "WPWR's broadcast signal is not 5.1 capable, at present. Keep your fingers crossed, the higher-ups are aware of the need for an upgrade." So it sounds like a money issue, if enough people call the number, we may hear them fix it. Hopefully it's not fixing the stereo signal, but allowing 5.1.
It sounds like the issue is that their multiplexer or whatever has a nasty AVL or something causing digital clipping. Just because it's stereo doesn't mean it should sound so bad.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #12645 of 12650 Unread 03-22-2017, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietMike View Post
Went to the Facebook page for WPWR and they are aware of the issue, "WPWR's broadcast signal is not 5.1 capable, at present. Keep your fingers crossed, the higher-ups are aware of the need for an upgrade." So it sounds like a money issue, if enough people call the number, we may hear them fix it. Hopefully it's not fixing the stereo signal, but allowing 5.1.
Hmm, where's their Facebook page? Can't find it.
sz1000 is offline  
post #12646 of 12650 Unread 03-23-2017, 07:26 AM
Member
 
peterson65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sz1000 View Post
Hmm, where's their Facebook page? Can't find it.
would also like to find the page to post to it if possible
peterson65 is online now  
post #12647 of 12650 Unread 03-23-2017, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by sz1000 View Post
Hmm, where's their Facebook page? Can't find it.

https://www.facebook.com/CW50Chicago/

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
post #12648 of 12650 Unread 03-23-2017, 08:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSugino View Post
I saw that one, but didn't see a post or any mention of the 5.1 issues.
sz1000 is offline  
post #12649 of 12650 Unread 03-23-2017, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by sz1000 View Post
I saw that one, but didn't see a post or any mention of the 5.1 issues.
The conversations are under visitors posts - you have to look to the side of the page.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 10.41.49.png
Views:	12
Size:	70.3 KB
ID:	2044385  

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
post #12650 of 12650 Unread Today, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Noticed some weirdness with WOCH. I am able to pick it up, and 41.1 is Comet. It's 4:3, but the video is anamorphic. 41.2 just gives "Signal cannot be decoded". According to info, 41.1 is supposed to be Charge!, and 41.2 is Comet. The info for 41.1 is also really bizarre.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Comet.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	229.5 KB
ID:	2051833  

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
digital audio , wrjk



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off