Hampton Roads, Va - Verizon - Page 72 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2131 of 2153 Old 08-30-2016, 04:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Introducing Verizon LTE Advanced.

http://www.verizon.com/about/news/mo...st-introducing

Quote:
Verizon announced today it has launched LTE Advanced technology to bring 50 percent faster peak wireless data speeds to more than 288 million people in 461 cities from coast to coast. Verizon LTE Advanced hits all the major cities, and covers loads of less-served places including highways, interstates, country roads and rural America. So customers don’t need to stay in one place to get great high speed connections, they can use their mobile devices to actually be mobile and head to the places they work, vacation and want to go.
Vz Wireless mobile users should see faster LTE speeds.
(note: only current devices supported, see press release for details)

Test results are from NYC 2 the Hampton VA (speedtest.net) server 400 miles away
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20160829-152922.png
Views:	40
Size:	121.0 KB
ID:	1631129   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20160829-201212.png
Views:	39
Size:	195.1 KB
ID:	1631137  
VARTV likes this.

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries
dtv757 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2132 of 2153 Old 09-05-2016, 06:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Bell Atlantic Video (D/B/A Fios by Verizon) customer can now get "Disney Movies Anywhere" .
This allows you to enjoy James Earl Jones as Darth Vader on any device .

Quote:
Disney’s digital service, which offers more than 450 digital movies, including the Star Wars series and titles from Pixar and Marvel,....
http://www.multichannel.com/news/con...nywhere/407221
https://www.disneymoviesanywhere.com/


Bell Atlantic- The Heart of Communication !

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries

Last edited by dtv757; 09-05-2016 at 06:56 PM.
dtv757 is offline  
post #2133 of 2153 Old 10-25-2016, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Nba league pass free to select verizon wireless customers via go90 app.

http://www.droid-life.com/2016/10/25...a-league-pass/
skipfreely likes this.
dtv757 is offline  
 
post #2134 of 2153 Old 10-26-2016, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
skipfreely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post
Nba league pass free to select verizon wireless customers via go90 app.

http://www.droid-life.com/2016/10/25...a-league-pass/
Thanks!
skipfreely is online now  
post #2135 of 2153 Old 10-30-2016, 06:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sports Mix channels?

Saw this for the first time,


NBA sports mix.
i thought this was only available on D* .
good to see Vz offering this.

is this the first year?

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries
dtv757 is offline  
post #2136 of 2153 Old 01-12-2017, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Faster speeds comming soon Faster than the Daytona 500 (Mbps) lol
dtv757 is offline  
post #2137 of 2153 Old 01-12-2017, 05:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
http://www.verizon.com/about/news/7-...rvice-starting


New speeds 750/750.

This speed is now available in the 757
http://wavy.com/2017/01/25/verizon-a...hampton-roads/

Last edited by dtv757; 01-26-2017 at 04:17 AM.
dtv757 is offline  
post #2138 of 2153 Old 03-09-2017, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You can now watch fios app on VZW and it doesn't use your data !!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170309_091919_1489089794390.png
Views:	17
Size:	786.4 KB
ID:	2015977  
dtv757 is offline  
post #2139 of 2153 Old 03-20-2017, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13

testing from NY

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries
dtv757 is offline  
post #2140 of 2153 Old 03-20-2017, 01:56 PM
Member
 
x757x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post

testing from NY
is that the 750/750 plan?
x757x is offline  
post #2141 of 2153 Old 03-20-2017, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
No 300/300

If u read dsl reports customers are getting above 750


https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31294627-

But still 300/300 for $99
750/750 for $150

Is still insane price wise,

Last edited by dtv757; 03-20-2017 at 04:44 PM.
dtv757 is offline  
post #2142 of 2153 Old 03-20-2017, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I'm on 150/150... Do I really need that???

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #2143 of 2153 Old 03-20-2017, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Lol 300/300 might not be that much more monthly
dtv757 is offline  
post #2144 of 2153 Old 04-24-2017, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Gigabit internet is here now starting at $70

http://www.verizon.com/about/news/ve...rs-speeds-they
dtv757 is offline  
post #2145 of 2153 Old Yesterday, 01:31 PM
Member
 
lupi95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone order the new gig service yet?

I've stuck with Cox so far since I run 3 cable cards instead of STBs and they are cheaper at cox, but gig fios service very tempting.
lupi95 is online now  
post #2146 of 2153 Old Yesterday, 04:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lupi95 View Post
Anyone order the new gig service yet?

