Hampton Roads, Va - Verizon - Page 63 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 2086 Old 04-04-2011, 04:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kes601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach -- Lynnhaven
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anybody confirm that MASN2-HD is now on channel 501? It was supposed to have been added early this morning, I forgot to check before I left the house.
kes601 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 2086 Old 04-06-2011, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDntheCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: newport news, Va.
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MASN2-HD on the air(ch 501) as of sometime this morning. ESPNNews feed for now.

when I checked @7AM nothing-on air by 11:30.

FWIW ESPN3D is up on ch 1002. looks weird w/o the glasses or 3D TV.

"increasing vision is increasingly
expensive"- R. A. Janek
HDntheCity is offline  
post #1863 of 2086 Old 04-14-2011, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDntheCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: newport news, Va.
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox Soccer-HD now live on Ch 584. may have to reboot your STB to get the guide data.

"increasing vision is increasingly
expensive"- R. A. Janek
HDntheCity is offline  
post #1864 of 2086 Old 04-17-2011, 11:15 AM
Member
 
Follow Who?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those interested, it looks like FiOS has started rolling out the DVR update with new HD widescreen guide and ability to add external storage.

http://www.engadget.com/2011/04/14/v...ide-dvr-enhanc

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD 60" Plasma TV
Pioneer Elite VSX-92TXH Receiver
Pioneer Elite BDP-94HD Blu-Ray Player
Toshiba HD-XA1 HD-DVD Player
TiVo HD XL

"We are only immortal for a limited time."
Follow Who? is offline  
post #1865 of 2086 Old 06-16-2011, 04:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
ANYONE out there (still subscribing to this Thread) with FiOS Internet??? Can you go to sky.fm or di.fm?

Robert F Corbin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 | Virginia Media News & Information


email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

twitter:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

linkedin:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

google+:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pinterest:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

VARTV is offline  
post #1866 of 2086 Old 06-16-2011, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thats odd im able to go to those websites on my phone.
but when using my vz dsl connection it does not load.

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #1867 of 2086 Old 06-17-2011, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
skipfreely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

ANYONE out there (still subscribing to this Thread) with FiOS Internet??? Can you go to sky.fm or di.fm?

Both work for me, chrome browser.
skipfreely is offline  
post #1868 of 2086 Old 06-17-2011, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by skipfreely View Post

Both work for me, chrome browser.

Thank you... I did email them yesterday and they were taking the blame for a DNS snafu. Just tried it now and it works!

Robert F Corbin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 | Virginia Media News & Information


email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

twitter:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

linkedin:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

google+:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pinterest:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

VARTV is offline  
post #1869 of 2086 Old 06-28-2011, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thejokell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any idea how to find out where Verizon is planning to install Fios in the area? I have it at home, but we are getting reamed at work with Cox internet fees and would love to switch to Fios, but it isn't available yet. A rep told me that they were planning on installing into this business park, but couldn't give me a time frame. Just want to see if I can confirm that.

Steam/XBL/PSN: thejokell
thejokell is offline  
post #1870 of 2086 Old 07-24-2011, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
scottlindner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A colleague of mine has children that will be on the news tonight on WVEC, channel 13 at 11pm. Could someone record it for me and I will setup a temporary FTP server for you to transfer it to? They are two five year old boys playing on the beach.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Scott Lindner
scottlindner is offline  
post #1871 of 2086 Old 08-02-2011, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejokell View Post

Anyone have any idea how to find out where Verizon is planning to install Fios in the area? I have it at home, but we are getting reamed at work with Cox internet fees and would love to switch to Fios, but it isn't available yet. A rep told me that they were planning on installing into this business park, but couldn't give me a time frame. Just want to see if I can confirm that.


they usually update this once a month

http://www22.verizon.com/about/commu...struction.html

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #1872 of 2086 Old 08-02-2011, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post

they usually update this once a month

http://www22.verizon.com/about/commu...struction.html

Man, I remember looking at that page religiously. It was a PDF before, right?

Robert F Corbin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 | Virginia Media News & Information


email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

twitter:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

linkedin:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

google+:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pinterest:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

VARTV is offline  
post #1873 of 2086 Old 08-03-2011, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My friend got his first FiOS bill the other day and it had $45 worth of useless services tacked onto the bill. He was lured in by the ~$99 package only for the bill to be over $200. Is this common?
Skeletor is offline  
post #1874 of 2086 Old 08-03-2011, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No that's not common have him stop by a local store or call 1800 verizon to have his bill corrected. The first bill is prorated that is common but not useless charges. If he has stuff like stars play, Vz internet security etc that can be removed.

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #1875 of 2086 Old 08-03-2011, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Note only certain vzw stores have a Fios rep. Chesapeake hub (by harris teeter), lynnhaven pkwy/Salem crossing (by bank of america and abc store), Va beach blvd (by farm fresh), hilltop, hampton and newport news.

There are also 2 Fios stores. One on Va beach blvd next to Willis furniture. And one in Patrick henry mall next to chipoltle.

