Mexican HDTV - Page 17 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 692 Old 07-06-2009, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here's a picture of the TSReader for XHJCE(TV Azteca) notice how they have Information on the PID fields.


http://www.rabbitears.info/screencap...164404-0_0.htm

Here's a picture of the TSReader for XHCJI(Televisa) notice how they don't have Information on the PID fields Also notice where it says Mux Bitrate it's higher than the one for TV Azteca. I Wonder if this has to do with the Skipping problem. Also they still have the Secondary Audio on for both Channels, even though it doesn't have any thing on it. Also they have about 1.89Mbps of null bits they could use for the HD Channel.


http://www.rabbitears.info/screencap...164403-0_0.htm
cube799 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 692 Old 07-20-2009, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I finally know why the Gold Cup games aren't in HD, at least in Mexico, Azteca commentators were saying that they get the "American Network Feed", which means whatever US network is covering the event is either not in HD or not sending HD feed.

BTW the new Texas Stadium looks cook but the field looked small, they were doing corner shots almost from the stands.. I wonder if the NFL games will have a problem there..

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #483 of 692 Old 07-27-2009, 07:49 PM
Member
 
dishhead2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to know from somebody in Mexico City with Cablevision or Off the Air HD can you get the new Camaleones Telenovela IN HD or 4*3 Letterbox

I would really liketo know because here in Juarez its 4*3 Letterbox but the Camaleones Novela is on HD
dishhead2001 is offline  
post #484 of 692 Old 07-27-2009, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
TWC San Diego might have added XEWT to the clearQAM channel list. XHUAA is also available. I'm pretty sure it's not HD. I don't use ClearQAM btw.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #485 of 692 Old 07-28-2009, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I don't know if it's an standard, only the "prime time" Novelas are in HD, since they started the format, meaning the last 3 of the night...

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #486 of 692 Old 07-28-2009, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I saw Camaleones yesterday, and it was in HD. As for the Gold Cup Games as far as I know, Univision is the one who airs the games in the USA. Also Over the Weekend, TV Azteca didn't show any of the Apertura 2009 games in HD.
cube799 is offline  
post #487 of 692 Old 07-30-2009, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 106
So that's why no games of the Gold Cup were in HD.. LOL...

My bet the next Mexico-USA match will be in HD since it's on the Azteca Stadium.. August 12..

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #488 of 692 Old 08-02-2009, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I Just saw right now that The Pumas game was in HD on Televisa. It looked almost as good as the TV Azteca HD games.
cube799 is offline  
post #489 of 692 Old 08-03-2009, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube799 View Post

I Just saw right now that The Pumas game was in HD on Televisa. It looked almost as good as the TV Azteca HD games.

Yeah, me too, except on the fast-panning cameras, it looked good..

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #490 of 692 Old 08-03-2009, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
laker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone in El Paso tell me if the video on ch 29.3 is still behind the audio or maybe vice versa or if it stutters? It's been like that for months on my TV and I don't know if it's just my TV or if its like that on all TV's. If it is on all TV's I don't understand how you guys are able to watch that channel because the image freezes and blocks appear even when they are not showing sports. Can someone please help me with this? I have an outdoor antenna so I don't think that is the problem and every other channel is fine.
laker32 is offline  
post #491 of 692 Old 08-04-2009, 01:15 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm not completely sure, but I think the problem with the stuttering on Canal de las Estrellas HD has to do with this post from the El Paso HD Thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by speed301 View Post

I have a Vizio and this problem is common. The station probably isn't causing but the network is because of the way they process the signal to allow an extra 30 seconds or so of commercials. It's not a problem with older TVs or TVs that can detect this processing and filter it out.

I have a HD capture card in my computer as well, and when I play back ABC videos on the computer I can see diagnostic information from the saved file and sure enough it shows the frame rate is jumping around between about 40 fps and 60 fps.

Try this thread

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=998251

and here are my previous comments

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post15618064

I took some screenshots of the files played back with media player classic, and the frame rate is jumping around from between 26-32 frames per second. It eventually stabilizes at about 29.97 fps.








From What I read in the ABC judder problem Thread, they said that turning off 3 to 2 pulldown, on the TV Fixed the problem.


Also recently It seems that on the Juarez Canal de las Estrellas HD Channel, the stuttering, on the video has not been as frequent. It still stutter every once in while, but not as much as it used to before.
cube799 is offline  
post #492 of 692 Old 08-06-2009, 12:49 PM
Member
 
paco1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post

My bet the next Mexico-USA match will be in HD since it's on the Azteca Stadium.. August 12..

So any news on the game being in HD? Where can one go to find out if TV Azteca is planning to broadcast the game in HD?
paco1986 is offline  
post #493 of 692 Old 08-17-2009, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Mex- USA game in SD... big dissapointment..

Then on Sunday the Indios-Morelia game was in HD... but not the afternoon game.

Guess priorities are elsewhere..

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #494 of 692 Old 09-09-2009, 09:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Today TV Azteca 7 HD showed the México vs Honduras Game in HD!!!





Also, it seems that the Jitter Problem on the Televisa HD Channel in Juarez is gone.