I've stuck with Cox so far since I run 3 cable cards instead of STBs and they are cheaper at cox, but gig fios service very tempting.
I read on DSL reports a local member switched and similar to you they use cable cards . Not sure if he wants me to tag him but he is happy with the new fios service .

Per DSL reports looks like existing customers are getting good deals now too.

Last edited by dtv757; Yesterday at 04:54 PM.
dtv757 is offline  
post #2147 of 2153 Old Today, 05:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kes601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach -- Lynnhaven
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lupi95 View Post
Anyone order the new gig service yet?

I've stuck with Cox so far since I run 3 cable cards instead of STBs and they are cheaper at cox, but gig fios service very tempting.
I'm the person who switched over the weekend. I could never get a cable card to work properly with Cox. Well, they got one to work but Sporks Pack 2 wasn't working and then they could never get another one paired properly. I used their Contour system for a couple of months and then tried the cable card route again and struck out, so I switched to FiOS.

I signed up for Gigabit / Custom TV / Phone for what will come to $98 after taxes and fees -- only renting the cable card. I supplied my own router and don't have any of their boxes. Install only took about 2 hours (including having to splice fiber because the conduit in my new place was defective...kink or some gunk in it, not sure). Cablecard paired up just fine, although the tech did have to chat with a CSR because the new software on his tablet was acting up. But, in the end all is well.

I am getting about 850 down and 750 up on a wired iMac that is 7 years old. Am using my own access points (Unifi AC LR) and have been able to hit about 350 up and down on my phone and iPad.

So, I saved about $75/month by switching and so far the service is great.

Last edited by kes601; Today at 05:37 AM.
kes601 is online now  
post #2148 of 2153 Old Today, 06:18 AM
Member
 
lupi95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are you using a homerun unit or something else?
lupi95 is online now  
post #2149 of 2153 Old Today, 08:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kes601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach -- Lynnhaven
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lupi95 View Post
Are you using a homerun unit or something else?
TiVo Roamio.
kes601 is online now  
post #2150 of 2153 Old Today, 09:20 AM
Member
 
lupi95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kes601 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lupi95 View Post
Are you using a homerun unit or something else?
TiVo Roamio.
Finally got a reply on the SD forum. Looks like I'd need to get a fios compatible router to have the coax out to supply the cable card device. Order finger starting to twitch.
lupi95 is online now  
post #2151 of 2153 Old Today, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kes601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach -- Lynnhaven
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lupi95 View Post
Finally got a reply on the SD forum. Looks like I'd need to get a fios compatible router to have the coax out to supply the cable card device. Order finger starting to twitch.
If you are using a cablecard you don't need a router with coax out. The tech will just install coax from the ONT to your coax that feeds into your house.

Now...

Verizon will tell you you need to use their Quantum Gateway to have service installed, but you could just do a rental for a month, put in your own router after the install and return the Quantum to the store. I was able to get away from this because I had an older Verizon router from my previous service. Supposedly the installer won't hook it up if it isn't a Verizon branded router, but I suspect I could have had any router I wanted and the tech would have hooked it up.
kes601 is online now  
post #2152 of 2153 Old Today, 12:01 PM
Member
 
lupi95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kes601 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lupi95 View Post
Finally got a reply on the SD forum. Looks like I'd need to get a fios compatible router to have the coax out to supply the cable card device. Order finger starting to twitch.
If you are using a cablecard you don't need a router with coax out. The tech will just install coax from the ONT to your coax that feeds into your house.

Now...

Verizon will tell you you need to use their Quantum Gateway to have service installed, but you could just do a rental for a month, put in your own router after the install and return the Quantum to the store. I was able to get away from this because I had an older Verizon router from my previous service. Supposedly the installer won't hook it up if it isn't a Verizon branded router, but I suspect I could have had any router I wanted and the tech would have hooked it up.
Ya, he came back and said my bad, you don't need a coax router. Planning on renting the router for a month while I get things set up.

How did you order your cards as it seems you can't do it while placing order online.
lupi95 is online now  
post #2153 of 2153 Old Today, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kes601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach -- Lynnhaven
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lupi95 View Post
Ya, he came back and said my bad, you don't need a coax router. Planning on renting the router for a month while I get things set up.

How did you order your cards as it seems you can't do it while placing order online.
I saved my cart online and then called the number in the email they sent me. The sales agent was able to remove the STB and add the cablecard. Other option is to rent their box for a month and go to the FiOS store and swap it for a cablecard.
kes601 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off