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #1876 of 2086 Old 08-04-2011, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TH3_FRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Actually, I'd say it is common but correctable. I had a few "services" I didn't request on my first bill as well and they removed them without troubles but I did have to spend the time calling customer service, navigating through the seemingly endless prompts and then waiting for a rep. IMO I think they throw a few extras on and hope you either don't notice or assume they are part of what you signed up for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post
No that's not common have him stop by a local store or call 1800 verizon to have his bill corrected. The first bill is prorated that is common but not useless charges. If he has stuff like stars play, Vz internet security etc that can be removed.
TH3_FRB is offline  
post #1877 of 2086 Old 08-04-2011, 07:38 PM
Member
 
Dugout Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone get any info on the new guide?
Dugout Doug is offline  
post #1878 of 2086 Old 08-05-2011, 08:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post

No that's not common have him stop by a local store or call 1800 verizon to have his bill corrected. The first bill is prorated that is common but not useless charges. If he has stuff like stars play, Vz internet security etc that can be removed.

He said it was $15 for tech support(per month!?!), $15 for games on demand(?), and I can't remember the other charge but it was also $15. He was able to cancel 2 of them no problem but the tech support has a cancellation fee.
Skeletor is offline  
post #1879 of 2086 Old 08-05-2011, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JayMan007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Short Pump, VA
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dugout Doug View Post

Anyone get any info on the new guide?

This was the roll-out schedule:
DAC 13 - VHO 15,14 - Buffalo, Syracus, Harrisburg-PA
DAC 7 - VHO 11,2 - Pittsburgh, Tampa-FL
DAC 9 - VHO 8,7 - Philadelphia, Freehold-NJ
DAC 5 - VHO 6,5 - NYC, Providence-RI, Burlington-MA
DAC 3 - VHO 9,9a,4- Richmond, Norfolk, SilverSpring-MD
DAC 1 - VHO 3,1 - CA, TX

DAC 13 & 7 are complete.
DAC 9 was supposed to have a full roll out this week but there was some unrelated issue.
They did a slow roll to DAC1 this week, and the remainder of that DAC should get it next week.

No one knows the order of the remainder of the schedule, or when it will start back up, but as in the past, it looks like we will be LAST, yet again.
JayMan007 is offline  
post #1880 of 2086 Old 08-05-2011, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Dugout Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ha, thanks!
Dugout Doug is offline  
post #1881 of 2086 Old 08-11-2011, 05:05 AM
Member
 
fwlogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone heard when Fios maybe available in the OLD GTE area. Specifically the Green Run neighborhood. I am near the instersection of Dahlia and Rosemont.
fwlogue is offline  
post #1882 of 2086 Old 08-11-2011, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by fwlogue View Post

Has anyone heard when Fios maybe available in the OLD GTE area. Specifically the Green Run neighborhood. I am near the instersection of Dahlia and Rosemont.

I'm in an old GTE area and we have had FiOS for several years. You would think they'd target that area since it's densely populated...

Robert F Corbin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 | Virginia Media News & Information


email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

twitter:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

linkedin:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

google+:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pinterest:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

VARTV is offline  
post #1883 of 2086 Old 08-11-2011, 08:16 AM
Member
 
fwlogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

I'm in an old GTE area and we have had FiOS for several years. You would think they'd target that area since it's densely populated...

I having been thinking that for a while now there are around 4,000 homes in this subdivsion.
fwlogue is offline  
post #1884 of 2086 Old 08-15-2011, 04:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fwlogue View Post

Has anyone heard when Fios maybe available in the OLD GTE area. Specifically the Green Run neighborhood. I am near the instersection of Dahlia and Rosemont.

green run is part of Shipps Corrner Central Office. (i'm off the same c/o 468, 368)
Last i heard there are no plans to upgrade Shipps Corrner, Pungo or Salem C/O.

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #1885 of 2086 Old 08-15-2011, 04:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

I'm in an old GTE area and we have had FiOS for several years. You would think they'd target that area since it's densely populated...

your off Princess Anne c/o i think that was in the original plans back in 06/07

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #1886 of 2086 Old 08-15-2011, 04:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post

your off Princess Anne c/o i think that was in the original plans back in 06/07

Yep! And not too long ago I saw them still running more fiber around these parts... GEICO runs off of the PA CO...

Robert F Corbin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 | Virginia Media News & Information


email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

twitter:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

linkedin:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

google+:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pinterest:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

VARTV is offline  
post #1887 of 2086 Old 08-16-2011, 12:10 PM
Member
 
fwlogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post

green run is part of Shipps Corrner Central Office. (i'm off the same c/o 468, 368)
Last i heard there are no plans to upgrade Shipps Corrner, Pungo or Salem C/O.

Of course not that is the kind of luck I always have
fwlogue is offline  
post #1888 of 2086 Old 08-20-2011, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anyone have insight as to when FiOS is coming to Charlestown near Kempsville and Centerville?
slosvt is offline  
post #1889 of 2086 Old 08-27-2011, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^Not that I know of.

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #1890 of 2086 Old 08-31-2011, 01:09 PM
Member
 
chriscu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I switched to VZ from Cox in May when I moved since it was in my area, and I really like the features/guide/channels/internet speeds/whole house DVR/etc. better than Cox, but man, getting them to actually show up on the day they say they are when you have a problem has been a complete hassle. Last 2 issues have required calling to figure out why the technician never showed that day (to which they just say "I'll just put you on the schedule for tomorrow", rinse, repeat). We're on day 2 of our current problem and I have low faith they will actually show up today either. I really hope this is not a trend or else I'll have to force myself to go back to Cox (which I really don't want to do). Have others been experiencing this as well?

update: Well I guess the vz gods were watching, the technician showed up in the evening and got everything up and running, including fixing a safety hazard that even he said should've been fixed right away. Still frustrating that it took so many calls to get them to show, and I'm sure the technicians get loaded with more jobs than they can handle. I've never had a problem with them once they show up.
chriscu is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off