Also over the weekend, TV Azteca showed the Cruz Azul vs Indios, and Puebla vs Chivas games in HD.
cube799 is offline  
post #495 of 692 Old 09-09-2009, 10:35 PM
Member
 
Nightwalker1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tijuana, Baja California
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah!!! Indeed, the game was shown in HD right here in Tijuana on XHTIT-DT 29-1. At long last.
Nightwalker1973 is offline  
post #496 of 692 Old 09-10-2009, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
shaq_lakers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tijuana, Mexico
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys

maybe one of you can help

I tried using a digital television in TJ but I didn't get many signals for HD channels. It is an HDTV. At radioshack they sell an amplified HDTV antenna...is that worth it? Or should I just buy regular rabbit ears?
shaq_lakers is offline  
post #497 of 692 Old 09-11-2009, 06:58 AM
Member
 
Nightwalker1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tijuana, Baja California
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaq_lakers View Post

Hey Guys

maybe one of you can help

I tried using a digital television in TJ but I didn't get many signals for HD channels. It is an HDTV. At radioshack they sell an amplified HDTV antenna...is that worth it? Or should I just buy regular rabbit ears?

Hi...

It depends where do you live, if you have line of sight of the three mountains that broadcast these signals, it would be ok to use a regular rabbit ears, but i recommend that you install a good VHF-UHF outdoor antenna. In my case i have both outdoor antennas and i can get all high power digital signals.
Nightwalker1973 is offline  
post #498 of 692 Old 09-14-2009, 11:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here are some screenshots from the HD Fútbol Games from Sunday.

PUMAS HD




MONARCAS HD



AMÉRICA HD

cube799 is offline  
post #499 of 692 Old 09-15-2009, 12:49 AM
Member
 
sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here in San Diego XEWT Televisa is still showing the games in pillar box. I don't know the technical reasons for this but I hope change comes soon.

XHUAA, Canal de las Estrellas, usually shows a rerun of a Sunday game (America or Toluca) previously shown live on XEWT, but in HD.

http://www.fybush.com/sites/2009/site-090220.html

Telemundo and Univision/Telefutura stations are still 480i. I'll watch a game on Univision if not shown on a Mexican station. but not not on Telemundo. I can't listen to Andrés Cantor. He calls the games from a studio where the crowd noise is hardly heard. Not to mention that his voice is annoying. Mexican TV commentary is a lot better.
sandog is offline  
post #500 of 692 Old 11-17-2009, 01:24 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Today Canal de las Estrellas HD showed Mar de Amor in HD.
cube799 is offline  
post #501 of 692 Old 12-07-2009, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandog View Post

Here in San Diego XEWT Televisa is still showing the games in pillar box. I don't know the technical reasons for this but I hope change comes soon.

XHUAA, Canal de las Estrellas, usually shows a rerun of a Sunday game (America or Toluca) previously shown live on XEWT, but in HD.

http://www.fybush.com/sites/2009/site-090220.html

Telemundo and Univision/Telefutura stations are still 480i. I'll watch a game on Univision if not shown on a Mexican station. but not not on Telemundo. I can't listen to Andrés Cantor. He calls the games from a studio where the crowd noise is hardly heard. Not to mention that his voice is annoying. Mexican TV commentary is a lot better.

San Diego will have Univision HD soon...

http://www.univision.com/content/con...ml?cid=2194649

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #502 of 692 Old 12-08-2009, 10:19 PM
Member
 
memo90061's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The one in LA already shows everything in 1080i but they don't broadcast anything in real HD yet. Everything is upconverted.
memo90061 is offline  
post #503 of 692 Old 02-02-2010, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Have you noticed that more and more shows and even sports events are now in HD? most "novelas" are now HD and I saw 2 soccer matches over the weeken in HD. all News are in HD in both chains..

We are still missing "channel 5" in HD here in Juarez/El Paso though.

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #504 of 692 Old 02-03-2010, 12:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post

San Diego will have Univision HD soon...

http://www.univision.com/content/con...ml?cid=2194649

TWC San Diego has KBNT HD listed as a potential HD channel but entravision could make them cable only. Then again they're making sure that the OTA users might be able to view them.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #505 of 692 Old 02-04-2010, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post

Have you noticed that more and more shows and even sports events are now in HD? most "novelas" are now HD and I saw 2 soccer matches over the weeken in HD. all News are in HD in both chains..

We are still missing "channel 5" in HD here in Juarez/El Paso though.

Yes, I have. Televisa Canal de las Estrellas is even showing 2 TV shows in HD on Sundays, Hermanos y Detectives, and Ellas son la AlegrÃ*a del Hogar. They've also upgraded La Rosa de Guadalupe, to HD. Also the New Telenovela Zacatillo is in HD.

Meanwhile TV Azteca seems to be having problems lately. It Seems that when it rains, they lose the HD signal, and they switch to the 480i Signal on both channels.

Also it seems that TV Azteca is only showing one Fútbol game per week in HD. I understand that they don't have as good a sports budget as Televisa, but I don't understand why they can't show one Game in HD on Saturday, and then show another game in HD on Sunday.
cube799 is offline  
post #506 of 692 Old 02-08-2010, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Maybe they only have one set of HD "traveling" cameras..

I still don't get why TV Azteca can't air HD movies like they used to... it's all SD-SOV

Also all the American series they air could be done in HD, too expensive perhaps?

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #507 of 692 Old 02-10-2010, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 106
So I've heard that SKY Mexico is beginning to switch to HD in Feb 15th? not a moment too soon, they should have that system tested and running at peak before June, or no one is going to pay the $500 US subscription for all the World cup games..

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #508 of 692 Old 02-11-2010, 04:13 PM
Member
 
memo90061's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where did you hear that? :O
memo90061 is offline  
post #509 of 692 Old 02-15-2010, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 106
They at least have the Satellites for transmission up..

http://www.vanguardia.com.mx/diario/...de_2010/116231

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #510 of 692 Old 02-15-2010, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know why neither Televisa or TV Azteca are showing the 2010 Vancouver Olympics. Also, recently I've noticed that Televisa is showing the Estrellas del Bicentenario commercials in HD.
cube799 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off