Lehigh Valley, PA - Service Electric - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-06-2007, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WaltA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a HDTV with a QAM tuner.

Has anyone already put together a list, matching up the QAM tuner channel numbers, with Service Electric's channel numbers?

I have figured out a couple of them. For example, QAM channel 112-3 is SECTV channel 510 (NBC-HD). I just thought before I go down the path of trying to create a conversion list, I would see if anyone already did it.
WaltA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-01-2007, 08:44 PM
Member
 
drwoodr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaltA View Post

I just got a HDTV with a QAM tuner.

Has anyone already put together a list, matching up the QAM tuner channel numbers, with Service Electric's channel numbers?

I have figured out a couple of them. For example, QAM channel 112-3 is SECTV channel 510 (NBC-HD). I just thought before I go down the path of trying to create a conversion list, I would see if anyone already did it.

Just found this thread, and your post is quite old by now, but just though I'd comment. Too bad I didn't see this back in June. I used to keep a detailed spreadsheet of the QAM channels, but got tired of SECTV always moving them on me, so I broke down and got the HD box (the DVR service is really nice, which was my main reason for getting it). Based on what a neighbor tells me, they've moved the channels around in September, so my list is certainly out of date.
drwoodr is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-01-2007, 08:51 PM
Member
 
drwoodr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the basic HD package with SECTV in the Lehigh Valley. Channel 531 Versus is listed on their web site as being included in the basic package. I contacted SECTV customer service, and it is supposed to be included. They rebooted my box, but it still does not come in. Is anyone else getting 531 with the basic HD package?
drwoodr is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-02-2007, 09:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WaltA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drwoodr View Post

I used to keep a detailed spreadsheet of the QAM channels, but got tired of SECTV always moving them on me, ...

Since I posted, I found a helpful "friend" who gave me a copy of a copy of a copy, of SECTV's official QAM to STB channel numbers.

However, you are right. SECTV moves their cable stations around, from one QAM channel number to another, almost weekly.
WaltA is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-02-2007, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WaltA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drwoodr View Post

I have the basic HD package with SECTV in the Lehigh Valley. Channel 531 Versus is listed on their web site as being included in the basic package. I contacted SECTV customer service, and it is supposed to be included. They rebooted my box, but it still does not come in. Is anyone else getting 531 with the basic HD package?

For my main TV, I have SECTV's STB with full HD service. With that, I do indeed get Versus HD and channel 531.

Now for my other TV, the one with the built-in digital QAM tuner, I can also say that I get Verus HD "in the clear".

However, with the QAM tuner, I have noticed other HD channels "in the clear" too, that are not available with the STB. Right now, these are the HD versions of the NYC broadcast stations (our SD 9,11, and 13).

The reason I even mention it, it does seem that sending digital channels down the cable, and allowing the STB to make them available, are two different things. Versus HD might be sent down the cable "in the clear", but SECTV doesn't have your STB's enabled to show it is available.
WaltA is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off